A Place for Singles

My side here the farewell party starts at 5pm...
Most likely I will hang around til 6.45pm...

Looks like I might be able to join you peeps in time at 7pm....

Dunno gospels. Christmas carols can?

Joy to the World
The Donuts have come
Let Me receive the Boxxxxx...
Let e-ve-ly one, Rejoice in dough
And slimming salons sing
And slimming, and slimming salons sing.

Hahaa.. Laundry that's pretty gd.. Ya I need a slimming salon after eating all that KFC and fried goodies during lunch :P

Wow that Dizon IS HOT! That brings to the qn again why pple think Felicia is hot when she isn't even half like Dizon...

how to bbq?

So hot in the afternoon somemore.

how can. still must go down one lah.

Gotta quickly clear from my desk. Contractors are 'downgrading' my cubicle due to manpower expansion.

5th time I shifted cubicle in a year.

yawn....we kena road block.....the TP saw the gay faced driver....buy song liao.....

the driver still blew into the TP's face.....eventho' TP has not asked him to blow.

guess someone just in the mood for some blowing....

Blow blow blow...... :o

haha...ya ya...we kanna rd block, luckily i din drink any..but i was asked to switched off my fog light....aiyah, rd block should switch off one, i forgotten

n about the blow part..i m just too eager to blow..LOL

hahaha... ah siao, so the TP didn't ask you to 'blow' but you are too eager to do it cos you want to show TP that you didn't drink??? aiya, you really live up to your name leh... AH SIAO !!! :P wahahaha

talking about fog light. This is something I don't understand. I always use the fog light than the main headlights because they shines on the road and not the driver in front.

This regulation needs to be reviewed. How can the fog light cause glare? The angle isn't at the driver.

at certain distances, u cannot see a car behind if only the foglights are engaged. i believe if any statement is made about glaring, then it's more for the SUVs which are higher off the ground

hi bro,

glaring is the reason why flog lights can only be switched on in bad weather. It is a generic regulation and not something specific to SUVs.

And on SUVs, the headlights are still more glaring than the fog lights.

So this entire reasonal against the use of fog lights in singapore is really uncalled for. And the reason given, totally stupid.

Izit possible to replace my laptop DC power jack myself? Or safer to bring back to manufacturer? Acer's at Boon Lay leh!! Faint. Hyperventilating while seeing my battery run low low low.

I'm gonna kill my dog!! She thinks my laptop looks better on the floor & pulled it off the table!!

Well, Laundry, you can always consult our resident SB IT expert...powder...

But if you are willing to settle for lesser advice...

When you said laptop DC powder jack...you mean the power cord thingy with the ac adapter thingy right?
Easier way is to go SLS (or Sim Lim Square for the less IT inclined) to get a compatible second hand power adaptor...

Or another faster way will be to get powder to go down your place to repair it for you...He's good with IT stuff, electronics and such...

Latino, ya lor, i m eager to show the police tat i din drink!!..he asked whether i got drink or not, i was tempted to tell him i drank 2L of fruit juice instead!!..keke

well sg law states tat unless police announce tat fog light can be switched on due to poor weather, drivers are not supposed to swtich on..but seriously, many pple are doing tat n most of the time the police will just tell u to switch off, wont fine u wan lar..

Powder, help!! (If u need to ask for IT advice from ur fren to reply me, I promise not to tell.)

It's not the power cord thingy with the AC adapter tat's spoilt leh. It's the power socket in my laptop. The pin inside broke. My laptop has gone into a coma liao. Battery died and I can't charge. It needs surgery for sure. Muz open up to do a transplant one.

hi Laundry,

how is the pin broken inside?

Do you mean that the pin on socket on your notebook has came off and is attached to the plug on the adapter? If so, you will need to replace the socket in your notebook. It will require soldering.

If its under warranty, please do go back to the agent. But if the warranty has expired, you can try your luck at sim lim. If you want to DIY, open up and find the part you need to replace and try to find it from Sim Lim Tower.

But if what you mean is that the adapter is broken with part of it in your notebook, all you need is a pincer to carefully remove it. Then, you can quite easily find a matching replacement plug for the adaptor.

Yup, the pin in the socket of my laptop is broken. Not entirely. Hanging loose inside, but not attached to the plug on the adapter. Meaning it needs soldering? Haiz... Think I better make the trek to the West. I definitely have to replace the socket. Juz dun feel up to it to do IT surgery. I managed to crash Win2k b4 last time. Which according to my IT fren is 1 heck of an achievement. :P

not that i dun wanna help but i can't, typically the simple IT stuff is handled by powderful... if it's the super duper complicated thing then i step in...

hi Laundry,

yeah. even if it is not entirely broken, the contact is surely bad. It can trig a short circuit or something. Then, it will not be just a replacement of a small part but maybe the entire board.

The socket is soldered onto your notebook board. You definitely need someone experienced to do the 'surgery'.

Laundry,

Wah, then a bit of problem liao...
Better to go Acer to fix it...anything that involves the unit's parts and components better dont involved our resident IT expert, powder...

Even though his standing's in the IT industry is illustratious...it might voided the warranty of the laptop...

And hor, power unit not cheap hor...if I were you, I will drop a call to Acer to check on the possible replacement costs before making the trip down...

Powder, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong in any way...I cower before your IT knowledge...

Petty. Can handle complicated stuff but dun wanna get hands dirty wif simple IT stuff. Anyway, it needs soldering. Watever tat means. Complex leh.

I miss my laptop. Sob.. Had to come home & wrestle my sis off the comp, juz to get back online.

powderful,

the term IT knowledge is too vast lah.

you ask someone experienced in SAP or database, he may know nuts about electronics. A java developer knowing nothing about firmware and OS coding or SQL filtering or stored procs optimization and vice visa.

The scope is simply too big. Some IT graduates may not even experienced in assembling a PC before. Let alone play with the internals of a notebook and replacing electronic parts.

In fact, an electronic engineer or a factory operator might have more necessary skillset than an IT guru.

Har? Tat small part cost a lot?? No warranty liao leh.

Btw, Milo, can u pls drop by longer next time a not? I dun think u spoke more than 10 sentences on Fri & it was all directed to siao.

the movies have alot to blame for the misconception of IT gurus.

In the movies, he is like a electronic faith healer that is able to crack into anything as long as he can attach some electronic device to 'link' up to the system or have a portable input device such as a keyboard where he will type like in hundreds of words per minute and then miracles will happen.

Milo, I was taking the piss out of powder lah...If he's the IT guru, then we should be living in Stone Age era liao...

As for Laundry...be warned...lots of alcohol required...

Morning morning!!!!!

Hup day today.....

In case....jus in case.....i am too happy going ard chatting with colleagues.....here wishing everyone....MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS!

i am going off at 1pm....

zzzzzzz....1st thing in the morning...boss already asking for this, for tat.... *yawn*
no mood to work.....i juz want to go home.

morning........me off today, but came back office to send a report to HQ...will be going for car inspection later..but 1st must demod my white light...keke

Good morning!!!!!!!!!!

Wahhh.. It Eve!! kekeke..

Where are all the langs ah? ya lor.. Salsa,.. whaha.. got pple nearly kena to blow ah.. whahah. then I tell Ah siao to tell the TP, I charge for blowing leh.. ekekke..

Milo,
nice mtg u though it was brief, heng I nv lay my hands on ur Gunners shirt . .. keke..

Man U won!!! YES!!! It was a given Pen man!