Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi Dearris,

I guess every BS have hidden cost
i will have to look ard..now looking for a venue..i am kinda late...gona make appt with OCC for their poolside and see if can fit my budget and no of guests...

I also need help lah!!!

Both my WG and EG sleeves... both tube type of gown..how to cover the chicken wings arms???

Anyone any idea??? My BS told me if i cover it up like what i suggested to them, it will make me look fatter with bigger arms..so now how??? :'(

Hi Parmida

Fix the venue first ... as for BS.. i think u still hv time ... so it is important that you do some homework and list down what time that you would need and everything in black and white and check with them what is the extra cost that you might incurr beside the basic package. I think i have post a link earlier which i have copy from some thread that would help brides that have not sign up.
And you can go the the BS thread to read before you sign up ??

So far, for my BS it is no extra cost involve for my BS excpet for additional photos ??
I would say their package, mtm gowns, photo style is not bad. But for service, i would say is so-so not bad but not very good...

Hi Cuite

As you have seen the above thread .. we hv brides mtm shrug, shawl to add on for the nite. While day time use veil to cover ? Ask your BS what they suggest ??

hi gals!

glad to join this forum. my wedding is next yr sep. hehe. signed up with my bridal room n grand plaza park hotel (cityhall). love to see the active interaction among you all.

jo: can i see ur pics, pls? im like u, UK14 top, at least a UK16 for bottom. like to get some ideas what kind of gowns are good.

Hey Don, the two gowns with lacy sleeves are nice .. very romantic hee. I saw something like that in DiGio too. Your WG looks good, the corset-style back is sexy hehe
Dearris, your EG looks great too .. my FH likes the colour of your gown. Now I'm more confident to visit BS with all your input hee
dummyspy, what kind of gowns did u try for your OTR?

http://www.thejamushop.com/slimming_gel.htm
The jamu site is so expensive wor, US18, me selling @ $13.90 on yahoo auction. If you all keen, will sell to you gals @ $12 will do.
This gel is really hot, my colleague aunt apply regulary lost 1 size down, she recommend to me 1. But as usual i only use 1-2 time then stop using. Lazy to apply.

DiGio got plus size grown? Nice mah? I sign up with GHA but i can go DiGio to choose grown too. I went GHA tampine see the sz 11 rom dress (OTR) with bf few weeks ago, but i saw nothing i love at first sight kind, my bf ask me DiGio take a look, have haven't got the time to drop by with bf.

Can have a consolidate of the growns of ladies here, i also lost trace whose grown i've seen but i think i only saw 1-2 only. Will like to see you gals in yr pretty growns.

Hiya, finally taken photo of my ROM Shoes bought @ Taka some weeks back during sales. Love it cause it is tall yet very stable. Cause me flat footed, very hard to get a heels stable for me, so i thought this brand of shoes pretty good. Stable & Comfortable for me.

493435.jpg

hi cutie... like we all said lor... do something like a shrug or shawl or a jacket... so wear it when u wanna hide it... if really not nice at least u can take it off mah... hehehehe... no worries one lah... by right hor, BS should be able to advise... but normally they advise cap sleeves lah....

hi chimes...
i tried those bustier and halter that i like one lor... hehehehe... for the first time OTR one i tried those with sleeves... attached one lah... cannot make it leh... maybe not at my size bah... hehehehehe.... look very untidy... hehehehhee...

Thanks Hedgehog!
I've replied you!

dummyspy, that time when I sign my package at YC ah, Yvonne suggested halter for me as it will help cover my fleshy top but that's 2005 lah... I've yet to go down YC since then.

dummyspy, I only paid a small amount as deposit so don't dare to go down yet. Scared Yvonne ask me to put more deposit and I don't have it yet. Hehe!
But I can't wait to get started on gowns! Have yet to try any of their gowns yet. You have any pics to share?

Hi Gals!
Friday looooohhh yeaah!! if dun mind can share with me your pretty pictures too? [email protected]. xie xie! ^.^

Hi Chimes!
hehee thanks for your comments. whoever invented those sleeves is smart! heehee. hummm I dun remember puting up pictures of my WG here. you saw on my MSN picture or someone else also got corset style back? heehee. but then u r right, my WG will be a corset style back for sexy effect. BBW can be sexy and seductive tooo! *giggle*

i just hope GHA knows how to make them >_<

Hi Charmine!
your shoes are so cute n sweet! love the glitter dust. not over the top yet eye catching. good choice =p

sorry i haven't do my gowns yet. still in the collecting ideas &amp; design stage. Will update you once i got them (and if u still wan the pics heehee)

Hi dummyspy!
the sleeves go for the removable kind, then u get 2 looks for the price of one heehee. got lots of different kind of sleves. i even saw one like princess like dat (in a mag). the sleeve til elbow then flare down.. erhm dun know how to describe. let me find a scanner then can show u. =)

hi mage...
hehehehe... i no pix to show leh... not yet first fitting... unless u meant those that i cannot wear one... hehehehehe...

hi don...
thanks... i more or less get those shrug removable kind lor... like u said... 2 styles for the price of 1... hehehehe...

Hiya,

The shoes is meant for my rom, dunno can keep so long until ad a not. But that brand got many nice heels, maybe can check it out at Taka.

Hi Hedgehog!

haha too many pple posting easy to be confused. your WG is corset laced-up? which BS did u go to?

I'm planning mine to be corset laced-up too. i like the lace-up look and the V that forms. can share with me your WG pictures? my email is [email protected] =)

Hi everyone ,

this thead is getting very happening =)

sometime really read until blur dunnoe who to reply... hahaha ...

My WG is bustier too. and i also choose the lace-up look at the back cos i alway like this style more sexy ?? hahaha... but actually, my designer told me zip is the better choice cos it will be more fitting when you compare to the lace up. cos if lace-up, you must know how to tie it to make it fitting. But i dun care.. i just like the lace up.. Anyway, my MUA know how to tie for me mah..

My BS is same as Hedgehog. =) I call my designer yesterday, tell him about my shoe is 2.5" .. he say too short .. the taller the merrier to look great .. cos it will make us look slimer .. hmm... might be start to go around and see see look look again ...And i ask him whether got more OTR gowns for me to try or not.. he say they are starting to do mor new bigger size gowns .. heehee
I tell him must more ... cos i am bringing BBW friends to visit them ... hahaha...

Hi Mage,

How much have you pay ? I would suggest you go down and try and see, if they really do not have what you want, you might be able to consider to change BS. Beside MTM, they must at least hv some OTR for you lor..else your PS is only 2 sets of gowns ?? But you are sz14 only rite ? shld be alrite lah compare to me sz18...

If you scare they ask you to pay, take out all your credit cards and atm card and keep it. Show them your wallet is empty.... hahaha

Le Senza having 50% storewide wor. I just got another corset @ 50% discount + addition 15% for standard charter card. Only pay $29+ for corset...hehe...super happy.

What is lace up behind. I dunno all those term...paisei

wow..this thread is pretty happening...i read til blur that dunnoe who to reply..sorry if i din reply ur post...din do it on purpose..

hi gals..thanks for the compliments on my shoes..i got it from metro..but not cheap..
cost about $100...but i really like the design..and the comfy feeling...so jus bought it..actually love paradox shoes alot..but it is too ex...think will not bring the shoe for outdoor PS..as i am advice to wear a cheaper white colour heels so as not to dirty it..so will only use that shoe for indoor PS.. =)

anyway the bio essence thingy cost $49.90...for shower and lotion...available at all watsons or any dept stores...

btw jus did my first gown fit on wed..took some pics...this is the website for a sneak preview of them.. =)

http://jaclynwong.multiply.com/photos/album/23

so happening in here now

do share pics together if u have multiply site..
my multiply id: jengcc
jus drop me a note or ADD ME!!

hedgehog, don mind share ur pics?
my email: [email protected]

cheerios!

dearris, I only paid $100 deposit! Hehe!
Probably will make appointment to go down next week or something. I'm also not willing to pay more deposit if they have nothing nice for me or if they ask me top up money for MTM gowns. Hehe!

I might not be doing PS. Might go for photo taking after my AD luncheon. So probably will only require 1 WG that's all.

Size14 is plus size after all. Maybe scared cause size 14 also can't get clothes easily in SG.

Mage

No worries lah.. sz14 shld be a easier size compare to my 18. I believe you shld will find your prefect gown.
I am able to try some gowns off the rack, thought we might not that much of choice as small sz gal, I believe u sure can get a beautiful one.

Yeah yr grown is nice. Hehe...

Yvonne is nice to you wor Mage, $100 deposit only. They asking me for 50% deposit when i drop by their booth. Emm..thought i not a photographer but i find that their showcase photo album lighting or color sometime not right, maybe you can keep a lookout for them. Their grown is pretty nice thou.

Btw Mage, you not taking PS, then you taking the packages or you taking alacat, kind of confuse.

Oh, the La Senza bra really nice, my sis worn bright orangy pink we just bought to Rapellez for face, all the consultant n therapist are asking me where to buy etc. Good Deals Really + Nice color &amp; Design, worth drop by to see if you're in town.

Miss Bean, yr grown is nice wor, EG a bit plain, maybe you can add a little details.

thanks charmaine..ya the EG is not completed yet..the details is coming up later..only trying the skeleton of it for the size... hopefully after the details are up it'll look better...

Hi Don and Hedgehog,
My apologies, I think I really got the two of you mixed up haha I've received Hedgehog's WG pic in my mail but somehow dunno why, I thought it's Don's *geez* But you gals certainly gave me lots of ideas for keeps

Hey ladies, is it too late to actually start soucing for BS in Dec if my AD is nov next year? I don't think I'll be able to source around for BS leisurely as my work will keep me busy all the way until Dec *sigh*

hi guys..
i need to lose weight too before my rom in dec 07..
problem areas are hips, bottoms and arms...haiz..but really too lazy to exercise :P
now also on the lookout for suitable dresses to cover up..any suggestions? :p thanks!!

I'm sure it will be good for plus size brides to engage in a bridal studio that allows for Made-to-measure gowns since OTR WG and EG may be too limited. And you'll get whatever designs you want without worrying if they're able to alter it! =)

So here I am, with a comprehensive package most suitable for u! I'm letting go the package from Fiori Bridal cos I have decided to go overseas for my bridal photo shoot instead. I've only paid $200 deposit. Willing to let go at a lower price.

It is a very comprehensive package, $3000nett, that provides:
-1 MTM Wedding gown,
-1MTM Evening gown,
-ROM packages (inclusive of OTR wedding gown),
-26pcs of photos 12X15,
-6 costumes for studio shooting
-100 4R photos to give away and
-1 bestman's attire
-1 bridemaid's gown
-car with driver
-MANY MANY MORE!

The owner is very good with DIY and is really value-for-money.

Interested parties have to go back to them to place another round deposit by 15/07/2007 to secure the package. Package is OPEN date and transferable.

For more details, please PM me/ leave ur email in this thread.

***please do not use this package details to negotiate with them as the boss has specially given us extra freebies. Hehe!

Thank you so much! =)

I'm also a plus-size bride. Went for my gown fitting yesterday. So sad!! All cannot wear.. except 2 which is not so nice. Although package allow me to MTM, but still.. quite demoralized when i can't even try the style. So have to try hard to lose weight now..

Can you gals send me your pics too? [email protected]... Thanks!

Hi June, me also ROM in dec. Bridal shop say i need to lost 4" off my waist, few cm off my arms too look good and fit in OTR dresses.

Hi June, how big are u btw.

Hi gals, I am very troubled with the gowns too. I am aware local boutique dun really caters to plus size gals and I really dunno which botique provides really affordable and stylish gowns...

Really need your help....

hi charmaine, nice to hear from u..
really hard to keep track of the posted threads in the forum :p

i m size 12 on top n size 14 bottom...now u see what a headache i have got

i thot of losing some weight before i go to source for dresses even..

really on my nerves bt my weight..
my FH's mum have even comment on my weight on CNY..*shudder*

which day is ur rom and where are u holding it at? :p

Charmaine, I didn't visit DiGio personally but I saw their gowns in one of the bridal mags and I called them to enquire, they said they don't have a lot of OTR gowns for plus-size but they do MTM. I find their designs quite unique

dearris, my package is MTM gown. So I probably will try for the design and get Yvonne to MTM my gown.

Charmaine, you from LD also right? Cause I went to check them out even without a fixed AD date. I was interested to sign up but I told them I can only afford to put a $100 deposit. So its kind of a take it or leave it kind of thing. Hehe!
I signed for the package but when I remember Yvonne saying I can just pay for the gown or whatever I'm going to use first. So probably I will just take the gown and do the PS maybe after my AD or don't do at all. See how.

hi starmambo...
i think not so bad lah... i saw a lot of the gown the gals got here all nice nice leh... from local bs also... what u need to do is to go and try out before u confirm any lor... a lot might tell u they have... but they might not have lor... i heard Golden Horse, thomson wedding, precious moments, j&amp;m all got nice nice plus size gown... why not go sourcing first??? but most important is what kind u like lor....

hi chimes....
mtm is nice lah, they can do the design u wan... but than hor... maybe it doesn't turn out what u wan leh... so best is have OTR as well as MTM:P else PS not much choice leh....

miss bean...
u plus size arh??? can't see at all leh... i like the halter design... hehehehehe....

hi charmine...
where is the la senza u mentioned? got plus size one for me or not?? me huge leh... hehehehe...

Hi Linny...
which bs u went??? hahahaha... i got the same feeling when i went for my tries... none can fit in lor... so a bit regret never go try before sign up lor... hehehehehe.... no pix from me yet lah because my gown not ready yet... the rest of the gals one gown very nice.... hehehehehe....

hehehehe... any of the guys bought shoes from Darling??? i went parkway parade yesterday hor... saw this 3.5 inch shoes... front also got a bit of thick sole... silver in colour... nice nice... 60 dollars... in the end, i went to buy... don know if can balance or not.. but their shoes like not bad leh... if i can, i will take the pix and show u all... hehehehe....

Good morning gals! and welcome to the new pple!

wah so many post. read til blur blur. haha...
did u gals check out Tangs for shoes? i saw quite a few nice ones (2inch to 3inch) heels. open toe with sparkles. go with french pedicure very nice.

chimes, no problem i also get confused after reading and seeing so many posts =)

miss_bean, wah love the back of your gown. very romantic and sweet. nice!

Hi gals ...

Who is interest in my shoe ? It is about 2.5" cos I boought at 30+ and willing to sell at $28. Brand new not wear before... comformtable shoe. give up the shoe becos i need higher shoe. If not i will go back to exchange for normal day wearing shoe...

494795.jpg

Hi June / Linny

No worry ... must hv confident in yourself ? having MTM for both EG &amp; WG is good ... but OTR also must hv a few so that you have nice gowns for PS also ...

All brides are beautiful ... dun worry so much ... me size 18 .... u all sz 14 ?? my target is sz 14... hahaha

For those that want to buy the swaroski crystal to add on to their wedding shoe the address is

BEADSPASSION
FAR EAST PLAZA #01-20 AND #03-13

Hi June

My AD is 20/10 ... my target of sz 14 is no need to think one lah .... hahaha ..

When is yours ? Dun care about what your MIL say, wha t is important is your Hubby love u !!

Have u got your BS ??

hmm....

i think some gals might find me "fan" here .... cos i hv been asking for weeks which AD PG to choose ... hahaha ... last time now .. Which PG is better ??

a)www.limkokwee.com
b) www.perqjon.com

(A)or (B)

Pls forgive me .....