All brides!! Survey on OTR or MTM??~

alicialsp

Hi Brides & Brides to be,

If only given a choice for either wedding gown & evening gown to be off the rack (OTR) & the other made to measure (MTM). Which will u opt for which?

My 2 best frens who jus got married last yr both said wedding gown MTM better & evening gown can OTR cos wedding gown u will wear most of the hours during the day & evening gown only awhile.

What do u think?

Personally i prefer wedding gown to be MTM cause i can be involve in the design and planning of the gown but then due to the constraint of time, i had to take OTR. So time is a factor too. EG can be OTR as BS have a wide range of EG to chose from.

Hi Adel, c u here hehe..

For me, i prefer OTR so far cos i don't trust my taste hehehe and no idea on what design i like.

So i'll go to BS and try their OTR and just 'chope' that gown if i like. So far I like Divine's gown, went to The Wedding Present, didnt find anything that suits me.

For EG... same thing also.

But having said that, if i suddenly hv IDEA then i don't mind MTM.

Hi Alicia, I prefer OTR, coz i can bargain for more pics. Also less of a headache to make sure the WG are suitable for your body shape.

1 thing is if plus size rite, it will be difficult to get it OTR rite? Cos I m plus size lorr.. abit concern..

normally u all vie w the gown 1st before decide the package on OTR or MTM rite?

alicia,

For me, so far i went to those BS where i could try their gowns. They gave advice of what kind of gowns suit your body (for my case, i hv round baby face, so V-necked is better).

I'm planning to take OTR, so i'll take package when i know which gown i'm taking (well, that's the PLAN so far).

I went to Bridal Concept to ask their OTR prices, but I can't try the gown. But she said that if I can't find anything i like, just pay $300 and i'll have MTM.

Maybe u can ask the designer to give u the gown for your size and go to more Bridal to see their collection. After wearing sooo many gowns and you know roughly what you want, you can have them MTM. Or if lucky, found one OTR that you liked and save some $$ hehehe...

hi alicia, same like viv, i chose the BS which i like the gowns. Most BS will let u try. So as to know wat type of gown suits ur figure. Some places hav plus-size gowns so u can try first. if really can't find a gown tat u like, then can only MTM liao....

Alicia,

I agreed with your friends since you onli can choose between WG and EG MTM. WG you need to wear for longer time, whereas EG onli during the dinner. But if your EG is for keeping, then I would suggest you MTM your EG.

If you MTM, then you must do your homework. Look into magazine and website for gown design you like.

Personally, I prefer OTR cos don't need to think so much on the design. Afterall, we always buy OTR for our daily clothings. I like the design, I take it that all. Don't have to worry too much.

Hi viv,
Which BC branch you go to? They allow me to try the gowns leh!

as for me, i feel normally pple dun really rem ur wedd gown after some time but evening gowns v crucial tho wear for awhile. it either makes u drop dead gorgeous or makes u really...so for evening gowns i'll go for MTM and weddin gowns OTR. unless u hv extra budget as well as design in mind. and i also agree with some here who mentioned that evening gowns can keep

I disagree. I believe every girl deserves to feel special,ie like a princess on her one special day. Thus, the wedding gown should be made for me and only me. I design the gown according to what I like, with inputs from others etc. Doing the research can be fun, as it is once a lifetime thing.

Nevertheless, I have heard about the argument that guests tend to remember the evening gown better. I think it is because the evening gown can have variations in colour, away from white.

Im taking OTR cos i heard so many horror stories from frens whose MTM gowns didnt quite came up to expectation & they regretted their decisions. I guess its up to the individual. I say, if u already have an idea of how your dream gown should look like, go ahead & do a MTM. Afterall, its once in a lifetime!

After reading the posts here... Im getting more & more nervous... Both my WG & EG are MTM... Im so afraid that i might regret like some of your friends when i go for my 1st fit...

-Chris-

Mine also MTM for WG & EG. MY WG is definitely going to be MTM. As for EG, I'm still considering though... depends on the variety my BS has during the time when I choose my gown. Tat'll be some time mid of next yr. Heard my BS doesn't have much variety on EG, haiz... dunno ley... HEADACHE!!!

Morning Alicia!
Nope is the dec-fed issue. Herworld Bridal mag is diff from normal Herworld mag
Go check it out...it comes with free cd!

Hi girls I am also pondering over OTC and MTM. Really afraid that my choice will not end up so nice. Still ponderin....

Hi Shu Yee,

It actually depends on whether you have any specified deisgns that you're looking at. Actually some BS do have nice OTRs

for me...since i'm a size 14-16...i think i will go for MTM for WG..EG have to see the BS got my size or not.

Hi ladies, I think its okie to OTR for both WG & EG. What you see is what you get! No worries at all. Its always better to MTM if you have some ideas in mind. If not, OTR is fine too.. Can request for more pic & will be cheaper package too. Some MTM gowns requires you to top up extra $$ for lace and etc..

Hope this help..

Design YOUR OWN GOWN.
Selling MTM wedding gown/ evening gown voucher worth more than $4K (TO KEEP).

Terms & Conditions:
1) Valid till end of yr
2) Not valid with other discount cards, vouchers, promotions or discounted package
3) Not exchangeable for cash
4) Terms and conditions may be amended without prior notice at the sole discretion of the birdal shop
5) No need to sign up any bridal package

INTERESTED??? PM me.....

I'm also wondering whether to MTM or OTR... I had a friend who did MTM at a high-end boutique, but the results were so disappointing that she had to go to someone else and rush out another wedding gown.

At least for OTR, what you see is what you get.

One part of me would like an MTM because it's once in a lifetime that you get a designer making a dress just for you... and you can have input in exactly what goes in. Having said that, I would trust my designer to know what's best, so I wouldn't insist on my design if she says that it will not be flattering.

Although OTR is much cheaper, but then it will not be totally new, i.e. someone out there would have worn it before. And I guess there is something special about wearing the gown brand new. But a lot of friends have said that looking back they would have gone for OTR simply because there is no point burning so much money on a wedding... personally, I think a good mattress could be more lasting, haha!

I initially wanted a MTM...but managed to find both WG n EG OTR to my liking, so i took it. My for BS, surprisingly OTR is more expensive than MTM...hmmm...

I have a friend whom MTM her evening gown and at the end is not as nice as she expected and she switch to OTR last minute and much nicer than her MTM.

I guess it does not matter whether it is OTR cause at least you can see the effect immediately once u tried it on and can try as mant OTR gowns until you find one suitable. However for MTM, you wil only wear after the gown is completed. IF it does not turn out perfect, it will be really nervous to do last minute ammendments.

hi, i am getting married next year in the 3rd quarter, and i am at the bigger size, and wondering if the BS have my size. I am kinda shy to go to the shop and take a look. any advice?

hi lim

think we're in the same situation.

am quite scare if got no gowns at my size.

u wanna go down with me & survey ard?

aleast, wanna shy, we both shy together lor.

Lim..

Think if we go together, we mite b able to get a package @ a cheaper price too. :P

btw, do u have any budget or something?

MTM means to make from scratch...start from drawing/designing on paper, to choosing of fabric, embellishments (like laces, beads, color of thread for embroidery pieces). Then a seamstress will take ur measurements (measure from top to toe) and then start to sew the WG according to the design. u will typically have 3 fitting sessions to make sure the WG produced from scrath fit u to a T.

OTR means u select an already made gown from the rack and make alterations to fit u. or some BS will juz make a new copy of an existing WG for u and called it MTM (which is not 100% original MTM).

so which one u think is ur case?

Hi Alicia,

I would actually pick my evening gown to be mtm... cos i felt that wedding gwn is only worn once but evening gown, sometimes during special occassion or dinners etc, the evening gown can be worn too...

Hi Stephy,

I have chosen both my gowns to be MTM partly becos of my size, I have to MTM instead of choosing OTR.. So far I m very satisfied with my gowns

hi midas and fiona,

i just want to share my experience. my friend booked a package from one of the BS and the package includes a MTM WG & EG. she is transferring the package to me and the 2 of us went down to discuss further. as i am very particular abt my EG, as what Wendi mentioned, people only remember your EG....anyway the person explained to us that MTM does not mean it is new, it simply means that it will be made to measure according to your body

thus girls, please get your BS to explain clearly to you...anyway i managed to fight for a NEW one

mOmO... MTM doesn't mean alteration only. I guess it depends on how the bridal shops phrase it. MTM is supposed to be a design that you and the gown designer both come up with together... and the designer sews the gown to your preference. You get to try the gown at every stage i.e. before he/she sews the beading/lace/etc.. need a few fittings.

And when you MTM your gowns, it takes abt 3-4mths to come up with the design. Thus, MTM gowns are def new (unless u r taking someone else's MTM gowns). The BS might be passing off OTR gowns as MTM gowns n misleading customers to think that MTM works tt way

i guess every BS phrase it differently, thus better be careful on the deliverables clearly to avoid any misunderstandings.....

im also abit worried that my MTM EG will not be as glam or nice as i expect it to be, i may juz copy from any design that i like from mag

my WG is 100% MTM...multiple design sessions with designer, choosing of fabric & color, choosing of laces and beads and embroidery threads, 3xfitting sessions to put on the final completed product. u'll get to see the WG transformed from a piece of cloth to a beautiful gown

midas, that's wonderful. are your gowns completed aldy? i still got eons to go.. still at design stage. Which is your BS & when's your AD?

hi pishako,

my AD over liao loh...hehehe. its on 21/04/06.

My BS is Silhouette the Atelier, my designer helped me made a WG tat can change at least 4 diff looks by playing with the tulle sash...
My EG also can hv 2 looks coz its a 2 piece, can be a simple western bustier gown or an elegant cheongsam. i loved my gowns so much..all the money spent is worth it...plus u get to enjoy the impeccable service and high quality workmanship
by the way, which BS r u wif?

oh ya...if u r curious, can PM me for the link to my photos.