A sharing thread: SG vs Taiwan vs JB photoshoot

Let's share our experiences / preferences:

#1. Which one of the above have you chosen / are you inclined to choose and why?

#2. Which bridal shop / PG and why?

#3. Satisfied / not satisfied?

Feel free to include other countries too

I'll start:
#1. Taiwan for now. Cooler weather, beautiful sceneries, nice gowns, it's a place I've not been to before, prices (excluding air tickets) are comparable to Spore - er.. this is correct right? :P

#2 Bluebay for now. We've only looked at two TW bridal shops so far, and BB seems to be more value for $. Apart from nice photos, they provide more things for their customers' convenience (eg accommodation, airport pickup etc).

#3 NA, no decision made yet so far (still lost, in fact :P)

I have chosen Venus Bridal in JB. I have just completed my photoshoot last week and so far, I find their service satisfactory.

Chosen JB because it's not exactly that far, just across the borders. Their photography and layout is more towards taiwanese style. Any point in time, if I'm not satisfied with the layout, I can just go down to the shop directly. Prefer to liase directly than communicate over phone.

In JB, there are more varieties in terms of backdrops/digital designs. I have seen my friend's wedding photos in one of the local bridal studio. No digital layout and the backdrops are just of different colours only. Quite dull and boring.

Currently our currency is strong, so a JB package is quite value for $$. Only half price for the same type of package. Furthermore, sales person is not too pushy and quite accomodating. hehe..

Scenery wise, of cos taiwan is the best.. hehe..

I have choosen Fashion bride in Taiwan.
I sign the package on the spot as those photo they show us is soo attracting.Esp the outdoor scene...Overall,the package is also great.

Planning to go over to taiwan in May 10 or Jul10 to have the photo taken..

Yes rainbow, u r rite.i felt the price is comparable to sg package.

I oso felt that the service of the taiwan bridal is not as pushy as sg bridal shop...hahha..

1) I have choosen Taiwan as my pre-wedding photoshoot. I have always wanted to visit Taiwan since long ago. From scenery, gown, make up, shooting style to experience, i would say Taiwan is worth a try. Of course in term of pricing wise, this should be the most expensive alternative. I tell myself this is a once in a lifetime thing, and i personally like the photo taking process and enjoy being dressed beautifully so i make my choice. Since i longing to go Taiwan, so besides taking photoshoot there, this will be our honeymoon as well
So we will have a pre-honeymoon instead.

2) I choose BlueBay. I have seen few Taiwan Bridal Studio shooting style and so far BlueBay perfectly suit my taste. I love their gown. From simple to more exagerated gown, it looks great. I love their make up and hair styling too. Not too exaggerating with the simple touch but yet bringing out the sweet and princess touched. Most of all i like their photography style which focusing much on the sky and beach. Their style are very cheerful and sweet. Just love it

3) Hopefully it is worth for the $ after the outcome of the pictures. Crossed finger. I plan to go on May or June for the photo shooting. My AD is on early Nov.

Now since we have decided to shoot overseas, so need to headache with the gown and suit renting for the AD. Same things go to the MUA and photographer. Mind to share where you plan to get those services?

1) I have chosen Taiwan as I wanted something different.

2) Julia Wedding News was chosen as I did not want any hassle in having to search for my AD gowns, suits, MUA, etc plus they have very very nice gowns.

3) Very satisfied so far. I have had my ROM gown and suit from them, gone thru PS gown fitting as well as had my PS done in June. Thumbs up for their service.

1) I've chosen Taiwan for photoshoot and a local bridal package for AD. Still considering if i shld have their full BS package with photoshoot as i luv their gowns.

2) Selected a BS from Taiwan with no connections to any local BS (however they mentioned they r able to tie up wif some of the local BS to provide for AD services). This Taiwan is Cannes Wedding.

3) So far havent' tried anything. Planning to shoot first wk of March in Taiwan. Keeping fingers crossed. Services wise....the sales person din allowed us to budge untill we signed up. If we walked away w/o signing up, i think she's bound to get angry.

1) I did my photoshoot in Singapore due to many factors: time and money constraints, I want my PS to be hassle free, plus I had different places in mind for the photoshoot instead of going to the few common places everyone goes to so I think having the shoot in Singapore will also be nice. I also think shooting in Singapore is meaningful cos we are born here and this is our own country. Anyway, the photos turned out very nicely

2)I signed up with Julia Wedding News, it is a Taiwan company with a Singapore branch because I like their beautiful gowns and am confident about their photography skills.

3) Am satisfied with my choice. No regrets

1) I have choosen Singapore. No doubt JB bridal is more value for $$ due to the currency exchange. But my HTB n me want hassle free.

2) Signed up with French Bridal

3) So far satisfied with their service and I like their gowns.

My personal views: I had seen some of JB and Singpaore PS workout. Found out JB PS layout are more fantastic and digitalize where Singapore PS layout more plain, simple and natural. But come to gowns, I prefer Singapore which elegant and stunning desgins.

In the end - no more Taiwan PS for me :P Although happy with what we both have decided in the end, but am still feeling a bit unfulfilled leh.. I know I'm just being greedy, but can't help it lol..

Revised answers:

#1 Singapore and/or Perth.

Singapore - because this is where we spend 99.9999999% of our time together.

Perth - because this is where we first met. Weather is also cooler & quite familiar with where the beautiful places are.

#2 This BS beside French Bridal @ Tanjong Pagar (heard they both are sister companies) - aiyo.. why this bulletin board doesn't let me mention their actual name! So weird.. Anyway, their gowns are nice, they offer Singapore and/or Perth PS, price seems to be quite reasonable also. Most importantly, my HTB loves it a lot (probably more than me haha..).

#3 NA, have not used up our package at all.

Is this thread still alive? Add on my two cents worth

#1. I chose to do my photoshoot in JB.

#2. Signed up with Printemps in City Square and did my PS 3 months back. Recommended by friend and I love her pics even when i saw them 4 years ago.

#3. Very satisfied. Currently at the point of layout viewing. I top up 49 pictures over package and the cost is still about a mid range SG one. Very value for money.

They took into consideration that I am Sporean and did not use too complicated backgrounds for indoor shoot (single colour backdrops) so that the results will not be too different.

Also manage to avoid all the common places that pple have PS in SG.

And yes, the strong currency helps too. The new custom is safer as well.

Last but not least, feel that customer service is a lot more qing qie there.

Kris, I saw 2 studios that i totally adore in Penang.. let me go home and dig up the magaizine and tell you the name...

I did my PS in SG and till now, no regrets

Photos turned out very well, we went to those not so common places so its not an issue for us.

And yes, I ended up topping up for the photos as well (which I never expected to do so before PS)

Blur btb mind if i take a look at your photos? i'm doing PS in Japan but thinking of doing one more with a JB studio. dropped by bny gallery today. didnt see printemps though. can u advise me on their rough pricing?

Natalie Lee : Do you mind if i ask how much is your package and do you have to top up any amount for the photos that had been selected? Actually French Bridal and Julia Wedding is one of my selected bridal studio in mind.

Stargazzing was deciding between Taiwan and HongKong because they have really nice location, gowns, makeup and hairdo not to mention their gowns.

In the end, I chose My Dream Wedding (tie with Hongkong) and having my PS in HKG. Yeah.
One of the main reasons is they can provide me the AD gown, evening gown, Make-up and hairdo.
And I get to choose the photos in sg with my hubby. And I hope they should have elegant gown since HKG fashion is always a lead.

Will be flying to HKG on 20apr and have my PS.
Update you all of my level of satisfaction

I have choosen Singapore Bridal Shop-Z Wedng.
So far no regret and satisfied with their service and I like their gowns also.

As compared to JB, yes the FX is the plus point for choosing them, but do remember the travel part. Intially, i wanted to take JB package but after find out that we need to go down by at least 8 times, that will be a hassle for us.
In addition, Spore package is one stop service. Lots of small little thing you no need to worry anymore...
These are my personal view for ref. ;-)

#1. JB. Not incline to choose other countries. Why? coz I can have friends with me to help me with the choosing of my wedding gown etc. and plus, do video shoot during my actual photoshoot. those are the things that you can truly appreciate over the years~ going overseas? only you and your HTB plus ppl you just met. (they may not be the kind and friendly type?)

#2. I have choosen J&J Wedding Collection (@ Tmn Sri Tebrau)

#3. Very Satisfied! =) from start to end. and my big day is tomorrow. Can't wait to show the rest my photo album!

Thiasi: Hi babe! Your profile is locked on FB so I can't access... you need to show me the album link i think. Your DP is very nice though! u look lovely!

how much u pay for venus package.. can let me know? i also looking at this bridal shop.. heard their indoor backdrop alot?

Hello All

#1. Which one of the above have you chosen / are you inclined to choose and why?
I have chosen RL, Taipei.

#2. Which bridal shop / PG and why?
RL.

#3. Satisfied / not satisfied?
Okay. Love the experience but hesitant about the after service. Will update more when I receive the items.

You can have a look at http://truelymadlydeeply.wordpress.com/category/pre-wedding-overseas-trip/ or http://truelymadlydeeply.wordpress.com/category/pre-wedding-overseas-trip/.

Maybe it will give you a better idea. Good luck girls!

Hi, I'm scouting around for nice locations... how come outside of singapore it's just Taiwan and JB? I'm sure there are pretty locations nearby like Thailand and Indon?

My very first post.
Was looking for photoshops that would print my wedding photos which i took in NYC at a steal of $600 usd or $800+ SGD exclude makeup $150usd (Singaporean MAU) for outdoor shots.

Exclude airfare and hotel since i planned my trip 2months in advance for shopping actually and photoshoot 1week in advance (impromptu decision). Bought a bridesmaid dress at a bridal studio $300 since i was in a hurry.

1) I went to taiwan to take my PS this march. I like the make up artist and photographer, the pics came out nice. However, their service is not that good and there are many hidden costs. The wedding shop doesnt want to give any design to our photo album bcs we did not buy more pics in there.But for the package, not include flight ticket, we already pay around 2500 - 3000. And they claimed that the design is not include in the package.

For anyone who wants to go to taipei to take PS, I suggest you ask clearly for everything. well, we thought we did, but when we get there, there are so many hidden costs. For example the package includes 6 different outfit for groom, but when they let you choose, only the ugly ones are foc. They said the other suit has to charge.

2) I havent get my wedding gown for my september wedding yet... anyone has good suggestion???

3) I saw my cousin PS last month, it was awesome, they went to Penang, Malaysia. But I am not sure which bridal shop they are using.

4) I heard that Blue Bay has good gown.. anyone knows about the price range?

5) so far I plan to go tanjong pagar to look for my gown, as there are so many bridal shop there. Any place else you guys would recommend?

i took up BS from taiwan for our pre wedding shoot for outdoor and chose a BS in JB for AD wedding gowns (plus indoor shoot).

i also agree there is alot of hidden cost so must ask and ask, cannot scare of paiseh etc

Angelroselin> The Aisle has very nice gown.
I took BS package from JB. Since you already done the PS and only need AD items, maybe to choose a local BS is easier...

Hi gals,why don't check wit Graceful Image at Tan Quee Lan St,they have a lot of nice gown...i'm GI bride also.

I aso booked Taiwan shoot with lishe n aso indoor shoot with j n j wedding collection in JB, together with AD gowns...hopefully both turns good

For myself I chose SG, less hassel...

One of my friend signed up with a SG boutique but went to Taiwan as the boutique has a branch in Taiwan. They were extremely disappointed. The PG was not very good and most of the shots are not wide enough to show that it is Taiwan. What is the point of going overseas when the framing includes just the couple and not much of the background. When everyone saw the album, nobody knows it is taken overseas