Amara Singapore

hi reismion,

i think june florist has a couple of arrangments.. u will decide 1 mth prior your AD.. mine will be next mth and i shall see the types of designs they have....

i cant wait for mikmik to come back! :D

hi happy..

what flowers did the couple use on your foodtasting day? I went down yesterday to check out the flowers.. hmm.. i would like to know of more choices..

hi clouds,
If i am not wrong, for the ballroom is pink roses with lily..
the backdrop is done by the couples own source.

hi minssy,
I skip the first dish to try out the yam basket.
17 sept is my food tasting and just nice there is a wedding on that day.. lor..

Cant wait for mikmik to come back too....

Hi reismion
Portion was just nice. For grandeur red roses.. idea like not bad.. isnt all red roses with the greens or with other flowers? did you take down any pics? your package no yam basket so wat did they replace with? just curious.

hi happy

got pics. i go hm n chk. hopefully it has not been erased. :P glad the portion's juz nice. phew! as for my new menu, i will type it out if i'm hm early.
it's the wkday menu for 2006.

hi reismion,

thanks for the pix. may i know your package for the menu tat was given? Your dish looks better. maybe i can upgrade,,

hi minssy & gals!!!!!!
me back. just checked out form amara today.
had a really really fun time.
decor was lovely ~ i wanted red roses with granduer theme cos my nite theme was red and gold. =) no regrets choosing june florist! they even scattered pink rose petals at the main entrance to make sort of an aisle. lovely!!!!!! their aisle stands also very lovely. the backdrop was nice.
food ~ i asked many of our guests. they all said it was good! =) no regrets taking changing some of the dishes.
service levels ~ abit inconsistent. some tables had their plates changed every course. some didn't change for almost entire dinner. *fainted*

first march-in was dry ice. it was ok. spotlights on the couple are very bright!!
had rose petals tossing for second march-in. so fun!!!!!! our guests had alot of fun and we were overwhelmed by the sheer volume of rose petals tossed!

hi happy,
heehee, me not banquet on 18th. is banquet on 19th. =)

hi reisimion,
thanks!!! =)

hi mik mik,

Good to hear you are back... so excited to hear all your comments... sounds so fun and grand....

Do you mind if possible you share with me your backdrop decor and the flora arrangement?

Just curious, did they charged you extra for the rose petals? and what flower did they put ard the reception area and those small tables with nuts??

hi mikmik

welcome bk!!!
not flying off for honeymoon? ;)
do show us ur pics when u r bk.

hi happy,

think u nd 2 chk w michelle cos i rem the dishes r stated in our contract w the hotel. not sure if u can chg. :P

hi mikmik,

welcome back! *hugzz*

wah... sounds really cool.... i cant wait to read more from you! ;)

so, any good comments on the coffee pork ribs? hee.. i just cant wait to eat that again!

hi happy,
sure! when they're ready, i'll post.
nope, they could provide rose petals for my 2nd march-in as well as line the main entrance plus scatter around the reception table. all pink though. heehee.

hi reismion,
not yet. heehee. wanna go for long trip but not much leave left. must ration. hehehehe. next yr.

hi minssy,
*BIG HUGzzzzzzzzz*
no prob! you know where to find me. =)
yes!!!!! got a frnd who lurves pork too! she said it was fantastic!

hi mikmik

tk a brk 1st then enjoy ur honeymoon. i feel tat if go honeymoon immediately after AD 1'll b too tired to enjoy the sights n scenary.

hi mikmik...

so you just chose the backdrop from the photos mich show you right? or you requested for something special?

hi mikmik,
Congrats!

Thanks for sharing with us your experience

Guess wat i'm interested 2 know from u r already been asked by t gals here

Which dishes r v good?
I'm havin my food tasting next wk

hi lilian,

dunnoe if mikmik will be able to reply as she may be out of town already...

what dishes are good? if you are having your food tasting next week, you would have chosen given your list to michelle rite? anyway, happy gave a very good discription of the food and you can use that as a guide....

minssy,
my dishes r different from wat happy had lay...
I'v already changed my Crystal Seafood Delight to Coffee Pork Ribs. Tink tats a gd bet.

ching2627,
Michelle said no food tasting on wkends lay
So i had 2 choose wkdays.. Bluff me

hi lilian,

i had spoken to steven from focal ad before. also, i read reviews from this forum and i dun see anything negative...

Hi Lilian,

Is yours a weekend package? Michelle don't allow food tasting on weekends but there is a wedding dinner on that night so she allow us to have the food tasting. I am not so sure too.
Is the crystal seafood delight not nice that make you change to coffee pork ribs? Do you have this dish (Seared Chicken with Apricot Sauce)? If yes, do u think having the coffee poark ribs & chicken will be too "ni" for the guests

Hi Minssy,

You used HITEch for your printing is it? How much is it?

hi ching,

it really depends on the quantity and the size of the card.. my square inserts is $0.80 full color and my square church church cards with 1 side color is $1.60 each.

HI Reismion

Been a while since i logged into this site. Been very busy with work. Okay, i actually went to view a Setup last week (military wedding). I feels that the march in space is abit tight. I spoke to the F&B Manager. He mentioned that it is not as wide as other hotels, but looking at the 10 mins march in, it will not be a problem to us. As for the decor, well, its not bad. Infact, i actually to of putting the projector screen at the cocktail reception area. Reason - To be different..i want my guests to see the montage while they are chatting, anothet form of entertainment...so the space where the projector screen used to be, i could put a small live band. *heeee*
Prob i will be engaging my good friend's company (events company) to run the show, prob have some cold pryotechnics to make the whole wedding spectactular...
Say so much, i have not signed with amara..Haaaaa..just my views on it.

Hi, have any of u sign up amara's package during a wedding show? wat kind of perks do they usually give? hmmm... signing up with them now have no perks n as compare to other hotels with alot of perks given then they seems cheaper than amara. wat are u gals' view?

hi valentinejojo,

if you are expecting amara to give you alotalot of perks like some other hotels, then this may not be the right place. it really depends on what u want. i met up with other hotels that gave me quite abit of freebies but we chose amara bcos of the location and the ballroom style. so u gotta see whats impt for you

long time didnt log into this site. I just went for my food tasting, same as lilian, Michelle say only weekday for food tasting.

Mine is a weekday package, i tried out the cold dish combination and realised that the 4 dishes are not "grand" enough for a starter, so top up the $10 for the mini octupus. The braised duck in the cold dish has too many bones, difficult to eat and chew well. requested to make it boneless.. ( thought most hotels have it boneless) but michelle said "Cant".In the end, changed the duck to honey ham ( boneless) but i still need to top up $5. Honey Ham more expensive meh??

Anyone tested the braised duck in the cold dish?? any comments??

For the rest of the dish.. quite okie.... tasted the seafood roll, but a bit salty and dun know wat is inside.. cant taste it out.

The contact michelle gave me for printing wedding card "Jaxxxy" has quite a few bad comments i read in other forum. Think better source out others.

That's all.. my input....

hi socksham,

yeah food tasting is only available during weekdays...

jasvy is infamous for mistakes and not so good service.. dun use

hi Den

ic. the 1 which i went 2 was a 25+2reserved setup. still got a lot of space. shld b quite alrite. i b expecting max 32+2reserved. when's ur proposed AD then? which other hotels do u've in mind?

hi valentinejojo

ya, i agree w minssy. we chose amara for its location n pricing as well as the lovely ballroom. we've been to abt 10 hotels. all got a lot of freebies n etc. u nd 2 noe wat's ur budget n wat u wan to achieve e.g. if garden theme then amara's not a gd fit & etc.

hi minssy 7 reismion,

thanks... i went to see pan pac and quite like the place... tink i'm going for pan pac as the location is better for many ppl...

hi socksham,
nice to see u back here
How's ur wdg prep?

hi minnsy & ching,
Am considering Focal-Ad aft seeing Minnsy's posting in another thread. I called them up and find their price reasonable and sounded more friendly than t other shops i called. I have a fren who took Hi-Tech, their price is also good -$80 for 100-200pcs n provide gold string FOC. But t location (AMK Ind Pk 1 )is a bit inconvenient for me.
T-dragon at Excelsior is t most convenient but price wise a bit higher & t sales lady blurr blurr one. keke...
minnsy, where is axxa? whats their contact #?

ching, there'r many gd comments abt t coffee pork rib so i tot of giving it a try... didn't consider whether it'll be too 'ni' for my guests. Whoppss... Thanks 4 reminding me!
Have u seen their invitation cards? They chg t cream color cards.... t new one is very very plain... just a INVITAION word at t front, nothing else. So dissapointed.... I may just choose all red color ones althou it looks like CNY cards. haha...

Hi Lilian,

The cream one is so plain & i took the red card. How much is Focal Ad printing? I am thinking to go to Hitech this weekend to settle my printing.

Hi Lilian & Ching

Maybe u gals 1 2 check out Speed Tech. The person i/c quoted me $80 for inserts less than 1000,normal printing. Good service too. I chose the cream cards though.

Hi Lilian

Wedding prep hanging in mid air...
now busy with my house warming... phew!!!!

I took the cream card also.. looks plain... but no choice.... wedding favours no change.. still pralines right?? anybody getting their own wedding favours??

Reismion

My AD is 09 Dec 06. Urs is Nov? i actually shortlised GCW, they indeed have a very nice and big ball room. But minimum is 45 tables. I believed that if i held it at GCW, it will be very grand. The negative part is that i do not know will i break even at the end of dinner or end up paying alot...

Hi Den

ya, 1st Nov 06. Quite close. Both on Wed as well. *hi-5*

I did considered GWC but can only meet the min. required 4 wkdays hence decided not to choose it cos the rates were too high. Had the same worries as u. Eventually choose Amara cos pricing was reasonable n we liked Michelle a lot.

btw dec'06 seems to b pretty hot. U better mk ur booking for ur desired hotel soon cos most companies may book hotels for annual D&D or x'mas parties. Plus lots of ppl in the education sector r getting married in Dec as well. :P

Hi Reis

Ya. Mine 09 Dec 06 is Sat leh. U make me go and check my calendar again. Haaaa/

Yes, understand that i need to book it early. I already made a tentative booking with michelle. Yet have no time to go down to meet michelle to sort out the final details before bookings. Michelle is pretty nice indeed.

hi reismion,
no prob. when ready, will share wif u.

hi clouds,
yep, i chose based on the photos.
din make any request for the back-drop.

hi lilian,
think my post will come in abit late?
got mixed reviews actually. many agreed the chicken and pork ribs were good.
some said the fish was nice.
but in general, i asked my guests while mingling, they feedback that the food was good so really no worries abt the food cos we all gave our comments on the dishes during food tasting
and a check with our parents, the standard was maintained for the dinner. =)

if i'm not wrong, if the food tasting is paid for, then can taste on weekend. for complimentary ones, i think can only taste on weekdays.

hi minssy,
*HUGS HUGS* me back =)