Advice for PLus Size brides

hi por and chimes... how's ur preparation and BS pix turn out liao??? kekekeke... my PS over liao... but photos not ready yet...

hi dummyspy, me no need to start any preparations yet cuz my AD is Nov next year hee but Im currently sourcing for my AD PG.

Waiting to see yours and por's pics hee ... dearris' pics turn out good
btw, did you manage to change a bit for your WG small jacket?

kekekekeke... so i see....
never leh... my little jacket, no one free to entertain me from the bs... haiz... a bit sianz....

Hi Ling Ling,

My buddy also signed up wif white link.. Wat freebies u got, if u dun mind sharing.. Di Gio is slightly on the high side.

Hi Polarwhite,

GHA was one of my choices too..hahaha. When is ur AD? So fast go see gown designs? U got any designs in mind? Can share ur pkg if u dun mind, cos me got a friend looking ard for BS too..

Actually me shortlisted DG, GHA, J&M, Jawn and Precious moment brides, Only visited the first 4 when i decided i got enuf...heehee and so i didnt visit Precious moment brides

My package is 3388 which include bridal car.., those in standard package.
I dunno if those extra freebies I get consider a lot a not. Cos my FH do most of the bargain. But when I went to DG, the same package price. We cant get what we want. They just kept on say reduce one item to change for another one. For 3388, DG dont have MTM gown n refused to add outfits for PS.

Some of the freebies are
Upgrade the mini album to 5R
another table top
free night outdoor shooting
30 poses instead 22 poses
Additional 32 3R photo
Additional 2 more outfits for PS

Hiya, I needed a white long sleeve shirt for my convacation. Any idea where i can get 1 cheaply cause i just need to wear it under the grown, probably won't wear it again. Me appx uk 14-16.

hi chimes... they arranged my fitting so near to my PS and i got no time to do any changes lor... i also have problem w my eg and they didn't change on time... overall is = chaim... haiz.... so sianz... i hope i can faster get over my AD and blacklist them... haiz....

hi geniebottle / ling ling,

my package as follows:
$3388 nett
- EG & WG both MTM
- 2 suits + 1 pants MTM (to keep)
- fathers' suit
- tea dress
- 12" x 15" 40 poses in 30 pages
- a big protrait
- 5 outfits (3 studio / 2 outdoor)
- transport provided for outdoor
- i cant rem the rest liao... hahhaa...

hi parmida,

my AD is next yr Oct... will be going to GHA next mth to wat patterns n designs suitable for me... i have my WG in mind liao but my EG i totally no idea....

Hi Charmaine,

I sign up wif Helen from Yishun branch... My package as per above...

hi dummyspy & chimes,

I have just selected my PS photos yesterday. Finally done with the photos selection and also rejected quite alot due to too "exposive" liao.. haha.. cos the WG was too loose at the boobs area so hmm... hahahhaa... u know lah... and today show my colleagues 1 of the "exposive" photo, they all disturb me and take tissue to block their nose... hahaha... so bad..

but after excluded all those photos I still have alot alot to choose from lor... very headache ar.. keke..

now i dun need to think abt the photos until they have edited then i will review again. If everything's ok after that, den they will proceed to print the album.. Estimated a few days before my AD den can collect the album. But i do have the unedited pics... maybe will post in my multiply when i got the time..

Hi Charmaine, I got my white-collar shirt for my convocation a few years back from Fashionable Changes in Bt Panjang Plaza, the shop is still there. I got it around 30 bucks if I remember correctly.

Hey Por, good lah ... you have a lot of photos to choose from, I remembered you being worried about how you look a few months back .. see, all turns out to be fine .. hehe
happy choosing

Hi Polarwhite,

Wah yr package not bad wor. Mine is 31 photos. Does 31 photo = 31 poses or 31 pages? Yrs comes with car? Btw, you can opt to change yr big protriat to the 3 in 1 digital banner type which is more trendy these days.

Hi Por do update us once you uploaded wor. :-)

Btw, just gotten my white shirt during lunch @ bossini...hee...

Hi dummyspy, if you not happy with yr gown, why don't you voice out and insisted them to make the changes for you?

Hi PolarWhite,
When is yr AD? Mine in Dec 08 but the coordinator actually told me to go for gown selection in Mar. I was thinking is it too early a not like not enough time for me to lose 8 kg in 6 months time. :-(

Hi Charmaine,
Normally, 31 photo refer to 31 poses. Cos one page can have 2-3 poses. This is what the coordinator told me.

Does anyone know what software can be used to do photo montage?

Hi Ling Ling,

It depends on how complicated you wanna your photo montage to be. If you only need a simple one, actually Microsoft Powerpoint will do. If not, Microsoft Movie Maker and Photoshop will both do the job.

Hi LingLing,

Ur pkg sounds not too bad...try getting more photos cos the photos are the killer part esp when u want to have tons of photos
If 1 page have 2-3 poses, then u actually dun have much pgs for ur album too...

Hi Polarwhite,

U still got a year more to prepare and think the pace is just nice..me only got 7 months to prepare..and me still relax, think im mad liao, not even gan cheong..hehe.. Have u booked ur venue?

Heys all, Just needed a space to share my woes... I went down to MBR with my gf yesterday afternoon with high expectations on their service and quality. I was greeted with smiles when I stepped in.
In the midst of flipping through the albums, my gf shared that she know about MBR as her other gf took up a package with them. Then the co-ordinator actually asked why is my gf still single when she always follow others to bridal shops? My gf was felt very upset over it.
The second incident was while I was browsing through their OTR gowns. The co-ordinator commented that I should eat more veg and drink more soup instead of eating chix wings, so that I will look nice in my pictures. First of all, I am not a confident bride to be. So scared to even take my first step to visit bridal shops as I know most, if not all of the gowns, i wun be able to fit
Now, I just started feeling worse about my wedding than excited about it...

hi mawie,

dun bother abt others who just know how to see things on the surface.. it is not worth to spoil ur wedding mood by those ppl... they just appear in your life for tat few hours or the most months.. but your wedding will be in ur memories thru' out ur life... or stay happy ok?
if you'll be seeing her again, den response back to her.. if she expected u to have been married since u always follow to bridal shop, den ask her what shall u expected when tat woman working in a bridal shop? hahahaha....

hi chimes,
of cos will feel worry 1 mth back.. cos my AD is on 11/11 and my PS date was on 09/28. the time inbetween was like very rush mah... hahaha... but now feel slightly better liao.. hehehe..

Hi por, Thanks for your comforting words
On the contrary, I was very impressed with Flamingo Bridal, a highly recommended place to visit but the bad part was Shirley (Flamingo) pampered me with duchess satin and i m addicted to it

hi mawie,

tat's good to be pampered during this period.. go ahead and enjoy it!!
haha.. cos every bridal will wanna be pampered and look as beautiful as possible... but as for me, i am also quite lack of self confidence type also.. heez... me very difficult to build up self confidence wor.. haiz..

hi por, agree wif u that it isnt easy to build up self confidence, but after my visit to Flamingo, I guess certain gown cuttings do highlight our curves

hi mawie,

true.. it depends on the designer where is he/she able to bring out the good points and try to hide or make it less obvious for the bad points.. it is good for us to know some of the cuttings more suitable or we shall avoid before visiting the shops so that u can know abit whether the sales persons are purely doing sales anot lor... hahahaha...

hi charmaine,
I use the car to exchange for more photos... yes, i can opt for those 3 in 1 protrait....

hi ling ling,
my AD is next yr Oct...

hi parmida,
yup, i have booked my venue wif marriott....

hi mawie,
i have the same thinking of u... i scared to step into those BS cos i am afraid that ppl will say u so fat, no gowns for u.... but then luckily GHA & J&M welcome me wif open arms... J&M even let me try on their gowns.... so dun worry.... u r the 1 paying, u have the right to choose....

Hi Marwie,

Don't be sad, there are many bridal that provide good service and have dresses that fit us too. You should go look around more and get a coordinator who really click well with you.

Yes, i agree once a lifetime event, so must pamper ourselves. I doing face detox / facial every 2 weeks, and apply ampoules / mask on face weekly at home. When free, i also apply slimming gel & apply loreal slim patch. Loreal slim patch is pretty good, really cold and the coldness last but kind of expensive cause 1 box 6 patch is like $40+, and 1 tummy need at least 2 patch, leg 4 patch etc if you wanna cover the whole area. So usually i just apply the Dr Johnson Slimming Gel at night, cause once i apply in the morning, so hot when i walk around. The hotness lasted till ard 9-10pm wor. Did so much also beacause i got so many wedding & upcoming events to attend.

Beautitian says if no time to go facial just apply diy masks at homes really helps. I try the beauty lift ampoles, the result is really good, 1 application can feel my rough texture skin feel really smooth. Pretty cheap too, my sis bought it for me ard $4 per bottles. So cheap so my sis, I and my cousin bought quite a bit. Much cheaper than go facial! $4 per bottle / week = $16...hee... My sis did it at salon, she buy 10 bottles @ $150.

Hi PolarWhite, the car can exchange for how many photos? Yes is pretty good leh, count by pages 1, maybe i go and ask again when i go and try my ROM Dress. By 30 pages, 40 poses a bit too little bah, cause usually 2 pages is like 3-4 poses if not mistaken. GHA also can try gown if not mistaken.

hi charmaine,

wow.. u really did alot of beauty protecting ways to make urself look good... as for me, not as hardworking as u liao.. heehee.. at most is go do facial 2-4weeks once... hahaha... den at home just do normal daily things like apply tone, moisturiser, sun block, etc..

Por, wow you are counting down to yr Ad...must be very busy n exciting. Selected yr songs, preparing speech and all those stuff alredy?

Btw, the beauty lift ampoules is also the makeup ampoles, cause the salon i went too also do bridal makeup. They actually gave me 1 bottles for my ROM when i bought some trials @ wedding roadshow. Much cheaper than buying from the MUA ard $15.

Btw, I've got the contact of the MUA for sister & family, appx $80 per pax but can bargain 1. Shh..how much is the actual pricing depends on the no of people makeup. Do over at her salon will be cheaper thou.

And also the beautitian gave me another lady contact who do home services pedicure & medicure. The rate is pretty reasonable ard $35-40 if not mistaken.

hi mawie,

it is good that u are happy with them.. also it is the most impt thing lor.. if their things are good, prices are cheap, yet u dun feel comfy with them, den u won't be enjoying ur wedding preparation all those stuffs liao wor.. so is good tat u found 1 that u are comty with... u can go ard to a few more bridal shops to see see look look hear hear before u sign up with any... remember to ask them abt hidden costs all those things and ask them to throw in more things to the packages if possible.. haha..

Me lazy fellow 1 lah, i lazy to apply toner etc, thou i've alot of products at home. I only apply sunblock daily only. But mask i apply n go sleep usually, ampoules once a week so far i still got do it, but 5 min hotness at times.

hi Charmaine,

wah.. home pedicure & manicure sounds interesting.. might i can try that.. so that dun need to stay in the shop.. haha.. as for the MUA for sisters & family, hmm.. i got it for cheaper.. cos i used her for my brother's wedding to makeup & hair-do for my mum and myself.. she charged me @ $50 per pax.. so i asked her if for my sisters during my wedding how much does she charged per pax.. she still charged me @ $50... if u interested, maybe i can give u her contact.. heez..

Wah, that is cheap, do pass me the contact wor. Got hairdo included? My sis bought ampoules n package from the lady, the best price she bargain is $68 inclusive of hairdo, makeup & foc eye lash + ampoules inclusive. Which my sis already very happy...

Pedicure at home i thought it would be good if no time to go down and do loh, cause wedding period yr sister and yrself might be very caught up with other things and medicure n pedicure is like a must (culture from my colleague). So that why my beautitian pass me the contact cause i was complaining no time to go medicure & pedicure.

Hi Marwie, yeah por is right, must check out all the hidden cost and additional cost and request as many freebie as possible, rather than later on you realised you need and you need to top up for it. I've heard funny things like hairdo if using machine (curling etc), need to pay for it too.

Do your research well. I've compile a list i've gather which can be requested. If you want i can email to you. :-)

Hi Chimes,

Yup actually I am not worry abt the hotel but about myself cos I really scare abt wearing that gown not much confidence till now and it become worse when I see the photographs. My arm !!!!!!!! like sumo like that haizzz...and I try to ask BC to add in shawl lah clip on sleeves lah but all rejected because the gown is halter neck type if add shawl or others will be very bulky and make me look much bigger...is that true???

hi drizzlestars, I think for halter necks, they don't advise anything to cover, if not, really too much things liao. My coordinator actually told me that big ladies usually more suited for bustier than halter neck. Your WG is mtm or otr?

Hi por,

I think i am gonna face the same situation as u...my estimated date to take my photo for the wedding album is ard late feb or march, my AD is in May..hope they got enuf time...

Hi polarwhite,

nice venue
but me not holding so many tables, so mariott is out.

Hi Mawie,

My good fren took flamingo too..me got 3 other frens holding their AD within months of one another
She's quite happy wif flamingo
Dun bother wif wat that sales person say..she is just an idiot. BTW, wat is MBR?

Hi Charmaine,

U are really hardworking!! Hats off u! Me simply lazy..only got for facial once a month and now doing some tummy slimming treatment and controlling diet and tats abt it...u at home so so many things...pei fu! pei fu!

Hi Mawie, you've got mail.

Hi drizzlestars, maybe you can opt for tube kind. I see my colleague wear a tube EG, with shawl tie back, very nice and can coverr arm.

Hi Chimes, my colleague got for me usually. So the last time i ask to get 6 bottles for me. Cause i paisei to ask her to keep going to buy for me too. So selling some extra cause i realised too many already, 1 bottle can last very long sia, me n my mum share to use. But just apply a very very thin layer can already cause i walk till 9pm+ still super hot, my leg open big big while standing, my bf ask me why, i told him my thigh burning hot, must tong feng, he just laugh aside.

Btw, just inform my mum abt my rom in dec...hee...she ask why AD so far away.

Hi Por, you don't really look big in the photo leh. Pretty

Hi Parmida, have you book yr AD venue, my buddy just have her wedding @ Regent. The setup is cozy and nice inside the banquet. Food taste pretty ok. She only have 20 tables for the banquet, maybe you can conside that.

Ya me at home got lots of things but many at times, no motivation to use...haha...
i've got the infra ray slimming belt & a oto trimax & a trackmill. First few days very hardworking, do at arm, tummy & thigh, after a while i get lazy again. So looking out for less hassle stuff like loreal slim patch, paste then go sleep or go out already. Actually loreal product pretty good, have tried both the cellu roller thingy and the patch, both not too bad, thou i didn't expect it to perform magic but can feel the diff while using it. So sometimes i use hot gel to burn fat, sometime cellu roller, some time slim patch...depending on my mood. Haha...when i free i even apply face mask on my legs...too dry cause i lazy to apply lotion daily.

Btw ladies here, maybe we can try eating more grapes. No 1 anti aging, for purple fruit. No 2, my massue told me to eat more grapes as it helps to reduce water retention! And most of plus size lady sure got water retention problem 1, not sure why thou...

drizzlestars: u r with BC? mine EG is halter and i gotten a shawl from them to cover the arms. But its too soft and keep slipping down during my PS. So now, trying to get something done for my AD. urs is MTM gown?

Por: pretty pic! ya, dun look plus size! may i know what software u use to edit the pic?

Hi por,

U dun look tat plus size lah...u look pretti pretti!! :D

Hi Charmaine,

Me booked my venue liao, its Club Chinois..
Regent food is not bad, attended a wedding there last year...

Me too! Can buy and buy but only 3 minute fever, after awhile the thing is left lying there to rot..haha

Hi mawie,

I see, I see... so u like them?

this is 1 of the photos that i like it alot.. the theme for this series of photos is "Attitude".. haha...

546837.jpg

Hi Parmida,

yup I like Shirley (Flamingo) services. She allowed me to try like 15 gowns during my 1st visit and did a sketch of my desired gown for me to see
You are taking Club Chinois too? Hurray!!! I am going down on coming Monday to place my deposit. When's your AD?

hi mawie,
i signed wif GHA...

hi charmaine,
if poses too little, can top up 1 pose for $35... to top up 1 page is $85.... hahaha... i rather top up poses... :p

hi parmida,
i am having 15 tables... btw, i am having high tea... heee... think i forget to mention... i will have my solemnisation at the poolside pavilion then proceed to their function room for high tea....

hi por,
u look pretty !!!! chio bu.... *wolf whistle*....