Amara Singapore

HI Louie, Hi Leo, me hope to win prize at the bridal show.. hee hee.. and enjoy the high tea lor! How i identify u all on the day huh?

Happygal, i recently jus signed up package with Institute Clarins. Originally i wanted to go Sothy at OUB ctr oso (cos i work near), then i later changed my mind to clarins cos i hv all the while been using their products.

Cost is $98 for each facial session. They dun do extracting, but they use purifying method to soften yr blackheads and with proper cleansing, they will be removed.. ii find their svs good, and i signed up for their 4 facial package.

hi LT,

is the extraction painful? i am afraid aft facial, my face will be like lobster,hehe...
this is my main concern n what products does ur beautician use?
i go this facial is becos they use sothy products...
maybe u can give me the contact?

hi Jas03, yah i also consider clarins before but then i compare the products, i prefer sothy lor...

Louie, it's up to u whether u want to do facial, perhaps u are bless with good complexion, but facial certainly add radiance to ur skin n u will look more stunning on ur wedding day

anyway, we gals here can exchange beauty ideas here

how abt a meetup in Oct? hope to meetup with u ladies here

Louie : I used to have very good complexion, now detoriate a lot liao. Must admit old lah, freckles also come out liao, oso dun know is it freckles or lao ren bang. Last week experinced the worst breakout of my life, give me a real fright man. Normally only one or two pimples, suddenly a whole lot pops out, I take it as a sign that my face is telling me must start to take care or else worst is to come. Dun even dare to imagine that.

Leo: aiyo so bad...think the cause is by hormones...
relax n drink more water lor....
finally going facial tonite aft donkey years n share with u tommorrow

hi Louie, you may access Choon Huat's website at
http://fspphotos.homestead.com/pg1.html

I do not have a soft copy of his quote, you could drop an email to him and he will send you a set

happygal - whether extraction is painful, it depends my diet on that month, if i had taken lots of oily food, it would show on my face.... sure painful....hee... the brand's from Italy... i hv sensitive skin and i feared using new products, however so far, i have not developed any redness or rashes or more pimples after my facial sessions... guess you gotta try once to see if they are suitable for your skin!!

LT: I have visited his website already
THe photos are ok lah, but not really wat I want... emailed him to view his portfolio!

CK Beaute, got other branches one? Maybe I shd try it, since not so ex... hee hee

Leo: Dun stress... then less pimples will pop out! Anywae, good to have facials lah... me always q lazy one, & now finances also tight wif thousand & 1 things to pay for

Louie : Yap, agreed. A lot of things to pay for. I'm quite unlucky this month, just hit the back of my husband's car previous sat and the repair cost a bomb. Have to pay for my mistake. No wonder they say owning a car is like owning a wife. Unexpected things tends to happen, so probably my facial has to be postponed to a few months later. Must fill in the hole first instead of making it bigger. Hai!(Signed) Just rotten luck!

Hi Tallman,

Have not attended any wedding banquet at Amara so can't give all the ratings. As for ambience, I would give them 80% cos I like their newly renovated ballroom starlight ceiling and their table setup. Price wise - 70%, I can say quite reasonable lor.

Hi the rest,

I'v attended a wedding last Saturday and are impressed by the photos. Found out from the bride that they use Yvonne Creative. Have anyone of heard of this bridal shop before?

Hi Leo. How have things been with you? I have signed up my bridal with Jawn last week. So now can relax a little and concentrate on losing weight.

I have heard of Yvonne Creative last year when i was at Suntec during one of the wedding exhibition. My opinion of the bridal shop was not too bad...the designer was a very nice lady. However, i dont really like their photographer.I find that the photo skills so only. That was what was pulling me back. But the package is very reasonable with lots of goodies thrown in like dad and inlaw jackets, car etc.

I suggest that you go down to the shop and take a look after that if you are interested sign up at the exhibition because bargaining power higher.

hi all, finally sign up with Amara last THurs,
I must say that Nateline is very professional n flexible. So finally feel ease at last

Tallman, chk out with her n feel free to tell her ur needs n any special arrangements u are having,. She be gladly to accomodate ur needs

May, gld that u finally sign up with Jawn, so when are you going to the shop, think you must be busy loooking at gown design now, hee...

Leo,

I went to another beauty facial at Far East plaza, named Beauty Inspiration.
Didn't go to city hall...

This is the website, feel free to browse: http://www.beautyinspirations.com/

i feel comfortable with them n please with the service n products, so will sign up with them for facial package next week. THey are very professional n generous in giving sample. I even bought their travel kit to try out n my skin improve...
extraction nt very painful also...

morever their shop is having a 40% discount for this month only at all services n products, so hurry for this attractive promotion,

so gals u may consider this facial

May : It's that so, photo not nice meh? The one I saw very nicely taken leh, even my hubby oso say nice. Maybe they got the photographer outside and not the inhouse one, must find out more from the bride. Good for you finally settle down on your bridal package. So now only me still sourcing around.

Happygal : Welcome to the Amara Brides family. Thanks for the info, will go to their website and take a look.

thanks for welcoming me

May: I paid for the facial 60 something after discount

u gals wants comments abt this salon can browse the feedback frm the brides at Beauty, Health n fitness sction, look for Beauty Inspiration

the main beautician is Jessica, she's very funny

here's my e-mail account, [email protected]
feel free t omail me n we chat more

hi all.....

been pretty quiet in our thread

happy gal - i've heard so much about beauty inspirations at far east. haven't been there though.

btw, (Louie too)... if you gals still want to check out the beauty salon i went to - the number to call is 6337 2213 - Christine.

may - finally you could put down a huge stone.... hee... after signing the bridal package!!!

cld anyone advise on comments of bridal veil... i know there is a thread... but usually its for pro-BV or pple who have signed up with them.... but really have anyone any idea if they are ok???

thanks for sharing!!!

talk soon!

LT : I have a friend who used bridal veil, I'm not very impressed by her photos, very simply done. But that is a few years back so maybe they have improve.

hi Leo, May..... i heard abt attitude problems too!!!

thnks for the comments

Sorry, missing fr the thread for some time.

LT: thanks for the contact... me haven't gone to make arrangements for facial yet! Me now bz with house renovations & exams!!! Argghhhh...

happygal: Went to see the forum re Beauty Inspirations... wahhh... very hot thread!

hi Louie.... sorry.... didn't koe you were doing your house reno... btw, which ID company or contractor did you engage? I'm also going to start my house reno, but haven't really decide on one yet!! still waiting for final quotes and apparently, their workmanship are not really fantastic.... was hoping could find someone who is good with carpentry works - esp. for kitchen!!!! any good ones to recommend??

Hi LT...

Me using Cisreen. Its quite cheap lah I think... the boss is very nice, quite easy to negotiate. Saw them at the exhibition, but didn't bother much abt it... later on heard some good recommnedations lor.

Anywae, my hse shd be ready TODAY, haven't seen yet. My finance going to inspect tomolo, me wking so can't go.... Will let u know hows it ok!

this is my first message posted in the forum for singapore brides...hajimemashita dozo!nice to meet everyone here!

i was drawn to this thread of discussion mainly bec i really love the Amara hotel ballroom! juz went to see it today and in fact see it being done up for a wedding dinner and i think that it looks really different from the traditional chandelier lights dinner setup...the starlight ceiling is very nice and the couple added blue flowers to their setup, very impressed!

but i have a little problem here.. my hubby prefers another hotel marina mandarin... not sure how i should convince him....*help*!!!

my wedding will be oct 2003... so now have been sourcing for banquets...til now, only have 2 in mind for consideration (MM and Amara)
wat are some of the factors that ur will consider for choice of banquets??

Hi Titto,

before I bk Amara, my FH n I went to view M hotel, n he prefer M hotel too, of course I prefer Amara lar...
so we sit down compare the service n price, the freebies that both hotel gives, then we decided to bk amara

so i suggetst that u n ur FH shld also comapre these carefully cos it's is important on ur big day, what is the reason that he prefer Marina?
Well, Nateline is very flexible so try to negotiate with her if both of u hv any needs,
so far both of us are very happy with Amara service, the day we bk our hotel, we went to the Silk Rd restaurant for dinner n Nat ask for 10% for our dinner!
hehe...

so all the best to u and update us again,cheers!

LT: why dont u get a kitchen specialist for your kitchen? I was thinking of Classics. Anyone has any other recommendation?

Titto: i agree with Happygal..you need to sit down and compare the feebies you will get. Did you get a chance to see the bridal suites for both? It can also be a source of comparision. For me and my hubby, we saw a few hotels within the budget that we have decided and hotel inter-con was one of the place we were considering and M hotel too.

HI happygal and May

Thanks alot for the advice!

Actually, we did do a lot of comparison on the freebies the 2 hotels gave and Amara so far is better than Marina Mandarin except for the beer
(think MM is going to have a bridal show on 13th oct with Le Galleria and one of the freebies seem to be free flow of beers on weekends packages (saw it on femalebrides online) and as my FH frens really love drinking, that is a very attractive freebie...*confused*

i did not manage to see the bridal suite bec Nateline was quite busy the other day we went down(they had a wedding dinner that day) so we will be making arrangement again

as for the pool of amara that ur mentioned, it seems to be quite good (and yes, i missed it again
) my FH wanted sth different, so was thinking of using that to convince him...

LT & MAY:

Me saw my house already... think the kitchen was quite well done, very happy with it. The ID will be doing final touch ups... so shd be done soon!

Is Classic expensive... fr the forum, does not seem cheap thou! Anywae, its personal pref

Titto: welcome to the thread!!! Hope U will become an Amara bride

Me oso booked with with Amara. Must say that I fell in love with the place the 1st time I viewed that place. Went to view several other hotels but my heart is still with Amara. Natalin was a professional and nice lady. Manage to get a nice and comprehensive package with her.

My bridal package is with J&M. Simple and nice gowns and excellent photography. nice service as well as reasonable price.

Check them out!

Hi, anyone here booked with Amara function room for 10 tables?Care to share your experiences?

I am also considering Amara for my wedding next year. I am deciding among Amara, Merchant Court, or Hyatt. Any comment?

hi Joanhon,
Amara do allow u to bk 10 to 12 tables for smaller banquet functions
becos intially i spoke to my coordinator, her name is Nateline, u can chk with her, to hv small dinner n she said is possible
the function room is a good place, rite? actually if u want can hv it at the ballroom too, discuss with her, tell her ur needs
her contact : 68792573

but nw in the end we are expanding our tables, so we are hving normal wedding banquet like 25 to 30 tables, she also give us good advice
do cal up amra n hv a appointment with them, all the best to u

hi aigee,
what is ur budget n ideal wedding dinner?
how many tables u having?
frm here then can decided the banquet

these 3 are good choices, u can chk out the merchant court thread n hyatt thread....

i attend a wedding hi tea reception at merchant court in July,
the ballroom deco ,service n food are very nice n good, its a gd choice

as for Amara, so far we r please with the service provide by our coordinator, her name is Nateline,
do chk out with her n tell her ur needs, her contact : 68792573

Amara has a booth at Marina Shopping Mall. Looked at their package and liked the total package (ambience, food). But price is on the high side at 768 nett for only a 4 star hotel. I think Marina Mandarin is a better bet.

Hi Happygal,
Thanks for the info on the thread on Merchant Court & Hyatt. I have went there to have a look..but can't find any comparison on all these 3 hotels. I have been to all the three ballrooms and frankly, i like all 3!! However, as i am trying to keep to as min as possible for my budget, i am considering Amara coz both Hyatt & MC will cost me close to $700 per table. i am looking at 30 tables, hence Amara's $588 nett (weekday) is very very attractive to me..

i had spoken to Natalia at the Marina booth and had popby Amara to see their Dream theme on Fri when there's a dinner, however i wld like to look more at other theme such as their Romantic Theme. Sigh... really can't decide.. i also like MC....

Have u seen photos on the other theme (photos that r different from those on Amara's website). I actually aite like their cake.. very unique..

that's y still in a delimma...

aiyo, i can understand ur dilemma cos all are good hotels

mine is romance theme

but if budget concern, then u'll hv to discuss with ur FH lor....

all the best n hope u be one of us!

is there a website on Amara Hotel? Wanted to show my bf the banquet halls picture with the theme setup...i seem to have seen them before on the net but i cannot locate them now...

Mew:The website is www.amarahotels.com

Hey everyone.... is there a Romance Theme wedding coming up soon? I want to go & see...

Happygal, U settled on the Romance theme?

Zendee: think the price increased quite a bit. When I booked, it was only $728nett for weekend

Is it considered a 4 or 5 stars hotel now?

Kind of like the look but quite EX!

Happygal: Read some of the older msgs.... dun mind meeting up, how abt Nov? Me quite bz now, with hse reno/ hse removal etc.

Went to the Beauty Inspirations website... they use demologica pdts!! Me use them... quite good but really q ex lah! BOught some fr msia, think slightly cheaper there & they offer 5% discount too.

LT: Will try the CK Beatue facial soon... b4 the photoshhot!

Also... any recoomendations for MANICURE!?!?!? Desperate liao... my nails in very bad condition :P

Hi Happygal,

Yours is the Romance Theme? e one that is red with red roses? Can i know how much is your package per table? Think u may have mentioned b4 but can i ask again? is your dinner on weekday or weekend? I understand that the $588 nett price quoted for weekday does not include the seat covers, however do u need to top up to have the Romance Theme? or is it inclded in the price od the package, i.e. u only top up for the seat cover?

Hi Mew, i went to Amara website before.. u can't really see much from there. the best is to visit the ballroom when there's a wedding..

I also wld like to see the ballroom in Romance set-up.. dont mind poping by if there's one comong up.. i saw the Dream Theme.. the blue set-up is quite unique too.

Hi Louie,

gald to hear frm u

yah, finally settled on Romance Theme, Nateline will inform me when will there be Romance setup wedding dinner n I will go dwn n hv a look

how abt urs? settled?

yah, Beauty Inspiration using Dermalogica products!
what a coicidence u using, very good rite?

I had a facial with them last mth n I am please with their service so decided to sign up a package with them n be going dwn this sunday,

my facial package is $540(6 times plus 2 FOC) base on my skin condition n 20% off for all Derma products, to me it's quiet worth it

sure, no prob to meet up in Nov, u mail me again?

how are the others?
May, LT, Leo...long time never hear frm u gals liao...

hi aigee,

ya, the Romance Theme is with red roses but they hv Daisy for alternative choice
mine is a sunday package with $728 nett per table
can ask for their hard copy wedding package, alot of goodies n perks if u sign up with them before 30 Dec 02
the 588 nett for weekday is only for natural theme, not too sure if is applicable for romance or dream theme....

maybe other gals can help her?

Hi Happygal,

Maybe u can keep us informedi f Natalia inform u of a wedding Romance Theme.. think some of us will want to go down and have a look...

Yah.. i guess the $588 nett is only with Natural Theme... so after topping up everything.. it may be close to $700 for weekday...

well.. think i just have to crack my brain to consider properly b4 i decide.. my only concern is my date (sept 2003)will not be available after all the consideration...:P

I'm back.

Aigee : Actually Amara also have a $638 nett package and you can choose between the 3 themes (Romance, Natural and Granduer), you should check with Natalia.

Aiming : Currently Amara is a 4 stars hotel, understand that they are applying to upgrade to a 5 stars hotel.

Happygal: U signed up the Sept pkg offer rite? Yes, its super worth it... too bad I missed it, must wait to see any special promos! My photoshoot end Nov, so must start doing something soon... hee hee... may need ur help to buy 1 or 2 derma pdts!!!

If u gals going down to see the Romance set up, let me know... me deciding bet Romance & Granduer...
My email is: [email protected] (happygal... me also happi! )

Hi Happygal:

So you have gotten a sunday one for $728. Me tried to get the sunday one also, but could not get it as it was booked. So me going for weekday.
So did Nat give you good bargains?

dear all.....

welcome.... to those who just joined the amara thread....

wow, suddenly this thread is bursting with life!!!! btw, for those who are still deciding on amara, i saw in the papers today (TODAY) that they are holding a function dinner, $50 per person for a western dinner. and you get to enjoy some kind of privilege like $388 hong bao for booking of the ball room. not sure about details, maybe you could call natalin to ask!

sorry that i have sort of 'disappeared'!! been really tight up with several things. for one, i'm looking for a job...hee... and of course seriously discussing with 2 shortlisted ID/reno for my house!!!

Louie - not sure about manicure. used to go hollywood secrets, but thot they are real lousy!!!

Hi all, been a long time. I just went for my food tasting at Amara.. and i am veri happy with it!

Louie, for manicure i go to nailarts at shaw centre, beach rd. LT i went to hollywood secrets to do my ROM manicure, i agree they are lousy. And the svs standard not veri good. The gal that did my nails, she grouchy face the whole time cos she given more jobs.

LT: Wah... the western dinner very worth it leh! Too bad booked the chinese dinner liao, otherwise I may change to western
My email is above... can talk to me abt the ID thingy

Jas: Hihi... long time no see! Ur wedding is Nov this yr rite!
You're the 1st here to get married
Jas, urs is wat menu/ theme ah??!?!