Advice needed on how 30 yo female can become self-made millionaire

Yes, blackjack definitely can win money.. better still if you have a group of gamblers together.

But casino is smart.. if you have a group of skilled players... they will close the table pretty quickly...

Actually, I would like to retire soon and be a full-time gambler..

sm, now that is made convenient with the 2 IRs at our door step

may,

those are high risk instruments..

Forex is interesting but they are "usually" manipulated by big players.. Or people hedge them because they have big positions on them..

MAS typical also intervene in the market.

But high risks mean high return..

wow, sm, you are that good ...

how to hone gambling skills? how young did you start?

looks like i should follow my friend to the casino to take a look just to widen my perspectives

sm, you are right. The casinos term these players as "advantage play". But my frd is not considered "advantage play" because he time his hitting well, surrender, double up at the right time.

Maybe we can start a thread somewhere to discuss some gaming tips. haha. since this thread is not abt gambling.

May,

Just bring a couple of hundreds for starters.. gambling.. is fun provided you are discipline.

I used to go Genting frequently - treat it as holiday trip. Play a day of golf at awana. Let the children enjoy and hit for the casino.

rofthelper,

Yes.. winning 10s of K is nothing.. so casino won't take notice.. but if your friend is winning like hundreds of thousands or millions.. they will take action..

My personal school of thought after 13 yrs of casino gaming.

1. Train yourself as not to lose, or lose less, your winnings is not far away from you. I take many years to attain this stage. Many ppl set targets as how much they going to win before entering the casinos, or how much they can afford to lose in the casino. They should learn how not to lose, before you start to see your winning chips.

2. Must learn to know your game by the tips of your fingertips. Alot of ppl do not know the rules of baccarat well. When not to/to draw third card etc. Most also do not know the difference btw pontoon and blackjack.

3. Manage your bankroll management well. It's real fun to use your winnings to beat the casino.

I don't think so.

If I am not wrong, the govt is taxing the operators on "gambling" revenue.. and not winnings..

I could be wrong.. Need to do some research.

yah, Roft, noted .... but gambling is a patriotic thing here, we should support MBS and RWS .... i really should go there one day especially MBS ...

I don't play that big lah.. Once I won 50+K on a cruise.. (with 5K capital).

It was the most enjoyable cruise ever...

Whatever I played, black jack, roulette.. I won. Even at the last minute, I played till they close the roulette table..

Imagine, the lady telling me.. last 3 rounds..

oh mine ... S$50k on a cruise! well ... why not become a pro gambler sooner?

pro gamblers are stuff of legends ... my friend's friend's uncle is one. never did a day's work in his life.

Yah 4D & toto winnings not taxable.. hey hey I know.

If I am not wrong, govt tax the casino operators on their revenue.. And they are quite attractive rates when compared to macau especially for those high-rollers..

Actually if you think in another way, we are not gamblers when we go to casinos, we are "decision-makers", haha. If we made the right decision, we win, if we made the wrong one, oh oh...

==================================================
yah, Roft, noted .... but gambling is a patriotic thing here, we should support MBS and RWS .... i really should go there one day especially MBS ...

Winnings from betting such as 4D, toto, football, Singapore sweep, horse racing, fruit machine (jackpot) winnings and etc. in Singapore, are not taxable as they are windfalls and not of income nature.

THANKS ROFT!

that is very useful to know. maybe i should start to make a point to gamble every now and then and visit betting booths more

May,

Actually I prefer to work.. sad to say. Work gives meaning to life.. I toyed with the idea of not working but it is absolutely boring - even if I gamble everyday or play golf everyday.

i dun think it's enjoyable to make gambling 'work'... the sense of satisfaction is myopic and the money earned doesn't give u that fulfilment... but maybe i'm wrong...

hey all ... based on all your observations of life, is it true that some people have gambling luck, the "it" factor when it comes to games of pure luck, while others do not.

eg. some people strike 4D ALL the time, while others don't.

May,

It is not the industry. It is the job nature that makes my job interesting.

By the way, I am in the IT industry but I am not your typical IT salesman nor engineer.

Mahjong too time consuming lah..

Good to pass time.. but slow in revenue for casino.. How do they make money? Tax your winnings?

Powder > Heee... Each and every one of us are good at some things but "very stupid and bad" at others, so then there can be constant flow of value and money. It's this diversity that makes the world interesting, yah?

May > Option is a financial instrument that gives the owner the right (but not obligation) to buy/sell the underlying asset at a later date. (Think HDB option). The underlying assets in those adverts are US stocks. I've attended 2 option trading courses by 2 different gurus many years ago. Can't say they are good/bad for you. Why don't you just call up and go for a free preview if you are interested? No harm exploring.

hi irene, guess so... i have learnt to realise that Wanting, and being good at something... is miles apart. i do wish i can have that savvy streak in me as an investor.

Hi May, somehow people have "gambling luck", but this good luck don't stay with them always.

Eventually these group will in the end guai guai return back the winnings and capital to the casinos, why?? Bcos of greed. In general most people can't overcome greed.

In first few yrs of my casinos experiences in macau and thai border, I won quite a far bit, got to escort by their security personnel in Cambodia. hehe. But in the end, greed kills me. I almost can't recover from the bottomless pit.

Most single win from land casino is a total of 20k on baccarat, cruise ship is 18k progressive jackpot. Got two strangers playing besides me, and I think inside them, they must have lament how come they don't take my machine instead. hehe.

There are a lot of "savvy" investors or so we think. I used to think I am one.. till I lost 1 million.. Took me a while to get over this and settle down.

And now, I am starting to look see look see in the stock market again.

Because if you look at the long term trend.. it is stupid to ignore the underlying gains from stocks.. at the very least, the indices will give your much better return than your govt bonds.

Hi May, I have suddenly remembered that casino winning (both locally and overseas) are capital gains and is not subjected to taxation.

But as a safety measure, tabulate your winnings in a spreadsheet or similar, which I always do. So that you can answer to the authorities if CPIB question you on the sudden surge on your bank account.

You will never know, especially now "money laundering" is not uncommon in sinagpore.

I can be consider quite lucky when it comes to gambling.

Once in genting, the jackpot machine.. I hit the 2nd price.. the 5th jumps (on the fifth line just jump a little).. Almost hit a million ringgit.. those standing behind me all screamed.. the machine "stop". I only won 5000 coins.. - $5000. I just miss the million by a whisker.

i see ...

i think it is called windfall gain.

so i guess there are pro gamblers out there who always keep cash out of banks so that they wont be eyed by tax authorities?

these are the people who pay hard cash in luxury shops and everywhere they go ...

Hi May, the only reason I know that is, mahjong played at a slow pace, with only 4 person at most. Casino only implement games with fast pacing. hehe.

MBS just implemented the rapid baccarat, I believe can play at a rate of 80 games in one hour. Very fast and heart thumping.

===============================================
i often wonder why casinos dont have mahjong. anyone knows why?

this is the only game i know from young.

May,

Nothing in particular.. but as I said, I am very busy these few months.. after these few months, I will spend more time on the stock market..

BP, yes, is rising.. But should still be attractive..

MBS just implemented the rapid baccarat, I believe can play at a rate of 80 games in one hour. Very fast and heart thumping.
===============================================

all the more i should go. maybe i will go tomorrow night.

but then again, ROft, gamble all the way to cambodia?

my life is like so mundane compared to you people ...

dont tell me you gambled all the way to Golden Triangle ...

sigh ...

pls regale me with more interesting tales of your experience, i really curious to know more

SM, my neighbour uncle dio 4D ALL the time, he dreams dreams of numbers.

then the neighbour auntie wins mahjong all the time, though she damn slow she still wins.

so from what you observe, women often win more?

does the red underwear tip work?