Advice for PLus Size brides

hi qingqing,

thanks for the link., u look so lovely in the photo... n ur lovenest ... wow so beautifully done.. me dont know when ...

lim thomson got 2 branch leh one at upper thomson and another is at Tanjong pagar ...... let me know when and where u wanna go loh ..... me give u advice

hi gers..

talking about lossing wt hor.. i guess try not to spend too much on it as i suppose most of u are on budget even for BS.. gg for additional cost will burden u.. i'll rather u're all be a happy bride..

well.. ur hubbies all love u for who u are right... of coz for health sake its ok.. but to be too obessed with it.. not very healthy lor

currently, i'm watching diet n excersing... i guess u shd get someone to accompany u to motivate 1 another so that u'll have a push factor.. dats wat i did.. though not seen results.. but after few weeks of exercising.. i feel more energetic and also less stress...

there are much more practical things to wory abt.. so dun worry too much on the size... just be YOURSELF n enjoy the day...

hmm.. well if u all got e extra $$ still can consider la..

doris--- nvm is ok, thanks for the thot and advice.

qingqing, i am not sure when will i be going down. i am still deciding... do they have a website that i can visit? if not what is the thomson address? thanks

I agree with what doris said, main thing is to be happy! For health sake, we have to control our intake and exercise etc etc but to be a beautiful bride, all you need to do is to be yourself, enjoy your day and stay happy!

I agree what serene and doris say
... health is impt for me i dun really a plus plus size now i am .... cos of medication but i am happy ....is the most impt thing .....

hi gers

agreed with u all but seriously exercise not just for the sake of slimming down but also health reason lor

coz b4 i do exercise i get tired easily etc but now at least i make it a point like twice a week.. i feel that i am not so tired as b4 n also more fitter

I might not be consider a plus size person but i am definitely not a mini size.

My AD is in Dec and I am currently working hard to lose some weight. As i have heavy top and short neck, i look very heavy on top. And because i used to wakeboard, so i am pretty big size.

What i have learn about losing weight is not to eat after certain timing. If you sleep at 11, do not eat anything after 8pm. The key word is 3 hours before bed time.

Cut down on sweet drinks. Drink lots of water instead. It will keep your skin good and clear and drinking before your meal will keep you full too. Do not eat till you are full, only till you no longer fill the hunger.

I do hula hoops 1-2 hours a day. Do it during watching shows, eg during the 9pm show. It helps.
It work on your butt, waist and thigh.

The above are what i had tried and succeed. Still on-going to lose more.

But remember, whatever shape or size we are, as long as we know we are beautiful, we will be beautiful.

Good luck, all the beautiful ladies!

Hi, Just happen to see the thread and want to share my experience. I m very lazy to exercise and always like to find a short cut to cut myweight hehe. and i tried alot of slimming product, gym, supplement etc.. the only result that i can see is when i take Reductil, i lose up to 8 kg within 1 weeks. Of cos you mus go to doctor in order to buy this medicine, its very safe, e only side effect is it will make ur mouth dru but then it help you because when you drink lots of water, your skin become healthier. Reductil work by surpressing your senses which means you will feel very full while u just eat abit. its more on the psychology side. and its cheap also $150 for 1 box (1 month used). just to share wif you all..

hmmm...

seems like shouldn't share such tots ah... :P

so i change topic now..

do any1 have good photographer to recommend??

yup agree with Doris!
wat photographer u need? AD or ROM?
i can recommend the one that did my sister's AD..
very nice guy

lim, slowly lah ...... but dun go too many bridal shop lata u blur leh ..... cos u go too many it will make u even more hard to choose

Myself & hubby are oversized couples.

Juz wondering if there is any wide range of gowns & men's suit cater for us in any BS?
Budget about 3K tho.

Thanks for your help.

So great I am not alone....I am having my AD next year end...now thinking of losing weight but hor say is easiler than actually doing it. How how, so scare of going to bridal shop. Got bad experience during the wedding show

Hi Babes...

Me having the same problem... My ROM in Nov and am looking ard for a ROM gown... Wanted to wear a halter neck gown but my arms are so flabby!!! And I think I'll have to MTM my gown... Dun dare to step into a BS.. so sad....
;(

Hi Ivy,
Have you visited any BS yet? For 3K budget or slightly more, maybe you can try Jess Haute Couture (dunno if I got the spelling correct), Fame Bridal, Golden Horse etc

Hi Drizzlestars,
Guess that experience might have scare you off to visit other BS eh....well I guess you have to pluck up your courage again, if not, you will not overcome this phobia.

Hi Gosh,
Ehhh what size are you? No need to scared lah...I used to be afraid to visit BS but then no choice, have to force myself to go, if not how to hold my AD huh...kekeke..my arms are super huge and I had a halterneck top for my EG but I used a shawl to cover it lah...still no guts to go sleeveless :p

Gals, if you have the budget, do visit my BS Jawn Happy.Ever.After....I am not doing advertisement here but just feel that the service they provide is very sincere and also because one of the owner cum designer is a plus size lady, so she understands what we want and how we feel. Though on a pricier side, but then, I guess it's worth the price and I had a wonderful memory of my wedding

me size 14-16.. No courage to step in BS.. Worried that I cant fit into any of the gowns they have there.. seems like OTR gowns are only for those slim brides..

Happen to went to Zann & Denn at Kreta Ayer last week and was quite impressed with the designer there. He commented that I should go for an halter neck gown.. But I'm not comfortable with the idea of showing off my flabby arms.. He suggested using a shawl to cover it or MTM one with sleeve which he dun really recommend as it'll make one look more matured. But I'll be holding my ROM in the afternoon and it seems weird to have a shawl with a gown..

hi gosh,

i am more bigger size than u .. i also got prbl to buy dress...... I guess if ur gown is not a long one should be ok with a shawl ....

i am also trying to lose weight too haha

Hi gosh,
Don't worry lah...I am a size 18 leh....kekeke...my ROM gown was also a spag strap dress with a shawl....kekeke, so it's a matter of if you want or not lah....but if you are only size 14-16, I don't think your arms are that big lah...kekeke

Hi Blur,
Depending on height...not necessary to get a long dress, especially for ROM cos sometimes, the length of the dress will affect the overall look

The bad experience is that the sales person straight away comments in front of my bf that I dun have to "worry" sure got my size blar blar blar...and keep on emphasising on my big size this that blar blar blar...and what my bf love me not because of look is because of internal so dun worry so much blar blar blar...see got logic or not????

hi all, how's everyone doing?? me busy with my little one and busy with the singaporemotherhood... keke... all bride to be, how's your preparation?

Hi Drizzlestars, think the way they talk is they want business from you and they wan to assure you that they have your size... go other bridal shop and take a look loh.

dear all, now i have to settle my banquet then go see see look look at bridal shop.

hi Serene

My ROM was with Jess. as for AD, doubt i'll use them cos quite limited.

Gosh, i was also in same state like u when i ROM did a MTM halter neck dress too & am very happy with the pics.

Juz relak bah.

hi Serene

yeah, but MTM package will b more ex & things in the package not realli much compare with other BS lor.

the PS dun realli impress me, tat's y i didnt sign up. :P

hi jumbo!! Nice to hear from you again! I am considering signing up with J n M like you recommended! Good service and good deal.

Hey, some bridal may not like to entertain us(plus size) right? hehe, that is my thinking lah...

anyone know when is the next wedding show?

when you have such bridal shops around in spore/world, who refuses to serve us plus size gals, the bridal shop people should go hang themselves!!!

Hi Zarcy, glad to hear that you sign up for J&M...

cos me too.. i sign for 3years ago... KS.. hee hee

I am a size 18 .. most of my normal cloth is from Dorothy Perkims... cos St micheal is too expensive...sometime heng heng can find nice and not so aunty top from tiong baru market and not so ex..

I also very worried about my gown .. i hv not visit J&M since i hv sign up.. the last time they give me impression of nice photo cheap package but limit grown...

I go to Julia's new wif my sis, very nice gown n photo.. but very ex... while my sis sign up wif them ... they give me try this gown.. it make me look slimmer ..very nice cutting .. but abit ex package for me at 3988 without car somemore...

I am hoping tat J&M got nicer gown nowaday..

My AD is 20 oct 2007.. hope to lose some weight from now to size 14 ..if i could...

BTW wat is the package price tat you have sign up now ??

Real glad to come here as i feel, i am not alone.. hee hee

Hi dearris,

Don't worry, I am sure the sisters here will give you the moral support and also you must know that being big doesn't mean you can't be a beautiful and happy bride!

can i join in this thread as well??

I'm like size 14...

Dearris, dun worry, stay focused on yr goal, n u may even lose more than that!!
i lost almost 10 kg since last yr.... but i want to lose at least 6-8 kg more for my AD... too bad, i'm not focused enough to lose that much for my photoshoot that is upcomin on the 10th....