88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

oceans

Hi <font color="119911">Jatling</font>, so how was your soucing? Had Suntec managed to lower down your pricing?

<font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>, when is your wedding? By the way, who is your co-ordinator?

questy

Hi to all,
i'm looking for banquet venues, and is interested to know if 88 resturant can fit in 25 tables? i've not being to the resturant befre, so can enlighten me abt the deco, cos cun see much on the internet. Thanks!

jatling

Hi Ocean,

No I feel there's isn't any need for me to approach Suntec again.

Anyway, most likely will confirm imperium at Ngee Ann instead.

Thks for ur concern.

purplegrumpy

hi hi oceans
my co-ordinator is kessler (she oso has a chinese name which I can't recall!). she's quite nice. I'm quite happy with the deal except the parking arrangements (wld like to give close relatives complimentary parking).

my wedding is Sun, 11 Jul. we took a "break" after settling the banquet. tis sat gg to check out bridal packages. any recommendations? what did u take?

hi jatling
i heard imperium is v good so i'm sure u made a good choice.

Questy - 88 can fit in total 33 tables, but 2 of which will be in the VIP room which is behind glass panel but still clear view of the stage.

purplegrumpy

Ocean - i just saw ur earlier message. congrats too, ur wedding jus round the corner... 4mths only!

YES! the route to the restaurant is still confusing! in fact, we saw people fumbling on their way frm carpark to restaurant! keep our fingers crossed that it'll get better next yr!

btw, hv u taken ur PS yet? can share?

questy

Hi purplegrumpy,
i think i may tk up 25 tables abd above now, may put all my younger cousins in the rooms so they can hv their own "playground".

U looking for BS? i'm with J&amp;C, service is ok up till now, i just choose my ROM gown.

oceans

<font color="119911">Questy</font>, if you got 25 table, they will not give u the private room. The private room will be reservse for walk-in. Your cousins will still be in the main hall too.

As the max number is 33 tables, the restaurant will still allow walk-in. But I am not sure if they will be sitting in the main hall.

Oh, i try to upload the pic of 88 restuarant for u. Pls note that there is no counter anymore.
35374.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>, thks! Yap, they dun provide the complimentary parking.... That time got complain on this issue. So how many compli parking did they give u?

My Bridal is Paris... So far okay lor, just that they charge me $60 for outdoor PS if i want to take their transport. If i dun wan, then we will have to drive the Photographer and assist ard...

<font color="ff6000">okeanosmao</font>, u have ur <font color="ff0000">Guo Da Li</font> liao??? Your wedding day very near liao!!
By the way, how much u pay for ur actual day photographer? Any recommendation cos i still hv not engage one yet!

<font color="0000ff">jat;ing</font>, Imperium is not bad lah... just that portion of food quite small only...

questy

Hi Ocean,
Thanks for the picture! They still allow walk in eventhough we hit their max ah? why like tat leh? I just got my customery date, at 31 Oct 2004, it's chinese nineth month, u think must book now? Hope i can go down this sunday to look see at tat place, thne at least we go some clue on how to settle the banquet.

okeanosmao

ocean,

jus had my guo da li on the 1st..ya lor, v fast liao, its nxt week.
how cm u still nid to pay for tpt charges on PS day? u shd bargain with them leh..my bridal din charge me, we jus tell them straight tt we dun hv car..
my actual day photographer is a freelance. he charge me quite reasonable (sorry cannot reveal the price here). i'm the first customer since he wanted to do freelance. b4 that, he did 2 yrs actual day photographer for his frens free..
his an avid photographer, he did others oso other than wedding.

purplegrumpy

Hi Questy

What the co-ordinator told me is that they will still take walk-in customers with the 2 tables in the mini room. It's only booked if u hv 30 tables &amp; above. Anyway, we've booked 28+2reserved.

purplegrumpy

ocean, i agree w okeano! most bridal packages will throw in teh outdoor PS transport (of cos wool comes from the sheep lah - yang2 mao2 chu1 zai4 yang2 shen1 shang4). i'm going down tanjong pagar to look ard the studios there, a bit scared of their hard sell techniques! *grumps takes deep breath*

Questy, go down and take a look. u'll like the place. i guess for restaurant, u're rather early but if u like the plc, then no harm booking earlier. i booked about 10mths ahead too.

jatling

hi purplegrumpy,

THks really hope made the right choice.

Hi Ocean,
portion not enough for 10pax huh? So little?

oceans

<font color="ff6000">okeanosmao</font>, Had been aruging with my bridal on that for so long, and so they reduced to $50.00. Say most shop at tanjong pagar had to pay for the transport if they dun hv car!! Give up liao!! Felt cheated.......

Yap, <font color="119911">Questy</font>, like what <font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font> said, if you book 30 tables and above, then, they will reservse the whole restaurant for u!!

For me, i booked 30 tables + 2 reserve. So the whole hall + the function rooms is strictly for my wedding. No walk-in allowed. What abt u, <font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>?

questy

Hi Ocean and purplegrumpy,
Called them just now, and got to knw that i pick the more expensive menu, then i can reject walk-in customers. Mayb will tk 28 + 2, cos my list seemed to be growing by the minutes, he...!

Oh, there's a tentitive booking on that date, but still got chance cos the other couple hvn place deposite. Hope i can the tables if i like the venue.

Hi ocean,
i nv knw we need to pay for transport for PS. think if u tk cab also not so expensive loh.

purplegrumpy

oceans, I actually thought that they'd reserve the function as well... with booking of 28+2. but now I'm not so sure! gotta check w hubby, c if he rems what they told us! Fortunately the rm is at the side so may not be too bad even if open to walk in.

oceans

Hi Questy, have u book ur venue already? If u like the place, suggest u book it first.
But remember to do ur reserach first!! Wow, is it the
the $688 menu?? That menu comes with the best food!!
35717.gif
Too bad, out of my budget!

Purplegrumpy, so far, u do the guestlist liao?? I still have not even bother to look at it!

Jatling, Imperium food, the last time i had, i find tat the portion is very small. As such, we still feel hungry after the wedding. But maybe, that was bcos it is during the SARS period and the waiter serve the food to us.....
So cannot eat more if i want to....

questy

Hi Ocean,
I just tentitive booking cos want to bring MIL to eat there first, if she says ok, then we'll book on the spot.

It's not the $688 menu, i tking either $508 or $558, already got whole piglet for the later. I saw a food tasting with the whole piglet when i go there, mouth watering man! he...!

Hi purplegrumpy,
Cannot bargain anymore? go pester them cos u nearly hit the requirement liao mah. There's curtain a the VIP room, at least no so bad loh.

oceans

Kekeke... <font color="ff0000">whole pig???</font>
35892.gif
Actually i had not decided which menu to choose yet!!
I jus placed the deposit first!!

Dun think they allow to bargain leh!! That time, i was trying to get complimentary parking. I think quite bad lor, as they dun provide compli for us.

questy

Hi ocean,
Yes, it's a whole piglet! Tat's why i ask Vivien my coordinator abt it, she said it'll be 2-2.5kg piglet for the $558 menu.

I called MIL today, I ask her which menu she wants, and she choosed the piglet one, think she wants face loh, he...! U think can "cover" if I really choose this menu? Abit worried now leh, he...!

Vivien also said the carpark belongs to the harbourfront management, and advice me abt the $3 chg after 7pm. Think will just comply

oceans

<font color="0000ff">Questy</font>, ah... tat's the 558 menu?? Mus go and see my menu.... cant rememb how much is it liao!! But if tat's the case, actually abit risky lor, cos some pple only give $40/$50 <font color="ff0000">ang bao</font> for restaurant becos they always thot it is cheaper!!

However, if those pple u invite are closer to u, maybe they wld jus give $60 lor!! Usually for me, restarant, i normally give abt $50/$60. Always ensure that at least the couple can cover the cost per table. If closer to me, then, may give more lor!

By the way, did they give u one compli parking??
But

questy

Hi ocean,
Think it's just 1 for bridal car loh, quite difficult to bargain for the compli tickets for this resturant.

Actually if we chosoe the $508 menu, then sure wun loss so much, but the $558 menu is abit risky. MIL wants it, may just tk it to mk her happy, then we prepare $ for the loss. Since she complimise with my decision of tking this banquet venue, i'll just do it nicely for her loh. I think i can get super big angpow from FH's side, so may not tat bad, he...!

Moreover with this menu, i can hv the whole resturant to myself, cos i may only hv 25 tables. Just hv to think positively now, he...!

purplegrumpy

questy questy... can i recommend something? hv u taken a look at dragongate's menu? i actually bargained for menu2 from DG, which is slightly better than the 508 one from 88, &amp; i believe got piggy piggy. so they asked me to top up - 538. compromise lor, i think still worth it.

hi oceans. me so lucky. guest list frm my hubby's side will take the one from his brother who got married in Sep this yr. guest list from my parents' side will take from my first cousin, who's getting married in Jan next yr. so i only gotta worry about updating &amp; doing my own list! perfect timing right!

anyone got experience to share on white link? am seriously thinking of signing up w them after looking around 2 weeks. i hvn't got much time left.

purplegrumpy

Hi okeanosmao
how was ur wedding?!?! care to share ur experience/ photos?

Oceans
ur PS over liao rite? how was it? my sis-in-law's fren recently booked Paris too.

questy

Hi purple grumpy,
Congratus to u for getting such good perks, u very lucky, all things so smoothly done liao, just need to be a mei mei bride, he...!

As for me, i'm not so lucky, cos i may not be able to tk the banquet. My MIL insisted she dun want the banquet there, i dun want to say much, only makes my blood boils! he...! i just wait to se the situation first, mayb my pitiful fae will mk them change their mind? help me pray to all gods and wait for my good news k. he...!

girlgirl27

hi questy, you can try orient ocean at miramar hotel. Its actually the same company as 88 and dragon gate. I held my dinner there and the food and services are good and price reasonable. they even throw in one night stay at miramar hotel.

okeanosmao

hi purplegrumpy,

so far so gd, chinese fd much much better than muslim. my muslim guests all complained abt the fd, v v bad...some even say they can cook better than this..i will feedback to them on this.
and i think the management in DG doesn't communicate..i actually requested for $425 muslim table but the other manager confirmed only on that day the package which they had asked for $475..so i told them, no, i insisted on $425 and who knows, they din bother to take away the $475 menu and left it on the table..so my guests complained tat there is a difference in the fd..quite mad lor..
so Oceans, think u better feedback to them abt this cos i think their malay caterer is the same.

girlgirl27

hi okeanosmao, i too had muslim guests for my dinner but they commented that the food was great. We actually tried the muslim food and think it was not bad also. could it be they have changed their caterer?

questy

Hi purplegrumpy and girlgirl27,
MIL wants the traditional hokkien resturant in OCBC centre. I give up with FH's family, all those 3 8 aunties,only say and no action. Nv mind, i'll see what's the outcome in the end. Thanks for ur concern.

Happy planning for ur banquet!

purplegrumpy

okeanosmao
did ur guests hv probs finding the restaurant? hmmm... i think i'll only hv about 3 muslim guests (but one of them is my boss!) guess they dun specialise in muslim food. care to share ur photos? if not, it's ok.

questy - look on the bright side of things. at least if they make the choice and it's not up to their standard, they also cannot comprain later! try to enjoy the whole event ya.

okeanosmao

purplegrumpy,

tt day there's another couple holding theirs in the bigger ballrm too. so far my relatives and frens all manage to walk into the correct one..so dun worry lor, as u and yr hubby will stand at the entrance there to welcome them, they sure wont miss u out..
i've not get my photos back yet, guess hv to wait till i come back frm honeymoon liao..i'll try to scan when i come back.

hi girlgirl27,

when was yr dinner? all i had frm my muslim guests are the bad comments lor..so quite disappointed leh..not sure if they change their caterer.

girlgirl27

hi okeanosmao,

i think they could have changed their caterer then since there are so many bad comments about the food. i had mine a year ago. maybe you can check with them wether they have any other caterers.

oceans

<font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>, yap, my PS over liao! Ok lah.... But u r not allowed to bring friends/sis for outdoor PS.
Actually, my Sis was with me, and then, the photographer said with my sis around, he cannot concentrate, blah blah blah... even when she did not take any photos!!
Quite angry with him for acusing my sis!

<font color="119911">Questy</font>, so how your selection of Venue? How abt take into consideration of wat <font color="ff6000">girlgirl27</font> had said, choose another location, such as Dragon Gate or Orient Ocean?

<font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font>, u care to share more abt the Muslim food?? Think it is quite bad and I wld like to feedback to Helen!!
Oh, have u gone for your honey moon liao??
Sorry, but a little bit belated blessing to <font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font>!!

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Wishing you A Blissful Marriage and May Happiness be With you Always!!</font></font>
36412.gif

questy

Hi purplegrumpy and ocean,
I may give up my chance on 88 resturant, cos i'm going to wash my hands off the selection of the banquet, since they already set their mind on the resturant they like, i'll just let them tk chg and i'm not going to dig out a single cent, he....!

It's really a shame that i wun be able to join in the chat liao, but i'll come in to share any news with u nice ladies. Thanks for sharing so much information with me. See u and tk care, happy always! Muacks!

purplegrumpy

Hi Ocean
aiyo why the photographer so mean? he should understand how exciting and impt this is to us brides mah! hope u can share ur photos when ready?
I just signed up with golden horse awards (GHA). will be having first apptmt next week for my 2 mtm gowns. any idea what I should prepare? my PS in Apr, do u think there's enough time eh?

Hi Questy
Don't worry, I'm sure u can enjoy other aspects of the preparation. Signed up for ur bridal package yet? Do drop in to chat with us!

deary

can I have feedback abt 88 restaurant food? Kind of chanced upon it n quite urgent to confirm. will really appreciate your help. thanks!

jojok

Hi, could I enquire if restaurants cater to just 10+ tables? If they could close up or use partition to close of a section for wedding? Which restaurant does just that?

hoshi5

Can I have feedback on Dragongate? I will be having my wedding dinner there in 1mths' time and not sure how to go abt to make it a beautiful one.
Can anyone share with me abt their experience at DG? I will be taking the bigger ballroom with 50 tables + 4 reserve.
Also, wat march-in songs are used, and the ballroom deco.. etc?..

Thanks so much!

okeanosmao

hi ocean,

actually i wrote feedback to them liao n helen was the one who replied me. so i guess u dun nit to feedback lor. heee...
sorry reply so late cos i went for honeymoon.....n thanks for yr blessings..well, blessings never cm too late..

hoshi5

Hi okeanosmao,

it's me, chris!... thanks for ur feedback..
Do u have any idea how to make the deco nicer?.. What march in songs did u use?...

Like I said, I be taking the big ballroom, so the projector screen will be a problem... so cld somebody help me? esp all ex-dragongate brides!

oceans

okeanosmao, actually i have talked to Helen abt your case sometimes ago. She mentioned she was looking through it and was abt to reply u!
Kekkee...
How was your Honeymoon in Taiwan??

purplegrumpy, how was ur appointment with GHA??? Wow, ur PS in Apr'04??

Questy, if u still visit this thread, so where did u select for your wedding?

questy

halo to all!
Good news! My MIL called me yesterday and ask me to book the banquet at 88 resturant! he...! so happy! And she ask me to book 2 tables for dinner on 21 dec. Vivien my coordinator offered to plan the menu which is closed to wedding menu, i'll feedback to u all abt the taste k, he...!

But she blame me for not telling her actual information abt the resturant, she and FH side tot it's at some whr else, I also lazy to argue with her abt it. mayb they got panic when both FH and I really dun bother abt the banquet and not appearing at family gathering ( he...! we r both very busy!) MIL even offer to give my mum 2 more tables, think she knw they did something not nice to my family, so must pay back, he...!

Hi purplegrumpy,
i'm with J&amp;C, going back on 15 dec for ROM gown fitting. I just same back from campping, now tan and with mosquito bites, very ugly now, he....!

Hi ocean,
U so nice, still remembers me, very touch leh! but i'm very glad i can come back to join the chat, hope they wun change their mind again, he....!

okeanosmao

hi hoshi5,

tried to send u the song but cannot..u hv to clear some mails first.
do u hv themes for yr wedding dinner? it will be easier if u hv themes then u can start preparing the things..ask if yr frens can help u decor if not, look for either florists or wedding planners liao..me not sure leh..or if possible, try to tok to yr coordinator abt decorating the rm..u buy the things n they decorate for u.

my first march in - so much in love (all4one)
then first dish presentation - be my guest
2nd march in - wild child by enya

hi ocean,
anyway she has closed this case liao. she checked that it is still the same caterer but i suspect is a diff cook. well, oredi over and dun intend to pursue any further..jus a feedback to her. she apologised too. but i jus hoped that the banquet manager dun anyhow say anything.
i think restaurant 88 dun hv this much problem.

hoshi5

My sis will help me wif the reception table, but not the individual one, coz there's too many. Do u think can ask the resturant pple to help? But how to decorate? Me very poor in decoration one..

Did u use any projector? I think the screen is too too small, dunno where to rent also!
Any idea?

questy

Hi to all,
Went to sign contract with 88 resturant liao, he...! finally one thing off my mind. I also went to hv dinner there, the food is closed to the banquet dishes, all vyr unique ans nice, but it's abit saltish. The coordinator explained to us cos they use "shang tang" for cooking, and there's chinese ham in side, so it's saltish, but she immediately rectify the pblm for me, and the rest of the dishes are wonderful, really worth signing up with them. Impressive with the service so far.

oceans

Questy, so you tried the food there liao?? So, how many tables did you take finally? When your wedding huh??

Actually, i still have not see the restaurant yet. I think the next time i go will be to collect the wedding cards and food tasting!

questy

Hi ocean,
yeah, tried thefood liao, even chat with the chief, he...! very nice pple. Oh, the suckling pig is so crispy and nice, but only 2 pieces per pax, actually perking duck is also super, yam yam!I took 28 reserve 2 tentitively, wedding is 30 Oct 04.

U hvn seen teh resturant? then how u sign the contract? really super loh, he...! Which card u choose? my MIL prefer the peach colour, folding upward ones, mayb will just choose tat.

oceans

Oh, me? tat time when i see the restaurant, it is just a room without anything. Like those HDB std flat without anything.... no, think more like HDB flat still under construction.

How i sign??? Er.. i use a PEN... er... yap, <font color="0000ff">BLUE PEN</font> to sign on the contract!
Kekkee...

Actually, i see frm the pics lor! I noe abt tat restaurant from Helen. Actually, i was thinking of Orient Ocean or Dragon Gate. But since this is going to be after renovation, can be considered NEW right??

The card, i choose the one heart one lor! Actually, i like the upfolding one, but cannot put my names leh!

questy

Hi ocean,
Merry Xmas! He..! u really brave to sign on the dotted line before seeing the full picture of the resturant hah? he....!

I dun mind abt the names infront of the card, so quiet like the upfolding one.

Abt the chair cover, what colour did u choose? I forgotten abt the colours available liao, any idea what's the colours available? cos need to avoid choosing WG of similiar colour. Thanks hoh!

deary

hi questy

can i check w you, which menu did u take? i have signed w 88 but have not confirm the menu yet. Thanks! =)