A compilation of hidden costs

totally_new

Halo,

I have compiled a list of possible hidden costs for home renovation. I am new to this. Those who are more experienced can help to improve this list.

1. Charge for each additional electrical power point

2. Cost of aircon wiring, re-wiring

3. Quotation at time of signing does not included detailed specs of all materials used eg. acceptable price range for floor tiles given budget

4. Cost of clearing of debris and haulage

5. Renovation permit costs

6. Cost of chemical wash

Anymore?

naddy

If they give a very low price for the kitchen cabinets, that's because they did not add the frills like stainless steel dish racks. If you want, you'll have to pay more.

cakey

Also the no. of coat of paint, the brand and isit any type listed in the paint cataloge, no. of colours, painting shld including everything that you want to paint in the house. (of course to paint complicated designer kind of pattern need extra charge lar.)

sc04

Recently, I've been quoted $600 for a platform of abt 40 square feet. Is this too cheap or reasonable?

totally_new

Hidden Cost List Update
-----------------------

3. Quotation at time of signing does not included detailed specs of all materials used eg. acceptable price range for floor tiles given budget

6. Cost of chemical wash

7. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc.

8. Type and brand of paint, no. of coats and no. of colors

ordos

my view under **

Hidden Cost List Update
-----------------------

** I think additional point is addition. Perhaps they did not tell u upfront or they are under the impression that u do not need additional points? I dun tink they give u additional point for free

** I believe u r referring to HDB permit? Pls be advised that HDB permit is not chargeable. You can call your HDB branch to check. However, when applying for permit, u need to pay Haulage fee to HDB who is collecting on the town council behalf to clear your renovation debris.

6. Cost of chemical wash

7. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc.

** Shall always make them state clearly what brand, how many coats, how many colour u are choose etc.

sash

see my comments below.

Hidden Cost List Update
-----------------------

- thot the aircon wiring cost is all in the package when u purchase the air con? When I bought my aircon, they did not even charged me for the trucking.

- this is rather std. u can check with the town council. By the way, I believe such payment for clearing debris n haulage goes to the town council rather than ur contractor.

6. Cost of chemical wash
- usually contractor dun charge chemical wash n do it out of goodwill. Bargain with ur contractor on this.

totally_new

Thanks for all your comments! I am totally new and have just gathered all these information. I may be mis-informed. But I guess these pointers serve as items which newbies should look out for to protect their own interest and hard-earned money.

Ordos,
Thanks for your pointer on permit fees. I have read in this forum where people have reflected that permit fees were not included in their quotes and they were charged such fees later.

Hidden Cost List Update
-----------------------

** I think additional point is addition. Perhaps they did not tell u upfront or they are under the impression that u do not need additional points? I dun tink they give u additional point for free

** thot the aircon wiring cost is all in the package when u purchase the air con? When I bought my aircon, they did not even charged me for the trucking.

** this is rather std. u can check with the town council. By the way, I believe such payment for clearing debris n haulage goes to the town council rather than ur contractor

** I believe u r referring to HDB permit? Pls be advised that HDB permit is not chargeable. You can call your HDB branch to check. However, when applying for permit, u need to pay Haulage fee to HDB who is collecting on the town council behalf to clear your renovation debris.

6. Cost of chemical wash

** Usually contractor dun charge chemical wash n do it out of goodwill. Bargain with ur contractor on this.

** Shall always make them state clearly what brand, how many coats, how many colour u are choose etc.

9. When hacking walls, make sure contractors include touching up with tiles i.e. on the area that is being left exposed by the wall that is being hacked off.... otherwise some will charge u separately for those tiles.

10. Skirting?

meg

Thanks, Totally_New.

Your note is very information. Like to check, for hacking of walls, if we only wish to hack a section of it, do we have to hack it all down and reconstruct it? We heard that the newer flat are all using panel walls.

totally_new

meg,

I'm not so sure about this. Anyone with more experience can help?

ordos

i dun think u need to reconstruct.

not sure what is panel wall but i believe the walls are made of hollow blocks

max

hi totally new,

i encoutered an id tat charged $450 for haulage service and said tat it is for hdb. tis id is crazy, i shut them oout immediately, waste of my time.

vivace

hi max,

fyi, there is a haulage charge and is charged by town council... different town council hv different charges...

vivace

hi totally new,

1. yes, the electriant will charge u on this

2. the aircon supplier will not charge on this coz it is already under the package... ur aircon cost already included ard $400 installation charges... but if ur hse dont hv the aircon ledge of the bracket... they may ask u to pay for additional...

3. yes, usually the contractor or the renovation co wont give u such details, unless u specific it...

4. yes, this is charged by town council as i stated abt, different town council hv different charges... if u afraid of being cheated... u can check wif ur town concil for tat price... juz beware when u sign wif the renovation co, ask them whether the hv included this charges or not? i cant rmb how much is the haulage chrg, but the HDB debris removal is ard $210

10. when the contractor quote u on the price of the floor tiles, rmb to ask them whether they include skirting as well...

HAPPY RENOVATING!

alan

one common but seldom mentioned (or overlooked) hidden cost: shaving of the doors to accommodate the new floor tiles and the cost of putting the doors back in place if they were removed during renovation.

i had a nasty experience with my contractor because of this issue. logically, we all expect our paid contractors to provide end-to-end solutions. if additional costs are required, they should be stated upfront. apparently, it was not the case in my situation.

publishing72

Allow me to update some detailed information about hidden costs.

I have just done up my renovation and have did some research on renovation before it starts.
Here is what I have summaried.

*** Take note each additional electrical power point in the market nowadays is between $60-$70. Pls be ensure 2 way switch installation only costs $40 for lighting and pls ensure that the contractor has indicated everything clearly. This is what I have checked up before agreeing my electrician to go ahead with the work. My electrician did a good job and the price is reasonable.

*** Take note also each installation of new lighting point is between $30-$40, some contractor may quoted more than $50 per point. Also pls do not ask the contractor to disconnect the power point when it has been done, as this also incurred costs and losses.

*** The cost of aircon wiring and rewiring is always inclusive together with the air con equipment depends on the model you buy. For instance, a standard LG model costs around $1600 with installation. Pls do not be happy with the free gift the contractor provided together with the air con as the free gift is also one of the hidden costs in it. Nothing is free, pls bear in mind.

**** You must always ask your contractor to state everything as clear as possible. The dimension as well as the type of floor tiles given. This is important. My contractor did that for us and all are quote accordingly.

**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given.

HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note.

*** Renovation permit costs is always provided free when the contractor apply to HDB. There is no costs at all. You may check with HDB itself. Last time HDB used to charge around $200 for permit fees but not now. Policy has changed.

6. Cost of chemical wash

*** Pls take note chemical wash also can be called acid wash is between the cost of $95-$150. This done once or twice depends between contractor and owner. This only done after painting and flooring has completed and before the completion of kitchen cabinet.

7. Remember to check all water hole for any cement or sand. Some contractors may just throw the cement onto the pipe, which in the long run will cause leakage. This is important.

8. Cost of gas piping.

The contractor will liaise with City gas contractor for work to be done and this only incurred the cost of $70 per trip. As for the connection of gas piping to the cooker hood will be done separately on another day. The billing of gas piping will be send to your house by the PUB people and not the contractor .

9. Cost of painting.

The cost of painting is between $1100 - $1600. It normally consists of 5 colors Nippon and colors can be selected and adjustable.

10. Installation of bathroom accessories & electrical point.

*** This can be negotiable. You can discuss with the contractor to install these items free of charge at your house. When the contractors said they will bring you to the shop to buy bathroom items, do not agree and follow them. This is another way of hidden costs appearing, as contractors may earn commission from there. Take note. The same goes with the lighting points and bulb. Get these items yourself and ask the contractor to install for you.

For bathroom accessories and lighting, you may go to Jalan Besar or Geylang area to get it. Balestier can be considered but not all. Some places in Balestier tends to quote higher.

That is what I like everyone to take note when you did a comparison between the quotation.

Anymore?

questy

Hi Publishing 72,
This list is very comprehensive. U knw what, I was quotated $800 for Cost of clearing of debris and haulage! And I was very over chged for the rest, lucky I saw ur posting, will nv go back to them again.

publishing72

Hi Questy,

$800 is really too much. I believe the contractor you're getting must be from HDBbay. Happy to know you have made the right decision.
Try to spend more time in getting quotations and compare between them. Do not get convinced by the words of one contractors. If possible, visit their showflat if you not convinced and take a look at their workmanship. Observe clearly and compare. That should help you in making fast decision.

questy

Hi Publishing72,
The contractor is not from the Hdbay, he's just from the neighbourhood shop, he seemed to be quite honest, really cannot judge a book by it's cover, I was dead shock to see the difference in price. I now found a contractor who invited me to see his showflat near my new house, but still hvn see his quotation.

BTW, do u tend to deduct the payment for the contractor if they did not complete the project on time? One of my uncle suggested to me.

shaohui75

Some things to add:

*** Take note each additional electrical power point in the market nowadays is between $60-$70. Pls be sure 2 way switch installation only costs $40 for lighting and pls ensure that the contractor has indicated everything clearly.

*** Take note also each installation of new lighting point is between $30-$40, some contractor may quoted more than $50 per point. Also pls do not ask the contractor to disconnect the power point when it has been done, as this also incurred costs and losses.

*** The cost of aircon wiring and rewiring is always inclusive together with the air con equipment depends on the model you buy. For instance, a standard LG model costs around $1600 with installation. Pls do not be happy with the free gift the contractor provided together with the air con as the free gift is also one of the hidden costs in it. Nothing is free, pls bear in mind.

**** You must always ask your contractor to state everything as clear as possible. The dimension as well as the type of floor tiles given. This is important.

**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given.

HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note.

*** Renovation permit costs is always provided free when the contractor apply to HDB. There is no costs at all. You may check with HDB itself. Last time HDB used to charge around $200 for permit fees but not now. Policy has changed.

6. Cost of chemical wash

** Usually contractor dun charge chemical wash n do it out of goodwill. Bargain with ur contractor on this.

*** Pls take note chemical wash also can be called acid wash is between the cost of $95-$150. This done once or twice depends between contractor and owner. This only done after painting and flooring has completed and before the completion of kitchen cabinet.

7. Remember to check all water hole for any cement or sand. Some contractors may just throw the cement onto the pipe, which in the long run will cause leakage. This is important.

8. Cost of gas piping.

The contractor will liaise with City gas contractor for work to be done and this only incurred the cost of $70 per trip. As for the connection of gas piping to the cooker hood will be done separately on another day. The billing of gas piping will be send to your house by the PUB people and not the contractor .

9. Cost of painting.

**The cost of painting is between $1100 - $1600. It normally consists of 5 colors Nippon and colors can be selected and adjustable.

**will charge addition for painting of door, door-frame, pipes, gate etc

*** This can be negotiable. You can discuss with the contractor to install these items free of charge at your house. When the contractors said they will bring you to the shop to buy bathroom items, do not agree and follow them. This is another way of hidden costs appearing, as contractors may earn commission from there. Take note. The same goes with the lighting points and bulb. Get these items yourself and ask the contractor to install for you.

**For bathroom accessories and lighting, you may go to Jalan Besar or Geylang area to get it. Balestier can be considered but not all. Some places in Balestier tends to quote higher.

11. When hacking walls, make sure contractors include touching up with tiles i.e. on the area that is being left exposed by the wall that is being hacked off.... otherwise some will charge u separately for those tiles.

12. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc.

13. If you are installing ceiling fan, contractor will charge you around $25- $35

14. If you are installing instant heater, contractor will charge you around $60 each

nata

My electrician is charging me $300 for Power Supply to come to our new unit for testing, after he have completed.
I've checked with Power Supply, they said there's no charge especially for new flat.
Can anyone confirm this?

ordos

new flat already got power..jus need to turn on the circuit breaker if it's not open.
maybe he charge u for testing your power or lighting sockets/points?
not sure...y not ask yr contractor to clarify?

may

my contractor quoted me $380 for 10 lighting points @ my living room L-box excluding lighting fittings. is this ex? pls advise,thanks.

newhome

Hi may,

I'm doing L-Box too for my living and dining area.
I'll have 12 downlights on the side of the L-Box, I have check, 1 downlight will cost $9-$12 depends on quality and design. Installation is $8/downlight.
Do check with your contractor is the $380 including all these.

lea

I was charged $35 per point (exclude price of downlight) and my renovator even wanted to charge $250 for protection board.

may

hi newhome & lea,

i have checked with him & he confirm the price does not include the price of downlight. what is protection board? thanks.

see

Hi ppl,

some detailed information about hidden costs.

1.Charge for each additional electrical power point

*** Take note each additional electrical power point in the market nowadays is between $60-$70. Pls be ensure 2 way switch installation only costs $40 for lighting and pls ensure that the contractor has indicated everything clearly.

**** You must always ask your contractor to state everything as clear as possible. The dimension as well as the type of floor tiles given. This is important.

**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given. Best is to check with your HDB branch office.

6. Cost of chemical wash

7. Remember to check all water holes for any cement or sand. Some contractors may just throw the cement onto the pipe, which in the long run will cause leakage.

8. Cost of gas piping.

9. Cost of painting.

The cost of painting is between $1000 - $1500. It normally consists of 5 colors Nippon or equivalent. Colours can be selected and adjustable.

*** This can be negotiable. You can discuss with the contractor to install these items FOC at your house. When the contractors said they will bring you to the shop to buy bathroom items, do not agree and follow them. This is another way of hidden costs appearing, as contractors may earn commission from there. Take note. The same goes with the lighting points and bulb. Get these items yourself and ask the contractor to install for you.

For bathroom accessories and lighting, you may go to Jalan Besar or Geylang area to get it. Balestier can be considered but not all. Some places in Balestier tends to quote higher.

11. When hacking walls, make sure contractors include touching up with tiles i.e. on the area that is being left exposed by the wall that is being hacked off.... otherwise some will charge u separately for those tiles.

12. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc. So you've to ask them to give you EVERY detail.

13. If you are installing ceiling fan, contractor will charge you around $25- $35 but can be negotiated and get it FOC.

14. If you are installing instant heater, contractor will charge you around $60 each. But can be negotiated and get it FOC.

That is what I like everyone to take note when you did a comparison between the quotation.

Anymore?

lea

hi may

Protection board is used to protect my parquet flooring while they hack off the wall. We insist that we are not to be charged for that and my renovator just use it sparsely, damaging my flooring as a result.

simon_tan_72

Hi whoever up there u have provide all the wrong information.... HDB do not sell u sand or tiles & carry up to your house (Haulage) & HDB do not go up to use house to clear debris.... Please find out more detail before quote. The blind leading the blind...

solace

hi starfruit
I manage to get a rather good priced quotation ,21k for my 4 rm full reno,with one of the renovators,Koong Yee Reno..and the guy that i talk to is rather customer oriented..if you want can msg me,i can give u his contact..but i have not signed with them yet..most prob on sunday

mettacat

Actually nothing is FOC.
Haulage is around 800-1000 for 5 room standard flat. For premium flat is around 120. For new flats, you can always check the price by calling the one appointed by the town council.The contacts are paste on top of the lift on the ground floor.

smurffy

Hi starfruit12,

I have engaged a designer from CheSuYan at IMM to do up my place. So far, I received good comments from friends, colleagues and families. My hall is done up like a resort with water feature and master-room in resort style too. Very cozy, I have to say. Study room is normal. Did not do much for the guest room.

U may tried to contact Eileen Yeo at 9187-4115 & quote my name. Tell her your concept & obtain a quotation from her to compare.

solace

hi ji
yup..signed liao..work starting in about a week's time.
how about you?? you want me to pass you the contacts??

afcai

Hi starfruit12,

l recommended the contractor - Everlink. maybe u can go to the hbay tour and they will recommend u more ID. the tour is free and u get to learn a lot of design and idea concept. in additional, u will get a free Audit check worth $500. This voucher is to audit all the renov work done if u get contractor fr hbay. so after coming bck fr the hbay tour, l really gained knowledge and also sign up the promo package for the kitchen cabinet.

siao_lang_35

Hi there ,

For you guys info , HDB only collect debris fees on behalf of the town council cost won't be more than $250. you can get the print out copy by HDB from your contractor .
The haulage and buying of sand from the appointed contractor ( you can find their contact pasted at the lift lobby for new flats )should be paid by the contractor or the ID firm you guys engaged .
Some contractor or so call " ID " firm will say the haulage fees is home owner should pay ( bout $ 800 or more )Don get CON . all these should be quote inside the contract under the tiling works .
BTW for resale flats Town concil don't charge haulage fees as there is no more haulage contractor appointed by HDB station there .
Good Luck .

a_k

Hi mad man,

What if the contractor did not include the haulage fee meaning they didnt quote for that. My contractor quote me abt 6k for the whole 5 rm flat - living rm which did not include haulage.

Any advice?

kizmat

hi mad man,

but doesn't it depends whether the contractor wants to absorb the costs of haulage into their quotation? My contractor quoted me $6000 for doing the whole living + 3 rooms (not including kitchen) for homogeneous tiles (600x600 - $2.80psf tiles) but tell us to pay haulage fees ourselves ($800+). kitchen is abt $900 with tiles also $2.80psf

anyone with similar experience?

siao_lang_35

Hi Kizmat and AK ,

Like i say , the $800 is buying of sand not haulage . check on the " Renovation Guide " hand book provide by HDB at page 3 "Charges for Haulage and Debris Removal Services " .
Haulage means carrying the sand, cement and tiles to your unit . As Debris is clearing away the rubbish out side the common's corridor .
So don't you find it funny that your contractor renovate your house but you need to buy the sand yourselves ?
Some contractor don't add in the buying of sand ( which later part saying that's the Haulage fees )cause it will make the cost higher , in the way you comparing your $ with another contractor who did add in the cost . This are just one of the tricks they use to play . So it better get more details and as later will still have lots of hidden cost .
Got It ?

a_k

Hi mad man,

Thanks for your reply. I never know sand itself can be so expensive in this case.

a_k

Hi mad man,

Actually my contractor told me he rather everything be transparent to us, so he will not include haulage & debris & sand unless we wanted. So in the end we pay to the individuals on this charges with the receipts. Thus when we saw the quote on tiling, ours seems lower than others (who includes the haulage, debris & sand). Now I know why.

Anyway still cannot believe on the pricing of sand. Wat's so special on the sand to hv it at such pricing. Sigh.

siao_lang_35

Hi Ak ,

Well you only need to pay the HAulage and debris fees ( receipts from HDB ).But since you and your contractor had an agreedment on buying the sand yourseleves , just hope that he can deliver a good job at the end of the day .
If you break down the cost of sand , infact it not expensive . ( floor area divid cost of sand ) bout a dollar plus .
BTW all reno contractor must buy the sand from the HDB / Town Concil appointed contractor whose name and contact is paste on the lift lobby at all new flats .
As for resale flats reno contractor can buy the sand from anyone who selling sand and the cost will be added in the tiling works.

pisduck

any idea how many coats of paint is standard. my contractor charged me $1500 for a normal 5-room flat size. 2 coats of Nippon paint only.... pls advise...

vone

hi pisduck,

ooh... tat's very ex. i remembered tat my hubby's fren quoted me S$1,200 4 3 coats of paint, including clearing up after d painting. ask ur contractor 2 lower down his price or source 4 another quote.

pisduck

hi vone,
thanks for the info.
so, 3 coats of paint is the standard, izzit? normally, when they say 3 coats of paint, these 3 coats are exactly the same, izzit? i.e. same brand, color etc etc...

vone

hi pisduck,

no prob.

i tink d std is 2 coats. my hubby's fren gave us a special deal (but we didn't take it up in d end).
anyway, i aso checked wif my sis who wks in d town council previously, she said tat 3 coats is better coz it looks nicer n it's more lasting.
yes, it is.

judyl

Hi pisduck,
My contractor oso charged me $1200 for 5 choices of colours (ICI/Nippon). Din ask abt the no. of coats tho. Tink u shld ask urs to lower his quote or get another contractor.