Amara Singapore

jas: 10Q *pai say* actually when its nite shots, kinda of tired already... but quite nice. (disadvantage: everyone will be staring at you :P)

Tare: thanks for your comments
. The green is real... its tat <font color="119911">green</font>, the brown grass is one with filter. They din take much of the white lallangs..these pix already touch up liao. Yeah the red one is my EG, quite like it.

Hi Jas,

Just a comment...that songs dun seems to be very suitable for the march-in....i personally prefer more sentimental songs for march-in...giving pple a romantic feelings...

Hi Joelle,

You means there r also white lallangs...i likes those type of lallangs...mayb, will request for those type...but i do really like the "dry" tree as part of the background...so all these picture will b ur big album picture ? which one do u intend to put as ur portrait ?

hi tarepanjo,

Ya, I plan to test the CD-R during our food tasting. Any idea does Liping will be present when we has our food tasting?

You are always welcome to comment. I want "real"comments. No matter whether is it good or bad comments!
Because from comments, I can improve here and there.

Hmmm.... I feel that the song will be fun for 2nd march-in. But the song is not suitable for throwing rose petals.
. Have to forgo one of the plan.

hi long time haven login, bz with work.

tare: juz finish my PS last week. very tired but fun.

jas: went for food tasting last week. liping will show you to the rm for fd tasting and we will hav to make some comments for each dish. liping will come at the end of the dinner

Hi Joelle,
Please send me your photos to [email protected]

Hi Jas &amp; Tare,

ya, i'm considerin those songs... but tink my AD still quite long time from now... prob will look for more songs then...

I think 1st march-in shd b romantic n sentimental. Music not to fast- pace your march in. Good Lyrics. Nice melody., the first 15 secs of the song must grab enough attention n set the mood.

1st Dish song shd be fast n have the 'pow' impact.
(phrase "'pow' impact" always used by Tyra Banks in the Next Top Model show)

2nd march in can be more upbeat n happy song.. faster pace.
My Sis used Barry White : My First, my last, my everything

Discuss with your hubby... coz one of these songs could well become "Your Song" if you haven't have one already.

I like Dearest by Ayumi Hamasaki, but dun know what the lyrics mean.

hi jolene,

oh, so I can pass the CD to liping for testing whether the CD can play in Amara's system.

How is the food there? Any recommendation beside the cod fish? You have 6 dishes to taste too?

By the way, where is the location for food tasting? In ballroom?

hi ashleigh,

Agree with you on the song for 1 dish, 1st and 2nd march-in.

You can search the web if there is any english version for the lyrics.

ladies, sent u the link to my pix.

Tare: Yeah I saw some white lallangs there but my photographer nv say to take there, maybe cos they are too HIGH already, can't capture a nice angle. I have seen ppl took pix fr tanah merah pier, V NICE. nice white lallangs a whole field of them! now me so ENVY!

Yeah all these will be in big album, have not choose which to do the portrait yet.. still thinking abt it...

Jas: The food tasting will be in the function room, ballroom too big liao lah.

Gd morning ladies,

Jas : Mayb, u can thk of other alternative...i hv a colleague...she is using those "pop" "pop"...for her 2nd march-in...(those small bottle where u pull the &amp; there will b some strings of paper flying out &amp; make some sound)...i ever thk of blowing bubbles...but afraid tat the bubbles might drop on the fd...

Hi Jolene,

So where did u go for ur PS ? Hope to see ur photo as well when it's ready...

For the fd tasting,must it be a wkday ? Did u also discuss wif Li Ping on the decor (flowers) for the ballrm ?

Hi Ash,

Thanks for the tip on the songs...i like the song frm the Korean show ("xiang ri xiang qi") call "secret"...thinking of using that....

Hi Joelle,

You means Tanah Merah got nicer lallang...hmmm...now, i really wonder where should i go ? Punggol Marina or Tanah Merah...but r there any beach at Tenah Merah ? Does GHA show u pictures of those places b4 u make up ur mind ?

I'm new to this thread, and a potential AMARA bride

Any Dec'05 brides here who already signed up with/considering Amara? Actually I have an appt with Michelle this evening and to see the setup... Anyone knows her?

Have a nice day!

hi tarepanjo,

thanks, it a good idea as well. Might consider after choosing the march-in songs.

Hi Lilian,
Welcome to this thread!!! I do not know Michelle as I sign up with Liping.

Hi chatterbox,
Yup, Michelle sound friendly over the phone.
I'm hoping she is nice enuff to give me more perks for my package.. I'm getting a weekend banquet - $739/tbl.
I think it's quite expensive, considering no projector, and free flow beer...

I have heard tat using the bubbles is not a good idea... i forgot y but sometg to do with these being soapy if the bubbles burst on it... and something to do with the flower stand if u r using candles on it... but the "pop" is good idea, another type is those gun-type of 'pop' easier to use. Those string type sometimes will not work, for those best effect is use 3, best effect done this before at my cousin wedding (very loud)

Tare: Yeah the place have wonderful lallangs leh BUT lallangs v subjective to weather sometimes have sometimes dun have or not nice.I think tanah merah is not the nice nice beach leh its an ulu place with the wave breaker or sometg.I saw fr a dec brides's PS pix, I tell u IT LOVELY!I dun noe if GHA got go there or not...better check with them.

Lilian,

try asking for th projector, and also day usage of the rm for yr helpers.... Some gals here got it.... Tho I din manage to bargain any ....

hi chatterbox,
I'll try my best... i'm not a good negotiator

Michelle said that Amara only has chocolate as wdg favor. N she asked if anyone got lobang of gd supplier so that she can source for more to provide for our packages.
Anyone here have gd wdg favor supplier to recommend to Amara?? so that we all can benefit with it

Hi Lilian,

I have signed up with Amara n is a Sep05 bride.

Michelle is very friendly but i tink e sole coordinator is Li Ping. During my first encounter with Li Ping, Michelle was around but Li Ping was the one who makes all the decision.

though e projector is not inclusive, try to negotiate for it FOC. I suppose they will agree.
Try to ask for more perks...mayb extra barrels of beer, free day room or i night stay for helpers,
more complimentary carpark tickets, more ppl for e food tasting, etc.

Though Amara is not very flexi, but i believe they can give u more perks than wat is orginally offered.

n so sorry, i dun hv any lobang for wedding gifts.

Hi Lili,
Is your AD's date 18th Sept'05? Curious,, cos that is a very popular date. My best fren will be holding a lunch banquet at Marriott that day.

And thanks 4 your suggestions

I think I'll go for the projector, more carpark tic and beer first. And if Michelle is on a good mood, then maybe can ask for more. kekeke..

hi lilian,

i don't have the lobang but I do know that there are shops selling wedding favours. I don't know the shop name though. The building name is Delfi (hope I did not spell wrongly). It is opposite the Forum. Those shop are at level 2 and level 3.

Joelle: thks for sharing ur photos, very nice. hope mine's will turn out well too.

jas: mine's six dishes, cod fish is really gd even my little cousin love it. but will change some of the dishes. will b meeting liping mayb next week to finalise my menu.

tare: my photos is really for selection but my hubby too bz with work, hav to wait until next week than go. i went sentosa and saddle club (bt timah). at saddle club, we even took photo with the horse. fd tasting is mon-thurs around 7-9pm. as for the decor, liping told me tat will discuss on our next appointment. she will finalise with us the theme n the colour of flowers u prefer.

Sorry, buzy with work. Didn't log in for a long time.

Joelle : I didn't received your fotos ? can send me your fotos ? [email protected]

Lilian : Hows your meeting with Michelle? Like Amara's setup ?

So gals, so we need to prepare only 3 songs(for first march in, 1st dish and second march in)?
All music throughout the whole dinner ?

Jolene: TThanks for ur comments
. Hey, what are the dish u tasted? Me no food tasting so got to find out some feedbacks. BTW when is ur AD?

Smiggins: Oops! will be sending to you shortly.

Hi Lilian,

My AD is 29Sep05...hhhmmm any public holiday falling on 18Sep? but i tink it is oso a weekend rite?..cos i wanted a weekday, so ask our shifu to give us a date that falls on the weekday.
Hope u manage to get e extra perks from Amara

Hi Joelle,
I still din rec ur link to ur photos

can share with me?..cos i m lookin for a BS.
Thank u very very much!

I have not done any plannin for my weddin dinner so cannot share any ideas or opinions with u gals.
So sorrie

Hi Joelle, I still haven't receive ur links. Can you send to me at [email protected]

Currently, I am looking for BS....no BS in mind
I am now in the middle of negotiating with Amara for a poolside ROM reception at Amara. My ROM will be next yr Feb.Currently also negotiating wilt Pan Pacific and Oriental Hotel.My budget quite tight...so need to see which hotel give me the lowest quote...hehe...

Anway, will most probably have my wedding dinner at Pan Pacific cos I love their main ballroom. Does anyone been to Pan Pacific before for the wedding dinner? Any comments?

Hi Smiggins &amp; Lili,
18th Sept'05 falls on Lunar Mid Autumn Festival - and is a auspicious day for marriage. Moreover, it's a Sunday

Well... I did not managed to get much perks from Amara. Only 5% more carpark coupons and day use room for my helpers.
Michelle quoted $280+++ for projector and $12+++ per pax for supper. Sigh * * *

And yes, I like their ballroom and ambience. No pillars, private reception area and glass-wall lift. I wonder if their LED stars on the ceiling can change colors? And is their first dish presentation impressive - with the normal lights OFF and ceiling star LEDs BLINKING ? Wow...

Yesterday's setup was Dream theme (red color). Quite nice. The wedding cake looked kind of funny... like a xmas tree, or Marge Simpsons's hair

Lilian : Welcome to this thread ! If i am not wrong, i thk the LED stars on the ceilings can chgn colors...it's that, that really attract me to take up Amara...kekeke...

oh, i saw the "X'mas tree" cake on my 1st visit to the ballrm...my hb dun like it....during my 2nd visit, it's another round cake wif alot of flowers...but Li Ping told me tat they will chgn the cake design quite frequently....

I ever come across an advertisement...they r one place selling wedding favours at No. 11 Trengganu street, Tel : 62265510 e-mail : [email protected] 
i hv not yet gone down to take a look...

Joelle : ok, will chk with GHA whether they hv any couple taken PS at Tenah Merah...

Jolene : Wow, having horse in the PS...must b very nice...can't wait to see ur photo...

Smiggins: The music thru'out the dinner...u can leave it to Amara or u can oso burn all ur favourite song into a cd for them 2 play....4 me, i will pass them 2-3 cd on new age piano music 2 play thru'out....

hi yuppygirls,

Ya, same same as me. I have already book the poolside for my solemazation before the dinner start. They charge me a couple of hundreds dollar and with +++. I really don't understand why they need to charge all the +++.

I attended a dinner at Pan Pacific before. Maybe you would like to go to this thread to look at the comments. I posted thread there before and you can read my comments. The ballroom that I went to is Ocean Ballroom. I had attended a wedding dinner at Oriental as well. They are now renovating so I guess their package will be quite expensive by next year.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/1214.html?1098405471

hi smiggins,

For me, I prepare 3 songs for first march in, 1st dish and second march in. The background will be more of pop songs.

Thks jaspeng and Tarepanjo,
I'd let Michelle know about those suppliers.
My friend also recommend another one, who supplies keychain and small-size bears.
Have a great weekend gals!

sorry so so busy at work till almost collapse liao somemore exam..

Hi Lilian welcome!
So may tread till see le gong gong liao!!!

Joelle, can i view your beautiful photo too!!
Please send me at [email protected]

Joelle: my AD is 19Dec04. my dishes are Braised Shark's Fin with Crabmeat and Fish Maw, Stir-fried Scallop with Asparagus in XO Sauce, Baked Silver Cod Fish with Bonito Sauce, Crystal Seafood Delight, Braised Sea Cucumber with Vegetable and Deep-fried Crispy Chicken with Special Spicy Dip.

tare: juz hope tat my pixs will turn out nice

Joelle, thanks for sharing your pics. Thnk both of u look great in the pics.

Lilian, welcome to the thread.

Chatterbox, dont worry, your AD still a long time away can always try to bargain for more stuff later.

Smiggins, thinkin of usin Norah Jones for during dinner. but a bit scared my guests all fall asleep. Heehee

Jas, you talkin abt Craft Inc? heard abt this place too. Might pop down there if eventually have to source for own weddin favours.

Gal, any suggestions of wat you like the favours to be?

Hi Joelle , your fotos look great! Thanks for sharing your fotos.
I am still considering my BS.

Ashleigh : Have you compiled the list of songs you are going to play during your dinner ?

hi amy,

Ya, I had signed the contract. At first, LP does not mentioned anything about the +++. We signed the contract. Few days later, we called and asked about the projector, she mentioned +++ for the projector and swimming pool as well. I think tonight I had to check my contract again. The +++ was mentioned in the email but don't know is it in the contract as well.

hi Ashleigh,
if you don't mind, can refresh my memory on the things about the Craft Inc? Too many threads, blur blur liao.

I personally like any wedding favours as long as it has our name ( my FH and I myself) and date on it. Most of the hotel wedding favours does not has name and date on it. I feel no significant. That why I had my DIY wedding favour.

Ash : I personally like wedding bears as wedding favour...if oni, Amara can hv diff favours rather than chocolate...i thk they should really do somethgs abt their wedding favour...chocolate is kinda "old fashion"...

Jolene : Agree with Shell...mine AD photographer oso CF Tien...he is a very experience photographer...will give u alot of pointers...

Hi Tarepanjo,
I think u'll be glad to know that Amara is REALLY doing smthg abt their wdg favours

Michelle, my coordinator, is currently sourcing for more choices.
And well, I think they shd chgn the wdg cards too. Those 2 that they have now are kind of... emm... orh-bit...

hello ladies,

I agree with Lilian. They should change the wedding cards!!!

Any idea where I can customise made the wedding card which cost $1.00 per card?

Hi Lilian,

Really, they r goin to chgn the wdg favours...pray hard it won't b chocolate anymore...

Did u feedback to Michelle on their wdg cards ? Saw so many wdg cards frm other htl...so nice...wish tat Amara will really chgn their cards...

Hi Jas,

I thk Joelle customise made her wdg card at a shop call isuccess in bras basah...there r afew printing shop...mayb, u can chk out over there...

Ladies : Is it ok if we just walk-in to any bridal studio ? Me thinking of checking out some BS over at Tpagar...kekeke...any ideas on which BS at TP offering MTM WG &amp; EG ?

hi tarepanjo,

Of course you can. But they will pester you and will feel very irritating. I guess most of the BS provide MTM WG and EG. I'm with Paris and mine is MTM WG and EG.

Just be careful of hidden costs.

Hi Jas,

Me is lookin for a BS but m afraid of walkin in cos will b blur blur..no idea wat i wan n wat to ask for...can u kindly advise wat r e primary things we need to look out for in a package n wat likely r e hidden costs? Thanks

Hi Lili,

Yup, confirmed Amara liao. Will sign and pay deposit tis weekend
My AD is on 10th Dec (Sat) , Banquet on 11th Dec (Sun). Amara is already booked on the 10th, so I have to separate the 2 events.
Yes, managed to squeeze a little more perks from Michelle...
Projector rental FOC and 20L beer in exhange of all my wdg favours. Dunno whether it's a gd deal anot ?

Hay Ladies, Grandeur / Natural / Romance is nicer ?

Hi Tarepanjo,
Michelle did mentioned they're looking for new wdg card designs too. And I told her that there are many ppl out there eagerly waiting for this change
hehe

Hi Jas,

Agree...i m oso quite scare tat they will keep pestering me...tat why, goin 2 chk out wif my frenz 1st...then i can tell them i nd 2 go bk &amp; discuss wif my hb...kekeke...

Lili,

I thk some of the hidden cost might include make up artist, driver to arrive at ur hse earlier on AD...extra charges...if rain on PS, do they charge if u nd 2 go bk another day for outdoor shot...fake eye lashes for PS make up...addition cost...

mayb, Jas can tell us more on other hidden costs...