A Place for Singles

Don't think ban should be the word. Just control mechanism, dis-incentive for them to buy so that it is not worth it.

The malaysian govt is obviously not very good in controlling.

I believe the tariff changes on car entering malaysia (at least from sg side) is workable. For those who stay there (with sg car plate), special scheme for them - they need to prove that they are residents for eg.. for business, monthly licensing scheme...

Ask SG govt, they are very good in imposing control mechanism

For those who stay there (with sg car plate), special scheme for them - they need to prove that they are residents for eg.. for business, monthly licensing scheme...

ya lor.. thot of it too... as above u said (sm). thot of writin my comments and view on paper.
sure there's a lot of sporean suffer the problem as mine...sigh

Yeah I pro Tariff more than ban. Cos end of the day, I can still exercise my option of choice. Just that pay more or what than totally kenna shut out ba.

But of course lah... when they collect the tariffs, also dunno where it will go to and end of the day, the man on the street also might not stand to gain also Zzzzz

ZZzzZZzz...sibeh jia lat......im slouching in my chair...sitting lower n lower...after a while cannot see mi on the chair liao...i will b under the table slping...zzzzZZZzzZZz....*forcing my eyes open*

honestly Alcifer,

do u consider yourself a tourist in JB? u and your relatives and multitudes of frens and sporeans... are u spending tourist dollar?

we go there becos almost everything is cheaper. daily essentials to property... it's our average sporeans here who go there and feel richer when spending.

i never consider myself a tourist there... i dun go there to spend tourist dollar. it's Only for food once a bluemoon. that's IT. who benefits? i think we impact the price of food and daily essentials there, more than the johorians would benefit from our so-called tourist dollar.

we're pumping their petrol and enjoying their subsidies which IF it ever runs out, a small percentage was our fault. it's hard to discuss the disparity between countries and governing style... so let's look at it at the easiest point - as the man in the street.

if Johor had the stronger dollar and has a high cost of living than spore... and we're getting subsidies from Gov and these guys come over every now and then to pump our subsidised petrol, bring up the cost of our chicken rice from $3 to $5 when we're earning 1.5-2.5k a month... What measures would u expect the gov to impose.

trust me, u'll Cheer when our gov bans the johorians from coming in to enjoy the essentials... if they wanna spend at esplanade and all that i'm sure we're fine, but if they start artificially driving up the prices in toa payoh and other neighbourhood places - u'll not be too hapi.

malaysians may like welfare, but sporeans EXPECT welfare. and by the way - going there for petrol, we're forcing their gov to handout subsidies (welfare) to us... why can't they take it away? IT ISN'T our priviledge to begin with, why act like we deserve it? and we think we have a say in their policy???

that's just typical sporean ain't it? that's why i think we should seriously reflect on ourselves... we dun need to argue like lawyers when it isn't Ethically right in the first place... wat's there for us to bang table abt even if we can argue the better argument?

aiya, talking about the petrol make people pek chek nia lo..

and all the singaporean tis, malaysian tat, make me sad also.. coz i'm malaysian, and looks like malaysian is the shooting target for this issue, sad sad lo..

unfilial son, there's no nationality issues here lah, dun be sad... a number of us do have roots from msia/china/indonesia etc etc... end of the day the nationality issue shouldn't be a cause for contention.

for me i just put myself in the johorian shoes and i'd welcome the move lor...

Powder, I still see it as tourism dollar, even if it is spent on basic necessities. S'pore's version of tourism spending will be from rich Indonesians who come here for luxury shopping during GSS or Indians who come here & cart home a mini Mustafa of electrical appliances etc. However this does not exclude wat they spend on food & other basics here. If they can somehow cart home some basic necessities, even better.

But I do agree wif u tat S'poreans are exploiting the loophole in the way tat the Malaysian govt is subsidising their people. Guess their welfare system could be improved to ensure tat the rite target audience is reached. We sure dun hv any rites to complain when they are trying to fix tat loophole though. If it's all abt the petrol prices, switch to CNG cars lah. So much cheaper.

Salsa, thks har. Carry on sucking up to me. Might earn u a treat if I'm in a good mood.

well luxury n essentials quite different. flying into spore and us driving to JB also different. eating a plate of food compared with carting home a carton of cooking Oil also different.

the tourists here dun pump petrol nor cart home essentials.

Spendings are spendings. Any spendings by a tourist makes it tourism spending. I'm juz arguing abt the definition lah. It's our proximity to Malaysia tat makes carting home of basic necessities a possibility. Else it's not farfetched for our tourists to start carting home such stuff too. Besides, dun some Malaysians like to shop at Woodlands Centre as well? Tourism dollar!! Heh.

Life sucks? Foreigners suck? It's everybody else's fault except our own? Got ur gist abt the mentality of our behaviour.

Mebbe we shld play the let's-laugh-at-us-ugly-S'poreans game. Like the S'poreans who kaopeh like hell abt foreigners coming in to take over our jobs. But ask them to do the job leh? Dowan lah. Too hot/Too dangerous/Too dirty/Too tedious. Duh....

Hahaha yeah actually honestly speaking hor, powder if I go to malaysia I would really consider myself as tourist leh even JB and the money I spend I would consider tourism dollar.

Cos on my end I never believe in going in to johore just to get the petrol or buying the ciggarettes. My reason, too troublesome to do so ler and I don't see much logic in it in my view lah even I can save that few 10s of dollars... cos if I wanna drive I must be able to afford the petrol mah... imagine the time spend to drive all the way up there and down here... I feel not worth it lor.

True I also agree with that point that some might actually just go in just to enjoy their reliefs and such.... They can have other ways to deters such an action if it's impacting on their citizens. But to impose a ban is like abit... huh?

I believe that as a neighbouring state, as long as we go in no matter how and where we spend, cost of living for the area will go up ba. Same like our Sg attractions, tourist hotspots and places like orchard road, the cost of items there definitely higher than other parts of SG ba. Due to the crowd that's cater to. But we can't stop them from coming too.

My stance is the point that they take on to ban is too strong ba. At least save us some allowance and charge us tariffs. I dun mind on that or probably pay an entry to malaysia tax. It's okie with me but not like ban.... it's okie even to match up to the same price of what we are paying for in singapore...or maybe even higher to shun those cheapos off.

Or really are singaporeans that bad till the point that we have too be totally rejected outside the door? Then really quite sad leh Probably one day they might just ban us from entering to Johore due to we have better spending power? haiz.

I rem back then they were imposing entrace fee like $20 dollars or what for vehicles entering into the state or such. I would think that is a better move than now shutting the door like that.

Son nothing abt targeting at malaysians lah :D. Singaporeans also like that de haha. Like laundry mentioned when expats came, we also complaint but end of the day, it's down to us to map out our own survival :D

like u i also go as a tourist, if i go. u should see the crowds there to purchase essentials... it was one of the reasons why i stopped going JB entirely...

as for solutions, give them time to sort out... for now i guess an immediate action is better than none.

hbh,

Don't think they are going to BAN singaporeans from going to jb. For the petrol thingy it is a short term measure (while they think of better solution) but I think it is counter productive because it is not easy to enforce the ban of sale of petrol to singaporeans as there are too many loop holes.

Direct subsidies like what malaysia is doing is not a very efficient way of distributing the wealth back to the normal citizens because for things like petrol for eg, they ended up subsidizing singaporeans going there.

Yeah probably if a tempt measure okie lah. I also cannot understand why some ppl wanna chiong till there to buy the stuffs which is also available here... If it does good for their locals is okie lah but if it deprives them, then it's really sucky ler.

I juz feel that ban comes too strong ba.
Probably I should go and really open my eyes how our fellow singaporeans are behaving over there.

The one and only time I went into johore was 3 years back. Went to look for a friend for Tea and he brought us to this tree house restaurant which was very nice. The restaurant was built on the tree and they had shee sha haha.

for me i try to buy everything in spore... i feel it's my duty as a citizen here to support the local enterprises from provision shops to supermarket chains... i would rather they stay in biz than go out of biz becos ultimately i need them to stay here!

Flash IC to pump petrol! Then u will hv S'poreans trying to bribe a Malaysian into borrowing his IC. U can never win lah. There will always be loopholes. Tis I agree wif Powder. It's in our mentality to exploit. Otherwise, the Malaysian gahment will hv to swing to the other extreme & let genuine cases fall thru the cracks. Like the current ban.

Yeah SM

I feel that they have to to have a better system in place as well... and once and for all solve all the root causes lor... cause if they drag on tempt measures, end of the day they stand to lose lor...

Powder

For me is the convenience ba... and of course also supporting our own local chains if not they closed down we suck thumb ler. I wun wanna do online ordering for groccery to be ship to me haha. But I do still prefer to support my mamashop over big chains cos if my mamashop no business, there goes my convenience lol. Still I also juz did applied for a NTUC card for the mass groccery products I gonna bag home that ain't available at the mamashop. Rebate some savings.

Laundry, dun nid to flash IC ba... See the car plate can liao ba. Unless they change the car plate before driving in then really nothing to say also ler haha. Would be such a shame.

K ler. Logging off soon ler. This week just passed by so fast phew... All do have a great weekend ahead.

Cheers~

tat's true... we got chance will exploit. if we see something $50 going for $5, we more likely to buy it than ask if there's a mistake.

Morning! Monday is here again....

I felt so guilty & surprised last Friday coz din expect my boss will give me a gift on his last day.

In fact....I felt a little sad

Morning.... begining of a week of war again....

Well salsa, you can always still keep in contact with him mah hahha come out for teh bing siew dai and such :D

How can u drink teh peng siew dai?? It has to be the sweet sweet diabetic-inducing kind. Bestest.

Btw, wat does siew dai mean har? I always thot it meant less sugar, but my fren said it's to use condensed milk or something?? The blind leading the blind.

hmmmm I don't know abt that cos normally I just opt for teh peng haha. Maybe skylar or salsa will know as they had been mentioning abt it..

Anyway, I like the kopitiam terms... tiao her, tark kew, lao hor, ah huey and so on..

Hi Laundry,

Im bad with these as well. I think this may be useful for your reference.

Local names for coffee and tea
At kopi tiams, coffee and tea are usually ordered using their local names.

Coffee

Kopi, coffee
Kopi-gau, coffee (strong brew)
Kopi-C, coffee with evaporated milk
Kopi-kosong, coffee with milk and no sugar
Kopi-O, coffee with sugar only
Kopi-O-kosong, coffee without sugar or milk
Kopi-O-kosong-gau, a strong brew of coffee without sugar or milk
Kopi-bing or Kopi-ice, coffee with milk, sugar and ice
Kopi-xiu-dai, coffee with less sugar
Kopi-gah-dai, coffee with extra sweetened milk
Tea

Teh, tea with milk and sugar
Teh-C, tea with evaporated milk
Teh-kosong, tea with milk and no sugar
Teh-O, tea with sugar only
Teh-O-kosong, plain tea without milk or sugar
Teh tarik, the Malay tea described above
Teh-halia, tea with ginger water
Teh-bing, tea with ice, also known as Teh-ice
Teh-xiu-dai, tea with less sugar
Teh-gah-dai, tea with extra sweetened milk

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuisine_of_Singapore

hahaha okie mah salsa I also got keep in touch with my ex bosses one... friend friend mah :D

Laundry,

Tark Kew(Kick ball) = Milo
Lao Hor (Jit Jia) = Tiger (1 bottle)
Lao Hor Kia = Tiger Can
Orh Gao = Guiness Stout
Ong Bo = Carlsberg

Heard you love drinks. So should be familiar to you ba haha

Faint. U need a degree in kopitiam drinks identification.

Tiao her is teabag in drink. HBH, tio boh?

I only drink angmoh alcohols hor. Tis one too cheapo liao. *sneakily pushes teh-c behind my back*