Amara Singapore

Joelle : Ya, really seems like sometimes din hear frm u...i thou u r on leave....

How's ur preparation so far ? June is coming 2 an end...Ur AD drawing nearer as well...kekeke...Hv u start planning on the times schedule on the AD ?

Yvonne : Me late twenties as well...my jiemeis r all quite fun loving...so i thk they will definitely wan 2 sabo my hb...cannot let him in so easily...kekeke...

wat dialect gp r u ? if teochew...it goin 2 b quite early...

tarepanjo
i'm cantonese, so, don't need to leave the house before the sun comes out

I will find those Jiemei who will not sabo my hubby too much.. Just worry my hubby kena sabo at the wedding dinner..

I am Hokkien & my hubby is Teochew

HiHi Ladies,

Yeah on leave fr last fri till mon
Been shopping for my mum's clothes.

Wedding preparation so far so good... no sense of urgency yet but pretty excited... hehehe.. cun wait for PS nt month. Going down to BS for fitting of WG & EG on 24 jul... Now starting to look for jie mei's cosages & other small things...

Me & hubby are hokkiens, Pure breed! hahahaha.. i think my jie mei will sabo hubby & xiong dis.. But hope they dun sabo too much during dinner + most important dun sabo me... :P hehehe.. i want to look mei mei thru out dinner ... *vain*vain*

Shell : You are such a caring wife...but it a once in a life times occasion...must test ur hb how much he luv u...best ways is put him 2 test during the sabo part...kekeke.....ya, i oso hope tat my hb wont hv 2 drink those terrible wine + beer + soya sauce mixer...not 4getting me, oso pray hard tat no one sabo me...

i ever went 2 a frenz wed...her frenz give her 2 small oranges & tell her 2 put into her hb pants frm the left & take out frm the right...her hb hv 2 stand on chair 2 let everyone see...

4 me, i will even give my frenz ideas on wat my hb hate

i ever saw a video clip...the bridegroom nd 2 eat a small little worm b4 he can pass the last sabo stage...terrible rite ?....

Since ur hb teochew...will he come & fetch u very early...

Joelle : so nice of u 2 go shopping 4 ur mum...u buy her the clothes ?

hv u start coming up wif ur guests lists ?

will u b buying those chinese custom barang barang wif ur mum ? thk should b fun shopping 4 those stuff...

Tare: Me buying my Ah Ma's clothes, my mum she will take care herself :P hehehe...

Yeah started with the guest list already... dun really fancy to do it... complicated... heheheh

erm.. most likely going to simplified most of the barang barang as they r of not much use... bought new towels, some new clothes already...

Morning Ladies,

Check with you, on AD guest will be coming up either fr the glass lift & the normal lift? Or will they stop 1 lift?

Joelle : I would thk most guests would come up by the normal lift...cos the glass lift is at the other corner...pple might not realise it...I dun thk they will stop 1 lift...lift should b on at the times...

gd grand daughter...kekeke...thk guest list is the most headache part follow by seating plan...hv u got the seating plan frm Li Ping ?

hmmm...i oso heard my frenz saying must buy new clothes...how abt shoe huh ? I means shoe tat r meant 4 casual wear the next day after the AD...

Shell : So hv u start ur preparation like Joelle ?

Morning,

Tare: hm..i think those driving will be taking the normal lift, then those coming by MRT may see the glass lift first... heheh try to show more ppl to the glass lift.. if not where to put the reception table is quite a problem.. i think normally they put the recept table at where the drink counter is....

Nope not at tat part yet, this a while to dec so will be getting fr her maybe after food tasting...

erm... i nv heard of buying shoes leh... all i know is tat newly wed bride are not suppose to buy anything 1 month after AD so brides suppose to buy some new clothes to bring over to new pls (more excuse to buy clothes :P)I guess if u want can buy shoes too.

No news fr shell & the rest ya...

Sorry.. Very busy in office for the past few days that y no reply.. Well I have not settle teh guest list.. In the process of house renovation...Shld end in Jul then can move on to other things..

I only heard must buy some clothes and wear after wedding

Hello...

Joelle : I thou there's a standard place where they put the table..just outside the ballroom...will u decorate the cocktail area ? Maybe, i will put 2 cute wedding bear beside the ang bow box + the photo album...thk for those who bring along their big potrait photo...there's no nd 2 put the table top photo liao...

when r u having the fd tasting ? Are u having all the 9 coz or just 6 coz...Li Ping says most couple will skip the noodle, cold dish & dessert...

Is it ? I never heard tat i can't buy anythgs 1 mth after AD...if goin 2 honeymoon...how can dun buy thgs ?...kekeke...

ya...seems like tis thread is getting quiet again...

Shell : hmmm...now concentrating on hse reno....so hv u bought the furniture ? It very exciting when the hse the ready...but very tiring cos alot of thgs 2 shift...i havent shift all my thgs over 2 my new hse as still staying at my mum's place...

What the theme of ur hse like ?

Hi Tare,

The theme of the house is zen.. I choose walnit colour for my house.. Kitchen is lightest then medium for living and darkest for bedroom.. Ihvnt bought any furniture yet will do so somewhere in Nov or so...

Hi Moo, this forum dun allow me to post the name of the designer house will drop u a mail for that ok..

hi Tare,
I think there is a standard place where they place the table.... dun think i am going to decorate much.. maybe the photo + ang box .

Most likely going tohave the food tasting but got to pay for it, they are giving a 20% discount , didn't know we can skip dishes leh... i need to ask Li Ping abt tat again...Urs is included inthe package?

Sigh my house finish building yet... so envy those with own home now..

Moo : I hv also PM u the contact of my contractor...

Shell : My living room r frm light to dark walnut color...as we hv a full ht window...i got a platform as well...a lot of my frenz like tat part of my hse...they says it very cozy...last X'mas...we put a X'mas tree there...i hv diff color for my 3 bedrooms...blue, green & purple-pink....kitchen is bright yellow & blue cabinet....

Joelle : how come urs dun hv fd tasting...ya, mine included in the package...FOC...but oni for 6 pax & 6 coz...i ask her how much do i hv 2 pay if i wan 2 hv all the 9 coz...she says $50 per dishes...too expensive...

u will hv ur turn for the hse reno next times...now, u just concentrate on ur wedding 1st....when my hse is renovating...so many headache & disagreement wif my hb....must really compromise...

Li Ping said can skip noodle, dessert & chicken I think can skip lor..

I have purple for my bedrm, green for the other 2 bedrm & lily white for living rm.

ya, she oso tell me to skip noodle, dessert & cold dish...but i prefer 2 try the dessert as well...since it my favourite yam paste with ginko nuts...mayb, will ask her whether is it cheaper 2 pay 4 the dessert ourself...

Shell : Purple is nice...cozy, cool & romantic as well...i hv a frenz who paint her master bed rm with red...so passion & hot...kekeke....

u can go molecule to look for wall clock...they hv nice design...

hi tarepanjo

how do i check the pm?

shell, hv u sent me an email? didn't receive...

do u all think that it is gd to hack away a bedroom to make the master bedroom bigger? will the house value decrease?

mtg li ping 2 wks later to see the poolside and the function room

Morning ladies,
Tare: wow ur fren with the red master bedroom pretty innovative... Yeah molecule have real nice clocks.

Moo: wat is the size of ur apt (4 or 5 rooms). Dun think will make the house value decrease by hacking walls...

Hi Moo,

I thk when I PM u...the mail should be send to ur e-mail address directly(the one that you sign up for this website)

if u still can't get it...mayb, u wan 2 give me ur e-mail add then ?

when u hack away a bedroom...if in future u wan 2 sell ur flat away...the new owner dun like it...u will hv to build the wall bk 4 them....if they r ok wif the idea...then should b ok...i do hv a frenz who do tat...now, she oni hv 2 room...her master bed rm oso become study room...2-in-1...

so u might b an Amara bride as well ? when ur AD ?

Joelle : ya, they like red color...even kitchen cabinet oso red..Ikea is oso another nice place to find cheap & nice decor...i bought quite some kitchen stuff frm IKEA....

Ladies Morning!

Hey anyone knows any of those traditional cake shops tat sells those wedding biscuits(those peanuts in maple sugar thingy)?

Moo : wow, you are consider very early to look ard for a venue...some whom are getting marry next yr....still havent start hunting ard...kekeke....

Is ur AD early part of 2006 ? Hv u start looking ard for BS as well ?

Joelle : I thk i ever saw a shop near far east or china square selling those wedding biscuits...that shop is quite famous...is there any thread in SB tat mentioned abt wed biscuits...u r helping ur hb is it ? cos it suppose 2 b frm the guy side...

my parents also wan 2 ask 4 those next times rather than cake...kekeke

Hey Joelle : Happen to saw this info frm the thread.
Gin Thye Cake Maker. Quite famous. One box of 5 types of biscuits cost $16.80.
423 Sembawang Road Singapore 758392. Tel:2571566/67583742. It is one of the shophouse along sembawang road.

HiHI,

Tare: Yeah helping my hubby.. thinking of giving traditional biscuit instead of cake... but they are rather ex wor... thanks for the infor will go and take a look.

Hi Joelle,

Perhaps, u can choose...dun nd so many type of biscuits...like i says...i thk shenton way oso hv 1 wedding biscuits shop tat r very famous...u might wan 2 chj out as well...

cake can't keep too long...some pple give out "cake card" instead tat r valid for 1 yr...as & when they wan, they just go & take...but of cos, deliver cake/biscuit is nicer...

Hi Tare,

Yeah i tot of giving the cake card b4 as well but my parents said then my relatives still have to go and collect so ma fan so they prefer to give the actual thingy instead we will see how things go.. the card is really convenience hehehe.

Shenton way have this type of shop..interesting . any idea which part?

Joelle, if I am not wrong, "Liang CHen MEi Tian" along the street op maxwell hawker centre might have traditional cakes. This street has chinatown night market stalls. Beside it is the open space for Pasar Malam.

Hi Joelle : cake card oso lighter...kekeke...

It those shop hse near to far east or china sq...always very crowded...

Me now quiet down liao...since oredi confirm venue, AD video & photographer...shall wait till Nov then go & look see BS with my gf...Dec will go booking wif my hb...

Is it tough 2 do the montage ? Using ppt ? should oso add in music rite ? Will ur dinner hv AM ceremony highlights as well ?

Shell : Do you intend 2 get cake or biscuit ?

Hi Tare, wah u are pretty fast .. hehehe

Montage ok lah, time consuming cos must match the photos with timing with mood... but i find it rather fun & interesting... mini project for us.

O ya u r right on the lighter part... maybe half give cards half give cakes... easier ...

Shell: been busy ya .. seldom see u ard..

I think I will go for cakes.. I have do the montage for my ROM Photos myself intend to show during the dinner.. But still need some touch up.. Will do so for my Studio photos if they give me the softcopy.

Finally my house reno is over.. Luckily dun have much problem during the process.. Next is to settle the photoshot then the guest list..

Does anyone gg to prepare a huge box for storing of ang pao? I am thinking of buying a big heart shape box and cut on hole to drop the ang pao...

DOes Amara give free ang pao box?

Hi Shell,

wat software r u using for ur montage? Yeah me hope BS gives me softcopy for the PS shots too.

Amara dun give ang bao boxes. hey the box that u want, if anyone u know is going to thailand can ask them to help u get one it cos $19 there(fully done up + decorated). I am getting 1 ang bao box too..now am thinking of either buying 1 with the hole($19) or w/o(much cheaper)

Joelle : ya, me pretty fast...in fact...i oso got my any bow box liao...
...i bought it frm Kalm at Suntec...red in color...got hole & i ask the sales asst 2 help me tie a pink, shiny ribbons on top of the box...will oni hv 1 box as my mum prefer 2 put her ang bow in her own handbag...

i thk it beta to buy the box with hole...u save the trouble of cutting urself..unless, u r very expert & confirm tat u will not damage the box...

Do u thk it fine if i just hv photo montage without the AM ceremony highlights ? Cos i realise tat alot of couple show montage + AM highlights...if nd highlights...will hv 2 spend more $$$

Joelle, I happen 2 walk past a wedding biscuit shop on Sat...It call : Thye Lee Confectionery (Blk 108 #01-1283, Hougang Ave 1 Tel: 62889514). More choices for u...kekeke

Shell :If the BS dun give u soft copy...thk u can scan urself...using the 4R tat they give u...

excited 2 see ur hse completed ? u can start buying all those barang barang 4 hsehold use...

Hi Tare what shape is the box? So fast buy liao but it take up space leh.. How much does it cost?

For me I like something special so it is ok with AM highlights.. Mayb will add some of our tour photos + ROM photos + Photoshots dun wan to follow ppl do add young to grown up photos..

We are plan to start buying furniture, electrical appliances and barang barang after Sept..
What a relief finally over for the reno process..

hi tare:

thanks for the infor on the cakes!! *Muack*

Hey i think i saw ur box b4, tat is one i shortlist too! its a tall rectangular box right. the opening is at the top... i like tat color too (matches my EG) hahaha.. think i will get one tat is cut lah... my art & craft is v lousy... unless my hubby volunteer but i think he will rather pay $.

THink its alright if u have montage only. Yeah highlights means engagine a videographer to do it... I am having one though... now have to sort out the DVD thingy with Amara..

Hey u gals saw the article on today's Newpaper on Pan Pacific hotel's couples dinner thingy?

Shell : like wat Joelle hv mentioned...it's a tall rectangle box...red in color...the mat'l is quite hard...thk i bought it at ard $17-$19...can't remember the exact...kekeke...it can b very nice after u add in the ribbon on the top of the boxes...i store it at my new hse wardrode...kekeke...i din show 2 my hb...scare he scold me 4 buying so early..

I thk it's also very nice if u can add in a picture of the place where the 2 of u mtg...u can oso include picture of ur new love nest...

u can start shopping ard...take down the model of the elect app. & can go IMM or furniture mall 2 choose ur furniture...so i presume u oso haven't buy bed loh ?

Joelle : U are welcome...
...it gd 2 hv more choices & u can oso compare the prices...

ya...tat the box...initally, i m thking whether i should choose a blue color one...but tat isn't any hole on top & red is definitely more suitable 4 wedding....i ever come across a heart shape ang bow box at Merchant Court htl reception...bur duno where they get it frm...

ya, i saw tat articles...i can imagine how stress tat couple is...they hv to walk all the way frm their bridal suite on #20 to the lobby...it takes the couple 45 mins...after tat, they still hv 2 walk over 2 another nearby htl 4 the dinner....all the relatives was called last mins to inform abt the change in venue....

so scary...we must really pray hard tat our banquet will go smoothly...

Hi Tare:
Think the heart shape ang bao box is fr thailand or some wedding planners are actually selling them.

Yeah pray hard Amara dun have power problem!!

Hi Joelle,

Seems like Thailand really hv alot of cheap & gd stuff....if i hv a chance 2 go there...i thk i dun mind buying my wedding favours frm there....i heard frm a bride-to-be that she & her hb might b goin there to tailor make a suit...since their BS oni provide 1 suit 4 her hb

i thk i will get heart attack if Amara hv power prob...htl should hv a bk up generator...

I will ask my hubby to look out for the heart shape box in Thailand.. I have a red box at home but dun have a hole so need to cut lor.. I intend to out my precious moment figures on top leh.. But worry tat will spoilt the figures..

Thailand also got very gd tailor for ur hubby suits.. I ask my hubby to go there made one set of suit but he said I didnt go with him he dun want..

Ladies, if u have the time can spend one wkend there.. The wkend market (Chatuchak Market) got alot of household deco, clothings, shoes & bags if u can find those that suit u.. Not expensive.. Guys long sleeve shirt also better in Thailand more varitey & Design & Colours

hi!

may i ask if amara does small wedding? i have about 10 tables onwards. how much does it cost to have a weekend dinner? is there any nice coordinator whom we can talk to ?

Hi shell,

PM figurine is nice...but it quite fragile...so ur helpers at the reception hv to take extra care of it...

hmmm...Thailand really a gd place 4 shopping hor...i heard tat their shark fin & birdnest r oso very cheap as well...

Shell, i thk Joelle AD is Dec right ? 1 mth before ur...tat times..thk she mention tat li ping hv posted the invite cards 2 her...

how abt u ? any new frm them ? when r u goin 4 ur PS ?

ya, we r like the oni 3 in this thread...alot just come & go...kekeke

Hi girl,

I thk unless u r doing poolside or using their other room...cos their ballrm require a min of 25 on wkday & 30 on wkend...

wkend dinner in the ballrm is $788nett for 2005....

u might wan to chk with li ping at 6879 2678