The foodtasting menu will be:
- BBQ Suckling Pig Combination
- Double Boiled Shark's Fin Soup with Bamboo Pith and Crab Meat
- Sautéed Scallop and Asparagus with X.O Sauce
- Steamed Red Garoupa with Preserved Vegetables
- Coffee Pork Rib
- Sliced Abalone and Sea Cucumber with Oyster Sauce
I ordered the Ee Fu noodle in addition.

Hi LIlian....yest, amara changed the design...It is now much plainer than the one before.

Hi Minssy, Do you have photos of your invitation cards? And how much did it cost to print on colour paper and with photos?
U had only wordings on one side? Then what about the Chinese and English wordins?

hi littlemay,

printers go by either full color printing, 1 side or 2 side. it may cost the same, depending on printers. the amt u pay depends on the paper cost as well. my paper is normal paper so my square inserts,full color 1 side is only $0.80. there is no standard price.

i only have english wordings.. u can PM me and i can show you a copy of my card..

hi lilian,
ooooooh! good spread
the ee fu noodles are nice! =) had it sent up to the room after the banquet.

Hello ladies,

Need your help... do u have any idea where to find someone to calculate the wedding dates? By the way.. i don't want to pay too much... came across alot that are $100++... hope to keep it as low as possible. Need them urgently.

U can drop me a e-mail at [email protected] or through forum

Many thanks.

Had my foodtasting last wk liao. Overall is alright.

BBQ Suckling Pig Combination
== No suckling pig for food tasting, disappointed. Like wat sockham commented on t braised duck, it has too many bones. T jelly fish salad is too bland (neither spicy, sour nor sweet)...

Double Boiled Shark's Fin Soup with Bamboo Pith and Crab Meat
== Good. Sufficient ingredients.

Sautéed Scallop and Asparagus with X.O Sauce
== Scallop cooked just nice, QQ! T asparagus is crunchy too.

Steamed Red Garoupa with Preserved Vegetables
== V disappointing. All my guests dun like t fish texture. Dunno whether it is over-cooked or not fresh, t meat is v hard.

Coffee Pork Rib
== Hmm... It's good! Tasty enough. Coffee taste not too strong, just nice. T pork rib has a layer of fat on top, hope those health consious guests wun mind.

Sliced Abalone and Sea Cucumber with Oyster Sauce
== Not bad. Sea cucumber big enuff. But i think t abalone sliced too thin. kekeke...

Ee Fu Noodle
== Too salty. Saltish until it tasted like maggie mee. T texture of noodle is nice, QQ.

I decided on the red invitation cards.
Ching, how's Hi-Tech? U took them? Can I know where do you all get those golden strings to tie inserts to cards? Do u all tie them urself?

That's all for my report. hee...

hi lilian,

ok.. basically their food is all rite lah.. your menu seem more 'high class' than my weekday one..hee....

minssy, cos mine is a weekend package...
There'r even more high class menu than mine... got lobster salad even... yummy...

Do u all (intend to) put Amara location map in ur wedding card inserts? Dunno... but most ppl seems 2 b unsure where Amara is, althou they heard of it. But printin map on inserts means xtra $ rite?

And t ballroom for t banquet is call The Grand Ballroom rite?

hi lilian,

i printed inserts cos i had a picture and printers cant print color stuff on cards directly cos the wastage will be too high and the hotels cant provide you extra cards beyond the 80%.

if you are just printing normal words, then you dun even need to print inserts and can save yourself some work for tying the ribbons.

so it all depends. i decided not to put the map cos i indicated that amara hotel is just NEXT to the mrt.. so its clear lah.. no worries

hi lilian

ya, urs sounds gd. luckily the sharkfin can make it. the wedding which i went to had v lousy sharkfin. cant even see much fin as well. :P

if u put the location map in the inserts, tat means u've 2 pcs of paper then? is tat correct?

Hi Lilian,

Went to HiTech last Sat to print my inserts.. They will provide the gold strings which you need to tie yourself

I went for my foodtasting too yesterday. The food is so so too as what you had comment

hi lilian,
nice report! =)

heehee, i changed my first dish to lobster combination and most of my guests liked it! =)

minssy dear,
most of my guests feedback very very good comments about the first dish, prawns, chicken and coffee pork ribs. so no worries about the food. ;-)

reismion,
2 pcs of inserts means double t printing cost lor. I was actually thinking of printin t map at t back of the insert paper (double side). But t printer also charge $ for tat. So tats out of my plan right now.
Mayb i'll copy minssy's method - indicate tat Amara is next to Tanj Pagar MRT. keke...
Yes! T sharkfin is yummy yummy! I love it!

minssy, i'm printing english & chinese wordings lor. So need inserts rite? Dun really get wat u mean lay

Focal-Ad is providing t service of tying gold strings to t card, at 10cent per string (including t string)
So for 200 cards, we pay onli $20, & save us t time & effort. Considering....

hi mikmik,

oh i am not worried! in fact, i will get my emcees to 'appetize' them with the coffee pork ribs! *slurp slurp*

hi lilian,

ok.. put it this way:

1) No inserts
english wordings on the left of the card and chinese wordings on the right. direct printing on card using either hot stamping or single color text. the printer will explain to you more when you meet up with them.

2) Inserts (like what i am doing).
the paper has 2 sides rite? so the front side can be your english & chinese wordings like the above, and at the back of the insert, you can use the right side for the map. but i tell you its not necessary lah.. its amara hotel and its NEXT to the mrt leh.. if the guests dunnoe how to go then i dunnoe what to say :p

if u wanna see my card, you can PM me...

hi lilian

icic. ya, mayb juz indicate tat it's near tanjong pagar mrt can liao. many ppl sure noe 1.
actually i've no worries abt amara's location. most ppl i noe noe where it is. ;)

hi minssy,

wow, u r v innovative le. gd idea! :D

hi lilian,

okie.. will send u tonight...

hi mikmik,

yeah! hhahahahh! but scared that they will have high expectations and then if it doesnt turn out well then i bang wall! hahhahah!

hi reismion,

innovative? no lah... actually i got the idea from a simple mikmik showed me
so credit is her's...

is there any additional charge for printing the map of Amara hotel? Shouldn't Amara be printing the map on the card directly? It's very unfair for us to pay extra just for the map.

hi reismion,

oh yeah!

hi jo,

not a fair statement cos it depends on the hotel.. some hotel has cards that pre-printed the map at the back and some dun. and its entirely up to your preference whether you wan to print the map or not.

Hi Minssy and Reismion,

I am here too!!!! hahahaha... no worries... yar hor you are right.. only a few of us.. what hapen .. understand from the F&B Manager that Amara is very fully booked should have alot of people on this thread unless the information we provide is too detailed that we actually answered their queries... heehee....

By the way, Minssy can you email me your cards pixs to : [email protected]

Sorry ladies, what is PM?

I'm having my banquet at Amara in Dec. I have the following questions which I hope you gals can help me with :

1. How long does it take for the march in? My march in song is only 4 mins, is it enough? The ballroom seems quite long.

2. As the ballroom is so long, will pple seated behind have problems viewing the screen in front. I have 25 tables for my wedding.

3. The aisle seems kind of narrow...is there enough space for a very long gown....my gown is very long and wide...don't want to trip over the tables and chairs!

Would be great if someone out here can help me out! Thanks!

hi happy,

PM means private message. if you had activated it, i can send you a PM by clicking your nick

hi mikmik,

Q & A time! ;)
you are the only one here thats experienced... hee...

hi happy

really? tat's grat. show's tat amara's getting more popular liao. yipee!!

hi littlemay

no worries. i've seen the setup for like 28 tables. still got lots of space.

Thks minssy,
U r really creative! Your card is lovely!
R u in t arts/sales/marketing/advertising industry?

My hubby still wants 2 provide Amara map in a separate sheet of paper for guests who we tink r unsure of where Amara is. Most ppl i asked really dunno where Amara is wor... We'll send out t map together w/ t card.

hi lilian,

thanx... i am doing sales but i think i have a slight drop of creativity in me i guess.. i like to make cards though...

u can print the map on another piece of paper but i tell you it may not be so nice... what size paper are you going to print one? will the paper match amara card? are you going to use extra time to cut the paper to size yourself? cos printers cant do it... do mock ups first to see the effect yourself yah..

minssy, haha... no wonder u're gd.
Tats wat i tink also... too troublesome to print the map and had 2 make sure t color & size is right, but my hubby insist on t idea. aiks...

hi lilian

if u nd to attach a seperate piece of paper to ur invitation card, pls mk sure it's pasted or tied to it cos tat time my fren sent me his card, the map kept falling out. nearly lost it. :P

juz my 2-cents' worth.

hi lilian,

nah.. just hoped to do a card thats different from the typical ones....

ok if you wanna use the amara card, you gotta use a square insert just like mine. ask the printer to shun bian print the map for you.. extra cost but at least you get it done. dun DIY unless you are very way ahead of time cos it will be quite a bit of work.

haha.. seldom post but i always log on to this website n see wat i can Kpo... ;)

using the inserts, may i know how much you guys pay? i didnt do the inserts.. but use hot stamping instead.

Little may, last time i sk the F&B mgr, he told me to prepare a song at least 3 mins will do....mine is 36 tables... wonder i got any walking space or not

Hi wonder wat wedding songs you gals use for march-in? me very into oldies... so i had in mind quite a few old songs..

hi socksham,

my square insert with 1 side color printing is $0.80. quite ok....

yours is 36 tables ah? should be quite tight leh.. but of cos they will not eat into the march in aisle space.. just that space between the tables will be quite narrow...

i guess old songs are ok so long as its something meaningful to you guys
. for me, i am still thinking...

hi sockham,
kpo kpo liao.. then muz write some comments mah.. keke...

Think t normal price of printing 200-300 pcs of inserts (normal ink and paper) is $80 to $100. How much is ur hotstamping?
Yours is 36+2 reserve?
I had a peek at last Fri's banquet which has 40 tbls. They opened t L-shaped function rm but it's still quite crampy.

Anyone noe how much tbl then they'll open up t L-shape?

hi minssy,
;-) heehee, ok!!

hi littlemay,
Q1 : was told that a 3min song would be sufficient.
i find that the song is even long enough for cake-cutting on stage. hehehe

Q2 : so far no such feedback abt the screen from guests. so can't really feedback much.
for 25 tables, there will be sufficient space. can ask if amara can help shift the tables further up front? only thing is that, there will be more space created at the back

Q3 : long gown no prob. i had a long train. no problem with that.
big gown ~ will be a little squeezy. cos my WG has a ballgown skirt. space was abit narrow

hi lilian,

IMO after having the banquet there, i feel the ballroom is capable of handling up to 32-34 tables comfortably. anything more, might feel squeezy cos the ballroom is long and narrow.

if i recall correctly, above 38 tables then the L-shape can be opened.
think the max the long ballroom can hold is 38. to increase to 45, must open L-shape.

Thanks for your reply....
Good! I chose "Only Time" by Enya, 3mins plus, so should be enough

Mikmik, my gown is not only long, but its also a ballgown..My gown from Divine, with the long long train one....

Hmmm...concerned about the screen...u know if they can place the screen elsewhere or do they have 2 screens?

hi littlemay,
Yes, they have 2 screens. U can place one next to t front stage, and one at t bak of t ballrm. Other than tat, dun tink there'r other places spacious enuff 2 put t screens & projectors.

Hi Lilian,

They have 2 screens? That's great!! But does that mean we need 2 projectors? Will Amara provide that?

Oh, and just wanna know if you gals think that the bride and groom mannequins and the wedding table setup at the lobby looks OBIANG? U think if many of us complain, they will remove that?

hi littlemay,
=) long train no worries.
they can put up 2 screens but you will require 2 projectors. i understand that amara has a cable to link both the projectors to 1 laptop.
think will need to rent anothe projector.

Thanks for your assurances gals!

Btw, when will Michelle call me again after i have collected my cards and gone for my food tasting? 1 month before my wedding?

Hi gals!!! I'm most likely going for Amara for next March... hehe hope to bargain more stuff with michelle, seems like a very nice lady.

reismion, was looking at the thread earlier, how come the pic you uploaded looks different from the pics michelle shown me? The setting in your photos look much nicer... How many themes do they actually have?

Also who have seen their bridal suite? nice?

hi artitute

tat theme was a one-off. michelle was using a test florist. not sure if they r using them eventually. but i really love the setting...

as for the bridal suite, i've been there b4. michelle took us up. it's 2 deluxe room joined as well. quite spacious. u can ask her to bring u there.

hi there, me is also looking at holding my AD wif Amara but need some feedback on the below for those who hv sign or hv hold their wedding at Amara

1) Will they gif free flow of beer if we request?
2) How do you rate their service and food?

hi jo,

15cm x 15 cm closed card. open will be of cos 30xm x 15cm.

envelope is just 0.5cm wider so it will be a snug fit.

hi diana,

1) depending on promo. if you have time, you can wait. mine was signed during a bridal show and i got free flow for my weekdays.
2) food and service not bad. most comments here are positive.