A compilation of hidden costs

litace

To all my frenz out there! NORMALLY CONTRACTOR DON CHARGE FOR CHEMICAL OR ACID WASH! ASK UR DESIGNER FOR FREE! LOOK AT THE QUOTATION WHETHER THEY GT CHARGE U! BARGAIN WIF THEM

afcai

Yeah, agreed that ACID WASH s free of charge. Open eyes BIG BIG before sign the agreement to see there's hidden or extra charges, if yes, can question the contractor.

p2me1a

one of the biggest "hidden costs" is that of electrical costs - some IDs/contractors just don't quote them in their quote at all! they say "depends on how many lighting points u want" then they dun suggest and dun quote... *duh*

hey you guys know the approx cost of stuff like "shower kerb" and "kitchen cabinet, fridge & washing machine cement base tiled" ??? Notice that different designers give different amt... can be quite a huge range...

pst

afcai

Hi pst,
agreed on that, my electrican charged me $80 for connecting two electrical point- one re-routed and one additional point added in. another service he provided it to connect the display cupboard light. it's kind of expensive.

Here is the price I paid:
fridge & washing machine cement base tiled: $250( whether one do one type or both also charge the same) for mine, I did only the washing machine sement based tile and reconnect my draining pipe to other side.

I did not do any shower kerb cos my bathrm have already have it.

p2me1a

hi guys...

thanks for your replies...

have been doing my studies and seeing many quotes... the cheapest I have seen for shower kerbs are 50 each, and the most expensive at $150. ridiculous right? think it's all these little things that add up lor...

me still doing my study on the cement base for w/m, fridge and kit cabinet... hehehe...

think it's very impt to get many IDs quotes... me see all the frens' quotes, can see who got taken for a ride - me also heart pain for them... but of course I din tell them lah - tell already also no use, they already do and pay already... happy can already...

pst

puffrock

hi pst, can you give me the contact of the contractor which you surveyed that can give the cheapest quote for kerbs or flooring etc?

p2me1a

hi esther yeo,

can gimme your email address? I email u an excel list...

pst

fun_lover

hi all>>

i think u all should not just look and compare with the quotations only lor... i heard from a friend tat sometimes they quote u cheap cheap here, but can be another item quote higher... there are also other things to note, as in terms of materials used and additional gadgets that the ID is giving...
if pricing is the uptmost priority, then should not look for Interior Design Firms but contractors... but nevertheless, there might be still some unlucky ones with contractors quoting them HIGH and ridiculous pricing with sub-standard work(great heartpain by then)

So what i suggest is tat to look for A Reliable Source and go for a Reliable Person to do the job. Design and Experience from the ID also play an important part. If you feel that the person that u have been liasing is sincere and u comfortable with him/her,just follow your heart and stop other comparisions and drilling and BE HAPPY DURING the whole reno process and trust yourself and the person/firm u have invested in...

p2me1a

hey yeah yipee is totally right... these IDs and contractors have a lot of tricks up their sleeves one... so you must be careful, if possible, take a bit of time and trouble to really source out a few firms, get quotes, see their recently done units etc...

For us, most of those I even considered is all friends' recommendations. As in, I have already seen these IDs/contractors' work coz they did our friends'/relatives' place - AND my friends/relatives did NOT have any problem working with them... think this is the best way to do it. What I did was to ask all my frens who have new place and ask them how they find their ID/contractor - if they're pleased with their service then they will recommend them, if not, they won't. I have frens, when I ask, they'd say like: "oh, I wun recommend my ID to you, we had a horrible time with them". some might say: "they okaaaaay lah... not bad lor... BUT this this this could have been better"... ah... then u make your own judegment call lor... For us, only when our frens go :"yah yah! you call this number and look for ... very good very good" AND we like the look and quality of the finishes of their house THEN we approach the IDs...

and most of all, you MUST MUST MUST be comfortable with the ID/contractor you talk to. This one very subjective one. The same guy that your best friend likes, you may think is irritating like hell. hahahhaa...

oh, and we also thot that contractors are cheaper. so we went to get quotes from two - erm... not cheap lor, our highest quote in fact. but then again, maybe so happen that we chanced upon the more expensive contractors...

anywayz, I think you get the point lah huh. PLEASE DO YOUR HOMEWORK. dun simply depend on comments on this forum. it's a lot of hard work -but it's definitely worth it!

good luck gals! check your mail box!

pst

waterbibi

Hi pst!

I have received your email...i don't have excel at home so i can't view at the moment

Many thanks for your email.I really appreciate it!

cassie

hi pst,

could you share your research with me as well? i just spoke to a contractor over the weekend and think we're getting fleeced. overhauling just our kitchen and two bathrooms will cost $14K, and that's not even including carpentry! thanks so much. [email protected]

zec

just notice abt tis hot topics hehehe
mine is a premium flat....1 of the item my id quote me, $250 "to supply n lay cabinet/fridge base"....does it mean all the sand n cement included??

another item...kiv.."hauladge n debris disposal fees(collect by town council)... tis means i will be paying to the town council??

tink will ask my id every single detail wen i meet him b4 signing the contract....

afcai

Hi Zec,
maybe u check it out with HDB too whether yr premium flat is required to pay hauladge n debris disposal fees since you are not doing any flooring. better to check it out with other contractor too, do they charge the same price etc.

zec

hi afcai....tink its bcause of my cabinet fridge base wich b using cements n sand....but tat onli small amt i guess compared to those reno standard house

hehe will get him xplain every single detail hehehe

afcai

Hi Zec,
I did up my washing machine base for $150 which include the 're-wire' of the washing machine pipe hole.

my contractor charge $250 for washing machine/fridge base.maybe call HDB to check out if ther eis a need to pay the fees.it's no lost asking more questions.

miralyn

I'm planning to hack my resale 4rm flat kitchen & toilets only. Does haulage & debris charges apply to my case?

Any idea my hacking should cost how much??

p2me1a

hey guys,

one word of advice yeah, no matter whether it is before or after you sign contract with an ID. whatever your ID tells you - just write it down. ask specific questions like what the pricing includes and just write every bl**dy thing down.

luckily I have this habit of noting down everything u see - we never imagined how important it'd be! so many things our ID tell us "all included" etc - then in the end say "oh I say that meh?" etc... fed up. luckily I have my trusty notebook and a good memory for conversations. so a lot of things we manage to argue through. but that's coz I had the aid of my notes (my hubby2be memory not as good)... so... good luck to everyone k... the past few months has been an interesting experience...

pst

p2me1a

hi guys,

can everyone who needs the lists PM me instead? Let's not let this useful thread degenerate into one of those threads which simply gets longer just coz people post email addresses to ask for lists :D my private message (PM) is enabled so just PM me your address... To those who I have somehow forgot to mail before, pls PM me again with your email address.

please remember to read the front part of this thread as there are lots of useful information there as well posted by other people. Also, it will tell u that (unfortunately) I am not sending out a "compilation of hidden costs" but rather - a list of IDs whom I had consulted with my own comments. Again, I stress that everyone should meet and assess the IDs themselves as all opinion is subjective (no matter how we try to remain objective! hehehe)

I urge everyone who's done their house reno to continue to contribute to this thread with their experience of some hidden costs to avoid...

okay!!! enjoy your reno process everyone! remember this: You can argue and fight with your ID! But DUN argue and fight with EACH OTHER!!! HAHAHAHAHAA... that's my mantra for reno ;)

pst

lionraymond

Hi There,

I actually completed my renovation about 4 to 5 months back. I really urge all you guys/ladies about to take the renovation contract or in the process of discussion to write down every single details including measurement and type of material used. Dont leave out this important part of the process of recording as it saves alot of time and headache. And get all this before you sign the contract or before you give the first payment depending how much risk you want to take.

Based on my own experience, ID firms like to take advantage of our ignorance and later on change agreed items by giving you some lame excuses.

One more tactic which they like to use is to hurry you to make a decision saying that items agreed not available and saying you got to make a decison now, if not the ppl will have to stop work and incurr more charges which is bullshit because its their resposibility to ensure that the items agreed is available or workable before agreeing. Sometimes even worse, they make desion for you without you knowing it.

Anything which you are not sure, please ask until you understand be it dimensions, colour or materials based on the price given to you and make sure all these is written in black and white.

Just my thoughts. Brgds.

p2me1a

totally agree with Lyon.

try as much as possible to write black and white for EVERYTHING... and like he said, to state exactly what the material is, what brand it is, what model number etc. and better still, state B&W if in the event that is not available - what are your options at the same price.

also good to work in some kind of compensation amount for every day which they delay handover to you. (a fren taught me this after I'd already signed - hiaz...)

oh to give u a simple example of the kind of lame excuse they can give - my ID designed feature wall for me - stretching from bomb shelter door to cross kitchen door to another wall which is part of the study area... gave me lump sum - say "all included" in the price. supposed to have cabinets with mirrored surface and mirror tic tac door outside bomb shelter door. Then one day, I just said, "so above the bomb shelter door the beam also have mirror, right? and the beam above the kitchen door also have mirror right?" you know what my ID say??? "Oh! It's not included - but you're right - it'd look better with mirrors - but u must pay for them coz I didn't include it in the price I quoted u." Then I said :" but u said all included what - how I know which things u count and which things you didn't coz u didn't break them down for me" you know what she say??? "Oh, I DIDN'T KNOW THAT THERE"S A BEAM ABOVE THE BOMB SHELTER DOOR AND ABOVE THE KITCHEN DOOR" Is that a lame excuse or what?!?!?!?! how can one not know that there is a beam above the bomb shelter door?!?!? that's precisely the thing that we're trying to cover with the feature wall, isnt it?!?!!? and the thing is, they have seen the house what - how can they say they dunno?!?!?

really winner. I tell you, every week we have to fight mini-battles like these. and I think it's not unique to my ID and Lyon's ID only... this seems to be prevalent in the ID market...

whole load of bull they'd feed you. dun trust your ID too much is my personal advice.

pst

p2me1a

oh another thing is, sometimes these ID, when they sign with you, they write down (for example) "12ft L-shaped wardrobe" then when they construct they construct 11ft or 10.5ft etc. that's how they 'shortchange' you sometimes. you may think it's only 1 ft - not a lot. but if you're paying $200 pfr - 1ft - $200, 1.f ft = $300. all these is money u know. every wardrobe they overcharge u by $200 here, $150 there. can add up to $1k - $2k plus.... is a lot of money...

then if they construct already then u ask them, they'd tell u things like "Oh, I thought you would need more walking space, so I make a bit shorter lor" or something like that - classic example of what Lyon mean by "they make decision for u".

so! be sure to check the drawings for the dimensions before they construct. and if any of those nonsense come up, tell them that YOU will decide, not them.

ID tried this with us. we went onsite, use measuring tape measure - see enough walking space - so we reverted to tell them to give us the original length of cupboard that we want. this is much better than having to ask them for 'refund' of that 1ft worth of cabinets later on...

of course, to be fair, some of these 'concerns' are VALID lah. but still, you shd be the one making the decisions right? you stay in the house, or they stay???

pst