Advice for PLus Size brides

I haven't had time to go shopping around much. Been crazy at work and trying to set up my fledging plus size clothes biz.

Btw, could you kind ladies give me your opinion. Based on the range of gowns available in the local market, is it worth considering to include plus size bridal gowns for my biz?

Also, in terms of location to hold the wedding, any of you not doing it at a hotel or resturant or church? My fiancee and I were thinking of doing something more intimate since we are planning for a small celebration but we want it to be different..... any ideas?

hahahaha... yeah... loose weight... where got??? only the BRA side is loose leh... kekekekekeke...

Hi Por,
aiyo what happen to u?? flu virus? must really take care lor... haiz... ur AD coming soon right??? hope u can faster settle and let your mind rest at least..... haiz... I done my first fitting liao too....

Hi Karen....
Normally ppl in singapore would go for few things... plus size bride.
1. $$
2. Design
3. Service

Wanna get business a bit difficult... as a customer but i won't mind visiting ur shop or signing up if u have good selection. You can consider KUA as I find plus size kua really hard to find in SGP... or should say NICE plus size KUA...

Hi Karen, what about thinking along the line of having a wedding at the old parliament house, ACM, One Rochester and even renting a yacht for a wedding out on the sea?

U would mean bringing in OTR plus-size wedding gowns, right? Actually, personally, I feel that the plus-size gowns from the States not exactly fantastic designs, though they carry up to US sizes 26.

hi dummyspy,
ya.. kena flu virus.. office flu virus flying here and there.. already a few colleagues also caught flu.. my AD in Nov, can say coming soon lor.. cos i haben start planning/preparing.. den my PS suppose to be in sept by right, but i believe there will be a by left.. haha.. now also dun have PS mood.. haiz..

hi all again,

have been shopping at bridal shops these few weeks and getting confused already. There are shops which really attract me with their gowns; but the prices are just out of my budget. argggghhhhh never felt so indecisive before.

hi berry egg, maybe you can make a note of the gown designs you like and most bridal shops can MTM to your choices. If budget is an issue, then go to the mid-range bridal shops whose packages ranges from 2145-3888, then take their MTM packages.

hehehe... i learn my lesson and i told my friends to take note of these lor....
1. ROM package
2. Photos between 25 to 30 pcs
3. Digital Design for all, else unlimited pose, 15 pages
4. MTM WG and EG (no hidden cost for lances, except french lances or sworivki crystal)
5. Father's jacket
6. Tea dress/kua
7. Outdoor PS including transport and makeup + trial makeup
8. at least 5 sets of different style for PS
9. 1 Portrait or 3in1
10. Repeat 30 pcs of 5R pix
11. thank you mini name card size x 100 pcs
12. AD car + petrol
13. Unlimited ribbons for car (got limit than at least 4 sets)
14. Unlimited corsages
15. Hand bouquets for ROM, PS and AD
16. At least 2 outdoor locations for PS. Take note as long as in Sentosa = 1 location not multiple.
17. Range of package between 2500 to 3500
18. Fixed a coordinator, see forum and make sure in contract:P hahahahaha...

What else... maybe others can add... hahahahaha....

Hairdo as well .. some MUA charge extra for hairdo that needs curling etc, do check with them before signing the package.

See if you are able to get Mother's dress thrown in as well. The Groom should be able to keep his MTM pants too.

Hi Jaz,

Thanks, me going to try tat out the next time i go to the BS. Are you bringing in OTR gowns? If u are, do let me know oki?? u can email me at [email protected].
Im going one bs tmr, its called V**** Couture, have anyone of u tried b4? I surfed their website and i felt it looked similar to another bs website, maybe they are affliated?

Gotta be careful abt the flu virus, its pretty contagious..I think Im catching one soon too

I feel tat kua would look funni on me, esp when im plus size..maybe im just not confident enough

Hi xiao xue,

Im sure u will be able to slim down...Have determination! U can do it!!! Jia You!

Hi dummyspy,

I shall keep in mind ur checklist...very handy!!

me went for view my ps photo yesterday ..

actually.. very surpise of the outcome
initially worry that i will look very fat .. heehee . i think they did a good job

MY hb is complaining ..how come he pay the $$ yet his photo is lesser than mine ?? hahaha

Tomorrow going down again to nego with the boss cum photographer .. cos on Monday he is sick. Initially he ask me to postpone the photo view to tomorrow .. but i cannot wait .. i insist to go n view on Monday and again tomorrow to select it.

I think i have paste this link a few time before . but for the sake of our new join brides whom are looking for BS .. pls pardon me ... I copy it from other thread which is pretty useful for shopping of BS..

http://www.myshopping.sg/shopping_tips_details.asp?id=25

Hi ladies, have been so busy, no time to come in.

Karen, not easy to set up plus size boutique, cause i got an online store and the face is free size item are lower in cost and also easier to sell. Plus size item are kind of slow moving, basic cost is higher. Beside with so many taiwan plus size auction we can spree in, might be hard for usual clothes, growns i not too sure thou. Unless yr supplier can give you very good rate. Just my 2 cent worth.

Btw, Hougang mall York is having moving out sales. All bottom $15, Top $10 and Dress $20. Ending appx sept.

Any new photo to see? Hee...i going for my ROM dress fitting in sept too. Hopefully can lost some inches by then.

hahahaha dearris... so funny... ur hubby so cute... hahahahaha... did u pay more $$ to get more pix??? hehehehe... how many of u all got top up $$ for more pix??? hehehehe...

hi chimes & dummyspy,

thanks for the advice. so far i have shortlisted Di Gio and Bridal concept. so will compare both of them before making my final decision.

sighh..been trying to lose some weight before Oct Rom, still not successful.

I am new and also a plus size. Currently looking for bridal shop.

Was advice to go jawn happy ever after to take a look by one of my plus size colleagues. She had visited about 15 boutiques during her bridal search and she was say they are really good.( The shop really work miracles on her when i saw her during her actual day) Any comments on them.

Any other bridal shop to recommend that may work wonders for people like me. Thanks

luvluvlux: i will agreed that Jawn Happy Ever After is really great! I visited them when I was doing my bridal search. Great service, great gowns they make. However they are on the higher end side. Its out of our budget and thus we did not take them up.
Was recommended to Bridal Concept by my friend so as by my HB's friend. Thus we make a trip down to hv a look. We feel comfortable with their services and we only signed up with them on our 2nd visit. I gotten the MTM package from them. SO far, i m very happy with my gowns. if u wish to know more abt it, can PM me.

Meanwhile, there are also Di gio, Precious Moment, Golden Horse to name a few used by plus size brides here. They are as great too! U got to visit them, see their gowns and see which gowns u like and who are u comfortable to work with before deciding it.

Oh no ...

I burst my BS burget ... intitally .. burget set at 4k with additional photo ... but my BS offer me a unlimited photos selected package ... and no matter how i cut the photo nos .. like still alot ... and they going to return all my unselected photos .. plus they going to give me another session of outdoor photoshoot for me for the "blue Sky" which i miss the other day ..

I agree to top up till 5k+ ...

heart pain ... but once in a lifetime ..

Anyone have their photo shoot in the 7th month ?

Can we buy things for the GDL in the 7th month ?

Hi dearris,

Ooh!! top up money is always burst budget but at least they are giving u the "blue sky" ps which is good! and they are returning ur unselected photos, even better :D

I guess it depends if u are pan-tang or not. If u are not, then it doesnt matter when u get ur GDL things or to do ur ps.

Hi Parmida,

Ya, that why i cannot resist .. and å¿ç—›to top the $$ ....

How is your BS shopping go about ?
Enjoy

Btw, does anyone know where to get those customise self-INK stamp/chop with your photos. That mean those chop print is your photo. Last time friend get it at a push cart in a shopping centre. But now we cannot find. She use it to chop on the invitation cards. very unique.

Hi Janet,

Maybe you could search in yellow pages for Jawn Happy Ever After ..

I am also not too sure ....

Who is Jawn Happy Ever After bride here ??

Who's AD is coming soon ?? My is in Oct 12 ... am i the next one or any gal is earlier than me ?

Hi Parimda ..

I think i shall fix the Outdoor PS at the first day of lunar 8th months ... it will be abit rush for my Bridal .. they give me priorty and rush for me cos my AD is near..

i visited jawn.happy.ever.after during my BS sourcing. their service is really good and the gowns are one of the kind. they do a lot of MTM cos' they believe in each bride having their own unique gown. the materials used are also of top quality. the photographers they collaborating with are also professionals whose work are really excellent. however, the costs are really high end, like $4k+ minmium.

view http://www.jawnhappyeverafter.com/ for more info. =)

wah... 4k+ min. hmm..

Actually, if i not greedy & can control and just add 10 photo will be just 3k+ ..

top up... heart pain .. and scare regret .. cos must of my friends say the album will end up in the store room ..

while dun top ... also scare regret cos ... once in the life time .... heehee

aiya .. dun care lah ... pain pain one time .. hahaha cos i very hard to get hb to take photo with me one .. cos even go oversea we also seldom take photo together .. just a few only ..

Hi derris, my budget also ard 4k max only. Didn't want to spend too much on photo, prefer to spend on honeymoon.

But top up to 5k plus unlimited printout and reshoot are pretty worth it. Maybe you can ask if you can do in few albums. My colleague got 2 big album for her photoshoot done in malaysia. 1 is the traditional 1, 1 is crystal like cover, look very nice too. Rememebr to request them to return you all the photo in softcopy in high resolution?

hey dearris, saw the rejected PS pics you posted on your multiply, they were nice! no wonder u have difficulty deciding to go for unlimited or not .. *geez*

Hi all, I'm new in this thread, wish to view some of photo. my Mulltiply id is jasyeo80. I'm also a plus size, size 16. will be having my PS this oct. Plase do add me. ;>

Hi Chimes,

I am with Santiago... Hopefully Ps goes smoothly...

Hi Parmida.... No worries la... Me is mtm.. Find it nicer.. OFr kua... Look front look back just dont find it nice... I am plus size.. wear it look like pluzpluz size...Haiz

Hi Jasmine,

Welcome .. Just invite u ... saw your photo .. you are so sweet ... u dunnoe really look like sz 16 .. haha ... who is your BS ?

Any gals got any recommendation for march in songs .. me searching hign n low for it... have not really come accross one that i really want yet ...

berry egg: Jawn is at le meridian hotel. An appt is needed before u drop by as they might not be at the shop. When i went to visit them last yr, the min pkg start from $4.2k if i rem correctly, i believe price will hv gone up tis yr. They work with various PG and the price varies according to the PG u choose.

I m with Bridal Concept.
their range of plus size WG is quite ok, EG is quite limited thou. U can drop by to take a look, if u need more info, can PM me, i can intro u my coordinator and see if she is able to give u better pkg.

dearris: ur pics must be great! will love to see them! I m waiting for my layout still, also top $1k+ during my pics selection session. No choice, once in a life time!

hi jo,

wow.. Jawn's min package from 4.2k??? def out of my budget. i went to silhoutte last week and was def wooed by their gowns.
however i will just go for those comprehensive packages.

i have PM you already.

hi dearris, can i take a peep at your photos? my multiply ID is singyee78. do add me ya.

berry egg: ya but their gowns are really nice and those pics they show us taken by their plus size brides are really great. Same as u, its way out of our budget so no choice got to give it up.

Yap yap, i saw and i had replied u. ;)

can i add u in multiply?

Hi,Dearris.
I'm wll Bliss Creations. Thanks. The photo put up still can be seen by ppl, those cannot show is keep in my drawer Ha Ha HA... ;P certain angel still ok la, now trying to lose some weight.specially my tummy ;(. sigh....

This thread seems to be so exciting.:

Dearris,

Your picture must be really pretty to make you burst your budget.

Hi Jo, berry egg,janet,

I have just visited jawn happy ever after over the weekend. I have to really agree that their service level are tip top and the people there are really friendly. Their gowns are definitely wow wow. Beautiful beadings and very good workmanship in luxury fabrics. Can understand why my friend are being wowed over by them .

Their Package are not that expensive. OTR package + MTM Men suit with photography is at 3k plus . MTM package + MTM Men suit with photography is at 4k plus. And i have to say they are tied up with really good and reputable photographers and mag featured makeup artist. Really a bridal shop highly recommended.

Jo,

Who is your coordinator at Bridal concept

Planning to visit them this weekend.

hi luvluvluv,

i would like to visit Jawn Happy Ever (really fun to just window shop the gowns)... but have already visited 10 bridal shops. And having some problems to decide between Di Gio and Bridal Concept.

So who here got PS photo to share ?? I also want to see..

Hi berry egg,

Check with the other btb who sign them up... sorry i cannot help cos my is J&M ..

I also heard something like my bridal room & volan is not back.

Hey Jo, you top up 1k+ during photo selection? Wow .. hehe ... your PG is Kit? You must have had a hard time eliminating your photos, like dearris?

berry egg, I also signed up with Bridal Concept recently, my coordinator is Jeanie. All their coordinators are very warm and friendly people.

Hi! Hi!

This thread is suddenly so exciting...heehee...

Dearris,
Didnt go to any BS for the past week, I shd be making appt with either GHA or Jawn Happy After(after seeing so many nice reviews abt them) on Wed...

I think i will just see 1 or 2 more before I decide...I shdnt get too caried away cos my AD is in less than 9 months!!

Hey ladies, torrid having super sales nows. Saw some lovely white dress suitable for ROM etc, so those who need can take a look...hehe...kind of cheap. Their Jeans start from US3+ only...so tempted to buy so many things sia...

http://www.torrid.com/torrid/store/nodePage.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302024193&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442157497&bmUID=1188233894854

The torrid sales is ending on 3 sept! But item runs oos very fast so my friend and i are placing order tom, those who are keen to tag alone, please msn me at [email protected]

chimes: yes! He is great! hee.. hard time to choose but lucky i requested him to be ard to guide us thru it. Ur PG is? jeanie is great too! one of my friend and colleague also had her as their coordinator.