Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi GIRLS!!! Back back.... hehee... Jasyeo!!! no wonder i find ur nick looks familar... u also with bliss... hehe...

hihi dearris.... just 1 comment on ur PS photos... BEAUTIFUL!!! Gosh... those rejected ones already so nice... can't imagine the ones that u selected...really very nice... and as i said... ur gown, ur BS did u justice.. u dun look plus at all... and really... u r very beautiful... with the hair and makeup.... very nice..=D i do believe u r the next girl getting married.... how's preparation??? for me... i get more things done during 7th mth..cos not many pple...and also...pple also "avoid" doing things...but the best time to bargain.. ;)

Anyway, HIHI to all the new girls here...

charmaine: i m interested. Had emailed u my enquiries!

Jo: My AD is Nov 08 .. still a long way, so haven't choose my PG yet but I saw from the BC thread that besides Kit, there's another PG called TY, right? Seems that he's very humorous

Hi, am new to this thread (thanks to chimes for getting me in here
) I have just signed up with PMB (the contract is open for 3yrs as my man hvnt proposed to me yet! hahahahaha) I got a really good deal. Both my guy and me are the plus size people. I cant even fit into their shop's largest gown. So the boss bobian throw in all these for us at 3.6K plus package.

Bride: 1 MTM wedding gown
1 MTM evening gown
(for the 2 above gowns, we split cost with the shop, we need to pay to the max $500, not included in 3.6K yet)
2 MTM evening gowns (my own design)
1 outdoor gown
(they say if I cant fit, will MTM for me)
1 studio gown (rental)

Groom: 1 OTR suit & 1 MTM suit

Others: hand bouquets (PS and AD)
car decoration (no car provided)
2 suits for both das (rental)
photography (indoor & outdoor 3places)
1 standard album 15 + 20 pics
1 small album
1 wall portrait pic
(CD rom for selected and touched up pics)
6 corsages on AD
makeup for PS and AD (day and nite)
free use of accessories

That is what I recalled, hope I didnt left out any... :p the MTM were such a good deal and I got to choose my designs and colour and tailored to my big figure....hahahaha

(the sad thing is the shop dun have my size of Chinese Kua....)
Hope my info helps

Hi Belinda, welcome to this exciting thread, it's livelier than the size 18 thread.

You talked to Roland of PMB, right? Did you negotiate for some of the details or you just took what was given? Did they throw in ROM package FOC for you?

hi luvluvlux,
I have my ROM package from Jawn happy ever after.. Like their service and tot of having my bridal package with them.. but their packages are really on higher end and does not include much things, mainly the mtm gowns, flowers, hair-do and makeup.. as for the ps, it is a separate package as they outsource to those photography studio. so added up it costs like $5k and gotta arrange your own vehicle also. They also dun have the jackets for fathers. But the ppl there are friendly and non-pushy..

Hi Belinda,

Did you do yr reserch before you signup with PMP. Personally i find yr package so-so only.
So end up you might be paying up to 4.1K for yr package which doesn't include car? I spoken to Roland of PMB before too. Friend guy i would say and i was tempted to sign on the spot too but glad i didn't cause during wedding fair got many good deals.

Think you can try to neg for more things. Most bridal shop you can also choose yr design and color for MTM too.

Hi belinda,

Me too, I will be going back PMB to sign up with them. Spoken with the boss and his staff before and had tried gowns there. Overall, I am much impressed with them.

Btw, i only remember their basic OTR package is $2145 for exactly what you stated but no MTM. And plus 20pic extra, total should be abt $3.3k. Is your package customised to what you want cos you seem to have quite good deal @ $3.6k for so many MTM gowns + 1 MTM suit with also 15+20pic.

Hi Jo,

Will make appointment with Big Sally. Thanks

Hi Hedgehog,

I just visited jawn happy ever after last weekend. Their bridal package with photography and everything MTM is only 4k+. Don't need 5k. What I like about them is also becos they have a few different photo studios to select so you can choose the photographer styling that you would love which all is quite different.Some of the photographers do provide transport as well. What I like about jawn is maybe the people are really sincere and the way the gowns are done really make me look a lot smaller compared to the others I have visited.
(Maybe for me no assets, so a good photographer and beautiful gowns are very important to me to look good. Hahaha)

One of the photographers also have this very impressive package that comes with montages throughout the album which means that I can chooose as many pictures as I like into my album without any top up which I think can really help save a lot.(I counted one of the album displayed actually got about 70+ pictures without top up)

Anyway will be visiting some more bridal shops first before making my decision.
So can share which one did you sign up after searching?

Hi Gals ..

very happening here recently....

cuttie... Thank you .. your wedding photo also very nice leh ...
me going for another outdoor photoshoot next week for the blue sky that i have missed out... i am praying hard for good weather.

Belinda.. u need so many gowns ?? 1 mtm WG & 3 mtm EG ?? Does you got to keep anyone of your gown ?... basically, yr package is abt 4k ? ...

My BS have a mtm package which is abt 3988 ?? with one of the gown to keep, etc. Can check with Hedgehog cos she took that package. We have the same bs.

I took the other basic package at 2988 but with mtm also but gown cannot keep. actually the package is only with one mtm .. but manage to bargain for both mtm if i cannot find the gown i like OTR.

Anyway .. what is important is you like what u see & you are comfortable with them and it is within your budget, will do ..

dearris... thanks.... can't wait to see ur outdoor ps photos when u can take the nice blue sky...cos the blue sky is a must...very nice and relaxing feel...

i feel like topping up to keep my wedding gown...but i think there's no use for keeping my wg right??? cos u wun wear it again...and after a while, it kind of just take up space...

hi luvluvlux,

I have signed up with J&M. Initially was tot of signing with Jawn happy ever after.. but we dun just based on what we like without considering budget constraint, and also J&M is another selected BS for our research... so we decided to sign with them.. Out of all the BS we went, we only shortlisted Jawn and J&M..

Maybe the package cost is diff now as compare to the time i doing the research which was 1 year plus ago..

Hi HedgeHog,

i believe J&M would be as good for you to choose them. Their package at $3988 seems to be quite good.

How do you find their services and gowns so far? Thinking now should I pay them a visit too.Oh, think I seems to have so many bridal shops to go. Hee hee

hi luvluvlux,

Tat time when i doing the research of BS, I also visited quite a number of bridal shops.. Good and bad experience also encountered. Some are really pushy and almost having difficulties to left the shop..

I believe J&M will be 1 of the good choices and their packages are quite comprehensive also.. Their services are also consider good.. u know mah... not everything can make everyone happy de.. and their designer is quite good also and also have creativity.. he will listen to your ideas and give feedback/suggestions.. not tat type just listen and doing accordingly to wat u want without giving feedback.. if tat is the case den i think tat person is a tailor rather den designer.. most of the ppl there are friendly and the designer is the one i like to work & tok with the most.. also, i requested him to be my coordinator cum makeup artist cum hairdo.. hahaha...

U might wanna pay them a visit to experience yourself whether u feel comfortable with them anot.. cos no matter how good or famous a BS can be, if u dun feel comfortable or good with them, den there is no point u sign up with them rite?? heez..

hmm, i would suggest u to include them as 1 of the researching BS for ur wed. Afterall u got nth to lose rite... haha..

Cheers and enjoy the researching.. Good Luck!!

Hi chimes,

Ive visited4 bs so far, V***** couture, GHA(tampines), Di Dio and J&M. Going to visit Jawn (ater all discuusions here) and 1 more.. So far I like di gio and GHA...J&M isnt too bad either. But i prefer the gowns at di gio
so after seeing 2 more i would have to decide by mid sep..

Hi luvluvlux,

Ive visited J&M, their service is indeed not bad, not the pushy type

I intend to visit Jawn happy ever after this tues..had made an appt wif one the guys, who did u spoke to when u visited them??

Hi Parmida, Volan Couture is on the higher end, right? Di Gio's gowns are indeed very nice ... very european-style .. hee ... I was initially very attracted by their gowns too

Hi chimes,

Volan couture is more on the photos part...di gio gowns look more elegant... but their package abit ex too...

Heyo.. I am back from PS... Fun but tiring day...

Few points to take note if you are like me.. ++bride.

1)Angle of PS make a difference. So leave this job to your PG. He will assure you in taking the best photo.
2)Your smile make that great difference. Confidence over everything. Just have enough rest and you sure the prettiest bride..

Cheers and smilez everyone.

I am a plus size bride (Size 16), going to take my PS in Nov. I am feeling very depress because I have been trying very hard to slim down but until now still no result. Can any of you ladies willing to share with me your PS photos so that I have some idea of which type of gown I should choose to hide my fats.

My email : [email protected]

Hi jaz, the swing refers to the Alexandra swing or? Can you share yr pics with me too? Or do you have multiply acct? My multiply id is jazzywindchimes

chimes... same feeling.... jaz... really doesn't look plus at all... hehehe... i like ur maroon EG... very nice... seems like ur BS give u a lot of pix hor:D so nice....

Hi Parmida, I love DiGio grown very much too. Yeah Digio is expensive but i sign up with GHA (Tampines) and they say i can choose my grown from DiGio and i went down to DiGio to see and it happens that my coordinator are there when i drop by. But for MTM, if you want those european style emboirdary, need to top up appx $500.

Aiyo septbride, you look pretty slim leh, not plus at all. Congrat! Just few weeks to yr weding date.

hehehehe... charmine really envy u lor... sob... the gown from digio really looks nice.... hahahahaha... how's ur preparation going????

hi gals, thks for the compliments... it's camera tricks!!! I would say thanks to my PG that make me look so slim... Nve in my life i look so "chio"... heehee :P

i think most important thing is to communicate wif ur PG and tell them wat u wan.... and budget too!!!

Hi Por and Parmida,

Ok will keep J&M in the listing too.

I spoke to Euzart during my last visit. Really a very friendly and helpful designer. Update us after your visit to jawn today.

Hey ladies, I'm going to accompany my friend for her first fitting but we're both clueless what she need to bring on her first fitting? Can anybody advise? Does she need to bring any shoes or nu-bra or normal bra will do?

hi chimes,

maybe she would wanna bring her heels for the fitting.. so the designer is able to determine the length.. as for bra, i dun think it is necessary as normally gowns came with bra cup or pad..

also, remember to bring camera in order to capture some pics so that go back home can slowly see.. heehee..

Hi Charmaine, I agree their gowns are nice...I went GHA too and they said the same thing like you..I can choose gowns from di gio, if I like their gowns there..

Hi luvluvlux, I went jawn happy ever after yesterday and spoke to euzart. Yup, a very helpful designer and he is friendly too!

I like their gowns, but its abit on the steep side. Their basic package is reasonable, but I guess its the photography tat is ex.. Did u try their gowns?

Thanks Hedgehog. But u mean the heels she bring for the first fitting has to be the same height as her AD shoes? I thought BS don't allow us to take pics with own camera?

Hey Parmida, have you decided on your BS?

It is true that they allow us to choose grown from Digio. Even for my rom dress and bridemaid dress i can also choose from digio collection. Going for fitting sometime in end sept @ Digio. I prefer the style in Digio much better than GHA... hehe