Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi BT,

I think the halter neck is nicer
Dun think u can wear the veil for ur march in though, like wat chimes said...

Hi Charmaine,

U size 14?? dun look like it leh..

Hide my flaws mah, usually i wear sz 16 for dorothy perkin top, sz 14 for dorothy perkin skirt. I try to squeeze into a dorothy perkin sz 12 dress, cannot zip, still got a long way to lose.

Hi ladies, found the significance of the bridal veil in another thread ...

veil serves the purpose of shielding bride from "evil spirits" before the marriage ( western belief). So brides walking down the church aisle (marriage before God) do wear veils.

The chiense concept of veil (the red one) is when groom arrives to pick bride up. and lifts the veil when he first enters the room.

Hi charmaine,

I got faith in you! u can do it!

Hi chimes,

I didnt realised tat western beliefts includes warding off "evil spirits"

thanks gal. i had my indoor photoshoot today.. i have asked them to make the gown with sleeves tighter coz earlier was abit loose.. as i really like the back of the gown with sleeve, i decide to use tat for my actual day since some of the people advised cant use veil again.. Tough decision..

Hope the pics will turn out fine and looking forward to my outdoor shooting at bintan this thurs..

by the way, does anyone knw usually do we have to pay the MUA curling of hair charges? Tot it is only applicable for actual day... siong lei.. every make up session has to fork up extra $65..

I know that ampoules & eyelash are optional and need to pay if you wanna use. I've heard of if you are using machine for hairdo need to pay. No machine required for hairdo then need not top up.

BT ..

The MUA .. "try to chop" u ?? $65 for curling the hair ? No way for that !! For PS & AD etc.. shld be included pa ? Cos i did not pay anything extra to the MUA for PS or AD .. Just give him a Ang Pao for his good job done which is me myself feel like rewarding him

I tot hairdo and makeup is included in the package?? Better check with ur MUA...Dun want any unnecessary cost to ur BS pkg...

Hi hairdo is included in the package. But if you required to do curling using machines etc, most bridal mua does have additional charges. I take extra caution when i choose bridal cause my sis friend kanna before. I ask a few bridal, they told me similar stuff, hairdo included but if required machine then need to top up. So when i bargain with the lady boss of GHA, she say she can throw in free for me in studio cause she is doing for me personally but for AD, another MUA will be doing it for me and she can't waived that off for me if i choose to use machine for hairdo on AD.

Dearris, yr mua so nice? You using machine for hairdo and she didn't charge you? I guess BT $65 is inclusive of fake eye lash n ampoules not just the hair machine thingy.

I am a UK20 BTB, AD 5 Dec. Anyone has got any good recommendations for BS? I am aiming for a price below SGD 3500.

hi gals~
for my ROM my MUA curl my hair but no extra charges leh but amps n lashes have charge..

i'm with My Bridal Room n their gowns r quite pretty so u gals can chk out their plus size gowns n go down for non-obligation talk

they can also custom to help fit ur budget

hihi Royal, Im with Bridal Concept .. AD in Nov, size 14-15 .. their standard OTR pkg is 3088, of cuz the packages can be customised to suit your needs.

hihi JL & ZZ, when's your AD? I've seen pretty good PS pics of your BS on Multiply

hi chimes,
my AD oct.. went for first fitting for the OTRs..
but my pkg is MTM so now considering if i shd jus MTM both my WG/EG or jus take OTRs

hey jengcc,

our AD is 1 month apart
mine's in Nov. My first fitting is tomorrow.

Did you like any OTR gowns that you've tried? If you like, then can use the balance to offset photos?

hi chimes,
i like my OTRs but jus nothing special cos ppl wear b4 liao..
now i still consdiering..
u have multiply?
maybe i can share some with u

I am also a plus size bride....I am a size 12-14...My AD is this December....

I had my ROM last July and I wore a bustier dress....If you feel comfortable you gals can also choose to wear a bustier WG or EG....

Hihi Gals

I am a plus size bride too! AD in June 08. Just went for OTR fitting mid Feb; have decided on halter neck for both WG & EG. Now working hard to lose weight by jogging & going to the gym! hehe!! 4 more months to go.. jia U jia U!! ;P

hi jengcc, I am from MBR too!!! =)

hi mich,
My AD is 9 Nov, BS is Bridal Concept

hihi jas, hee ... im also trying to lose some more weight, I've dropped 2 dress sizes over the last few months hee

Hey Chimes

Wow!!! 2 dress sizes!! Tt's great!!! Keep it Up!!! Do u have a target in mind??

By the way, wat hv u been doing tt resulted in the weight lost? ;P

hi jas,
I was a size 18, now size 14. So I'll continue to try and see if I can be a size 12? hee

Actually, I've tried a lot of ways to lose weight before, but nothing really works. So in the end, I went to consult my GP, he recommended I try out Reductil, so I did. Took 10mg since Sept last year and lose abt 13kg since then. I've also changed my diet habits. It has worked for me so far.

Hi Chimes,

Good for ya!!Me didnt lose that much weight.perhaps me not watching my diet...chum lah...me better watch my diet..less than 3 mths...

well hee ladies, having to spend money on Reductil, didn't wanna waste it and my GP said it's guarantee to lose weight if I watch my diet, so must give it a try.

But fortunately, I usually don't like sweet things, so keeping off pastries wasn't a problem. But I had the bad habit of eating junk food, so very hard to lose weight. Now I stayed off junk food and I don't eat rice for dinner, ate veggies, soupy stuff and fruits. You too can do it! hehe. Now my problem is i have huge arms, can't seem to lose much weight on that area.

Hihi all, like all of you gals, I have weighty problems and am trying my best to lose it but as you all know.. it is sooo hard!

Chimes, I have the same habit as you, that is junk food! I am thinking of taking the Reductil which you have mentioned. May I know which GP you go to and if we can only get this through doctor and not pharmacy? How much does it cost to?

My AD is in Sept and I only have 6 months.. *shake head*

hi chiligoyo,

Ya, it's only available thru doctors and not available in pharmacy as you need prescription. I go to one of the clinics under Healthway Group. Im taking the 10mg (lighter dosage) which is abt $145 per month.

Do remember to moisturize the various parts of your body as it should help to minimize the stretch marks when you slim down....

Chimes, does the REductil have any side effects?

Chimes,

Thanx for the feedback.....

BTw where are you holding your ROM? Have you gotten your flat yet? My BTO flat is Punggol Vista...(Any of you gals going to stay there as well?)

hi mich,
I'm having my solemnisation in ROM itself, juz a very simple thingy since my AD is in Nov. Will be staying with my in-laws after marriage for a year as my FH is the co-owner of the flat, after transferring ownership to his sis, we'll get a flat in the west.

Chimes,

I see....So have you selected your ROM dress from your BS? =)

What colour is your EG going to be? I am looking at either cobalt blue...jade green if not then fuschia.... =)

hi mich,
I have chosen 2 ROM gowns from my BS and I'm still thinking which 1 to take .. haven't made up my mind yet hee
as for EG, I'm thinking of getting something in deep shades such as maroon or purple .. I saw an EG that Vickie Koh (MUA of The Wedding Present)wore for her banquet, she was featured in one of the bridal magazines last year and I liked it a lot heehee ... I might MTM something like that for my EG .. she's plus-size too.

hihi parmida, don't worry, at the end of the day, the bride is the prettiest on the wedding day cuz it's her day hee. Btw, you're hainanese ah? So am I ... hehe

Chimes and Parmida,

Hahaha...I am marrying a hainanese.....So are you glas planning to get the big dough ball thingie.....Can't rem what's it is called...dui jian is it?

Vickie Koh...Hmmmm...She married the local famous chef or pâtissier right?.....Canele owner....I think I saw the article.....Okies.....I have torn out so many pages from various bridal mags and you can try online websites like http://www.moniquelhuillier.com/index2.html

So what designer are you planning to have for your WG? I am thinking of either bustier or toga....

Chimes,

What are the two designs like?

I am quite a computer idiot and i find that mulitply not very user friendly....Hahahha....It is just me.....but i do have an account...I will go and add you.....Are you on Facebook?