Amara Singapore

jazzshoegirl

hi sbh,

if i were u, i wil go for free flow of beer rather than 01 bottle of wine + 20 litre beer on a sat nite... cuzz if ur settling for free flow of beer, u just need to purchase wine from outside. if u go for 01 bottle of wine per table, u have to buy both additional beer and wine. good idea huh?

amara got 25 & 30 tables perks, if u cant hit 30 tables, of cuz u cant enjoy the 30 tables perks la :D

shannat

shoegirl, actually not really true, cos some hotels they close one eye and give if your tables r close to 30. for me, i hv abt 27-28 tables but they still very rigid. the 25 tables perks actually lower than most standard hotels package, plus if we take the premium package, it would be slightly less than 1.2K per table alr, and yet the perks not very attractive.

sheryl: i cant rmb exactly. need to wait for the email/

mrsng

Hmmmm dear all,

went to Amara to meet up with Violette , was very please with her services and help given.
Overall I think the perks given by Amara are not bad. Compare to a few hotels. But i m not sure about the package price for a sat night.

Compare to Trader's hotel, Raffles, Hilton, Intercontinental and many more, The ballroom of amara seems to be a better choice due to its outlook. I think since we paid deposit dun think about it too much. Heard the way Violette has put it, I think their banquet manager will be able to do a wonderful job.

chubbylobster

hmm, from what i see right now on sgbrides page, the deals are quite good. 3 hrs free beer etc.

well.. i guess. because we paid deposit so no point getting upset anymore. just hope everything is smooth.
seriously, when meeting up with my co-ordinator. she mentioned everything okay, can change. but when drafted out, everything not exchangeable. and worst of all, because we paid deposit, so i ask any alternatives, the answer they gave was, we will be meeting on what date and when. THats all. So means i can only sign but nothing else.
So nice of their service seriously.
i guess it is once in a lifetime thing. that will be the last deal with them.

jazzshoegirl

hi lobster,

well you should have checked with them on the changes, whatever perks mentioned cannot be exchanged, so I asked thoroughly and carefully before signing. you should've asked them first, no point crying over spilled milk too.. just leave it to them and make sure its a memorable event. theres no such thing as exchanging your whatever perks after confirming.. must be fair too la chubby, just trust them.

chubbylobster

erm. the problem is. i havent even sign. but paid deposit. and interestingly, they mentioned that nth is able to change yet when selling to us time was everything is okay, fine with them to change.

it is not a hotel that i will recommend if their words does not honour anything. or rather their staff's word is nothing.

anyway that staff is not our co-ordinator.
just a sales person.
really full of shit. since nothing can be change i hope the food is as described as above, taste good. and service is good.
*zip and pray*

mrsng

Yeah Shoe girl!!! ME!!! I m doing one... But too bad as now still planning stage n my wedding is next yr Sept so i havent finalize a lot of stuff.. When's ur AD?
I m quite please with them is like many hotels might not be as flexible as them.

jazzshoegirl

hiii chubbylobster, just wondering if you are unhappy then y sign? just forgo your deposit if you're really unhappy. we are all happy brides here, so pls dont spoil our moods.

jazzshoegirl

hii shanna, i dont get food tasting even if i confirm 28 tables, that food tasting perk is for gtd 30 tables
But ill be paying for food tasting, only 50% just treat it as a parents meeting session hahaha.

hi mrs ng, what theme are you doing????? share share!!! my actual in nov 2011 and me too having even find my sources
and yes im also very pleased with the hotel..

jenny_zhenni

i truly agree with Shoegirl... hi Chubbylobster, i'm a happy bride here... :)

Shanna, when is your AD?? I confirmed 27 tables with no food tasting.. But, if gtd 30 tables, definitely got complimentary food tasting.. Afterall, i am very pleased with the hotel especially my coordinator who has been taking care of my needs.. :)

Hi Mrs Ng, i am doing theme wedding too!! Mine is red & gold theme!!! How bout urs???

shannat

hi shoegirl and jennifer, my ad is 25th feb 2012! seems like still long hor? but 3 out of 5 hotels i shortlist alr booked on tt date! so need to hurry up le.

shoe girl: really ah~ i was thinking, maybe can nego abit. =X

jennifer: who is your coordinator? mine is afifah. but she seems quite rigid... sigh~

btw, the themes u both are mentioning, is from the hotel itself? or u gg to DIY your own theme??

jenny_zhenni

hi shanna, i would suggest you if you have found a hotel which ur date is available before it is taken or even deposit paid by another couple, u have to book asap coz most couples has already book the date one year or even one year plus in advance..

as per ur previous msg, u have 28 tables, y dont u try to make it 30 tables (20 more only) and u will get attractive perks too.

there's always pros and cons..

my coordinator is afifah too.. :) after meeting up with her several times, she has been taking care of my needs and even will sms me if there is any upcoming wedding for me to come down and take a look at the set up theme.. for me, she's flexible in a sense of my needs..

u r very lucky to have her.. i am too.. :)

shannat

hi jenny, haha the 28 tables is shoegirl, not me.

hmmm, not sure if im lucky to hv her anot.. she ask me to confirm my booking with her by fri, i asked if can let her know by sunday, she told me, can only let me know by fri if can change the informing date to sun.. im like.. -.-?? only 2 days diff.
hmmm u mention that she is very flexible to your needs,like what????

chubbylobster

have to pay for food tasting.

shoe: i'm not trying to damper your mood. just ventilating out. just wondering do they treat everyone like this or only that person does that.

seriously i ever book their wkend package too. i like it. just that the sales personnel for wedding is not honouring her words that irritates me.

mrsng

Shoegal>> my theme wedding stuff yet to confirm and due to some sensitive topic i m sorry i cant be revealing too much i scar kena copyright...

color theme for now is violet, magenta plus turquoise but subject to changes.

I be paying for food tasting cos i was thinking a meet up session over a lunch is nice for both families.

I shortlist a few before deciding amara. Wanted OH but they doing some corporate events. But i m quite happy that i got Amara as the package given was good, the coordinator service was good. I was recommend by my friend hu was a Dec bride last yr with them.

Shanna>> If you like it must book earlier. When i make my booking in April for Sept, 2 sat already taken up.

shannat

mrs ng, mine is in 2012, hehe~ still hv 1.5yrs. but i know hv to book soon alr.

your theme wedding is your own DIY? or u choosing from the hotel designs?

btw, u all taking the 8 course or 9 course dinner??

and will u be having your solemnization at the poolside??

jazzshoegirl

ill be choosing hotel designs then i set my own theme. cos if i diy, the price is very expensive... as much as the food for 9 course seems better, but im going for 8 course, my coordinator was nice to inform me that singaporeans are always late for wedding dinner, hahaha.. so i decided on 8 course. tried the food before and i love it!

i'll b having my sol @ poolside, dont mind paying additional because the poolside is very nice.
are u guys going for that?

mrsng

Hmmm nope i ROm already...

Shanna>> I be going for DIY Theme but using the florist from the hotel. So will talk to them when time is nearer.

Hmmm Shoesgirl>> I oso took 8 course! cos we most likely having a candy bar... so hmm dun wan to feel too full.

shannat

ohhh okies girls, im also considering the 8 course n 9 course, though 9 course seems much better but 100++ per table is also alot. hehe.
i am also considering my ROM at the poolside.

mine will be just b4 the wedding reception say abt 5-530pm.

jazzshoegirl

haha so exciting, i will be having old school biscuits. u know the small biscuits with colourful iceing??? i seen my friend using that, but i need to source that first then i share wif u all ok.. hahaa so fun. what kind of candy u using? colourful lollipops?

jazzshoegirl

thanks for sharing, but i guess mrs ng is not looking for this. we are looking for old school snacks.

this candies taste so sweet and nothing special too..

mrsng

Dear Katherine,
Maybe you can try to email Violette sorry cos i my banquet package is the previous one i guess.
Heard they amended a few months ago.

Shoegirl>> Hmm yeah... most likely lollipop and also hmmm those bin bin rice cracker. U know those tibits we use to eat when we were young... N most likely i will go for kit kat haha my all time favorite. Hmmm the rest still thinking.
I know the biscuit u are looking for.. i think those old provision shop in neighborhood still got sell. other than that bakery oso have...
Do you think its good to have some mini cupcakes?

Peekaboo>> thanks for sharing haha... Hmm i think i saw this on my friend's wedding before. But my friend need to cut the long one by herself into smaller pieces. N i heard from my other friends the taste not so good. Y not buy some off the shelf? will it be better?

shannat

shoegirl, those biscuits, i know where to buy.

usually most wet markets sell them. hehe.

but if u want, can try tangjong pagar wet market, they hv a whole lot of "oldies" biscuits and snacks.
if not, chinatown do have too. cos im living in this area, so only know of here, wahaha, if not, u can see if your hse area de wet market hv anot.
actually i hv another reco for your candy bar. but not sure if it is feasible cos i worry the chocolate will melt.

peekaboo: from what i know, afifah mention tt poolside ROM is additional 600++...

jazzshoegirl

thanks shanna for sharing, i will check out my wet market later.. haha but i dont know how much i must buy cos my attendance is about 400 pax..

yes sol at poolside is additional S$600.00++ because it includes decoration, i went for the wedding show and i fell in love with the fully decorated poolside garden. however im still gonna bargain a lower price.. hehe just try my luck first

chubbylobster

shanna: personally i never bought from sticky before. when i went to aussie, i ever ordered from ROC.. usually they'll let u taste and let u decide on flavours. of coz if u buy those with 1 flavour will be nicer, that is what i feel. if u buy with lots of wordings= lots of flavours.. not so nice.. =)

mrsng

Wah sounds like everyone is so excited on the candy bar.. hmmmm Shanna>> yeah totally right about chocolate but i hope to have it so will see what i can do and also check with Violette on her idea.

Hmmmm Shoegirl>> actually you are using as wedding favor or putting it on ur candy bar?
If as candy bar maybe can buy 250 - 300 pax shares? Then from there put some paper bags for the guest to tabao if they want.

shannat

shoegirl: mine is 25th feb 2012.

peekaboo: huh??? i think u mistaken liao, shld reply to mrs ng. LOL.

mrsng: hehe let me share this idea with u.

i think it is interesting, yummy and very cheery feeling to hv this included in your candy bar, IF possible.
u only need 3 ingredients, marshmellow, chocolate, round colourful sprinkles (something like rainbow rice sprinkles, but i think the round ones r prettier. hehe)

1)using marshmellows (the normal white ones), poke them onto satay sticks.
2)melt chocolate (u can buy those baking type)
3)coat marshmellow with chocolate
4)dip into colourful sprinkles.
5) put into the fridge to chill til chocolate is hardened.

for chocolate wise, would reco using semi sweet and bitter chocolate cos the marshmellows n sprinkles r very sweet alr.

then deco wise can use styrofoam boxes, and the deco it, n just poke the marshmellows in easily with the satay stick.

actually i find it quite cute n cheery, like colourful lollies too. but not sure if it can tahan being out of the fridge for too long anot. cos worry the choco might melt. unless u manage to get those choco that will stay harden after it cools.

hope u guys will like it. hehe.

jazzshoegirl

yes im really very excited just thinking about it haha. Ill be using wedding favours on their tables, cos the favours are so cute and my guests can keep as memory of my wd. snacks bar will be at foyer, since their foyer so wide, i might as well make full use of it right? haha.

btw im thinking of balloons at foyer too, what do u think??

mrsng

Ya shoegirl,

Basically pick the hotel due to the very big foyer.. hehe.. balloons sounds nice... hmmm hehe i havent decide what to put in cos its like everything is so cool but the candy bar most likely i will keep it simple with off the rack stuff cos hmm i reckon i might not have time to do that when the date gets nearer n my poor sister has to help me do other stuffs.

joskyhuang

just to share, there's this shop along the same stretch with Casuarina Curry (Thomson Rd area) that sells those old time snacks etc.

my friend manage to find a lot "goodies" there for her bro 21st bdae theme. Eg are those sarsi / orange sweets; fruits lollipops n a lot a lot old time items. maybe can take a look there? =)

shannat

shoegirl: haha yah, i also thinking that it might end up messy.. and carpetted floors hard to clean.
i think like mini cuppies are good idea. best if they r bite sized.

if not cookies, but maybe need to get them packed in case they go soft.
i think mini donuts are really cute too! esp the colourful ones with sprinkles on top.

shannat

shoe girl: balloons are great i think. they help to deco and makes the place look more.... "lively"? lol~
u can also attach small bouquets of flowers tgt with the balloon for a better effect.

jazzshoegirl

nice idea of having flowers, it will be so pretty, but pricey and a little heavy that the balloom cant float. hahah

try having small pics hang to the bottom string of the ballroom

shannat

hey girls, me n htb decided to take amara as our wedding dinner choice.
will be meeting afifah to discuss details and sign contract this week. :D

jazzshoegirl

yay! CONRATULATIONS!
Ive already signed with Amara as well, and Amara is my choice with the help of the wedding planners
whens ur ad shanna?

shannat

shoegirl, mine is still abit far, 25th feb 2012.
i was considering btw amara and M hotel, went to see M hotel last sunday, can say not very pleased cos the coordinator more "rigid" lor. and the perks was uhhhh, not that good. most hotels allow me to use 2011's package cos my AD is 1st Q of 2012, but M hotel dun allow, say use the increased price. LOL. actually we alr keen on amara, just wanted to be sure its the choice we want, keke.

jarlslee

My name is Jarls from Singapore and I am an undergraduate at a Hospitality Management school in Switzerland. For my undergraduate dissertation, I am looking at the negotiation behaviour of prospective wedding couples looking to hold their wedding banquet at 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Your response is kindly appreciated and will aid in the completion of my paper. Please, I need another 20 responses by this Friday.

This survey will take up 15-20 minutes of your time.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/negotiated_decision_making_weddings_in_Singapore

jcls

Did you all book wedding lunch/ dinner? I'm still thinking....when I told pple Amara is about 850 per table for lunch, many don't believe it. Ha ha

jazzshoegirl

well why not? I booked their weekend dinner package. Their perks are as good too
the ambience and food is nice, its worth it for a wedding.

whether people believe it or nt, what most impt is tt we must like e place comfortably, i dun really care hw others will think ;) at the end, i noe my guests will enjoy the place and food yay!

jcls

Wa, shoegirl, good for u! So decisive! I'm considering between Amara & Pan Pac. For Amara, I think the lunch menu n perks not as attractive as dinner. Hee. But I do like the ballroom. U have any of the banquet pix??