A Place for Singles

Hey Latino, depends on what u intend to do lor. If u want to shop and eat, BKK and HK are good choices. If u want somewhere more laid back or cultural, HCM is not bad. Why dun u surf Lonely Planet's webby and read up what u can do in these places before u decide?

Latino,

go for HCMC!! kekeke.. coz to me I think BKK & HK quite common leh.. i mean nothing much there but for shopping lor.. keke.. but then again it is up to you man!!

Can tabao me in ur luggage bor? eekekeke..

eh skylar, hv you been to HCMC b4? quite interesting, machiam SIN in the 70s.. hahaha.

doing research now, think at the end of the day, my friend might want to go to HKG. anyway still not decided.

skylar, i will tabao you if you can fit in my suitcase...wahaha

i read that thread. actually dont quite understand. this guy misses his kids so much...so share here. i read...then asked myself "so then what". sorry, i abit blur liao.

wHAHAA..
ya lor.. i also have the same thinking as u all..

he say he cannot say much so just read.. whahaha.. then we just read ah?? he trying to create a new hit list on his blog izzit?

Did any of u saw the news yesterday?? abt the woman who died in the hospital after giving birth to a pair of twins due to the reason they dun hva enuf blood for her?? Gosh.. but the news nv say which hosptial leh.. kekek..

Wahh lau eh.. Siao..

Its in SINGAPORE ah.. that is why it was soo shocking to me man!!

Salsa,
u also post the clip the same time I ask abt it..

damn jialatz hor?

Wow... s**t!!! THis is serious... looks like the hospital and blood bank got a lot of explaining to do. C-section is really risky sometimes. I was born thru C-section and like this woman who died, my mum also lost a lot of blood, until 2 of her brothers had to donate in emergency procedure. Nowadays got a lot of women opt for C-section, I dun think it's wise lor unless they really cannot give birth naturally.

Ggal...
ya lah.. but hor.. although there are risk but still the hospital cannot liddat mah.. damn jialatz man.. really wonder what went wrong here.. gosh.. it seems like the News purposely skip mentioning abt the hospital name too!

I think still under investigation cos this is v serious, so they cannot reveal too much info. Imagine they say it's XYZ hospital... surely ALL the patients will shun that hospital liao!! Think the doctors involved will kena big time..

i think tis news will shoot all the way up to MOH..hope they find out wat went wrong n no more mishap in the future..

we always brand ourself top in medical n trying to attract rich int patients..tis kinda thing cannot happen for watever reason

ya lor.. Siao eh.. thot alot of those rich indonesians come here for ops man..keeekke..

Ggal..
its true leh... if we do know wat hospital that is ah.. all sure will siam that hospital liao..

Latino..
man... that guy dunno real anot leh.. ekeke.. but me also dunno how to help him leh.. must get the guys here to go over liao.. ekkkee.

skylar,

ya lor...lotsa rich indo pple come here..we also attracting rich middle east pple..hence tis case will come under thorough investigation one.cos it will hurt our brand serverly..

yah....purposely dun mention which hosp

but my fren was telling me....some forumers in the Mothers To Be thread are saying is raffles.

Dun make sense to me. The patient is losing blood....and they have to get mgmt's approval 1st?

Ya lor.. it was not reported in the major papers lor... but it is definitely locally leh.. but think they dare not comment on which is the hospital atm ..

sooner or later lah.. it will report the news one..

I also think it's sg cos u can see the typical HDB block where they held the wake, and the green rubbish bin... definitely sg. Dunno when will they report the full news?

It's Raffles Hospital. Mother warded last Thursday. She was bleeding already since Thursday. Emergency op took place on Sunday (I think, if not, then Saturday). Private hospitals are not the best places for emergencies. They don't have access to top expertise. The support staff aren't used to emergencies. The hospital probably could not get sufficient blood from the blood bank. That's why had to ask relatives to donate. The mother was 44.

Blood bank itself is facing very very low stores of AB and O blood groups. Almost at crisis levels already. A and B low but still managable. Not sure if it's related to the present dengue problem cos dengue patients need tranfusions if critically ill.

Wah then me and my hb better go and donate lor... But my hb is afraid of the needle... :P

Gosh if it's RH, that's a big deal... they were previously heralded as a top notch hospital for performing the separation op on the Nepalese siamese twins? Now this...

It's very natural to be scared of needles. I'm terrified of them but donated close to 30 times already. Each time I go, I just don't look. Even the nurses don't know why I'm scared since I've been donating for so many years.....

my husband is doctor.. but not in RH... I know about the situation at blood bank, cos I'm regular donor. They sent me sms to go down to donate - but I can't cos I just donated in early June... Must wait 11 to 12 weeks from last donation for next donation. I think blood bank has been sending out mass smses to their donors. Or maybe someone just forwarded their appeal sms to me? Dun know.

OIC.. I was a regular donor while in uni but stopped many yrs cos it's not convenient for me to go to the blood bank. If there's a roadshow, I may go. But I'm slightly anemic so I only donate a small pack each time. I am not afraid of needles at all..except maybe the epidural type :P

I think a problem with lay persons like us is we just recognise the brand name of the hospital. The doctor who did the emergency operation may not have much expertise in emergency operations. I think skills are very specialised. Someone who is very good at A, may be hopeless at B.

Also, most private hospitals are just not known to be able to cope well in emergencies. The blood bank guards its blood reserves very very jealously. Must have very good reasons to release the blood. I'm not sure if hospitals actually borrow blood from one another in times of need. I know this borrowing is done in other countries.

My sister-in-law's friend was expecting twins. Her company has fantastic maternity benefits.. cover every single dollar from time of pregnancy to delivery. In the end, she chose KKH! Not private hospital. Her reason was that if have emergency, she will trust KKH more. My sister-in-law who works in same company chose Mount Alvernia and couldn't understnad why her friend chose KKH... I also couldn't until I realise govt hospitals are better at emergencies.

KKH is the only local hospital which can perform a crash C-section (emergency procedure) in under 3 minutes. This is important cos it shows they can safely take out a baby in the event of emergency within that amount of time.

haha! I'm like you, then, G-gal. I only donate the 300ml and not the 450ml. I tend to feel faint if I donate the 450ml. Tried it 3 times, Felt faint twice. So gave up. My weight is borderline at 49kg-50kg... so these days just donate 300ml to avoid embarresing myself at the blood bank post-donation. I work in raffles place area so on Fridays after work, I pop by the blood bank at Outram. Quite convenient for me cos blood bank closes at 8pm on Fridays.

Hmm.. thanks for the info on public vs private hospitals. I wld prefer Mt A if I have kids next time since I was born there, but maybe KKH is not a bad idea.

Well, I din just feel faint, but I really fainted! In one of the schools' canteens :P Quite a malu-ing exp.

so its Raffles ah.. jialatz liao they all.. kekek..

Ggal..
very soon the news will be out le ba.. maybe tonite? see how lor..

Cactus,
u say for blood donation, after u donate liao must wait for 11-12 weeks before the next donation.. got so long wait meh? I thot abt 1 mth can liao... that is like about 4 weeks leh.. coz I used to donate blood too..

Woah! I am a Mt A baby too! I still have that t-shirt saying "I'm a Mt Alvernia baby!" haha!!
So much for coincidence!

I think for normal pregnancies, it is okay to go to a private hospital. But if it is a complicated or high risk pregnancy, the best is to go to KKH. Although no frills there, you can be sure that you have the best care (esp if you stay in A or B1 wards). I know that full teams of staff in govt hospitals are sent overseas for training regularly. I mean, not just the doctors, but doctors, nurses, support staff. If you are talking about doctors' expertise, you can safely request for any consultant or senior consultant. If you go to private hospital, it is best if you have a personal recommendation.

hi skylar,

Yeah. It is a 11-12 week interval. Strictly speaking, blood bank will request 12 week interval, but they won't reject you if you are 11 week old and your iron level is normal. I've done it before.

The 1 month interval is for platelets only. Whole blood is definately 11 to 12 weeks. At least, in Singapore lah.

Haha.. ah siao.. u Man leh.. I dunno why guys are more scared of blood and needles than gals?? My hb will feel woozy if he sees blood!

Maybe cos men don't see blood as frequently as women? Hmm.. I think fear of blood is "taught". Cos from young, we associate blood with pain. My husband is not scared of blood but but is very scared of needles poking him.