Amara Singapore

Hi Lilian,

Most of us feel tat Grandeur is nicer....classy (gold)...Romance too red...I hv not seen natural...but heard tat it's very green...more suitable for poolside...

That means u r goin 2 source 4 ur own wdg favours ?...

That's a gd news....new card design...hopefully, they dun say say oni...wait till my turn 2 take the card...still the same type...wdg favours oso...then i b so disappointed...

Hi Lilian,

I tink it is a good deal for the exchange as understand tt e chocolate wedding favours is juz a minimal cost to Amara..but wat if Amara change e wedding favours to somethin better?

As for the theme, Grandeur is much nicer cos Natural veri green n Malay whereas Romance veri ang gong gong :D ...u can ask Amara to show u photos of these theme.

Thanks for feedback to Amara on their wedding cards design n favours
hopefully they can change to somethin better n nicer.

Hi Tarepanjo,
Thanks for e advice
Will b careful with these hidden costs...must negotiate for these to b inclusive in e package FOC!

Hi lili and tarepanjo,

What tarepanjo say is true too.

Primary things are basically in the contract already. Just need to bargain more. Can bargain for free MTM shoes, MTM pants for groom, any FOC accessories and how many sets?

1. MTM growns and EG - If required laces or ribbon, any additional charge? Some BS charge by per meter.

2. What is the cost for additional photos? Different BS charge differently. Some charge very high!! Has to really compare around.

Nowsaday use digital camera. So that means, one page can have different photos and different poses. Any additional charge for additional pose? Ask for a CD rom with all photos selected.

3. OTR - There are 2 types of OTR. One is brand new dress which is OTR and the other meaning is OTR dress which wore by others before.

4. Make sure that you are able to choose ALL the growns selection in the BS. My friend pay lesser for a package and was very happy that she has a good bargain. During the fitting, was informed that she cannot select all the growns. Only a small selection, if she wants to choose all the selection, than has to upgrade the package.

Cannot remember off hand lay, will inform again if I can remember.

Hi Jas,

Thanks for the info and advise

Choosin BS is much more headache than choosin dinner venue..got sooo many things need to look out for...is juz like choosin a hse reno package :p ..got to look out for hidden costs!

Hi Lili and tarepanjo,
Ya.. I have 2 source for my wdg favours. My budget 4 wdg favour is $1.50 each, and tat will b $450 for 300 guests - still cheaper than Amara $480+++ 20L beer. So now I'm crossing my fingers hoping tat my guest will finish up all my 50L beer
! and Amara wun chgn their wdg favours 2 smthg more than $2

Joking, Joking.. Dun bash me up ...

Will b gg down 2 see Grandeur setup tis saturday. The photos Michelle showed me doesn't look fantastic lay.. But i trust u gals' taste

I saw Romance setup last week. True lor, ang gong gong... But it goes well with red rose petals which r place in a bowl on every tbl.

Thks 2 jaspeng for sharing the info!

shell,

I'm not too sure if they do serve to indiv.
But Lipeng mentioned that changing of plate will be done on dishes which have bones, shell like chicken, fish, prawns.... Think will change after 2-3 dishes.

Lili : Agree with u on the BS....i m goin 2 shortlist afew BS & really compare their packages...budget, gown & photo turnout really very impt...gd to hv a gf following u 2 BS while doing the shortlist...gf can give u alot of comments & u can prevent the BS frm pestering u 2 sign wif them immediately since ur hb not there...

Jas : Thanks for the useful info...must really bargain more frm the BS...

Lilian : Can share where u got ur wdg favours frm ? in case, Amara din chgn their wdg favours & i might hv 2 source ard...my budget oso ard $1.50...kekeke...

btw, can u chk with Michelle whether it's really true tat they dun chgn the plate for every dish...i oso personally feel tat they should chgn plate given the fact tat they r htl not rest....if not, i m goin 2 bring up 2 Li Ping when i mtg her....wan 2 request tat beverage of all guests 2 b filled up frequently & the changes of plate....

ya, beta 2 see the real grandeur setup....it's really nice nice...

Shell : If it really the case, u beta bring up 2 Li Ping...we hv the right to demand gd services frm them...they r at least 4 stars leh...how can hv restaurant standard...

Hi Tare, i recently went for a wedding dinner at Grand Plaza Park Royal, They do change plate after every dish just that the did not divide food portion into individual plates lor...

It ok that they fill up the beverages but u must tell them dun fill up 3/4 glass for red wine.. Slightly less than 1/2 will do to avoid wasteage.

Hi Tarepanjo,
I'm intending to do exactly tat when I meet Michelle tis wkend! Gonna ask her abt her search on wdg favours, wdg cards and the change of plate thing. Will definitely keep u gals posted

Nope, I have not got my wdg favours yet. Will b sourcing ard mid-nxt-year bah... U gave contact of elegants@singtel rite? My fren gave another contact tat sells key-chains and bears at $1.50. If u wan t contact n sample pix, I can email 2 u. jaspeng also suggest Delfi Orchard...
If u happen to visit Bangkok Jatuchak Wkend market, u may find more choices and cheaper favours

I just bought a CD. Singer is Andy Williams and the song name is The Hawaiian Wedding Song. I love the song!!!

Lyric goes like this:

This is the moment I've waited for
I can hear my heart singing
Soon bells will be ringing

This is the moment of sweet aloha
I will love you longer than forever
Promise me that you will leave me never

Here and now, dear
All my love I vow, dear
Promise me that you will leave me never
I will love you longer than forever

Now that we are one
Clouds won't hide the sun
Blue skies of Hawaii smile
On this, our wedding day

(I do) I do
(Love you) Love you
With all my heart

The song is 2:30 minutes. I intend to use it for my 1st march-in. Do you ladies think that it is long enough to reach the stage and also for the cake cutting? I think 1 minute is enough to reach the stage and another 1 minute for cake cutting. Is it too risky?

Hi Shell,

noted, will tell them abt the wine...

some guest actually prefer to take the dishes themself...so i m ok if they din divide indiv. plate...but must chgn the plate after every course...cleaner mah..

Hi lilian,

ok, shall b waiting 4 the fdback frm u...

ya, i give the contact (haven't chk out)...but gd 2 hv more lobang...kekeke...can e-mail me at [email protected] 10-Q, 10-Q !!!

Hi Jas,

the lyric is very meaningful...gd choice...i thk it's beta 2 hv a rehearsal & testing on whether the song is of the right timings...

Lilian, please share your contacts for the favours

Somethin to share, if any one of u goin to have flowergirl n/or pageboy during your march-in.
Might like to check out Tom n Stefanie @ West Mall for their outfit. Just went there today.
They have tux n china-collar suits for boys. not sure how much.
n 6-7 selection of dresses for girls in both pink n white color abt $49.90 each. very nice.
Anyway please make sure the chidren are at least 5 yrs old, similar age, n very well-rehearsed for the event.
I went for a weddin where they had a little boy 2-3 yr old n girl 6-7 yr old. She was literally draggin him along. n the boy couldnt walk in a straight line.
n several time the couple had to slow down so that they do not bump into the children.

But another weddin I attended had 2 children abt 5-6, well trained, similar height look matchin together.
very cute n sweet. n romantic.

Hi Ash,

U intend 2 hv flowergal/pageboy ? Dun thk i will hv cos all my niece/nephew r in school...might not even come 4 my dinner...

Hi Jas,

Ya, they allow rehearsal b4 the dinner...i ask Li Ping that times b4 i sign up...she says can b arrange...u oso nd 2 ask ur emcee to rehear his/her speech...

hi tarepanjo,

wow, emcee need to have rehearsal! I didn't know about that. Thanks you.

Than I think I better prepare 2 songs in case the song above cannot last the whole process.

Just wondering if Liping allow me to go to the ballroom to do the estimated timing, maybe before or after the food tasting!
I think better call her.

Hi Tare, I juz forwarded u the pix and contact of a wdg favour supplier.
Hi Ash, The contact : Florence @ 6383 4814. Email <[email protected]> Given 2 me by a fren..

Here're 3 wdg favours suppliers' websites I managed to 'dig'
from other threads :
www.kool.com.sg/kgc/weddingfavours.asp
(Pls add one more 'o' in kool. triple 'o's not allow here)
www.labrise.com
www.impactsvs.com

Jas: The song lyrics sounds veri romantic! Issit a new song? Fast or Slow rhythem?

hi lilian,

I'm not sure if it is a new song. It a very slow rhythem and some people might feel that it is too slow and bore.

I just chatted with one of my customer. He mentioned that he attended a wedding dinner at Amara last year.

I did not ask much questions from him. Will try to ask him more if I see him again.

The only thing that he mentioned is the photo mortage. He sat at the other far end, he feedback that it is still acceptable that he can see but not that clear. Furthermore, the people's head in front of him block his view here and there. He suggested to me to put 2 screens. 1 near the stage and the other behind.

What you ladies think? Do you think it will be very squeeze?

Hay jas,
I'm listening 2 t song while writing tis..

Veri romantic and tropical Hawaii song!

I especially like the last part.. 'I do, Love u, With all my heart'
Feel tat it's a bit too slow lay... Ur guests' cheers and claps at t 1st march-in will probably cover over it. U think so?
Think it could be used for t champange pouring.. Veri romantic... I can imagine the scene...

.... My 2 cents worth comments ...

Hi tare n joelle,

juz finished selecting my photos. b4 selecting my hubby told me to control myself but he is very satisfy with it esp the outdoor PS. he selected around 70pieces n we end up paying extra 3k but manage to get back the negetives.

Hi Lilian, just visited the site you recom.
esp like the favours from impactsvs. all very nice. wonder what's the price like? be sure to recom to Michelle.

Jolene, ur hubby is so funny. seems like he's the one who cant control. your photos must be very good, can share?
anyway why 3k? isnt it kinda ex.?

Hi Ash,
Yup, I forwarded the websites 2 Michelle jus now. N she veri efficient... she oredi arrange to meet one of them. I think it's impartsvs. She likes impactsvs too! Same taste hoh...

I think the possibility of Amara changing wdg favours is veri high..! Good for u gals ! But bad for me.. cos I oreadi exchgn my favours for beer

Hi jas,
Mtg Michelle tmr to sign contract n view grandeur setup. If got chance, I can time t timing for march in, so that u can judge if ur song is long enuff. K? I'll ask my BF pretend we really marchin in... hehe... If too many ppl in ballrm tmr doing t setup, then cannot lor, pai-seh ma...

Hi Lilian,

Thanks for the wdg favour contact....

nice to hear tat Amara is really goin 2 chgn their wdg favours...

Hi Jas,

Can send the song to me as well at [email protected] ?

Hi Jolene,

wow...$3k really alot...i can oni spend $1.5K for the additional photo...budget $5k for the whole BS package...do share ur nice PS once u got bk the copy...kekeke

jas: $65 each. now tink back, really 'heart pain'. tink hav to reconsider my honeymoon destination liao.

Ash: my hubby later also tink tat it's too ex. but he said only once in a lifetime.

Tare: the photos will only be ready for collection on 04Dec, so u all still hav to wait quite a while.

Hi Jolene : $65 is consider cheap....some BS charge up to $85 for per addition photo...

ur hb really nice...most of the guy would find tat it's not worth 2 spend so much...after wedding...will collect dust in cupboard...haiii

no prob....shall wait patiently for ur photos...kekeke

Hi Jas, wow got stunned to see the lyrics of the song so romatic... can share with me @ [email protected]

Lillian, wow you are great man, so happy to hear that they are in the midst of changing the favours..

wow jolene, 3k additional, must be very nice.. can share too... email add as above... if file is not too big if not send to [email protected] ok!

Ash, wow so sweet... hehehe...

Hi jas, t approx time 2 walk from t door to the stage is 1min. N according 2 t AV and Lighting manager, the best is to get a march-in song tat is at least 3min long. 2min30sec is ok but a bit risky. Some couple prefer to take their time to march-in, some couple talk to guests half-way, some couple stop to take photos, some couple just 'ciong' to t stage...

N abt t plates, Michelle said t waiters will chgn plates only after dishes that r with bones/shells. Shell, dun be too disappointed...

Hi Lilian,

Thanks for the sharing on the times for the march-in songs...

can we request tat they chgn the plates after every dish ? it's really not very professional leh...given the fact tat they r htl...haiiii

btw, did michelle tell u when they r goin 2 chgn the wdg cards design ?

Hi tare,
Dun mention

U can try asking Liping abt the plates changing... Not sure if they'll agree. I think 2 waiters to 3 tbls is a bit difficult.
Opss.. forgot 2 ask Michelle abt t wdg cards lay. Sorrie, sorrie...

Opinions pls....

Hay gals, does anyone here believe that we should not attend frenz/relations wdgs if our own wdg is 3mths before/after?
2 of my best frenz will b havin their wdg within 3 mths of my wdg date. My mum say 'No, u can't attend theirs.. for ur own good.. blah blah..' But I really hope 2 go lay... haiii

Opinions plz...

Hi Lilian,

Wat i heard is 4 mths..understanding frm my parents n frens..if ur fren's weddin is earlier than urs n within 3 mths, is not gd for u if u attend.
...one of my best frens oso gettin married nxt yr..in order not to miss each other's dinner, she has her AD in May n mine in Sep..so is abt 4 mths or so.

so my suggestion is best to believe wat ur mum say n avoid attendin ur frens weddin...so as to avoid any regret.

but of course...decision is still urs fren :=)

Hi Lilian, better dun attend lah.. But my hubby just attend his best friend wedding 2 sunday ago which is less than 3 mths of our wedding date.. I dun really like it but he insisted so no choice go w him lor..

Very disappointed to hear that they dun change plate after every dish... Well mayb can check with Banquet and if need be request from him lor..

Joelle, u r the earliest among us to hold ur wedding, mayb u can let us know after ur wedding.