88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

hee oceans...

u hv to fax to them the infos 4 printing of cards. i went down personally to choose card then hand to my coordinator on the spot.
i'll be going for fd tasting on 15th oct..will update then..
think now, is my busiest time leh...hv to paint the masterbedrm, furnitures will be delivering on 18th, hv to settle seating arrangement and all those angbaos..v headache ah..

how abt u?? in the midst of preparing?

Wah okeanosmao, u still went down personally??

No, i already seen both design liao! I like the 2 hearts one, but my hubby like to one heart one. So still dun noe which one to choose!!

Oh, your hse not settle yet? Then will be very rush!! For me, hse had more or less settle, just need to tidy up and confirmed with hubby which cupboard put wat! Now everything all anyhow thrown inside!
Hahaa...

Hmm... let me noe abt your food tasting!!

hmm..i've chose the one heart cos can put name inside the hollow heart..
the 2 hearts one only hv beige rite? i chose peach, sort of pink col..

will let u knoe how's the fd. =)

okeanosmao, the 2 hearts one also two colours, ivory and pink. I still have not decided which one to take.

So have you sent out your wedding card liao?? You got another one month to go!!! Very fast hor!!

For me, think my hubby and I had to plan a day when both of our parents meet up to discuss abt how many table my mum want and cakes for my relatives.... Think the best location is at <font color="119911">88 restaurant</font> lor!!

okeanosmao, not yet send cards??? Mus quickly send you noe!!
33627.gif

Oh yap, that reminds me that i need to buy more stamps first as next yr GST increase by another 1%. Wondered if the stamp will increase frm 22cts to 23cts? Kekeeke....

hi oceans,

hee...till now, i still hvn send my cards...
gonna send my frens &amp; colleagues nxt week. relatives will send personally after GDL day.

went for fd tasting..the food so so only..change n request alot of things.
1. 1st dish - cold platter (the jellyfish too thick. diff to bite so request to slice thinner). mayo prawn nice, popiah gd, baby squid average, pig skin nice oso.

2. braised sharksfin - average (typical restaurant taste).

3. sauteed fresh scallops w macadamia nuts &amp; cashew nuts in golden nest - nice

4. steamed live prawns - fresh

5. steamed live garoupa - not fresh, meat is hard. feedback n was told yest used an old fish tt's y not tender. asked them to take note. my bro suggested using steamed seabass as it will taste much more better than garoupa..which one is better??

6. bbq crispy chicken w xo sauce - no gd, bland. chicken crispy but no taste of xo sauce, seems like oyster sauce. changed this to crispy chicken dip in 'salt'.

7. braised abalon w sea cucumber n mushrm - abalone nice, sea cucumber so so.

8. eefu noodles w dried fish - no gd..v v bland, no taste. asked them to put more sauce or mix thicker sauce.

9. yampaste - yum yum..nice..think this is the only one my family hv third servings cos all like yam paste!!!

in addition, i oso asked them to take note of their service which my sil's cousin wedding was held there oso and she got scolded by the waitress..v bad..so i told the manager to take note jus in case unhappiness occurred.

Oh my goodnees!
34391.gif
Have not send yet???
34392.gif
But ur wedding is <font size="+2">next mth!!!</font> U hor.... kekeke... dun noe how to say...

Hmm.... your menu
34393.gif
Yummy...

<font color="0000ff">1. So far, for cold dish, i find that the Jellyfish is usually not that nice. Last Dun, i went to Shangri-La Sentosa one, the jellyfish got a fishy taste.... not nice too...

4. Steam prawn - Initally, my menu was steam pawn, we changed to Buttered prawns. Maybe i change back to steam prawn as i scared
34394.gif
the Buttered prawn is not fesh.

5. Understd Garoupa is more expensive. It is true that Seabass meat is softer.... Hmmm... Dun noe leh.... If the Garoupa is fresh, it will be very nice!!</font>

As for other menu, i think it will be quite standard. However, remember to tell them that you want ur food to be hot!!

Last time, i ever comment to my co-ordinator that i ever eat at DG and found that food on luke warm!
34395.gif
Impt to try to have the food hot if possible!!

Yes, agreed also about service. Recent case i noe is few mth back, got one aunty waitress removed the plate without asking guest if can clear.

Then drop a prawns and used her bared finger to put it back to the plate. Very rude lor! But this i also ever feedback to the coordinator that i dun want such thing to happen!

How abt Muslim food??? Cannot try hor??

oceans,

dun worry..will hv enuff time one..cos colleagues' invites will give to them nxt week n relatives will be giving them 2gether wif cakes on GDL day..frens will be giving to them end oct..shd hv enuff time..

mayb i'll jus stick wif garoupa..
aiyoh, y the aunties so rude one? used bare hands to take the prawns?? when i feedback to the manager, he told us he will be there supervising on our day. so i take his words first lor..

muslim fd cannot try ah..unless u wan to pay for muslim fd tasting...heeeeee....
u hv the menu for muslim?? i hv one wif me - 2 types of package.

Talk abt Muslim food, i neber eat one before. The last time at 4 Season, they cater one by one, so my Muslim friend sit beside me. I look at their food, like quite nice leh!!
34629.gif

No, i hv not got the menu yet! Dun noe want to hv a table or not cos think we only got abt 4 or 5 Muslim friends...

Hi there everyone

I'm not sure if my first attempt to post was successful. Wanted to say so glad to hear that many of us here booked 88 Rest. Was worried cos most frens have not heard of it.

Went to see a wedding there last month and it was quite cool. The couple tied white and pink ballons on alternate guests' chairs.

Anyone has feedback/ ideas for decoration?

Hi <font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>!

I understand that 88 Restaurant will deco the aisle with flowers as they no longer provide red carpets. As for the balloon, not sure if this is done by the bride &amp; groom themselves or from the restaurant.

Are you booking with 88 restaurant? I also quite scared my friends dun noe where. So usually, I hv to say that under the same mgt of Dragon Gate lor!!

<font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font>, how's things? Guess u r more or less settled liao right? Just sit back and relax!! Hv I ask u b4? Where are u going for ur Honeymoon?

Hi anyone out there tried DragonGate instead?
I need 70tables and the big ballroom only 60 and said will need to open up the VIP room but was told that a door will block the view....is that true? izzit removable???

oceans,

not sure hv u asked me abt my honeymoon or not..cos too many ppl asking liao..
i'll be going 4 taiwan 1 week and then to bkk for 4 days..
seems like shopping spree hahah..spend hubby's $$...kekeke...
now settling the last stage lor..cfm the attendance n seating arrangement.

jiatling,

the vip room door will block view and not removable leh..can't remember if its removable or not..u hv to check. y dun u choose country club where they can accomodate many tables? wil it be better choice? no pillars to block the views oso.

Hi okeanosmao,

Thks....
Checked liao will have a door that block the view....den nevermind liao.
OCC is out.....
Any other country club that can have 70tables?

jatling,

my bro held his wedding at arena country club ard 50+ tables under tunglok group of restaurants. but not sure if the space is enuff for yr 70 tables..
how abt chevron?

Ya......chevron can be one of my choice too....just notice, thks!
Arena country club......hmm.....any idea on the restaurant name?

If under tunglok......among so many restaurant only imperier at ngee ann can accommodate my figure

hi <font color="ff000">Ocean</font>
I've already booked 88 Rest. It'll be in Jul next year. That evening when we went down, there were alot of guests who walked around quite lost and were late. just gotta hope it'll be less confusing by next yr.

<font color="0000ff">jatling</font>, r u considering Mandarin too? i like both their food &amp; ambience and i think their ballroom can take ur tables..? The Pines at pinetree club has re-opened after reno and they're offering good packages. Not sure if can take 70 though.

jatling,

the restaurant in arena country club is tunglok's restaurant. they opened 3 ballrms to accomodate my bros' tables..quite spacious but mayb the guests bhind will hv difficulties cing u..
or u can try yunnan restaurant. they can accomodate up to 100 tables..

hi purplegrumpy,

CONGRAT, finally another matter off ur mind huh?
Pines izzit? OK should try to call later since it's my boss club as well.

Hi okeanosmao,
Maybe try to call the country club and check it out.
Yunnan at IMM izzit?

jatling,

yup. yunnan at imm. there is ballrm in imm which can accomodate alot..i went to a colleague's wedding b4, i think she had ard 80-100 tables if i'm not wrong..
u can try.

hi...

I check liao.......all cannot accommodate my figure....left arena country club the person is not around.

IMM yunnan also cannot...only 60.

oh..hmm..hw abt raffles marina? did u ask them?
if not, hv to ask the pines liao as wat purplegrumpy has suggested.

sorry, can't help much cos din cm across so many tables..

Hi okeanosmao.....

Most of the country club I called...non except OCC...

Hi orosalind,

Thks for your help too!
OCC, is out cos my sis-in-law had it there previously and FIL do not want it there again.
Imperier already got the quote......

At the moment, I got neptune, imperier and suntec.....just hoping to get more choices.....

Yap, the next suggestion i was thinking is also neptune and suntec.

For both, i had tried the food before, but not for wedding fuction.

<font color="0000ff">Neptune</font>, if i remembered correctly, the carter will be Mandrian Hotel. Tried the food there sometimes in Aug'03. Food not bad, but maybe not that hot. Think they will provide fee performance for u. As it is not appro to hv nuke show, they will hv those lady with little bit of cloth on. Not too bad lah!!
Wide reception area!!

<font color="0077aa">Suntec</font> food is alright. My co D&amp;D is there. But for foodwise, is just so-so... Very standard. I wondered if the Bridal room is the changing room behind the stage. If it is, the room is very long with bathroom too! Can take a shower there!!
Oh, service not very good due to communication problem. Remembered i ever wanna change my cold sharkfin to a warmer one, i asked if possible to change, if not warm up. The waiter say ok, and i w was thinking, wow, such good svc!! End up, i waited n waited, and when asked, he said he throwed it away!!
So sad, i still miss the sharkfin till now!

Hi Ocean.......

thks for ur advise.......

Wow not really good comments on those two venue leh....

as for neptune.....during wedding event they will have live band instead not dance.....so still ok lor else my guest sure laugh one......
Pricing very resonable as it's nett....

As for Suntec.....if svc that bad not good leh.

Imperier is still one of my favourite but accordingly to my FIL the cost of food given on the package not worth the price per table even though they giving us nett rather +++.

Headache man!

<font color="119911">okeanosmao</font>, u r going Taiwan for ur HM.
Ok, let me noe how was it! Cos my hubby said he only want to go to those Chinese country as he dun like western food!

<font color="aa00aa">purplegrumpy</font>, urs in Jul'04? Gong Xi Gong Xi!!
Mine is Feb'04. I have not look at the place after renovation. Is the road still confusing? Who is your coordinator?

Hi jatling,

U r welcome. A feedback on Suntec: I attended wedding in Suntec just last month. Poor service. Ask 3 times for chilli sauce and non came till the end of the event.

Hi orosalind.....

Oh that bad huh? den I think hor I will take Suntec out liao........rather let my guest suffer.
hmm.............imperier should be still the best den.

Hi jatling,

It's just my experience lah, maybe me and my husband are the oni guests who kena? But the overall deco and food quite nice leh, the wedding favours too. Somemore, I think it's more worth it than imperium? I dunno abt Suntec's pricing cos I oni got Imperium one (almost wanted to book Imperium).

Hmm....I just got ans from Suntec that they can't give me nett price for everytable only $20discount....so add up still more exp den imperier.

Why u din sign up with imperier in the end?
I heard imperier food is nice since under tunglok mah.

Hi jatling,

Cld it be bcos u oni call up and they tot u just asking? If u really interested, maybe u like to go down and mit up with them, maybe more chance in negotiating the price.

I didnt sign up with Imperium cos I choose Pan Pac in the end. My wedding is on Sun and the price is more ex than Pan Pac, I think it's not worth considering paying more for restaurant than hotel. Moreoever, I prefer Pan Pac's ambience. But for my case is diff cos I dun have such huge no. of tables so more choices. For ur case, it's a bit hard cos u r having a huge no. of tables. For my case, I wan my banquet to be held in a hotel but I shortlist Imperium (the oni restaurant on my list) bcos I think it's ambience is ok amongst so many restaurant (I look more for ambience than food).

NO lah.....I call three times liao.
Moreover I told them my figure should made them more sincere mah.
Moreover I told them I left with two choice only suntec and imperier so I told them hope to get good package from them....but they seem not sincere at all.

Ya if I have less table I wouldn't be so headache and stress out liao.

oic, then I think there's no way they will make it nett price. In that case, think Imperium is more worth it. They are having some promotion but dunno if it's still on.

Imperium, i been to the restaurant for wedding too... When huh? cant remeber, but think it is around May'03 cos of SARS period.

Tunglok food is nice, but the portion at Imperium is really very small. My friend somemore get the more expensive menu with alboune (dun noe how to spell
shy.gif
) and shark fin. But we all still feel hungry after the dinner.

But other than that, the laser effect for the 1st march-in was great. However, one issue that u need to consider is tat u pay the price of a hotel, but guest might jus give u the ang bao for the price of hotel range.

Sorry, is price of a restaurant range!
Think some of my friends only found out during the wedding that it is abt $600+ to $700+, so they are abit pai sei lor. Cos they put $60, so not enough to cover the cost for the dinner!

For me, with that kind of budget, i rather go for hotel. But since I am quite tight with my budget, I choose 88 Restaurant is because it is near MRT and also newly renovated!

For me like left with no choice due to my large nos of table........else I would go for hotel and look more grand.

Actually the first venue I visited is orient ocean cos that area is about 64 tables liao but my FIL still feel it's too small....need at least 70table so got allowance.......

Hi jatling,

Not nec that hotels will be grand. Think places like Imperium, Suntec, OCC quite nice too. Just dun choose a location whereby the max no. they can take = ur no. of table cos u nid some allowance. Just my personal opnion.

hi orosalind......

Ya......I would love to have it in hotel restaurant or ballroom as after the event I can actually go straight to the room to rest rather travel to the hotel to rest or back home.

Ya.......aware esp on the table....it's dangerous to get exact no of tables available in the venue equal to my request........so if I get imperium or neptune...they have more than enough table for me.........
I left three choice now, imperium, neptune or gim tim at boonlay.....

Hi jatling,

Ya, the oni adv of hotel is that u can rest in the suite immediately after banquet.

I think that three choice are good enuf. Imperium I know it's good, Neptune heard that it's good but have not been there b4 and for Gim Tim, no comment cos have not been there before.

All the best to u, hope that u can find ur ideal place soon.

Jatling

I just saw ur message on Suntec. They actually managed to offer us 688nett for sunday. It's an extension of a promo that is up to Jun 04. Mine is in Jul 04. However, I can't rem the name of the account manager offhand. It was a chinese girl with dialect name.

The deco is really really grand - chair bows for all guests, fresh flowers on table etc. Plus i loved the door gift... basically it was VERY attractive package, except that suntec's food doesn't have fantastic feedback.

Jatling
Yup u're right. It's liping.
Oh, I guess that's why u couldn't get the nett price. Mine was barely one mth after the promotion package so she extended it. How about try bargaining for her to extend the package? No harm asking, i guess.

Ya jatling, I agree with purplegrumpy. Think it's beta u go down personally to talk to them. I called up some hotels wanting to neg for FOC use of projector but they all disagree but end up they give me when I go down to talk to them. No harm trying.

Hi purplegrumpy.......

I shall check with her on phone first........
and if there's a need might then go down to try my luck again.
How much deposit u giving? I heard from some frz that they asking quite alot of deposit? Izzit true?

Hi orosalind,
Thks........for ur advise too! Hmm sometimes I'm pretty lazy to go down all the way to make discussion and end up empty handed....heehee.

Jatling

Restaurants usually require only $1k deposit. Hotels will need about 3k or 10%. I booked 88 Restaurant so I paid only 1k dep. Why don't u talk to liping from suntec and tell her u have a budget constraint? That's what we told her and she said she'd work smthg out for us.

Hi purplegrumpy,

I did........told her on my situation, where I have shortlisted two place that is either imperium or Suntec so I hope if Suntec is sincere enough to give me a good package den I will decide on Suntec. I even propose to get the menu in nett price if possible so she did go to her manager for discussion during last wkends.......den promised to get back to me on Monday....but she din. So I called again on Wednesday she forgotten. But at least she get back to me pretty fast in the late afternoon with negative ans. She told me the manager only can give me $20 discount on each table but not nett.
So do u think there a need for me to go approach her again?
Since she already discussed with her manager and I already show my sincere by telling her what I want. She even asked me how much imperium offer?
I told her that imperium offered me nett as well instead of +++ but I prefer Suntec as the hotel is much nearer compared to Imperium which offer even Riz Carlton but abit far.
I told her all the fact and she din even think twice to accept my proposal. So I feel she given me the best discount and reject my nett proposal.
As for deposit matter, I din ask cos she even can't meet my proposal for nett price per table so no point to go further lah. Moreoever, she's well aware of my nos of tables.......so she's keen to take up 70tables of biz......she would have been nice to give me better package but she din.