Advice for PLus Size brides

jojo73

Yes, you did. Don't sian got us accompany you mah. If u got leave where will u plan to go?

sereneli

Hi Jo,

hehe...me now planning my own programmes cos hubby going Europe for work for 3 weeks soon.

Tot of going for a short trip at taiwan during the long holiday in nov. then HM will be delayed to Apr next year to make use of good friday that holiday to Japan

josephine_68

Oh, I'm a nurse. You'll think that nurses should be fit & trim. But actually a lot of us aren't. Too bad I didn't watch my diet when I was a child. We planned to save money 1st, maybe in 2 yrs or so coz he's still in NS. We're not throwing a banquet (to save $). I wonder what my relatives will say coz they're quite traditional. Our priority is to get a flat of our own. His mom is a bit difficult to get along with.

jumbo

Theresa, i think u shouldn't too worry abt gown.. you are not very big like me.. maybe u are just fleshy?? i think with ur size, can still fit into many gowns, dun worry too much lah.. u were saying ur fitting is on Oct.. is otr or mtm?? Somemore ur AD is next year june.. now start fitting?? very early leh.. or u going to have ur ps early? if u still have time.. maybe can do some workout to shed away some fat??

jo, ur bf still in ns?? then u all are pretty young couple huh... not throwing any banquet?? hmm.. think should talk to both families cos wedding usually not only both of u matters.. it's a family kinda thing.. take thing easy huh..

sereneli

Hi Theresa,
Aiyo, you are not exactly that big lah....kekeke I am jumbo's size, but she's much taller hor....so I look bigger.

Jo,
I guess you have to talk with both sides parents before making a decision cos usually a wedding invovles a family not only the couple. hubby and I initially did not want any banquet, but then when both sides insists, we did not have a choice, but hor....banquet really brings back great memories of your wedding!

jumbo

ser, i look bigger when i stand beside u leh.. u no big lah..

jo, serene's right.. in many situation, we have to do things that we dun like.. unless both of ur familes are so called 'bo-chap' one.. and let both of u do watever u want.. but for traditional chinese families.. we always have to listen and follow.. bo bian..

jumbo

ser, i look bigger when i stand beside u leh.. u no big lah..

jo, serene's right.. in many situation, we have to do things that we dun like.. unless both of ur familes are so called 'bo-chap' one.. and let both of u do watever u want.. but for traditional chinese families.. we always have to listen and follow.. bo bian..

josephine_68

His parents don't want the banquet. My family don't mind either. It's just that my side of the relatives will gossip. We're both 22. Maybe becoz see too much life & death, therefore don't wanna waste any time. Of course it'll be better if we have a substantial amt of savings. He's saying that we'll go for it once we have 20k. It's not even enough for the banquet. So fan! We thought we could get his dad to invest it for us. Actually his dad suggested it. But his mom is so particular abt $ & she threw such a big fuss & quarrelled with everyone that we have to give up. Sigh...

sereneli

Hi Jo,

Actually a simple wedding no need to cost $20K, it really depends on how you work with your own budget. Maybe you can get a "loan" from the father instead and pay back, so that the mother cannot say anything?

josephine_68

$20K is enough for the wedding. But throw in the flat, renovation & furnitures we wun have enough. Guess just got to take it as it comes.

pearlmilktea

Hello girls,

just wanting to share.. tomorrow is my PS.. I am worried sick abt it. Been "dieting" for a couple of weeks but today really stressed out went and gobbled up the entire Macdonalds!!

i just feeling extremely nervous. had met up with my photographer, and he seems nice and all but i still have no confidence. Jawn did a great job but really i guess at the end of the day, its how i see myself.. FH said i looked nice, bridesmaid said i looked nice lor, but still...

going to take pics at Shenton Way. I like the idea but can u imagine all the stares?? already, always go out with FH, people stared and whispered.. tomr how??

I have to be brave.. and happy!

crayola

Hi Pearl milk tea,

I'm having my PS tmr too....Who is your PG? Am having the jitters now and at this time am still preparing for it! The suit, gowns, the shoes, casual clothes, make up for touch up etc...

AT least you met up with your PG.. We haven't met up with Andrew and don't even know where we are taking our pics! Dunno what to expect, what's the procedure and of course hope that it doesn't rain like today! All i know is that we have to be there at 10am, bring the stuff and dun wear a bra hahahha!

What time were you at Jawn today? I was there too to collect my gowns. It's so heavy!!!!!!!!!

I guess most imptly tmr must be happy or else it will show in the pics... dun worry about stares (though i know it's easier said than done cos i'll be doing the same thing as you tmr too...Yikes!)... If they stare it'll probably be pple thinking wow so nice bride and groom and most of all why didn't i look or will i look that good during my wedding! hahahhaha

Hope both our PS will be fun!

sereneli

Hi Jo,
Then got to prioritise first. If you have $20K, see if you want a wedding or house first I guess.

Hi PearlMilkTea,
Don't worry and be happy. Must enjoy the PS session!

Hi Esther,
Hope you have a great day today!

josephine_68

What is the ideal no. of BS to visit before deciding on a BS? (To compare prices, service, selection of WG, etc) Do you exhaust all the possibilities as much as you can?

sereneli

Hi Jo,

I think it's up to individual. For me, I actually selected 3 shops after reading the forum and from there I picked my bridal shop. I guess it's less confusing that way and you don't have to choose among so many different BS if u visited a lot of them

von_teh_su_su

Hello all.....

i am also a plus size bride to be....hehe....going to be ROMed next feb....now still settling house..heh......
as for bridal boutique, anyone heard of Fame bridal @ yishun, seems quite okie.....for plus size brides......
glad to see that there are so many of us here...discussing and exchange ideas....hehe......
by the way, can i ask your gals who have chose their wedding gown....are your gowns tube type or..a bit short sleeves...or... i think i need to cover a lot, but also dun want to become like "dumpling"...hehe

sereneli

Hi Vonz,

Congratulations!

I have a friend who's with Fame bridal. Will ask her to see this thread

For me, I had mine with a little cap sleeves for my WG and for my EG, it's a halter with a shawl but the worn in a different manner. Give me your email, I can send you my pics

crayola

Hi vonz,

I'm also plus size and i'm having a bustier with organza wrapped around the top... not afraid to show my arms but the bah bah popping out from the back (have a very fleshy back) so very ugly! Anyway they improvise and put an organza around it... gimme your email and i'll show it to you too

adelinekhoo

hi vonz,

i'm wearing a bustier for my WG then for my EG is capped sleeve but i topped it off with a shawl..

cant really show u the pixs as i'm also searching for the CDs..

rien

Hi. I'm a new bride-to-be. Just found this thread and am looking for some advice. I'm considering wearing a halter neck WG but don't know if will flatter. I'm short but busty AND apple shaped

sereneli

Hi Derien,

Can check with your BS designer and see if it fits you. You can try halter cos you are busty. But maybe the halter has to be broader when going upwards, so that it can cover some flesh?

rien

hi serene - thanks for the response. will be going to try WG over the next couple of weeks.

the wedding mags all show models who are so skinny - does anyone have any recommendation for BS? i'm considering sattine because i like the photography, but i heard that their gowns only for rental?

sereneli

Hi Derien,

My all time favourite BS is the one that I used (hehe) Jawn Happy.ever.after. The trio in charged in the store are great people to work with.

On a serious note, I think you can short list some to go and try their gowns (btw, which size are you), and to see if you can click with the co-ordinators there before making a decision.

Happy searching!

josephine_68

I just dug out an old issue (May 2004) of Style Wedding that I bought so long ago. & I finally learnt that bustiers are not low cuts. Then I recalled comments that models in the mags are all slim. Hmm... if only we can create a mag just for plus size ppl. Have plus size models, features on shops selling plus size clothes etc. I guess I'm just dreaming. A lot of ppl are dying to be stick thin. Who will buy the mag? Is that why there's no such mag in S'pore? Oh yeah, just curious. Will busty women look better in low cut gowns since the gown will be filled out nicely & the attention drawn away from problem areas?

sereneli

Hi Jo,

think you got the answers for bustiers

When I was doing my preparations, I also tend to think why no such mags, but I guess, it doesn't make economical sense for the publisher.

Anyway, for these mags right, don't throw away, they can be your source of ideas. For example, if you see a pic, and you like only the neckline, another pic, you like the train etc, you can show it to your designer the next time and see if it's suitable for you. Then they will also have a rough idea of what you like if they need to design one for you.

jumbo

jo, perhaps u can get some overseas wedding magazine.. they will show plus size gown but overseas mag is kinda ex.. and hor.. some of the designs are.. to me, kinda outdated.. as wat serene suggested.. keep all the mag.. u may need them on and off during ur preparation..

rien

hi jo - i find that foreign magazines have more flattering designs for women who are more generously built. the local designs/designers tend to prefer cupcake looking designs e.g. with fitted top and pouffy skirt. i've found a number of gowns in foreign magazines that i'm thinking of getting a local BS to copy (alternatively, go to Bangkok and get them to make).

josephine_68

We're starting to plan liao coz we set the ROM date to be on 10th July 2007. I came across some problems. 1st, I don't have many close female friends. I only have 2 close guy friends. So how should I settle the sisters problem? Who can I get? Then can I hold the traditional & banquet before the ROM? I've never heard of anyone having done that before.

jumbo

jo, if i'm not wrong... u can't hold ur customary before ROM.. i read it from the rom phamplet.. it is against the law.. u may like to confirm with the staff from rom..

josephine_68

Serene: There're 2 of my cousins around my age. But their mom (my aunt) is quite judgmental & from the beginning she disapproved of me & my bf. So it's not very suitable. My only other female cousin is too young. The rest are all males.

Jumbo: Thanks for the info. I'll go check it out.

sereneli

Hi Jo,

Ehhh....since still got 2 years, maybe you will make more friends leh....or get your hubby's gal friends/cousins to help?

qingqing

sorry Jumbo and Ser .... i am Theresa ... sorry for the late reply .... oh my gown can be mtm loh so my BS scare no time mtm so she ask me to go in oct loh ..... try some OTR gown first .... my ps is b4 new yr liao ..... kinda fast .... kinda scare loh but excited hahahahahaha

sereneli

Hi Theresa,

Just to kpo, Jumbo = Amanda kekeke

Well it's always good to go early for MTM too, so that anything can amend here and there.
PS no need to scared cos basically, it will be a fun day!!

qingqing

oops sorry ..... amanda i love this name hehehehe hmmm ser well i guess the most scare part is i cannot lose weight on time i am having water retention now so basically i am swollen most on my leg n face .... i cant walk for long
and now i am gg to chinese sinseh for help onstead of doc in SGH! sigh .....

sereneli

Theresa,

For water retention hor, I heard that there's some medication that will allow you to pass urine more often, which is better. Alternatively, try to put your leg on a rest when sleeping so that the water flows backwards instead of being retained at the legs. I heard that with this method, you will tend to go toilet more often to pass out the waste.

Take care gal!

josephine_68

Hi Serene, I'm actually going to visit BS this weekend. I understand that you used Jawn. It's 1 of my selected BS. Do you have someone to recommend me & do I need to make appt? Is it a bit late coz it's already Wed & we're going on Sat. Also, any advice for me?

sereneli

Hi Jo,

Yeap, I used Jawn. Basically, there's 3 people there only, namely Susan, Euzart and Bridgette. You can call them and make an appointment today cos weekends, they are usually quite busy. Good luck!

qingqing

Oh Ser thanks for the info..... i will seek chinese sin seh help now i dun wanna take anymore medication from sgh anymore......

jumbo

hi theresa, u are with which bs huh?? sorry huh.. can't remember u ever told me..
u have any pics of the gown u ever tried to show us?? wanna see leh..