Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi Dearris,

Good to hear tat u enjoyed ur PS!

Yup, I posted on JWN to enquire but I think im not going to visit them..

Will pop by ur BS to have a look next week wif my frends...
I better star else I wun have time to do anything!

BTW, what do u gals look for when visiting a BS??

Hi Dearris,

I've been meaning to let u know abt the wine contact but I kept on forgetting
My apologies..

My friend is not in town now..he should be back next week, then I ask him abt the wine thingy again, ok wif u??

So sorry for the very late reply

Hi Charmaine,

Saw tat u got a spree on maidenform but I think I saw it too late
Is it still open? Cos I would like to order the corset...msg me if I can order, ya?

hi hi.... never been seeing forum for very long... dearris and cutie... u all look so nice... not very plus...

dearris... i think the MTM one makes u look slimmer... the OTR one maybe looks too complicated... most important u like lah.... hahahahaha...

For wine contact, i took up from Red Cellar, around 14 per bottle since I do not want consignment, consigment need to add 7%....

So how's everyone preparation????

Charmine... u look very pretty leh... hahahaha...

U all got multiply? can PM me???? thanks...

Parmida, you really did shortlist quite a bit of BS
Di Gio wasn't in my list initially but on my way to view Thomson Wedding, the boss of Di Gio "popped out" of the boutique and invited us inside. (Di Gio is next to Thomson Wedding). Ooh, you have Amanda Lee on your list .. I like their embrodiered-bows on WGs heehee .. too bad, it's out of my budget, especially the Cantonment Road branch :P
I went with another friend who's also sourcing for BS and both of us have shortlisted PMB(very friendly and humourous boss, not pushy), Bridal Concept (very friendly, beautiful studio set-ups, not pushy, flexibility) and J & M (designer very friendly, not pushy, flexibility) out of the 5 we've visited. My friend seem to click quite well with Elbson, Dearris is right, he's very friendly. We will bring our bfs with us again to these 3 boutiques, then let them decide *haha*

For me, I feel that service and gowns are important, it's crucial to click well with the BS, so that you won't have communication problems with them later on.

hahahahaha... u all must know the coordinator lor and sure put in contract he/she will serve u... my coordinator left and i have problem adapting to new coordinator since she so busy... haiz.... thomson wedding also have plus size gown and the lady called Vivian... very friendly not pushy... knew her after i sign up for my BS so a bit regret lor... haiz...

Hi Chimes,

I didnt know Amanda Lee got another branch, I only know the one at tangong pajar.. I know they are quite ex, so I am having reservations going there in case I got too attracted to it

I think I will go PMB this sunday if my hubs is free... and let u know the status okie?

Hi Dummyspy

How are u ?? Long time no see. can give your wine contact ? me also looking for wine. what is your msn ? me not plus ?? haha me very plus ok ... it is just that photo angle that make me loook slim .. now i know trick of taking slimmer photo after my ps .... take photo at 45 degree angle .. hahaha

Hi Parmida,

My friend enage Amanda Lee, her gown got very nice embrodiery
I think their package is like 3k to 4k for mtm rental of 1EG, 1WG & ROM gown and out these three choose one to keep and rental of groom suite if i am not wrong according to my friend. But the price is excluding makeup, etc .. price is only for the gowns if i am not wrong.

But that day i saw a pretty similar WG with the embrodiery like my friends one at J&M .. heehee.. maybe u can wait to see Hedgehog WG think her is those embrodiery.. think her WG will be nicer than mine
her is those more elegrant grand type while mine might be those more "youthful" type .. hahaha

Hi Chimes,

I think Elbson is also a partner in J&M when i talk to him that day while he is doing my make up ...
btw .. do u think he got abit look like a singer call Zhang tong liang ??? heehee but i really envy his complexion lor .. soo smooth and white ... hmmm...

Hi parmida & dummyspy, thanx for yr compliments. :-)

For my bridal, i think the overall you must like it, be it the grown, the album design and their service and also value for money bah...

Hi Parmida, if Im not wrong, Amanda Lee Wedding have 2 branches, 1 at tanjong pagar, the other one at delfi orchard, the one with the more expensive package is the tanjong pagar branch as that's the main branch.

Hey dearris, come to think of it, yahor, he does look like him. My friend said he looks good except he's a little short :P and he speaks with a lot of actions *lol* Btw, he showed us your WG when we went down ... yr WG looks nicer than the photo, especially when we can see the details

Hi dummyspy, when we went down to thomson wedding, we were served by Catherine, she was the only person around but she's quite ok too.

hi dearris...
this is the information abt the wine place... remember to look for boss:P because hor, i think if u walk in the price a bit diff... i went during may... ask the price for the cheapest one is 13... so no consignement 13nett... so they ask to go down and test... in the end, after tasting, we ask them abt the price, lowest 14... hmmhmm..... they said price will go up in July... no harm asking lor... hahahaha... their wine is cabernet + merlot... smooth taste but of course with the price, its a bit light...

Star Celler at Stamford House, Tel: 6334 2320
14 onwards excluding GST
Can up to 1/3 return

Hi Chimes....
as for the TWD, u look for vivian, really nice lady... hahahaha... if u taking lah... else just look for those u like... hahahahaha.... mine is YC, a lot of ppl complain... for me... haven't started to really complain yet... but for sure there are some problem encountered... :P

hey, i intend to have mine in Dec 08. Now sourcing for AD dinner venue. Have a few places in mind due to tight budget. Pls provide yr comments
-River City Resturant
-Qian Xi @ Hilltop Garden
-Noble House
-Orchid Country Club

Hi Dummyspy,

Thank you for the info. Frankly, i am not a wine person.. so do not know how choose the wine.. can u recommend ?

Hi Chimes,

I start to love more of mtm after the detail is being put up.. and with the border lace that have added .. i think i prefer the mtm one to the OTR .. but my hb still prefer me wearing the OTR .. I do agree that i look slimmer in the OTR one .. but i love the detail of my mtm one

Hi Ling Ling

Been to OCC for wedding dinner before. Nice ballroom. Service and food OK.. but too out of the place. Unless is those close friends or relatives .. that i must go one ... if not ... i think i might consider not attending the dinner .. esp if it is a weekday.

Been to Noble Hse for normal dinner before as it belong Tung Lok group, the good is pretty good.

As for the other two i have not bee to them before.

I thought OCC and Noble hse is not too cheap also rite ?? Did u check out Riverview Hotel and the resturant in Mirrama Hotel ?? I think their price range shld be around there too.

I am new here and I am planning for my wedding sometime spring of 2008. I am a US18 or so, which is like a UK20 I think. Where do suggest I go to try without all those wicked stares from the bridal boutiques? I am geting do frustrated so I am so tempted to start a small biz soucing for plus size gowns specifically!! Any advice would be great!! Thanks!

hi dearris...
i am also not wine person, few friends of mine also took the mixture wine(cheapest) so far no complain and good comments... u can get someone go try with u as well:P

hi karen....
which shop dare to give u wicked stares??? hahahaha... normally they more than happy to see u lah... as u can see from this forum... few of the popular one are PMB precious moment, GHA golden horse award, BC bridal concept, J&M i can';t rememeber and TWD thomson wedding design? I think french bridal also have plus size one but than their price a bit expensive... for mine... YC lor... not much plus size, not much choice... so u need to think think think.... Where else huh? hahaahahaha let the rest comment bah...

Hi Karen,
Such coincidence, we have the same surname ... hehe .. I'm around UK size 16-18. I'm surprised nowadays, there are some still such pea-eyed BS around which gave wicked stares to BBW. But the few BS that I visited are pretty friendly, I went to Precious Moment Bridal, Bridal Concept (my BS), J & M, Thomson Wedding Design, Di Gio.

Hi Karen,

Which bs did u go ??? me uk sz 18, so not much smaller than u.
heehee, i think most of the bs that the girls go .. dun hv such problem ..

My BS is J&M.
. U can go to the above BS that Chimes mention. or u have better find maybe u can share here too.

thanks for the warm welcome. Really appreciate the names of the shops. I will head there this weekend and check them out. The ones I walked into were at IMM and and I went to the booth at suntec convention centre on the 3rd floor I think. Can't remember the name. But the lady I started talking to looked at me funny when I asked about the size of the gowns and mumbled something. My mind switched off and I rattled off about coming back later.... lol.

I was thinking of losing weight but then I have been trying to do that for years as it is!!... lol.. so point trying anymore. I am what I am.... and my partner kinda likes my poochy tummy.. so ...... thank God for that!!

What kind of designs or cuts of dresses have your BS recommended? I used to be hourglass shapped, then with my medical conditions, I have sorta become an apple shaped.

hahahaha... my WG also bustier... hahahaha bit is BIG FUJI apple... hahahahaha.... or should i say water melon... wahahahhaa.... go tanjong pagar look for bs or try out... they got more shops so tends to be more competitive... kekekekeke.....

i also choosen bustier...

Hi Dummyspy ...

Ya.. me is a BIG FUJI apple .. not those China type one .. is those original from Japan one so is bigger ... hee hee

Water melon too Kua ba ?? heehee ..

Hi Karen,

Me also same as you, trying hard to lose weight...so far all the bridal shop did not show those kind of attitude but i met lots of those when i go shopping mall shopping. The SA simply give us a big stare.

Btw, top shop and dorothy perkins having pretty good sales, bought 1 skirt at $9, 1 dress @ $19.

kekekekeke.... so happy to do my first fitting... finally 1 thing completed... kekekekee....

hi charmine and karen... hahahaha i also have problem going on losing weight, never suceed in my life before... kekeke... same thing lor... SA always give us those "stare" at normal shopping centre...

Hey ladies, who cares whether we are some fuji apples or usa watermelons .. as long as we are happy, our partners happy and we are healthy

dummyspy: how did your first gown fitting go? hee

hahahaha... first fitting turn up to be fine... no more errands this time... WG is what i like most and the EG a bit strange... so they will change for me lor... told me abt the beads and lances will be done up and straight away last fitting liao leh... so fast hor... last fitting is 18 days before my PS leh... if never do properly than i fainted lor... hahahahaha...

Hi Chimes!

Me started looking at BS yesterday. Yay! Went to Di Gio and popped into J & M.

Made appt wif Josephine @ DiGio, she wasnt too pushy and their gowns are nice..I like the embroidery and laces on their gowns... The package is abit steep but i guess its becos of their gowns..

Since I had time, I popped into J&M, and met Chris. A very nice and down-to-earth lady

Tried one of their gowns too and Im amazed at my look..heehee...

Hi Parmida

Next time bring camera and take photo of yourself while trying the gown

At J&M which gown do u tried ? I am also very amazed with myself for the first time that i have tried the gown.
I heard Chris is a nice lady and she is the MUA too. I am serve by Elbson.

Me going to see my photos on coming monday.

Happy shopping.

hey dummyspy, don't worry, your EG will turn out just fine

parmida: you must be very pleased with what you've seen... hehe, I have no courage to try out any gowns yet, even though those BS that I went offered to let me try on their gowns *geez*

dearris,
at least u have finished ur ps and going to select the photos..
i shall be preparing my for wedding now yet at this time i am being loaded with lot of sh*t tasks from work!! very fed up with tat.. already need to multi-tasks liao now lagi jialat!! sobs..

Hi Jaz

U got mail ...

Hi Por

Long time no see leh ... sianz.. me recently also quite busy .. alot of things not done yet.. do not know start from where ...

dearris,
ya.. quite some time not see.. haiz.. i also busy until no time to busy with my personal things.. really sianz leh..

got new photos i din see b4 ar?

Hi dearris,

I tried one that is a bustier kind, but its like curved up at the sides of the bustier, so its like a wide u, nt the straight kind actoss the chest.. yeah, next time i shall try to take a pic while tryng the gown...

Hi Chimes,

I had no courage to try on either, but my fren tell me to try and tat is why we are amazed at the wat the gown turn out to be, it covered my flaws :0

hi Parmida,

next time u can try heart-shape bustier.. i think the straight kind across the chest might make our shoulder kinda look more broader bah.. just my view..

Hi Por,

I shall try tat the next time I go to the next BS.. I agree, the straight kind across the chest makes us look huge!

Thanks for the tip!!

HiHi, I'm new here..

Gonna take our PS nxt year June ' 2008. I balloon-ed from UK 10 to UK 16 now.. Still left half year +.. Wondering if I could slim down & look nice in gown.. =(

hi xiao xue,
welcome here. next year june ar.. still got time for u to cut down at least 1 size.. it is ur determination.
me hor said tat since an year ago.. but not much determination lor.. so gotta be a plus plus size bride liao.. haha..

hehehehe... yeah heart shape one quite good... it covers flabby arms a bit and the broad chest... hehehehe hope u have a great time choosing ur gown...

hi dearris and por...
long time no heard from u all... hows the ps and preparation???

Hi..

I am also a pluz size btb.. Haiz.. just gotten a chance to fit my gown...

Going for my ps month end....

HI pramida,

heart-shape bustier will makes you slimer.. However, the bride is always the most beautifull.. Have confident in urself.. try on. Definitely look good...

Hi Jaz, which BS are you with? Have fun on your PS

Hey dummyspy, you looked great in your WG, saw yr WG pic in your multiply. U altering your EG?

hi chimes...
thanks... yeah of course... everyone took me looks strange... even i myself also find it strange... like neck so short and chest so big like that... hahahahahaha.... they told me go back 10sept... i am still quite worried... my WG also a bit loose...

hi dummyspy,
ya. been sometimes since i am active.. being overload at work tat's why.. now fall sick liao..

i haben prepare any things for wedding or ps yet.. haiz.. for my ps think might not be able to take as per appointment. we also haben finalize the fitting yet.. waiting for the next appt for fitting and ps gowns choosing..