Advice for PLus Size brides

thanks jo!
recieved!
shopping at wisma?
so charmaine u joining us for steamboat or not?
today start of GSS for many shops..
shop shop shop!!!
lol~~~

hi gals!

hi wendy, sorry i can't join u gals today. gotta spend some time with FH. we had not had time for proper meal the whole week =(

have fun gals! i lovvveee steamboat =p

Jo: Thanks!!

JL: Think Charmaine is not meeting us this evening....

DON: No prob can join us next outing

Ya shoppin shoppin kekekeke

Hi all! I am kinda new here. Trying to do some background research for my wedding first. (No proposal yet though

Is there alot of difficulty in finding plus size wedding gowns in Singapore? Can bridal studios Make to Measure in the design we like with some slight modifications?

Which are some of the better bridal studios? I don't want to walk into one and the sales assistants will roll their eyes at me and scared that I burst their zips.

Hi Divineparadise,

No worries. Most of the bridal shops here will cater to plus size brides. Cos the gowns can do alteration. If budget allows. Go for MTM can eliminate this problem. As for design, usually will be of the liking and suitability to the bride.

What size are you ? No worries lar. Just take the courage and go and explore some bridal shops. Just shop around. Usually when cannot zip they will just leave it.

Hope it helps.

Hi Crystal, thanks for your advice.

I was planning to wear a gown with capped sleeves because of my fat arms. I am a UK Size 18. But can't seem to find any design that looks chic yet modest.

Everyone I know is wearing tube/corset style gowns and I definitely don't want that!

Any good cutting/design to recommend?

newbies lol ...
most of the BS cater for MTM. I am also size UK 18... lol .. n now still working hard to slim down ...
i guess different body shape cater for different design
maybe what u can do is get a reliable BS and ask the designer to design the gowns. is it what we pay them for ..

Hi Abby,

Agree with what AhBlur says. Usually what we think is nice when wear not so nice but design that we don't really like will end up that we can carry with class.

Hiya, hope u all got a great time eating steamboat, wisma having midnight sales on friday, was there shopping. Today went shopping at suntec. La Senza having good sales. Their anti slip bra with transparent straps going @ 2 for $36. Additional 5% discount for standard chartered credit card. Le Senza i saw largest is 38D i think. Hehe...bought 5 bras, 2 skirts, 1 tube today.

Lots of sales coming up! I am waiting for the further reductions sales for Marks & Spencer! Dorothy Perkins sale not very good, managed to get one skirt only. All the work jackets left only small sizes??

Anywhere else with good discounts?

Hi all been a long time since i last join in..how is everybody getting on ? =)

glad to know u girls are organising steamboat ! hee...i love steamboats too...but AD coming haven been eating it for a long long time...

ya agree...GSS is kinda boring this year..I only manage to grab some tees...no dress yet...desperate to get dresses as having few weddings dinners to attend this yr...

ya...how is everyone with their wedding prep ?

hi everyone!

miss bean.. i bought a dress from taka.. Elita.. they got size 16 for some dresses =)

i'm looking for photographer for wedding... but like v expensive... maybe i will just use the one provided by bridal studio bah =/

hi ladies!
welcome all newbies

can chk out the robinsons sales..
The station have sale there got dresses n ok price clothes

Did anyone start shoping for some jewellery for the wedding before the GST hike in July ?? Any good buy around ?

Hi Ah Blur & Divineparadis

Me also size UK18 ..
I am going for my second fitting of my EG this Friday .. Hope it will be great... cos the first fitting is better than i expect .. I try remember to bring camera ..

Hi Don

You are looking for AD photographer ?? Me too..
Maybe we can source together or sign up together to have discount ?

My msn : [email protected]
or email me [email protected] ..

i can share with you some of the quote i have ....the price range is quite bigger. It all depend on who you like. There is a few price quite reasonable photo sample look not bad.

Oh i got 1 top from dorothy perkin too. Not much variety on sales...but those on sales pretty cheap. Additional 10% for citibank card holder.

Sales start few days, already spend $300-400 bah..hee...I shop until leg aches...seems like everyday i also got some stuff back...

Tom got some sales on also. My bf so excited to go down and take a look. I wanna add in the poster but i can't...

Tom i also wanna go down to GHA, see how big is their sz 11 dress and browse thru their collection too.

Yeah, i already all the ROM stuff before the GST hike...my bf bought the proposal ring n wedding band from lee wah, pretty good deal there.

Hi Dearris!

I've got a few quotes too. let me compile them for easy reading. my FH got a lot of 'comments' abt photographs so i'm letting him make the final decision.

Hi Charmaine!

U r GHA bride too? me too! i signed with tampines. will be going down end of this year to look at gowns. pls share your experience and what you saw over there =)

Hey ^5 to Charmaine and DON...I'm a GHA bride too... =) but Yishun branch...

Ruthie, GHA is golden horse awards bridal... =)

Today went to Isetean at wisma..their ladies dept having great sale..some very nice dresses only for $19-$30...and loads of tops and bottoms...can go there to take a look... =p

Been shopping like mad ever since the sale starts..ha..my hubby declares me as Obessive Compulsive Shopping Disorder.. =p guess all of us are mad with the GSS craze...

Hi Don & Miss bean,

How much you pay for yr bridal, what you manage to get, kind of curious. Cause i don't know if i've got a good deal, went with bf, both inexperience people.

I went to GHA today, quite friendly...wah their grown room pretty big, a unit of a flat full of growns with biomatric door. High tech sia...

Their size 11 look pretty small, Don you manage to fit in or you mtm? Got any photo to show? I went to see the sz 11 tea dress, saw 2 which i like, but hoping to lose more weight so got more variety, my bf say their grown pretty nice, we click well with amy.

My bf gave up on my shopping disorder...haha

Hi charmaine,

haha..ya my hubby gave up on me too..

Anyway I took their 3K + package with MTM gown and EG..+ one tea dress...think my package is quite standard since we got it 2 years ago..u can try to negotiate with them for more perks..guess nowadays they hv more perks..

I have MTM my gown already however not much of pics to show..if U wan can go to my multiply website..took a few pics to post it on my blog of the gown trying as they r quite restrictive in taking pics..so only manage to take one or two.. =)
http://jaclynwong.multiply.com/journal/item/13

btw where u holding ur dinner ? =)

Hi Charmaine and Miss Bean!

I have not gone down to GHA cos wedding is still very very far away. As for package mine is high end of 3K cos got ad photographer. i think it is a standard package cos my FH and i din bargain =(

Hi Ms Bean, i can't seems to load the images, can email me at [email protected]. Thanx

Mine is MTM for 1 Grown or EG cause i prefer off the rack, my colleague keep telling me to get off the rack cause MTM a lot of hidden cost, was you told to top up for lace etc? How much ah? So GHA offer me $200 discount for Off the Rack for 1 grown.

My dinner not decided yet, initially was next year but my bf scared budget not enough, so see how first...hee...either end of next yr or the following year. Cause a few hotel i went, they do not allow me to book for date after Dec 2008 Where you holding yr dinner?

Aiyo DOn, why you all never bargain...i manage to bargain for a few more photos & freebies. Yah quite a lot of perks these days so i not sure if i missed out any.

My wedding also quite far actually, i just went down to take a look at how big their size 11 rom / tea dress is. Wah, actually quite small. Need to lose appx 4" on waist, got 4-5 months to do so. Had a bet with my bf, if i lose the 4-5", he gonna get me a LV bag, else i got to pay for my own MTM dress or order online...haha

Hi Charmine,

humm tot i replied your post but looks like i forgot to post it...

for me i was so happy to find a bridal studio that speaks english that i forgot to bargain. but i did ask my fren (also GHA tampines) and her package almost same as mine.

i got mtm wg, mtm eg, mtm rom dress, tea dress (cannot remember mtm or otr). i dun want to otr cos my other plus size frens all told me to mtm for better fit.

i'm going to melbourne in sep so i might go shopping for bridal stuff. if got nice gown i might get from there..

hi ,
i'm UK size 18. Intend to have my wedding in 2009.
I haven't start my research on BS n wedding venue. Can have some advice on which BS can find plus size gown.

Hi Sherine

I am UK18 too .. My BS is J&M. I think if you ask for MTM should not be a big problem in most BS. Of cos our choice with be quite limited compare to other lah for OTR..

You just have to shop around .. Look like alot of gals here go to GHA.

Btw.. who here go to J&M ??

I also heard Precious Moment Bridal also hv plus size gown.

ahblur: i m here!
was on leave today so nv come online. Hee..

sherine: most BS do hv it now. I m with bridal concept. They hv quite a nos too!

Hi Don and Charmaine.. =) I am holding my dinner at Novotel Clark Quay..Charmaine, I going to try my MTM gown soon..maybe will take the actual pics of my MTM gown and email u then ? hee..cos the two pics I took were not too clear..so u can't really see much design..anyway no worries I am sure u can get ur LV bag ! hee..cos BTB has great determination..When I went for ROM, I was a UK18 gal...my gown designer also gave up on me..quite difficult to find a gown for me..hence my choices are very limited..I was quite upset at that time...but now I became a UK 12 girl..still trying to lose more til my AD.. so jia you for the LV bag k ?

Btw Don, actually ur package is quite gd compared to mine..cos mine do not have a AD PG..so in the end I went to engage on my own...and my package is also 3k+...and ur ROM dress is MTM..mine was OTR...
U r given quite a lot of perks already..regretted that we din really bargain with them...

Hi all, greetings to all BBB~!~! = )

My AD in next Sat already. However, need to rant abit here. *_*

Just met a hiccup past couple of days. Im a Teochew and hubby a Cantonese. We were only told 2 days ago that the tea ceremony to kick off for the bride's family first. Is that true for the Cantonese customs? His father said it is "all along" been like that. We had everything planned then got "hit" by hubby's father's last minute comment. FIL got flared up cos of this. Suppose praying and make offerings to ancestors as well as tea ceremony should commence at groom's side 1st yah? My hubby got badly scolded by FIL and I felt so bad. All my gals friends had tea ceremony with groom's family & relatives first when it's just the opposite for us. Reckon it would be much peaceful to abide my in-laws but it seems so hard.

Like to seek advice from you ppl. Is it awkward to ROM in tradition costume huh? Our rom at my maiden house at 3.30pm. Need to reach groom's place from 1pm (yes, thou I am a teochew but master advised our auspicious time starts from 1-11pm). To conduct tea ceremony at his place (will do in WG), then need to chg into costume before returning to my maiden house. However, I like to do the solemnisation in my WG, so shortly after my return I need to chg back into WG again cos mum says cannot wear back the WG to return home. Have anyone heard of such cases...chg couple of times for proper attire to suit event? After ROM, want to chg back into costume agn for tea ceremony for my relatives and chg back to WG again for outdoor photoshoot with friends.

Then mum said need to change back to costume before returning to groom's house again.

Charmaine, you also conducting ESA spree huh? Still laising with them on my spree loot.

Hi parmida,

Sure you can join my esa spree sometime in mid june...

SK, I've been conduction Esa spree n OB Spree for almost a year on quite regular basis...once a month for OB and few months interval for ESA. Personally i prefer OB items actually. Hehe...Loyal supporter.

My ROM Dress also OTR. Ms Bean, you manage to fit into sz 11? Seems small thou Amy say can expand a bit after i confirmed the design... Was ask to lose until 37-29-42, quite a lot of inches...will jia you for it...to be a pretty on the special day plus the LV bag...haha...thou not easy but think can make you. Congrat that you lost so much, you jia you too!

Good morning everyone!

has anyone heard of or used 'REDUCTIL'? My GP asked me to consider using it due to my weight giving me health problems. But I'm afraid of side effects leh.

miss_bean..i think GHA quite standard one, maybe they did cut out some stuff for me and there was a top up for the photographer. one of my fren also use GHA, hers is 4K+++ but she take everything OTR. she got photographer and videographer. as long as they give us what we wan i think can liao =).

SK... I'm not familiar with customs but I think it is best to do as the parents request. Pray that things will be smooth for you =)

Parmida... outdoor wedding got a lot of venues to choose from. Botanical gardens, sentosa (the old style colonial house is very nice), golf course, the legends @ fort canning, etc etc. Outdoor weddings usually have a causal and relex feel and guests get to mingle more. U will have to consider wet weather program and be willing to accept that food might not be as hot as sit down dinner. Also SG weather is warm and some folks might not tahan the heat (think old folks). I too wanted an outdoor wedding but after calculating costs, a tradtional indoor wedding was cheaper.

Charmaine... rom must give ang bao one ah? humm i never give before... cham la... hope my frens not angry =(

Hi Don,

My colleague took Reductil before. Quite effective, opt for the 15mg 1, faster effect, think same or almost the same pricing. 1 box $100+, the promo is like buy 2 get 1 free. My colleague got it from my family clinic in bedok. Expensive but much lesser side effect compare to panbesy. My colleague like it cause she don't feel any side effect at all. Don, what health problem you have, are you ok?

My good friend shot gun, rom this weekend. ROM can give gift too but we thought money is more practical mah. You all think $24 too little? 7 of us, so will be $168.

Hi Charmaine,

Thanks for the concern =). I'm okie now. I have a v v bad case of irritable bowel syndrome which landed me in hospital and had to quit my last job to rest. Now I'm ok on most days and am back to work. Also my periods stop after i gain weight (gained 10+ kg the past 3 years). The doctors all say i need to lose weight to improve my medical health (n maybe have kids haha). Think i will go get Reductil from my GP. She did say for 1 month is about 100+. Cheaper then slimming centre =p

Don: I havent really calculated yet, my hubs prefer a not so formal wedding, my parents and ILs are fine wif our arrangements. I wanted something different, so tats why I choose an outdoor theme. I realised tat the weather here is terrible, one min rain, next min sunny

I am considering an air-con marquee, which i think legends may have (wif add $$) another option would be OCC, wif a poolside.

Charmaine: could u give me the link to esa and ob? I think I gota choose the + size clothings... for normal tops, i can fit some part but not other parts..so fed up.

Speaking of GHA, I heard tat there is one branch tat is not so gd, may i knw which one is tat?
I am seeing lotsa rants for PMB, could i have the link to it?? Many Thks!!

Hi Don

I used to have irrgular period when i gained my weight. Yes lost weight do help, but i suggest you go for a blood test. I went for hormones blood test with my gp and show my male hormones too high, which most probably cause by overweight. I was refer to KK, cause GP and gync was worried that i might have cryst, but fortunately was normal, just hormones inbalance, i was put on 6 month pills and now have fully recovered. Been almost 6-8 months on regular period without pills already, blood test result also cleared. I was glad i went to the specialist in the early stage.

Reductil remember to ask for the buy 2 get 1 free promo, think most clinic have that.

Hi Gosh, ya they do slimming for arm only.

Hi Charmaine, actually i also not sure what sizes am i trying on for during the gown fit..so not sure whether am i trying for the size 11 a not..but anyway jia you gal... i mean jian you..hee..for the LV bag... and to fit into the size 11...

Hey Don, I think u should take reductil as it is cheap and minimal side effects...I took reductil for a 3 month dose previously as am facing some health probz with my weight and with the help of it , I lost about 10 kgs with the pills...I think it is much cheaper than slimmer centre..and the effects is proven...think they hve this promotion that buy 2 packs get the 3rd free..so u r actually paying about $100 per packet..u can ask ur GP regarding the offer..

For period problems , I am still having it though...guess its hormonal probs like what charmaine say..so its advisable to do an ultrasound scan and etc to check for cysts..just to be safe..

Hi Sk, I guess u must be facing a lot of stress from this custom thingy...I am a cantonese...for me, I only know tat hubby will fetch me to his home for tea ceremony with his family and go back to my home for tea ceremony again...this is when u will change into ur tea dress..but as what the others had suggested..i guessed no one really knows the norm of these customs..so better do as what ur FIL prefers to make life easier for u...

Hi Everyone =)

Parmida.. do give legends a call. I think they are pretty reasonable and the view is gorgeous in the day. for poolside, many places have. Can always call up the hotels and say you wan to visit. they will welcome u with open arms. As for GHA, I have not gone down yet but I had good feedback about my co-ordinator. Maybe the GHA forums can give u more info?

Charmaine & miss_bean.. glad to hear that you gals have overcome your problems. gives me hope! heehee

actually i did blood tests and scan with 2 GP and 1 specialist. They all say even though i got cysts, no need to medication and no need to worry. Just have to lose weight. So far no one say anything about hormones to me. maybe i should go ask... *getting worried* =/

as for reductil... i'll go tonight to ask. yesterday i went to the clinic but my usual doctor was not around. i kenna "say" by the other doctor who was there ("u should exercise more and only if that dun work then take pills" "if i wan to earn money i would just sell u pills" etc).

Hi Don, the specialist at KKHS gave me hormones pills and pretty good. No side effect for me and stop the condition already. Maybe you can check with them.