Advice for PLus Size brides

haha mich, what a coincidence ... hainanese men make great husbands, lucky you heehee
Im marrying a hokkien. I need not get the big dough ball thingy hee but I heard it's almost extinct in Spore now, it's called jian dui if im not wrong.

ya, she married Canele ownder hee .. I like her purple and lavender with black chantily lace EG hehe. I should be having a bustier
If you go to my multiply, you will be able to see my KIV ROM gowns.

Chimes,

You are also a teacher? Me too but I am a childcare teacher.....=)

You and hubby to be very deng tui...got the husband and wife look....=)

The Raffles Marina looks very nice as a PS place....when is your PS?

hee mich, your hubby very proud of that trait huh ... *lol*
yupyup, I teach in a primary school
you must be much more patient than I am cuz I can't handle toddlers and very young kids at all :P
geez thanks ... quite a lot of people who have seen us commented that too but actually, I don't quite understand how to see the husband n wife look? Does it mean a couple look alike or something? :P
My PS will be in June, how about yours? Where are the locations you have in mind?

Very good morning to you.....

Chimes, I am going to start work soon....Will reply u when I have more time on the computer tonite....Have a great day....

Need to ask something to you all...

Can i find boutiques here in Singapore who can rent evening gown for plus size?
My bro's getting married in June and I really need this evening gown...
or maybe someone here knows places for me to buy evening gown for plus size..

thanks..

Hi Chimes,

Yup, me also a hainanese...hehe....seems like we got quite a few similar threads...so coincident

That sesame ball is called jin dui "Chin deh" Its quite hard to get that ball now.... but i think some ppl still manage to get the ball...

Chimes,

Hihi..Hahahaha....I am always pulling out my hair becoz of some random kids in my class....Everyday I am telling myself to be patient with them....

But I really admire you for being able to handle such a big class on your own.....

Hahahaha...dont really know how to describe couple look....you just know it when you see it...

Btw my ROM wasnt held at my house....It is actually a house at chip bee gardens that they rent it out for parties....it is a lovely place but it is a pity that they stop operations since last Nov....It is by a company- Carnival and Co....I really enjoyed preparing for my ROM....

My PS is in October and some of the places that I have in mind are Holland V., Marina Pier, Marina Mandarin (My AD venue), Botanic Gardens etc. I am actually thinking of making use of my trial make up to go out to those venues (that I cant fit into my PS day), to take pics....Coz the ROm pics that you saw....one batch was taken by my sis in law.....I thought she did a great job....So am going to plan for my own mini PS....

Wah.. Chimes,

U already down two sizes !!! time really flies.. it is almost 5months after my wedding .. and all those preparation is just like yesterday ! hahaha..

well.. me gain abt 2kg recently .. really want to die ... :p

Hi Parmida, Can share your photos of yr gown ??

I have been MIA for quite awhile .. hahaha cos is busy at work

hi dearris ... u r back
how's things? Aiyo, me trying my best to do what I can lor :P

hey my favchoco ... finally I've found someone with the same AD as me heehee ... have you visit any BS yet? U should decide soon

ya.. exactly, finally someone wif the same date.
I haven visit any yet.. izzit too late?? i was thinking probably 7 month before then book.

hi myfavchoco,
I guess u should start looking around and visit some BS, get to know their packages and sign up with 1 soon. Cuz if you need to mtm your gowns, u need at least 2-3 months before your photoshoot. From photoshoot to getting your album ready, u need another 2-3 months. U can work with a similar timeline.
My first gown fitting will be end of March, photoshoot in June.
Btw, where's your AD venue?

hi dearis,

me trying to upload them...been bz wif ps and work and home stuff..will try to post asap okie?

hi chimes,

me dunno got down 1 size or not, let alone 2 sizes..Kudoos to u!!

hi myfavchoco,

agree wif chimes, u dun have much time to look ard..unless u want ur dresses OTR, else u will be late! i tot i was late when i book my BS abt 8 mths b4 my AD...

Hi chimes n parmida,

oohh no.. i think i will confirm it mid of next mth ba... should be ok??? haha

is it veri scary ???? i scare i look ugly lor..

I see ... maybe you should visit a few more these 2 weeks before you decide ... don't feel obliged to sign up with any unless you have good vibes about them

hi myfavchoco,

i think u shd go visit some other BS too..if u feel tat u are "being forced" by them, dun give in to their pressure.. u are the bride, u shd feel comfy wif them.tats impt..

i personally feel that the whole process of choosing ur BS and other wedding related stuff is abt the 'feel-good' feeling..becos u want them to capture tat wedding feel..if its like going thru the motions, then its out for me.

tats my own feeling..

HI ladies,

I have attended a bridal show on Sat at Vivo City.
I have signed up with Bliss Bridal but still having some doubts about it.
The package costs $3188 nett (inclusive of gst)

It includes:
actual day:
1 wedding gown(mtm)
1 evening gown(mtm)
1 teadress/kua
2 groom suits
1 pants(mtm)-keep
1 hand bouquet(open choice)
6 corsages(open choice)
Car decoration (Bride's car + Brother's cars)
Actual Day photograher (Day and evening)- exclusive of actual day pics ($50 per roll) Too expensive?
Make up artiste (day and evening) before 7am $20 per hour
2 Father Jackets
1 bridesman and 1 best man gown/suit

Before/phototaking:
1 Make-up trial
6 outfits/6 styling for phototaking
Make up for phototaking (In/out)
15R album 28pcs(4 of which are é“片) with digital design. Extra pics is charged at $80 each.
5R mini album.
Outdoor photography to 3 destinations (Transportation and driver included)
1 8R table Top
1 20x24 frame or 3in1 frame
48 pcs 4R pics(8 poses)
Cd rom
free re-taking if pics is not satisfied.

After placing a deposit of $1500, I felt a bit worried as it was my first time asking around only. (Was being stressed to buy the package as well...)

Can anyone help me to see if the package that I am paying is worthwhile?
And I forget to ask abt the use of costume jewellery on that day. How?

hi Laptop,
your list of items is quite comprehensive, having 2 MTM gowns at 3188 is a good deal I would say. However, you might wanna check with them if some items are exchangeable for other stuff if u dun wanna them? Use of costume jewellery is usually complimentary but u might want to check with them again. If you are worried, u can ask them to write down on your invoice for verification purposes later on.

U mentioned u were being stressed to buy the package ... were you "pulled" to listen to them by an uncle in his 50s? He's quite famous for that though :P I've passed by his shop in Marina Square and he tried to pull us in to listen, in the end, my FH gave him a piece of his mind before we "ran" off *lol*

Hi SL,
don't worry, we are all plus-size BTBs here heehee. U might wanna consider the bridal boutiques some of us signed up with, eg: Golden Horse Award, Thomson Wedding, J & M, Bridal Concept, Jawn, Fame Bridal, My Bridal Room, Santiago

I hv signed up Digio though I am plus sized. Now worry that I made the wrong choice..so scared they do not have my size.

so worry that the MTM will not turn out good for me cos i so "plus sized". When I was at Digio I didn't even try on the gowns. I like their service and their embrodieried gowns, then I signed them up! it's just like putting myself into the "unknown" ..cant help worry leh!!

hi Royal,
since you've already signed up with them, I guess u gotta trust them to do a good job for u

hi myfavchoco,
I didn't go to Santiago, but no harm going there to take a look, it's always to go to a few more so that there's room for comparison.

Hi Royal, how plus size are you. Thou i'm a GHA bride but i'm taking my rom dress & grown from digio. they do have nice plus size too. If not you can MTM

Hi Charmaine and Chimes,

I am a size 18-20. fleshy lah... Will have to wait till my first fitting comes then I can really know.. sigh.. a long wait ....:-)

I'm a size 14 gal. Trying hard to lose weight and also similar to some others, I have problems losing fats on the arm area.

What kind of designs are your gowns? Tubes? I have 2 BS in mind that I want to go to but I only have the intention of getting OTR ones instead of MTM and I'm worried that they do not have any gowns for me. I'm also very conscious about my arms and I don't even wear sleeveless at all on normal days without a cardigan. Sigh...

hi Jeannie,
we have the same problem :P I'm very conscious of my huge arms too ... so I guess solutions will be either off-shoulder gowns, gowns with longer cap-sleeves, clip-on sleeves on gowns. In fact, I've seen similar ideas on the arms portion from a lot of bridal magazines, especially the imported magazines from States and UK

Hi Chimes

Are any of u gals trying to lose weight? Well will definitely have to see what the consultants recommend when the time comes. I hope that I can find the gown that I will look good in.

There's a saying that the bride looks most beautiful on her wedding day... I just can't imagine mine.

hi Jeannie,
Actually yup, I was a size 18 last Sept, then finally made up my mind to lose some weight so went to consult my GP, managed to lose around 14-15kg with Reductil (changed my eating habits too), now I'm size 14. I'm still trying hard to lose more

Wow Chimes, you really lost a lot of weight. I need to lose about 12kgs too. Will a normal GP allow such pills? I've not tried consulting a GP on such before.

How does the pill work? Is it those laxative sort that I've heard about?

As for me, I've only start exercising more frequently these 2 months and started jogging abt 4 times a week. Changing my eating habits too but I'm not sure if I have sufficient time to lose those fats.

Hi Jeannie, most gp does carry Reductil. My colleague used to purchase from my family clinic, some clinic does have the buy 2, 3rd box is free promotion. Not sure if it is on going now. The pill control yr appetite. My colleague got preg, and gave me her remaining 1/2 box foc. She lost appx 3-5 kg in 6 months. i try it but i didn't see much effect with reductil. Guess it depends on individual but no harm trying thou. Jeannie, you so hardworking surely can lose the weight you want. Kanbatei.

Hi Royal, actually you can arrange a day with the people there to take a look at the dresses. That is what i did the last time round to be sure that there are nice rom dresses for me.
They are pretty friendly...so not to worry. While choose my rom dress, i saw a plus size bride with a really nice tie back grown. I love their Gowns. But their plus size evening dress, a bit plain...but i think you can request to look for design in GHA too if not mistaken.

Hi Laptop, yrs is inclusive of actual day photographer? $50 per roll for actual day is pretty cheap bah, from what i know free lance photographer for ad is appx $700-$1000. But if you want to bargain, maybe can try request for more photos foc throw in.

Hi Charmaine, thanks for the info. Guess it's still individual with regards to the effects. Well i believe one would see results if work for it.

Anyone here considering Divine Couture & BV for BS? I wonder if they'll have gowns for me. I actually was thinking of just getting OTR.

Thanks Charmaine for the info..wil ldo so.. Anyway, want to lose weight too.. but will power too weak! decided not to liao.. fat fat lah.cant help it.. haha had decided to convince myself that whatever size it is..The bride will be the most beautiful and radiant on her day...cos It's HER day!! very Ah Q right?

Hi Chimes,

Yes! I got pulled in by one uncle around his 50s... He really knows how to talk sia.. Thats how he managed to get us in.
Nonetheless, have signed the package. So glad that there are actually so many good comments abt this bridal shop. Hope the make up artiste whom all of you have praised abt(Lihua) would be still around. Am really particular abt the make up mysef.

Hi Charmaine,
Yes... the package includes the AD photograher. But will have to top up on the photodeveloping side. But I am not taking the bridal car though...
Am thinking of developing the photos outside myself. Do you think it will be cheaper?

Hi Jeanie, Reductil is not laxative but rather, it's an appetite suppresant, so that you can control your food intake. If you exercise regularly, you will see better results but due to my long working hours, I hardly have time for exercise :P So I work on my diet instead.

As for Divine Couture and Bridal Veil, you can always call them up to enquire, don't worry. No use dwelling on it.

Hi Gals.. It's been some time i posted..

Royal, I am also a DG Bride. Dun worry. They have quite a selection of pretty gowns for us. i have the same fear as u when I first start my bridal sourcing.

Who is yr co-ordinator? So far, DG has make mi a very happy bride.. I jus got my soft copy of the photoshoot pics today! So happy with the end results! Ben is really a good photographer. U should consider to take him if u are into his style.

During photo select time, i was in such big dilemma as all the pics looks so nice to me.. so my hubby top up some more to get all the soft copies...

exactly 3 more months to my AD!! I am also taking reductil... from size 18 to nw top is size 16 and bottom is size 14... i got big arms and broad shoulders... dunno why i only can see weight lose in my bottom and not top. sob sob...

BT,

My co-ordinator is Elson and actually when i signed up, he recommended Ben as my photographer. I hv 2 MTM, was hoping to get OTR, but hopes crashed due to my size.
They let me tried some gowns, I couldn't even fit in..couldn't even find kua or teadress!! so depressing!! Where do I get Reductil? I hv about 4 months to go to reduce.. if taking pills helps, I dun mind trying..sigh..Need miracles!!

Royal, i got my prescription during one of my med visit at KK hosp.. Went to see them on my irregular menses.. After slimming down abit, my menses are more regular now..

Elson - i tot he is the MUA. din know he is also a co-ordinator.

MTM also not bad.. can chose ur own design and color too.

Dun worry.. Be a Happy Bride. Btw, when is ur AD?