A Place for Singles

hi Lina,

definitely remember u, but topic-wise i'm getting abit old liao...

being motivated definitely helps, cos why shuld we not be? we're young, we're healthy, we've got a whole Life ahead to be involved in a dynamic society of Tiffany, Fendi, Casinos, Condos, GST, ERP etc etc... we're part of the Action!

definitely will be mind over matter once u're motivated n excited by the prospect of being Involved... and if u see that your goals are achieveable and are being met, gradually getting easier n easier...

life sucks only if we have no direction. i gave another career talk to an old buddy of mind and he was motivated... he was just a regular guy in a rgular job working the regular long hours hoping for the same regular thing of being rewarded with promotion and increment. basically i told him regular stuff get u regular pay... it's the irregular pay that motivates pple... and if u want irregular pay, u cannot be doing regular stuff... so of cos if u're in your comfort zone with regularity... then be prepared to suffer in time to come becos our country no longer rewards loyalty... but innovation. i believe he will be tendering his resignation this week.

last week has been abt career talks, with 3 close buddies... i'm always motivated when it comes to Life n building Life... which needs Money. i'm motivated becos i wanna change my life, and pple's lives... and i'll only speak when i know a person is in the right frame of his life to listen. else de-motivated pple can't wait to walk away and dispel u... becos pple who are not motivated prefer to remain as they are becos they dun have to do anything, so dun wanna hear anything either.

powder, think u can consider a side line in motivational talks/seminars ;) Pple like Antony Robins are making big bucks from such talks and get invited to meet the who's whos... But then, normal folks like us prolly wun be able to pay to attend such talks :P

Acherly hor, do such motivational talks work? I'd probably get a high for a day or two mebbe. Then slink back into nuah mode again. :P Guess the circumstances tat build u up to the person u are today varies from people to people. But for me, it'll never work if I'm not motivated internally myself.

I guess it works if u allow ur mind to be open to the possibilities. I'm not motivated when things remain the same/status quo.. I think I'm a bit "itchy backside".. I am excited by change. Maybe that's why I haven't stayed at any job for more than 3 yrs :P I get bored too easily doing the same old things.

hi G,

actually tat's wat i was doing before i came into my current industry... and it's really great to make a difference in pple's lives, to give them no reason not to believe in themselves... the rewards comes from seeing them successful in their own right... not all are millionaires but most are happy and highly motivated. i'll prob go into that after retirement, cos if u wanna reach out to the professionals who are getting nowhere, u need your life as a testimonial... well i still get invites to give some talks here and there, am currently thinking if i can afford the time.

sporeans are a funny lot, they want u to prove yourself before they listen... and when u have proven yourself, they will think it's becos u are lucky, u happen to grab the right opportunity blah blah... just look at some of the threads... u get alot of pple trying to 'kill n de-motivate' themselves by rtelling themselves that family n love comes first... the intangible stuff, u know? it's asif motivated individuals who strive to reach the top must sacrifice all these, and can't do it concurrently. so pple take comfort by telling themselves tat money is not as impt as happiness. they separate the 2 and think that these 2 entities cannot co-exist side by side. a Huge Lie.

powder, maybe it's cos to the asian, esp chinese, the belief is that u shld 1st æˆå®¶then 立业?I agree that most times we're our own greatest obstacles, but it's also a result of peer/family influence to go the "slow and steady" way. Unfortunately, your idea of an irregular kinda job to earn an irregular pay may not be accepted by a lot of pple, esp the older generations who believe in job loyalty, slow but steady climb up the corporate ladder (best if it's a govt job for the legendery iron rice bowl) and being 脚è¸å®žåœ°.

Whahaaha... Powderful, why u hi & bye ah? I was still thinking that you are gg to bring on the harp thingy again.... zzzz

Talk about such talks/seminars ah.. they are not cheap man.. some are indeed really very X but how true izzit that it can fully inspire & motivate you? hmmm...

agree G, (hope the rest dun mind me talking such things)

i always re-iterate... look at the 40yr-olds and the 50yr-olds of today... look at your managers and supervisors... the pple whose position u would like to be in... look at their freakin Pay... so simple - is that the pay u Really Want? if answer is NO, then what the hell u doing - sitting where u are sitting... what are u hoping for? what are u working for? if we like to talk about looking for a purpose to our lives, then why aren't we looking for a purpose to our jobs too? which makes up at least 50% of our life n time.

basically simple common sense things... nothing special nor needs alot of brainpower.

i have a very Powerful Phrase that can only be said in Mandarin... maybe later will need u to help me coin them... with this phrase, it can change our lives...

i just made a very harse decision yesterday so today i must look ahead positively.

powder, how to be motivated? can you pls elaborate further. i want to go if you giving talk. when????

ggal, you know me very well.

eh powder, pls pls tell.

JOKE FOR A BLUE BLUE MONDAY!!!

A woman brought a very limp duck into a veterinary surgery. As she laid her pet on the table, the vet pulled out his stethoscope and listened to the bird's chest. After a moment or two, the vet shook his head and said sadly,

"I'm so sorry, Quacky has passed away."

The distressed owner wailed, "Are you sure?"

"Yes, I'm sure. The duck is dead," he replied.

"How can you be so sure," she protested. "I mean, you haven't done any testing or anything. He might just be in a coma or something."

The vet rolled his eyes, turned and left the room, returning a few moments later with a black Labrador. As the duck's owner looked on in amazement, the dog stood on his hind legs, put his front paws on the examination table and sniffed the duck from top to bottom. He then looked at the vet with sad eyes and shook his head. The vet patted the dog and took it out, and returned a few moments later with a beautiful cat. The cat jumped up on the table and also sniffed delicately at the bird. The cat sat back on its haunches, shook its head, meowed softly and strolled out of the room.

The vet looked at the woman and said, "I'm sorry, but as I said, this is most definitely, 100% certifiably, a dead duck." Then the vet turned to his computer, hit a few keys and produced a bill which he handed to the woman.

The duck's owner, still in shock, took the bill. "£150!" she cried."£150 just to tell me my duck is dead?!"

The vet shrugged. "I'm sorry. If you'd taken my word for it, the bill would have been ?20, but what with the Lab Report and the Cat Scan.........

My lunch is usually highly predictable one :P I eat mostly to live.. haha.. But today I had chicken spaghetti from a halal western stall in the food court. Too much black pepper till my tongue felt a bit numb >.< After that went to pay a cc bill.

ah siao, u must tan every week??? That's bad for the skin leh... heard of photo aging??

g gal, never heard of tat leh.but ya i know bad for skin...so if tan also half n hr the most..

sigh..i think i getting bit.errr..fat!!!

ah siao, photo aging means the sun's UV rays will break down the skin cells and collagen which makes our skin firm.. so the skin loses firmness and will have wrinkles and age spots (è€äººæ–‘)lor. Remember to put on sun screen on ur face and body when sun tanning..

errr..i never put anything wor..i just lie on the bench n tan!!!..but as said, i also understand the harm, so i will tan only for a short time..i dun wanna chao lao also..

yeah make sure you put lots of suntan lotion. if not you will be like me with all the age spots. got to spend lots of money to treat it some more ... sigh

Why did u fire that staff? Not doing her work well or what? I agree no one is indispensable but sometimes need to be sensitive to the staff also and understand what's making them perform below par.

Latino,

if fire then dun look back, dun feel sad... they may not be good enough for u that's why u fire them... but aren't u indirectly giving them a chance to explore places where they can be good? it needs your sacking to tell them that they are no good, or if their attitude is wrong... that's prob the best thing u can do for them - to show them the true meaning of consequences...

sleepy after lunch.. went stamford house had the japanese curry rice... something on a boring monday to perk me uP!

latino, no need think la... must be real terok then u fire... u can't be charity also...i believe every staff must earn his or her keep and value for being in a job...

wah powder, thanks, you so comforting. that what i told one of them. maybe there is a better boss out there. one who will treat her better. my expectations too high...sigh

latino I think if u have done ur part as a boss ie counselled ur staff, give them 2nd chance, then no need to regret firing them liao. It's prolly a good thing for her to go and seek out what she really wants to do. Maybe this job is not the best fit so she can't give her best also.

Siao eh..
u wanna tan till dark dark like african ah? ekekek..

Latino,
ya lor since u fired liao.. so no pt looking back ah.. kekek.. just employ another one lor

ah siao the self tanning no good ah? i nvr use before.. so i dunno.. i rather go under the sun.. also very long nvr sun tan liao.. but my laser marks not yet recovered full.

okie, me got some help from G...

something i've learnt in life...

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">如果你习惯åšä½ ä¹ æƒ¯åšçš„事,你就会得到你习惯得到的东西(æˆæžœ)...

如果你è¦å¾—到你还没得到的东西(æˆæžœ),你就è¦åšä½ ä¸ä¹ æƒ¯åšçš„事,你就è¦<font size="+2">改å˜...</font></font></font>