A Place for Singles

i think it's more to do with getting married wayy too young and spending money provided by parents, being exposed to sex amidst other things... exposed to HDBs etc etc. becos pple can't afford, and they've been given too much promises, thus they Expect. expectations outweigh the actual working... the government is expected to be the bridge.

those in early 20s...never have a hard time in their lives before. Very well-pampered or spoilt.
Those interns in our company...have some kind attitude.....wonder why. They rather sit there...read magazines...stare blankly at the PC screen..dozing off.....and not taking the initiative to ask if there are anything for them to do.

Taking life for granted. At times, I feel that we need a war or epidemic and wack us down to the bottom to wake alot of people up their idea.

Thats the part I like about NS. Strip you off everything you were "entitled". But nowdays army also seems to be more and more welfare liao.

i think for the current early 20s, they were pampered also young, very very young... but at least for me, i've come across more motivated work-harders than whiners thus far...

being the only child in the family...they never have to worry abt not having enough pocket money. What is holiday work? What is part time job? Seem so far away. Having to work as an intern is bo bian....school's requirement. Hence, they dun mind to be seen reading magazines during offc hours...than to ask for things to do.

Read the papers over the weekend. This spoilt brat that the reporter interviewed....felt that her classmate is so silly to work part time when she is short of pocket money. To her...all the friend got to do is just ask for it from the parents...wat's so difficult?

vios,

i think they are trying to address tat, but it'll take a whole generation to change it... if u noticed, the recent speeches which addresses foreign talent already hints at this entitlement mentality tat we may have. especially when the older MPs come on... it's gonna be a national problem to be honest...

i'm quite sad when i see sporeans complain abt foreigners... we forget we came from foreigners, and that our grandparents are the same foreign workers we see in our construction sites today... whether from china/india/thailand... our male ancestors as coolies, our lady ancestors as ah mahs or samsui women. they know not of enjoyment, but of hard toils.. small plain meals and little savings... i dun see contruction workers when i pass a worksite, i see our forefathers, i see pple working hard for their families back home - like granddad n grandma... Do We See It?

instead we have pple who want a say at where they can stay... where they can go... what they can do... Would our grandparents had survived our own prejudice??? i say 'our' becos i'm also sporean, and i'm ashamed. i'm ashamed tat we make pple out to be rapists and homewreckers, yet we buy homes built by them. they Built our homes... their low salaries made our homes affordable... i dun think i can afford a home built by sporeans.

just look at the number of pple who Cannot afford starbucks, flock to starbucks to spend their parents' money... which was made possible by the education tat our grandparents afforded them... and u see the new generation spitting on the face of the generation tat gave them the peace and stable environment of today... it's one of those great ironies.

and i look at this forum where the most petty things becomes a Big issue... like the Dos n Don'ts of Pin Jin, GDL, Wedding nitty gritties made Big using the words 'once-in-a-lifetime'. without Life, how does one even say 'lifetime'?

if one is self-made, i will not deny them the luxury of their own lifestyle... but if one isn't, and is living on credit card debt, owning luxuries by virtue of the bank's grace... then i do have a few words to say...

it won't be long before we see how poor one can be if one doesn't work hard and smart. we forget we're a country of meritocracy, we think merit refers to the Uni Degree we re-use from 21-51... we think merit comes by virtue of being sporean...

entitlement mentality... the government will run out of grace to grant.

halo fellow REGULAR,
I'm here to 'attack' and 'flame' u.
Be scared... be very afraid.

BECAUSE....
I have no COMPASSION one.

Milo peng, tough lah. We have ppl here who subscribe to 50 yrs series one and even from the colonial age. Ur 10 years series merely meant to be a "weapon" to "superior" human beings.

powder, i second your thoughts..

it is really worrying, isn't it? the mentality is unfortunately accumulated since young, that the child is taught to obtain a degree to get well-paying jobs. before that degree, must get in the best JCs. before the JCs, must get into Science classes (ideally with Pure Bio,Chem,Phys). Then we'll see the parents lobbying to get into the best Primary Schools...

It is an expected one-way route. you study, you earn. you don't study, you lost.

So when some didn't achieve with their expectations (career,relationship,virtually everything), they whine and whine... blame this, blame that, point at possible variables but themselves - the fixed factor.

where are the all-more impt Social Values & EQ?
where's the inculcation of Self-Make, Self-Belief and Self-Achieve?

At least in my own generation and yesteryears, Strict Discipline in school was imposed and created to teach us... now, where has this basic element gone to?

salsa, that's the thing...

i'm quite certain they have been given directions all their life - studies,CCAs,extra lessons,pocket money - so much so when they face idle-ness, they choose to idle instead of not idling.

that is a big problem. So far as i can see, when they face any sort of issue, they'll choose to shelf it somewhere else than to face the reality and solve.

good luck to that spoilt princess... i hope she's able to marry a prince, otherwise she'll learn the hard way in her latter life.

Parents is the main cause for such an attitude.
Carries a $2K plus LV bag as school bag, yearly overseas trips and spending $1K+ on shopping, only shops for clothes in Zara, Topshop, only uses Shisedo prdts.... WOW!

Her world will crash if one day her parents are retrenched.

Ya vios....good luck to the princess.

ha ha not that I kpkb..

It is easy to make comments.. but I see many people, when they become parents, they did exactly what they complained when they were single.

They become plain kiasu, want the best for their children - best primary school, best this and that, piano/ballet lessons, if nothing else give cash to make up for the lack of time with them.

and there is a fine line between wanting the best for them and spoiling them and mostly parents thought that they are doing the right thing, not realizing that they are actually spoiling their kids.

Every parent is guilty of this one way or another. I spoiled my kids too - by sending them to school everyday. I don't know but this is my time with them every morning while driving them that I do not want to miss. They have to go home by themselves though.

sm,

Yes, many talk but action differs nonetheless. So, that is a contradiction from the start. Then, why be the majority? Pls don't come and tell me that my tone will change when i do become a father one day.

In fact, i do think it is vital that the 'not-yet-be-parents' group study the behaviour of the present kids, and truly understand the 'fine line' which you've just mentioned... yes, it varies but i honestly think that there has to be a self-reliance system in place.

Many times, i learn that the parents' preferred route might not be their children's... and the latter lost their own direction like 'unopinionated followers', more so from the education system's angle.

vios,

yup worrying... tat's why i do wat i do and say wat i say... i have a very keen interest in changing pple's mindset on money and education... instead of beefing up for their futures, they open threads to bitch abt their bosses/colleagues etc... feels good perhaps for a shortwhile, but i dun see anyone progressing in life this way.

Lunch partner problems? - totally missing the essentials in life. and instead of telling a person to be confident and self-assured... u get a bunch of pple who are just as distracted with 'cute biscuit' solutions...

there's little Identity nowadays, yet u try telling them that - they show u identity alright... ie "we women", every other day a new problem pops up tat's actually More to do with Oneself than Others... but try pointing out the problems with Oneself and u get the usual defence.

i'm just sad tat alot of these mentalities are the same mentalities which got the poorer underpriviledged where they are in the first place.

vios,

Of course it is very good for non-parents to study and understand.. definitely good for them.

But I have seen too many - how they behave and talked completely different (from neutral eyes) when they become a parent themselves. And the best is that they will insist that they have not changed and that all they did was for the good of the children. We hear this many times, but really, they may have "good intentions" but is it really good for their children?

Education system is one thing. Yes, somehow we have to follow but we too can be a smart follower and not follow the crowd for everything. Of course I would like to see the education system changed but at the same time, parents must play our own role to operate within the limits and get the best out of it.

I don't know you personally, now and later when you become a father - so I really cannot comment on whether how you will change. change definitely we will, but how we transform is really interesting to see. It would be very helpful, when we become parents to really take a step backwards and reflect upon ourselves.

And probably we read about all the bad things about today's teens in the papers. I would like to think that the one mentioned in the newspaper is not in the majority? I don't know. Newspaper sells because they have something to say.

I also know that teens are much more exposed than ever - like for volunteering work. I have seen many of them volunteering their service during school holidays. I asked my eldest daughter to work during holidays to earn some money. She said no. She would like to do volunteering work instead and asked if it is ok that she will still have pocket money (ie she don't have to work). Of course I am happy to support her.

salsa,

Not necessary parents... yes they play a role. Our values system in our society has changed.

I know of very young girls.. parents don't give them much money nor indulged them..

Yet, they can spend like anything.. and how they get their money? You go imagine..

Work in fast food? haha. Back in my teens when my friends and I wanted something, we work for it. Part time after schools or during school holidays. I still remember I got my first HP with my first paycheck as a waiter and pump attendant at petrol station. I treasured and used the phone for several years till a friend of mine got drunk and puked on it.

But nowdays such stuffs seems to come very easy. With the value of it going very easy as well. Want a phone. Get it. one or two months later another new model liao. Taking alot of things for granted.

Please lah, powder...

Tofu throwing is so passe...
Can grow up please???

***offers powder a cute biscuit***
That's the way to do it nowadays...

LEARN SOMETHING NEW, WILL YA!!!

SM, if you peeps "stoop" (wrong choice of word, should be "raise") to my level...you'll prolly require minimum Einstein level of intellect, Da Vinci's creativity and Lao Zi's wisdom...

Can you imagine my suffering having to address people like you bunch of buggers in this forum who don't appreciate the honour of basking in my glorius aura...

powderful, u should be more specific... not many pple know tat u're rferring to Robert Einstein's intellect... the dumbwit half-brother of Albert who measured an IQ of 50...

throwing tofu is one of the classic from that 10 years series.

Haiz...see lah...

You people only choose what you want to see and ignore what's the real fact...
Does my superior intellect here needs justifications???

Can you people tone down on your nasty words and sarcasm towards me??? Can't you see that I need hugz and TLC? What is wrong with you people! No wonder people hate you guys! You bunch of buggers are so mean....

Remember, WE are REGULARS here...you need to agree with whatever I said...bullshit or otherwise...just follow with the flow...

sm, u're out of the clique... suspect your guys are lunching without u to bitch abt u... but no worries, like wat powderful suggested - buy cute biscuits. works like a dream...

mind u, i've seen pple climb the corporate ladder with cute biscuits. if u can bring home some postcards n chocolates from overseas trip - u're a definite winner. yep, i heard the Lehman ceo got a private stash of cute biscuits.

Oh, and remember to be nice and polite and friendly, hug-friendly and smiling ALL the time...

Being sarcastic, practical and tact-less is NOT the way forward in life...in fact, it's frowned upon by all nice people....

I'm really loving the way we are changing the world here....

yup, the world is so nice and dandy... i love being asked nicely to invest money into this fund tat fund by nice pple, it's ok to lose money as long as i get some of those cute biscuits... if lose money, becos they nice, i'm still happy. i dun believe in experts if they're not nice and dun offer cute biscuits... i only believe in nice pple losing my money in a nice manner...

*hugz*

Well many people will be offered cute biscuits then in the coming year when retrenchment sets in. It can be a part of the good bye package accompained with a *Hugz*

No bad feelings.

Btw food review. Juz had Nanxing steam bun in bugis. Does not taste that good...

HBH,

i seriously dun understand u... u know very well cute biscuits work, yet u go eat steam buns... i find u rather ill-disciplined and not realistic... how can u get ahead in life this way? dun u think u will lose your colleagues if they find out u're eating steam buns?

what if someone saw u and told the rest of the guys?

what if u accidentally burped and your boss recognise the smell?

maybe this will be the main reason u might not get a bonus n raise next year?

ps: u should hire a PI to check where your colleagues n boss go so that u can avoid bumping into them.

Latino u won't understand, u're not in our shoes... WE GUYS have our insecurities at work. u women will never understand.

hahah, like buying biscuits to suck up to your superior or else kena the walking certificate cos now economic downturn.

oh yes, and you guys are also afraid your ex will commit suicide... so you rather hv both gf and ex in your life. lol

But the steam buns are cute as well! Small and handmade with juices inside! So I am still in the hood of sharing the love.

On being caught yeah. Just now I was lunching with 3 ladies. I'll be damned if being seen by my colleagues. Wait. Think we better archive this page fast because my wife did not call me as I told her that I was lunching with my vendors for work discussion. I never told her that my vendors were ladies!