A Place for Singles

haha let's spice it up with a 欠æ‰é—®ç­”题.

which type of people will not be hired to work at a petrol kiosk? (gotta think in chinese lah)

RaRa me not good w riddles :P esp CHinese ones

Ya it's just me la.. feeling a bit demoralised lately... But I shall try to look on the bright side.

Skylar, ya the dinner is on 13 July.

but venue is not central right?

No fun one...

A: 油腔滑调的人.

Rara..
whahahaaa... give u face.. dun liddat say lah.. kekek..

I might not be able to join in for next Fri outing le.. coz I forgot it is one of my frd's b'day. kkeke.. Will hv to confirm again ltr..

Hi peeps, Hope you don't mind me gate crashing in here again. I'm hoping for some objective advice and I feel this thread invites the most mature thinking individuals on this forum... so hope to get your views on something.

I was recently offered a job at a slight pay cut from my present job. I find it tempting cos there is more work life balance and I feel I need this type of work life in order to prolong my work span.. cos my current job is way too hetic and stressful. It comes to a point when my marriage may be strained at times.

The only consideration I have is that I will have to give up my bonus in my present job and it amounts to about 3 months' salary... quite alot of money if you ask me....

My husband thinks it is a good deal but he is a bit heart pain over the bonus and asked if I can move only next year. The answer is tough. The vacancy may be filled by next year by another person. I'm not sure what to do now.

Hey cactus, what's 3 mths' salary if u can enjoy a better quality of life, If u DUN NEED that bonus to survive on or if that lack of bonus doesn't change ur current lifestyle, then just go for it.

Initially, the plan for me is to stick it out in my current job until I can't take it anymore.. then resign. Then stay at home to look after husband/kids. But I feel if I take on this job offer, it may actually lengthen my work life... cos it is way less stressful. And I can contribute financially to our marriage much more (in terms of quantum over a longer period of time).

Initially, my husband just asked me to stay on in my present job till Dec 08 and gave me his blessings to resign after I get the Dec 08 bonus, in Jan 09.... that is the most ideal situation, cos we need to accumulate a certain amount of savings together before we can be more comfortable. Barring resignation after Dec 08, the next best is to resign after I get Dec 07 bonus.. but this job offer won't wait for me...

cactus, I agree with ggal. forgo the 3 months bonus if it is a better job. But you have to evaluate properly if it is really a better job so that you won't feel shortchanged if it turns out the other way.

Put it this way. One-time money (bonus) can always be earn in other ways.

G-gal, my aim is to accumulate as much cash as I can within my working life... so relieve my husband as much burden as possible... I feel responsible to contribute as much as possible... so the bonus matters to me in that sense... my husband set a target for us to reach.. but we can only achieve that accumulated savings by Dec 08 if I continue in my present job WITH Dec 07 bonus....

If I quit now, I will lose the Dec 07 bonus, have a slightly lower pay (about $1k lower) but in exchange, I am likely to have a longer work life ... longer work life at a lower pay may still mean higher accumulated savings for my husband and I....

so there's uncertainity and I dislike uncertainty. sigh.

And today is bloody hot.

But I did a nice thing - went to fetch my 2nd daughter from school - she was suprised and brought her out for lunch.

sm,
it's not a "better" job. It's definately not as "prestigious" as what I'm doing now... it's very much behind the scenes type. I tell people the designation. they go "huh?" type of job. But it guarantees me 9 to 530pm on weekdays only, no travelling on work, no last minute cancellation of leave plans, no night conference calls.... all these things plauged me in my present job. The prospect of this job offer also not that great. No future type. But it is work life balance loh.

cactus - just readjust your target - having a longer work life and possibly less stressful worklife - it just means the target will be dec 09 or 10 instead or something like that.

Anyway what is savings target? You are still young and there is no need to give yourself undue pressure. Think long term.

What's ur financial goal? Let's say u take that more senang job w less pay but u strike ToTo?? Kekeke.. ok.. joking.

Seriously, I never think a job is worth sacrificing my sanity and health for, much less my marriage or family life. It's up to u.

SM - Yeah... I'll have a more indepth chat with my husband tonight regarding the savings target.

G-gal -
nice thought.. strike toto! anywayz, you are right on those points. I'll discuss more indepth with husband. The job offer took me by surprise. I didn't even scout around for it... so I'm caught in a state of shock still. I've always wanted work life balance.. but didn't think it would be at the expense of bonus..

Or you have a more stressful job and you are are struck with some diseases - really not worth it.

Recently there was a young woman who died suddenly - she has been working non-stop on her computer for 8 hours and she just collapsed.

Recently I also turn down a job posting overseas - it could bring me much more money - but I don't want to leave my children in SG - so money can't buy me those happy moments with my kids.

cactus, i would choose to leave. money can be earned as long as you hv health. it might be heart pain, but you want a balance right? sometimes you hv to give some to gain some.

in your new job, you may accumulate happiness and peace of mind..this is intangible wealth already.

nothing in life is perfect. just our choices.

your 3 months bonus at the end of yr?

i mean if you really wanna change your job.. just do it lor.. no point waiting and waiting.. then it goes back to square one

Sm, Latino, Cecilia:

Thanks very much for your input. I think I already knew what my heart wanted.. but I feel heart pain that the savings target my husband set for us will probably take a bit longer to reach.. and I'm also scared that I may not adapt well to my new job cos it calls for new skills (although the potential boss seems to have great confidence in me... dun know why also..
) Ultimately, I need to talk to my husband and see how he feels about it....

Latino - I like what you said about having to give some to gain some. You are right. We can't have everything go our way in life. I should be grateful that such a chance fell onto my lap...

I was telling myself just last week, if I have to resign cos I can't take the pressure, then I will just have to give tuition to earn $ cos I can't do anything else... I was that desperate... cos my husband means the world to me and he rarely sets targets for us...

cactus, i was in your position before many years ago. i chose to leave. i followed my heart rather than regret later. i told myself whatever consequences to my choice, i know i hv tried.

money can be made as long as you hv the health and attitude. skills can be picked up.

you are still young, give it a try and dont turn back. and you are lucky the potential boss thinks so highly of you. that's a plus already.

keep us updated. good luck!

Thanks for your encouragement, Latino!
I had a chat with my husband last night. He was positive about the job offer, but told me to speak to my parents and an older relative who has more experience. My parents are encouraging.. but have yet to speak to my relative... so will probably make the decision after that. But it seems that I'll be following my heart, like you, latino.

good morning! having breakfast now.. fried rice with sunny side up and kopEE... yum yum...

cactus, but i dun understand why your job offer is lower than what u are getting now. i tot the market is good? are there any prospects in the job offer? actually now u can take your time to choose a job... plenty out there

Morning! Today I no gahment. Boss not in office. Later shall go for long long lunch & buy Toto. & of coz it's a beautiful day. I'm flying off on Sat. Yay!

Eh Ceci, ur breakfast always very disgusting one. So heavy!

Laundry, going off on Sat, then coming back when? IN time for the outing or not?

Gahment or not.. I still nua in the office.. sian man...

laundry... cos i eat like a pig.. haha! last night i had teochew porridge as supper, and ate 4 durian seeds and went to sleep immediately... wake up feeling hungry... think my system haywire liao... i going off tmr.. keke... where u going??

i everyday also no gahment la.. kekeke

Coming back on Wed. U wanna come fetch me har?

Ceci, I going Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. Wanna know which resort? Heheh.

Today I'm the biggest in the office. All the directors went for a conference. My boss asked me to hold the fort for the dept. Yarrrite.. Hold the fork more like it.

hi ceci,

The job offer will cut my pay by $1k.And I'll have to forgot this year's Dec bonus... which amounts to over $20k...but the thing is I'm going to a different line of work... so pay definately cut even though I have the same set of skills. In return for lower pay, I get much better and predictable working hours.no travelling too.

Frankly speaking, I don't think there are any prospects in this job offer.. but then again, it doesn't matter to me.. cos my husband's plan was for me to stop work when kids come our way..so it doesn't matter that no prospect.

i can fit into small la... i eat a lot but shit a lot also lor... one meal in one meal out... whahahaha!!!

laundry go where? indonesia got nice resort ah?

Actually, my present boss has promised me increment of $500 next year. And a prospect to have a big increment in May 09... these are things I will have to forgot if I take up the new job. My presnet boss doesnt' know I intend to leave yet. It's just as part of the system here in the company where there is constant feedback to employees...

The job market is very good now... but this job offer is in a niche area... very few vacancies.. and no advertisement for it. THis area only started in 2002 in Singapore... so very few people have found jobs in it cos few vacancies... I believe I can get better paying job elsewhere doing what I do now.. but no point cos the hours are terrible and stress level is very high. That's why I am seriously considering this job offer cos it is really work life balance. Where else can I find something with less stress, strict work hours, new boss even tell me it's a good place to be in if I want to have kids! Just for slightly less pay and no bonus this year.

Morning peeps!!

Wahh.. all talking abt sinful makan ah.. keke..

TOTO!!! tmr is the big draw rite? Winner shall be me!! kekeke...