Advice for PLus Size brides

hi chimes,

it will be better if the heels are ard the same height that she will be wearing tat day.. otherwise she can let the designer know how much higher will it be den the 1 she brought.. but normally the designer also will suggest her how high she should wear lor.. dun worry..

usually is 3.5" to 4" or higher.. also gotta depends on her hb's height.. see what the designer suggest bah.. but the height of the heels really does make a significant diff..

as for the camera, it is her fitting so i dun see why they won't allow.. so just bring it and take pics for the fitting.. they will allow de..

hehehehe... i think 3" can lah... sometimes no chocie... i very short lor... if don wear a bit higher hor... my dress like so short....

hihi, me too jus bought a pair of shoe from pedal works which is abt 2.5-3" ba... So scared dat i got problem wif walking on AD wif the heavy gown...

Hi Chimes,

Im deciding betweeen jawn and di gio..kinda confused..i like both....ARRGGHH!! and i dun have much time to think lor... sigh

The bs i went to suggested that I can wear a 4" high heel shoes..i nearly faint! My hubs is quite tall, stand together, i only reach slightly below his shoulder, so I guess i can afford to wear tat high..but me also damn scared to wear that high, cos I know im clumsy and will sure fall...
Better start learning how to wear high high heels shoe liao..

Me too, i super clamsy, always fall down in heels. I do not know how to walk stable with thin thin heels. So i make sure i got a super stable heels ard 3" for my rom.

hehehehe parmida... for PS, don worry, they said they still ask u stand on phonebooks one... hahahahahaha..... as for AD, got to be careful careful and start practising with suck high shoes lor.... hehehehehe.... 4" wow... very high.....

Charmaine.... me too lor.... thin heels for sure cannot make it for me lah... i bought platform shoes.... hehehe... i saw GUESS got nice phatform shoes but too expensive.... sob sob sob.....

Even i wear platform also scared scared. Me flat footed, sensei say that y i got problem balancing. So when i buy shoes, really need to make sure it is really stable.

Wow, 2.5-4" So envy you ladies.... How I wish I can wear them with my gown...But cannot lehz... coz my hb almost same height as me.. so if i wear that high, then i will be much taller le...

But girls ah... no worries de... just walk as you normally walk. with heals, you would look more elegant coz... more proportion le... That ishow I feel. Coz when I attend formal dinner myself, I always wear high high... Hahaha HOOHOHO.

hi ladies, can try thick-heels too, easier to balance than stilettos .. hee ... I die die have to wear heels cuz Im short *lol* In fact, nowadays, if I don't wear heels, I'll feel very weird, my usual heels-height will be 3-4 inches, I have even tried 4.5 inch but that pair of shoes really kill me ... lol

Parmida, why don't you bring your hubby to both shops and try on gowns from both shops and let him see? Maybe he can give you his opinions, speeding up yr decision process ... hee

hi charmaine, me too a flat-footed... to me walking still not so bad but when comes to run tends to fall badly... heehee :P

hmmhmm... custom made shoes very expensive leh.... but charmine, u already got ur shoes right???? i thought i remember u did post it before... hehehehe... but hor... my BS there got 1 shoes 4 inch and i looks just nice with that.... but than when i take off, i looks strange...

Hi..

I am real glad that i bought a comfortable shoe for my wedding .. I wear that for almost the whole day for PS .. and i am still ok. Though it is very simple and plain..abt3.5" but very comfortable. Buy thick heel and not too steep one..

Hey hey... I am back from my photo selection... Not so bad... But working on even tight budget now.... (=

Anyone went thru the selection these few days? How is it then?

Hello

I am new here... after reading through you gals message.. i am very worried. Need your help and advices...

I am plus size also.. my AD & ROM on the same day. We intend to have a very simple celebration but i need a simple WG & EG to be worn on that day & I don't want a package. Thought of rent the gowns from the BS. Any advices???

Hi dummyspy, yeah have gotten the shoes for my rom, quite lucky to get a nice silver heels suitable and very stable. But may not be so lucky all the times cause sometimes i got a hard time finding heels which are very stable.

Hi greeniebride. renting from BS might not be cheap. You not going to take yr photoshoots? My colleage mtm her grown for rental seperately and the growns cost her ard 2-3k. Sometimes it is cheaper when you take the packages. Maybe you can check it out during the wedding fair etc she what they can offering you. If you looking for budget ones, my bf friend sign up with MR & MISS @ less than 2k.

hehehehe... i know there is some place in Amoy street do gown sales.... maybe u can check out there.... less than 1k.... :P i was also quite shock that price of gown rental is so expensive...... maybe try JB? hehehehe....

hi charmine...
i bought a shoes recently, platform, very stable... but than the plastic hor makes my feet a bit uncomfortable... trying to get use to it now, if really cannot, maybe got to get another pair....

Thank you for the response..

Hmm... thinking to take simple photoshoots only next year cos too busy to cramp all in... u know preparation, flat renovation etc. My ROM & AD is on 19 Oct and i have not looked for the gown yet.

I didn't know that rent of gown is so ex... all i want is a very simple one, perhaps knee length will do..

Actually, perhaps u gals could let me know where i can buy plus size dresses... something white, creamy or yellowish dresses and that will solve my problems as i don't really want a WG.. too complicated as i am not too young anymore. 34 to get married keke.

Would appreciate your help. Thanks

Hi GreenieBride.

Pls dont think of that 34.. Bride is always the prettiest ya...

Have you thought of signing a package in any BS? Coz they actually give perks such as ROM gown. That may solve you part of your problem. Coz eventually you may(or still deciding) get the WG and photo shoots from them. Or you have decided not to take any PS?

No worries the ROM gown and WG in BS are different. ROM gown usually come in creammy or yellow dreses.. and there are choice of knee length or full length..

You may want to drop by any BS for enquiry..

Jaz

Hi Gals!

how's everyone? how's wedding preparations? sorry i've not posted for so long... been nua-ing at home =/

hope u gals r doing fine =P

and hihi to the new pple! =)

Hiya,

Need to a white dress urgently by friday. Any suggestion. Stress...need to my buddy sister, and was only informed last night

Thank tou Jaz.

I think i need a ROM dress instead of WG. Will go to BS this weekend to look around... hopefully can find one.

Any BS with plus size to recommend?

Thank tou Jaz.

I think i need a ROM dress instead of WG. Will go to BS this weekend to look around... hopefully can find one.

Any BS with plus size to recommend?

Hi Greeniebride,

I think you walk in any BS, you say you want to see their gown... and ROM ones... They will show you.. They will be eager to show you the packages too... you see see how their packages then see got any free rom stuff such as hand bouquet, hairdo and makeup and rom dress. Usually they will add in this perks... So you may save up about 500 to 800$ from there..

But dont eager to sign coz there are lot of boutique out there for you to chooose.... You may want to compare here and there.. More importantly is who and what you are the most comfortable with...

THe place I can recommend is BS along tanjong Pagar... A lot shop there for you to choose... For plus size one, not to worry, as long as your package is MTM (WG, EG), then no problem le...

Hi, can I have your email, I send some sample to you... can?

Cheers gal.

Hi Jaz! haha welcome to the nua-ing team. i'm back to work today so cannot nua liao. maybe i should tell my other half i wanna be housewife then can nua more =P

Hi Dummyspy! my gown not decided yet. really terrible i get so many ideas and i can't decide. very tempted to just buy off-the rack =/ how abt you? how is preparations? =)

Hi Charmaine! sorry i dun have white dress to loan. how is your preparations? if i did not remember wrongly your wedding is in 2 months? sorry if i get the dates wrong >.<

Hi Jaz, i staying @ Toa Payoh.

Hi Don, my ROM is in Dec, appx 3 month time bah. Me busying preparing for my buddy wedding this week than my ROM. Hai...kind of stress cause short notice and like so many things to do. She inviting lots of friend, and hoping to look in my best but kind of hard...no time to slim down a bit at all.. All the other sister are super slim kind.

The good thing is i've finally got myself a white tube dress from York, but still stress up being my buddy sister. No confident in white, so short notice, just anyhow get 1 and match with a pink crop cardi from bossini. Worst, found that got minor flaws but no time to go back to change, need to go for facial, medicure &amp; pedicure etc. Think need to fix the flaws myself. Hai...still wondering what i need to wear on sat night for her banquet @ Ritz. Hee...feel like wearing black, look slimmer in black.

heheheheh.... hi don... i decided my dress liao, MTM both EG and WG... turn up strange but don know how to describe... maybe its me lah... kekekekeke... and i don intend to think so much lah... must slim down a bit before AD... see my 2nd fitting pix and like put on weight... sob..... hehehehhee... u leh???? still haven't decided??? if OTR can get what u like take lah, than can get more pix back... kekekeke

Hi Charmine... i hope everything goes well for ur buddy's wedding.... i think ur buddy some kind like my friend... didn't plan well and last min panic.... heheheheh...

Jaz... i wanna nua at home too haha...

Hi Chimes! I still thinking lehhhh. headache la. everytime i open the bridal mag i wan everything =(. maybe i should just let the bridal shop decide >.<

Charmaine.. dun stress. recently i was also the fattest jie mei recently for my good fren (8 jie meis, the rest are 1.65m 45kg kind, i'm the only 70kg there T_T). just remember the concentration is on on the bride not you so dun worry. for me i just hide behind the rest when taking photo - see face dun see body haha.

Dummyspy.. gratz on deciding your dress! y strange? as long as you look good and u like it can already =) jia you on your diet! as for me i still dun know wat dress to get =( headache...

hummm where is dearris, like never see her post le.. MIA like me? haha

Hi Don, I think your designer can decide for you lah ... hehe ...

Dearris down with flu leh .. she's retaking her PS tomorrow, just managed to talk to her via msn

Hi greeniebride,

There are quite a number of BS tat does rental of gowns for wat u are looking for..I'm sure u will be able to find one soon!!

Hi Chimes,

I am trying to get tat fella to go wif me to BS and the most irritating part is that he tot tat I had already signed up wif a BS!

Shd be bringing him to di gio and jawn to see the gowns...

Hi Chimes,

I kinda like jawn's gowns but its a bit ex for me, though I hope to have more things... Euzart is pretty confident wif his stuff and I guess wif wat he is having, the slightly ex price seems to be worth it...I only hope tat its really worth it....

Hi gals...

I did not go for PS today.. cos of the weather .. i postpond to tomorrow ...

So sianz.. hei..actually abit lazy now .. maybe i just hv the first PS photos will do.. but since taking unlimited.. just greedy n want more photos ... heehee ...

Hi Parmida, men will be men, I don't think they are very particular with BS, it's usually the brides ... hee

Since you have good vibes abt Jawn, maybe you wanna consider investing a bit more in the BS and cut the budget from other possible sources?