Amanda Lee Weddings

hi chocalot,

hv u fixed your 1st apptm with amanda? during the 1st visit she will let u try various design till u find 1 that you like. she will even sketch out something for u to consider.
mine eh....usual bustier with slightly longer train cos im quite tall...

momikoko
i just had my first appt with her, to do my ROM dress.. can't wait for the first fitting to see what it looks like. won't be doing the WG/EG so soon cos my wedding will be next year. I have tried a few gowns there already so i more or less know what i want. thinking also of taking the usual bustier with ball gown. how long is your train going to be? do you have to pay any top-ups?

hi chocalot,

she's very nice and patience right..? oic still early take your time for the WG/EG. hmm..my train eh...i dun really knw oso leh. definitely not the super long train lah..hee. So far i've yet to top up anything.

so when's your ROM?

yo lisa!

yeah i signed up with Attitude. my PS will be in Oct. Next wk is my 1st fitting liao....did u use Attitude too?

hey lisa,
can share ur mei mei pics with me? thanks!

i'm so sori i din check the msgs here. saw many requests for my pics. will try to send to u ladies soon. too bz with work.

anyway, i'm a beri hapi amanda lee bride!

will be going down for my first appointment soon.
amanda told me to bring some pictures of gowns that i like.
any other thing to prepare?

hi icebubbles,

basically nothing much to prepare already... but to have some gowns design cuttings for her to see. She'll also let u try few gowns, to get to know your style/preference better.

hi icebubbles,yup same thing Amanda told me...she also did mention will try gowns if the designs that she has in mind (after seeing the pics u cut out) provided she has something similar...hope that helps!

By the way, Amanda brides, can share which MUA?

oh actually she drew out something when i went down on my first visit. that means she will draw new designs for me again when she sees my cuttings???

i also need some advise on who to choose for mua
still havent confirm with her yet

Hi icebubbles...
mm ya she may draw out new designs again for u. Guess it'll be during that session where she sees yr cuttings, and know yr preferences, she'll draw again if it differs from yr first drawing.

as for MUA, i've chosen Jasmine.

If i am not wrong, Jacqueline Law is also with Amanda.

I am actually in the midst of doing the EG... anyone got ideas/pics to share?

momikoko, who did u use?
icebubbles when's ur AD? jasmine won't be doing any make-up next year already...
flower, how's Jacqueline? i haven't got any ideas on the EG too.was thinking of something more flowly or glamourous cos it's nite.usually BS hardly have pcs of EG cos it's all to keep for the brides..

hi, my frens have used freddy and jasmine. both are pleased wif the outcome. not sure about jacqueline and sophia.

I've also signed up with Amanda. I think her style is simple and elegant with a tinge of boldness, which fits the bill for me.

I'd initially shortlisted Silhouette, Silverlining & The Wedding Present. I thought Silhouette was a tad too dramatic and vibrant for my liking, Silverlining's key specialisation was in low backlines which was not what I wanted either. The Wedding Present, I'd felt was too 'commercialised' even though I must say I did like their shop quite a bit.

I did not shortlist Tan Yoong & Divine Couture as I'm not after a flowy look. Also, I thought Francis C was quite interesting but my boyfriend didn't quite like FC. Ted Wu designed my cousin's WG which I thought was alright, but not "wow".

Finally, speaking to Amanda really put me at ease, and I think Amanda dresses quite well, which gives me added confidence on her being able to deliver what I want. Our package with Amanda is just for my MTM EG and my boyfriend's MTM suit, it also includes all flowers from Redbox (Ching from Redbox was really nice & friendly) and MUA, which I've yet to decide on. I've heard Sophia is good. Any recommendations? Anyone used Kenneth Lee before?

In terms of photography, we've decided on hiring our own. I think Kwang is fabulous, however I heard he works alone. And he's one of the most costly photographers around. Anyone hired him before?

I've also signed up with Amanda. I think her style is simple and elegant with a tinge of boldness, which fits the bill for me.

I'd initially shortlisted Silhouette, Silverlining & The Wedding Present. I thought Silhouette was a tad too dramatic and vibrant for my liking, Silverlining's key specialisation was in low backlines which was not what I wanted either. The Wedding Present, I'd felt was too 'commercialised' even though I must say I did like their shop quite a bit.

I did not shortlist Tan Yoong & Divine Couture as I'm not after a flowy look. Also, I thought Francis C was quite interesting but my boyfriend didn't quite like FC. Ted Wu designed my cousin's WG which I thought was alright, but not "wow".

Finally, speaking to Amanda really put me at ease, and I think Amanda dresses quite well, which gives me added confidence on her being able to deliver what I want. Our package with Amanda is just for my MTM EG and my boyfriend's MTM suit, it also includes all flowers from Redbox (Ching from Redbox was really nice & friendly) and MUA, which I've yet to decide on. I've heard Sophia is good. Any recommendations? Anyone used Kenneth Lee before?

In terms of photography, we've decided on hiring our own. I think Kwang is fabulous, however I heard he works alone. And he's one of the most costly photographers around. Anyone hired him before?

hi dreamdoll,one of Amanda's ads uses Sophia as the MUA, looks fine to me.
As for Kenneth Lee, I'm not aware that he ties up with Amanda. If you're looking for male MUA,maybe u wanna check out Freddy.

hi geberra,

thanks for the recommendation! i'm actually considering sophia also. Amanda's ad in style weddings was quite nicely done
Kenneth Lee seems to be able to do strong colours pretty well too, in regards to a tie-up im not too sure about that though. I did read through the other forums and there was some stuff about Freddy being temperamental? I'm not one to judge coz at the end of the day I think a good job is top of my list, but I have to admit though that such comments might be a cause of concern. What do u think? Have you tried any MUA before whom you think is good?

hi dreamdoll, i guess diff pple click with diff pple differently...my fren used Freddy..he looks ok...when we went in to peep at her (was jie mei then) he did tell us not 2 come in 2 disturb..haha..but i guess tat's fine, probably he wants to concentrate in making my fren look sui sui...

As for skills, i believe they are usually pretty good..got another fren used Jasmine, but she's not tie-ing up with Amanda anymore..

When's ur PS? maybe u can get Amanda to recommend base on ur requirements...

Hello all brides to be,

Can anyone pls share with me your packages detail with AL? Also What do you think of their MTM or OTR gown?

Really appreciate your kind advice. I am just started to shop for Bridal package, kinda lost and dunno what to take into considerations leh... Oh ya if you have any photos taken with AL, can you share with me?
My email add : [email protected]

Thank you very very much!

hi geberra,

That's v true. I think varies from person to person. I have yet to decide on MUA & hope to decide on that quite soon though! How about yourself? Are u an amanda lee bride also?
My PS is tentatively Jul 06 due to work commitments.

hi cheerss, no worries don't mind sharing...my package with AL is only MTM EG, boyfriend's suit, flowers & MUA. I was lost at the beginning as well, I think it's because the options are endless. At the end of the day, boils down to what you want and your style. That said, having signed up with AL, I'm definitely going to say that she's good! Personally, I need something grand yet sophisticated for my banquet so I trust that Amanda would be able to deliver
You may wana try flipping bridal mags like this month's Female brides I thought was quite impressive, also foreign mags for ideas too. In addition, I'm trying to attend whichever wedding shows catch my eye and of course, is able to fit into my work schedule! Good luck! ;)

hi dreamdoll, yup am AL bride..but i also haven't choosen my MUA, hopefully by end of the month can decide..

Cheerss, mine package is the standard $3980 includes WG (MTM, rental), EG (MTM, keep) and men's suit (keep)..the rest are standard..like the flowers, makeup (1 trial, 1 photoshoot, 2 for the AD), car deco (basic)...u considering AL and any other BS?

Hi Dreamdoll and Geberra,

Thank you so much for your kind advice... really appreciate it

Yes i hav shortlisted a few BS, but haven go down to the shop to see and talk to them. Not sure how to negotiate for better deal... :P Hee hee that is need to know what the packages include first then see if i like their photography....

Seems that AL is doing a good job for you gals

Geberra (ha i like your nickname :P)
How many photos in your packages huh? is it 12" or 15"?

Dreamdoll - i bot the Style wedding and HerWorld Brides liao..haven got the Female Brides yet..heehe...will go get it later

THANKS!

hi cheerss, i like geberras lah...haha...
diff BS has diff styles..if u like u can share which are the ones that u've shortlisted...i might hv visited them before...
for photography, the standard tie-up is 8"x12"..if 12" x15", u ll need to top up...
i also haven't bought female brides, anything interesting? these mags quite x hor..

Hi Geberra

Haha, i also like Geberra a lot, esp the red color ones.. :P

hmm..me haven buy the Female Brides leh, ya loh agree with you the mag are not cheap, i am still flipping thru the Style Wedding and HerWorld Brides now...hee hee

Which BS have you visited before har? i have shortlisted like Amanda Lee, Yvonne Creative, Whitelink, Precious Moments...but have not visited any of them yet, cos i just ROM, now take my time do some market research..hee hee

hi cheerss, YC was one of my shortlisted ones too..got 2 frens who used and they said not bad...precious moments location is 2 far 4 me...as for whitelink, got mixed reviews...usually they are the 1-stop BS...for Amanda and the likes, they just focus on the gowns, photography is not done in house..so it depends on which type u prefer..

hey ladies,

just like to share my experience with my mua, jasmine. just had my first trial today, and i LIKE it! i like her makeup simple yet elegant, makes me look prettier...kekeke.. she's very experience and quick with her hands, even just the mock up hairdo, does the magic already

Hi girls! I'm an Amanda Lee bride too! Wedding in May next year, went for my first appt in August, so my gown is in process, first fitting in Dec, can't wait! Very happy to have signed up with them, their service is excellent!

Hi Gerberra, think met you in one of the other threads before. I remember cos gerberra is my favourite flower too! Glad to hear you've signed up with AL!