Advice needed on how 30 yo female can become self-made millionaire

kittenpie

and this crazy lao ah pek keep keep standing behind me and blowing cigarette smoke in my hair ... next time must go up to non-smoking area ...

kittenpie

blackjack ... i can think of a couple of tips, pls correct me if im wrong ...

(1) find an empty table so wont be sabotaged by retarded persons asking for more cards than is logical. minimizing no. of players also lower chances of other players being distributed a card that is in our favor

if that is not possible:

(2) sit as the first person on the table

and may i ask what no. of points you will decide against drawing more cards.

May,

It depends.. on the card that the banker has opened. If the card is anything less than 7, ie 6 and below.. and not an ace... (from 2 to 6), then even with 12/13 points you can probably try not to draw a card if you are the first few players.

If you are the last, it could be different.. depending on the sequence of cards that came out before you.. is the next card likely to be a 10 and above? the trick is to leave the 10 or picture card for the banker if the banker only as a few points.. 2 picture will kill him and pays everyone.

If however, if the banker has a ace or 10 or big cards.. if you have only 12/13 points, most likely you may want to draw a card to improve it.

kittenpie

wah ... im surprised i even managed to win at first without knowing all these tricks. i focused on my own cards only.

but does my idea on being the sole player on a table work in practice?

next time go there i will watch more and take notes instead of plunging in first.

rofthelper

This is interesting. Touching on blackjack...

RWS use 4 decks shuffling system
MBS use 6 decks shuffling system.

My objective is very simple. Control the blackjack table. If you can't control the table, you will be controlled. That's why my frd and I will look for empty BJ tables and spread our bets.

Understand and observe your opponents. They will kill you or aid you. So find an opponent who can be your aid.

Touch on the details later...

For blackjack, it is important to go with a group of friends.. that way you can control the table.

The last player - normally we put someone there with low bets - so we can sacrifice for the others.

kittenpie

when i was there, there was this indian guy who hogged the S$50 bj table for the longest time and nobody wanted to join him. then there was this businessman type who hogged a S$100 table alone.

they bet in two boxes. i wondered how much they won.

rofthelper

Hi tomasulu, doubling up or martingale system will work, if you have very hugh bankroll, or the casino remove the table limit for you, which will not happen, hehe. I can say you are facing a lucky situation in that particular shoe.

One common betting system is 1-3-2-6. Win 1 unit lose 3 but hard to reach 2 and 6 units. You win 1, 3 units or 2 units, but lose 6 units in the end. These are the frequent results that will happen and often happen.

Now, I won't chase my losses. Last time, yes I chiong like a mad man. lol No need to fight the casino all out if you are facing downtime. Why not keep yourself afloat and live to fight another day?

Agree, doubling principle is overly simplistic and blocked by the table limit.

Try it on the PC simulation and you figure out it doesn't work. Your profit is slow and in a bad string of loses, you would hit the ceiling quickly.

rofthelper

sm you are correct, we can't refrain ppl from joining us. That's why we withdraw our bets and move to another table. Cos there are many genius or pro gamblers who like to offer their "professional advice" to us when to draw third card etc... usually I will ask them to buy over my bet in that box. hehe.

rofthelper,

As long as I don't have an idiot as the last player, I am ok.

As for "professional advice" - they are not suppose to . We can ignore them. Even if I place a bet and they put money (more than me) on my bet - they have no say.

rofthelper

sm, yes they are not suppose to, but they are right behind us and they are found everywhere. We can't stop them for interfering, that's why I invite them to buy over my bets. In such situation, it's important to have a clear mind. Listening to ipod is a good idea.

rofthelper

Very common scenarios in casinos. When ppl see dealer have a 10s as first card, they hit and hit. When they see small face values like 2,3,4,5,6, they stand and hope dealer bust, or double-up their cards. As you notice, chances that dealers that have A or small value cards seldom go bust.

No one can predict the next card, but if you work out the probability enough, even dealer has strong starting card, there is no need to be afraid of them. That's why I go casinos with a "fresh body and clear mind". Once I feel physically drained, I go home and Zzz...

=================================================
It depends.. on the card that the banker has opened. If the card is anything less than 7, ie 6 and below.. and not an ace... (from 2 to 6), then even with 12/13 points you can probably try not to draw a card if you are the first few players.

If you are the last, it could be different.. depending on the sequence of cards that came out before you.. is the next card likely to be a 10 and above? the trick is to leave the 10 or picture card for the banker if the banker only as a few points.. 2 picture will kill him and pays everyone.

If however, if the banker has a ace or 10 or big cards.. if you have only 12/13 points, most likely you may want to draw a card to improve it.

rofthelper,

Of course, it depends on the play.. the sequence of cards that were played.. No absolute, just probability to increase your chance of winning.

That is why normally I will observe for a while before joining a table.. or I play with small bets for a while to observe the cards..

rofthelper

Blackjack (MBS preferred) has a two advantages over Pontoon.

#1. You can surrender at anytime regardless what is the dealer up card is. In Pontoon, you can only surrender if dealer draws ACE or a PICTURE card.

#2. Your insurance bet can be higher than your starting bet when the dealer has a ACE as a up card. In RWS, your insurance bet is set at 50% of your starting bet.

Blackjack is good for passing time.. but not the best place to win money because of other players.

If you are in for gambling just to win.. the odds are the best with baccarat

pc simulation?! geez...

when my mate and i talked about it the first time, we ran through the possible scenarios and worked out the kinks. on a low tech xl. and then we tried it out in a casino. and again. suffice to say we haven't lost a single cent. and no you don't need a lot of cash to start.

please don't pm me, im not telling.

dunno where else to post this... but i just realised that there's a 8 mil toto draw this coming friday.

huat ah!

ya, in my day dreams... just had one over lunch hence hopped over to the outlet.

so, far, nothing more than $20.

kittenpie

knnb .... i never even struck S$20 before !!!

maybe i should go and consult some special canary or parrot or fish that can guide me to the magic numbers ...

haha..

for a start, you can try to copycat those sibeh-onz punters who buy from "lucky outlets".

i can't be bothered, maybe that's why i'm still on $20.

octopus retired liao...

Toto is extremely difficult to strike..

More than 8 million combination.

But with 8 million in prize money, it is worth it.

I struck 5 nos + 4+1 .. few Ks

duckyholic

today i finally take the brave step forward to resign from my job in seek of something that i want to do ,been in this job 4.5 years, bonus and increment miserable... no promotion
feel very disheartened

going to take up a course to learn something i m really interested in and hope to be able to carve a career out of it ...

I will not know the outcome, but i wanna try and see how it turn out....

i m already 35 this year and although the future hold uncertainty and insecurity, but i got to make changes in order to see the bigger picture behind and to test my limit to how far i can stretch ....

thats how i try to encourage myself everyday ......

well, cant retract now, so i can just hope for the best/.....

well duckyholic,

what i can tell u with alot of certainty is... u will only be happier. when u are stuck in a rut, dun for 1 moment think that things will change for the better simply becos u wish it...

i will share a phrase with u... "If u do what u consistently do, u will get what u consistently get... IF u wanna get what u have not been getting, u have to change what u have been consistently doing, u have to change!" - this to me, is one of the most powerful phrases i've learnt... and it has gudied me thru many decisions to jump ship, to face unknown...

As long as u dun like what u're getting, dun just find out abt what's out there... Leave, then your whole body and mind will work together like an Instinct, to get u to the next level. dun settle for lesser than what u set out to gain in life If u know u are worthy of it.

what can be worse than working til 50 and realising u've been wasting your life away? Today, u did what Most pple dun dare to do, what most pple dun dare to think, what most pple dun dare to acknowledge... Congrats!

dun let fear rule u, and u will find your rainbow...

duckyholic

hi powder

thanks for your words, it is certainly so encouraging to me ...... and thats what i need the most now..

to be honest, i m really not sure if i could be good at what i really want to do, but i got to try right??

what i can only be sure is that if i stay , i can foresee myself and what i will become 10-20 years later...an office lady in her 50s dragging her feet to work by bus or mrt.....that is even more scary to me than me leaving without a job now at 35....

thanks again powder...

after i tender, i smell n feel such a huge sign of relieve that i had not feel for a long long time......

Well I've not been known to be kind with words, so am sharing my honest thoughts.. I dare say I'm seldom wrong in these aspects, and what u're doing simply puts u above the general average in terms of action. I know how much u have to summon to be out of your comfort zone and I am so damn glad that your motivation comes from a Greater.fear of seeing your future You, than from simply the fear of unknowns today.

We Should do what we need becos we dun like what we'll see in the mirror 20 yes from now, and not becos of tomorrow or next week.

I'm very positive at u will only move up, not even sideways... Just stay convicted and keep your eyes n ears opens for doors that open to the life which u seek.

Hi sm,

You mention you are looking to buy some shares.
Which shares are you looking at?

Good time to buy shares or good time to sell shares?

Looking forward to your reply.

Hi sm,

I don't know whether I'm stupid or simple-minded.
I just sold most of my shares which I bought 6 mths ago.

There you are looking to buy shares and I go to sell, should have hold on longer.

Do you think there is going to be more upside for Singapore?

kittenpie

Albee, which shares you bought and sold?

i was also stupid. i bought some in April, dang*** but newspapers say STI will rise to 3200 by year end, so wait and see loh.

Nowadays I don't look actively at to trade in short-term basis. The outlook for SG is surprisingly good. Remember we are going to grow at 13%-15% this year.

STI index rise does not mean you make money unless you bought most of the underlying stocks representing STI - well that is a broad spectrum.

If you are active trader, every time is also a good time..

Hi May,

I bought property shares 6 mths ago but all sold recently.

Do you think the Singapore properties is going to shoot up further?

What shares did you buy in April? Please share with us.

kittenpie

Albee, did you buy capitaland shares? they really performed poorly in June. but these couple of days seem to be reviving.

i dont know, im a newbie and i have very limited knowledge. i read technical charts but i dont know how useful they are.

i bought Sembcorp family shares and some other blue chip so the STI index is quite relevant to me. bought April high prices but prices dropped in May. should have bought in May instead.

Singapore very little action. but certain shares have high volatility like NOL and Venture Corp. these shares are fun for bold punters. US market more action. people are saying should look at china and india, these two im curious but dont even know where to start

kittenpie

but albee, why did you sell them off? i would wait if i were you ... you have need for cash to make an alternative investment?

Hi May,

Wow! You know how to read charts. I just see the prices only.

Just sold CityDev today.

I think you should ask SM more about Shares because I'm a simple-minded newbie too.

The funny thing is my hubby thinks simple minded people make better investors. Huh???? Can't understand what he means. He kept laughing and didn't tell me the reason.

Anybody knows?

kittenpie

is it you need money for alternative investment?

no right or wrong just that you have hit your target price then just dispose loh.

you bought at 10.50 and sold at 11.80? not bad what ...

Hi May,

You are good. You are right. I bought around $10.50 and sold at $11.90. Close to your prediction.

The thing is when I switched on the computer this morning and I saw the price $11.90. I just enter sell order without thinking too much.
Guess What? I got my filled order immediately.
I was flabbergasted.

Who knows after my filled order, the price even went further to $11.96.

Hi sm and powder,

Since both of you are self-made millionaires.
Can you share your wisdom on the stock market and property market?

Which sector is good to buy? or shall I keep my money in the bank and play the waiting game?

Looking forward to your reply. Thanks.