A Place for Singles

I'm biyo-ing models at Best, Courts, but most likely buying from neighbourhood shops. So I should look for full HD, 42 inch LCD within my budget? Brand-wise, likely to be Panasonic or Samsung.

Laudree, can lah.
Will buy a Sony for you on your birthday. Not a problem at all.
Just one condition; provided that your birthday happens to be on 30 Feb.

LCD consumes lesser electricity and generate lesser heat...

But saying that, plasma is not without it's advantages...it's better in terms of video quality if you are watching a lot of fast motion images (eg. sports, motor racing, action movies etc)...

But for casual viewing; it's pretty ok to just get one that's on promo...No need to be so hardcore like me or sm who are looking for Full HD capabilities and all that techie stuff...

i also want to buy tv is about 18 years old...still working but remote control dont work. everytime got to get up to change channel. so sian.

read all the comments until blur. laundry, you do research and let me know. think our homes about the same size.. no need very big ones.

who says ice cream?????? i go surf website and place my order.

ya watch the Planet Earth in its full 1080p glory.. you will be stunned with your mouth open..

for ice-cream, no promise but if I have time I will go and pick up a few tubs

Orh. Lemme think abt it. The PV8 got promotional vouchers so I'm effectively paying abt $500+ for the TV leh.

Normal & true HD is the same as HD-ready & full HD??

powderful, can you get the ice cream instead? your place near ice cream place mah. spare sm from driving down.

$500 for a tv ah? think i abit cheapo leh.

salsa, ok i call you tomorrow... most likely before 11.30am or after 2pm.

actually hor.. so much so for all the HD resolution thingy ah.. that also depends on whether the channel u r watching are of HD quality rite?

so far i think only Ch 5 & those discovery channels are.. so even if u hv a full HD ah.. not much diff in pix quality till in the later stages where all programs become true HD rite?

Powderful,
so what have u learnt about ur solutions today ah?
whahahahahaha

skylar,

If you watch Blue-ray discs.. yes need the full resolution..

and if you watch HD soccer.. can see the sweat on the guy's face..

If you watch TV only.. and occasional DVDs forget about it lah..

ICE CREAM ORDER !!

since sm and powderful cannot confirm whether they can get ice cream, i will get it myself TODAY. can you all pls place your order by 2.30pm today. I will find my way there.

www.thedailyscoop.com.sg

if i dont hear from anyone of you apart from laundry, i will just buy anything i like...

laundee,

buy tv for watching tv is the simplest thing... just dun listen to pple recommendations.

look at the tvs tat make u feel good just looking at the design. look at the price. then buy the cheapest one...

tv serves 2 functions for me... 1. look good when switched off, 2. simple to use as a tv when switched on.

all these hd/semi-hd/non-hd doesn't matter much to me for now. end of the day if i dun need HD, i dun need it. $900 budget should be enough...

and pls dun look for durability... tvs should last 3-5yrs can liao... any longer u'll have guilt for wanting to change your tv simply becos it's old, even if it still functions well.

contrary to most pple, i dun need durability if i'm an upgrader.

Based on criteria of price & visual factor, it'll prob be a Samsung liao. In any case, I dun play games & all, so I dun need the hi-end, hi-spec kind lah. & I'm not an upgrader. Durability is impt. Guess HD-ready is good enough for me.

P/s: Erm. If watch sports on tv, can see the water rolling off swimmers' V-shaped bods on HDTV??

ok if u wan i sell u my 6mths-old Samsung 42"...

comes with a uniq design across the centre of the screen, looks like an invisible line which lets u know immediately that the screen is still there and has not dropped out.

my daughter came up with the idea and put the line there... wat a cutey!

yours for only $599... bought at $1899. grab whilst stock last, and lines are guaranteed to stay...

oh oh, if u can confirm before friday, i'll even throw in the 'special equipment' used by my daughter in creating that design... yours absolutely free! it will provide u and your doggie hours of fun. but do note that u should not create excessive lines on the screen else it becomes an art piece...

ps: uniq = unique... i was 'not allowed' to type the words 'uniq design' if spelt correctly

bro, like that buy HD for wat? only see hair???

wait for UHD... u can see the split ends on those hair... That's Definition!

harlow? wat crap?

u pay so much buy HD but u dun wanna know if your fav swimmer got split hairs on his/her pubes??? then pay so much for wat?

Snip the ends off & CONDITION CONDITION CONDITION! Mebbe shld go for steaming once in a while.

Powder, why dun we exchange? I've got an antique 29 inch tua leng kong tat works wifout a remote. U hv to get some exercise each time u wanna change the channel. It's got dogfur sticking out of every groove & u'll hv a fun time educating ur daughter on how people in ancient times watch TV. Heck, conduct ur own arts & craft workshop to make ur very own cane-operated remote. Nonid batteries one.

It'll be very soon that u'll even experience the full 3D effect. read news that some porn director in HKG gonna come up with a 3D porn movie. Just wear the goggle and u'll see the action takes place as if it's in front of u.

appreciate it laundee, but home ladies have allergy to doggies... no harm using it as a stool? just make sure the screen does not face up...

So u can have a feel of how it is like to be one of the cast or director at a porn fliming site. Bringing you "closer" to your favourite porn star?

For a moment I was scratching my head on powder's initial post on the TV recommendation...was wondering if he's on medication or something...

Until I saw the second post...

Wah lau...can be don't so cheapskate? You sounded like a sleazy ethics-less 2nd hand car sales man!

If I were you; I would have given Laundree your 42 inch TV FREE OF CHARGE...

...on the 30 Feb...

Dun change the topic. U owe me a SONY 42 inch. I'll make 30 Feb come, juz for ur sake.

Bleddy puffheads. I set the hound of baskerville on u then u know.

for your sake laundry, I'll cross my 10 fingers & 10 toes to make 30 Feb!!!

that shall mark the Doom's day for both Powder & Powderful minus his solutions!

pls lor... i not a doctor...

i dun mind giving to laundee but the artistry across the screen is kinda worth something... and the tv only used for Barney and other cartoons

just back from daily scoop. bought 5 tubs of ice cream. you all better finish everything tomorrow until you lau sai. i dont quite fancy ice cream so dont leave any for me !!

got coconut, lychee, mint, macadamia nut and some liquor one. 5 flavours. should be enough for all.

spare sm and powderful the trip there...

that silly guy cannot confirm getting them. sm cannot confirm. guys with cars are useless !!

to guarantee we hv ice cream, i free today, i go loh. to and fro about 2 hours leh...by mrt and cab.

you all better finish everything tomorrow !!!

Did I try the coconut the previous time? I know I have tried the lychee one before....

Pls pls ... let me have some. At most, I bring my own tissue paper. Beautex de....3 ply :p