88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

Questy, the chair cover got different colour meh??
My impression is that must be ivory lor!! Kekkee...

Anyway, Vivan from 88 restaurant had confirmed tat my cards is ready for collection.
Think tat is very fast lor! Really din expect that they print so fast!!

Hmm... talk abt Menu... me too hv not decide yet and my wedding is Feb'04!

Hi jocelyn,
i'm tking the $558 menu,the pig is nice! he...! and with this price, we'll hv more bargain power to request to reject walk-in customer.

Hi ocean,
i knw the VIP table will hv gold ribbon ah? i cun really remember. U hv cmf menu???!!! u really slack leh, ha....! GO check out the place liao lah, i's really nice.

Hi ocean,
u settle ur banquet liao? 1 more mth to go leh. i going there again for new yr dinner, he...! trying different food this time, think there r food like roast chicken and dessert which are similiar to wedding menu. I try liao then tell u abt it k, he.....!

Hi Questy!! Kekee... yap, went down to collect the card and finally see the restaurant for the first time.

I must say, not so bad lah!! The restaurant, in fact look quite nice and really, if we are sitting inside, it is like a ballroom.

Table cover are all the same, except for VIP table, which you can choose red or yellow/ivory. At the end, we choose the ivory cos it will not be too striking.

Questy, u still going there to eat again??
Wow... kekee..
Yap, let me know on the food, k?

I have not decide when to go for food tasting, but Vivian is chasing as they need to order...

Hi Questy, how's ur wedding preparation?

I'm back!! Finally everything is settled. A few hipcus but still ok lah!!

Foodwise, din really got chance to eat, but the sharkfin is still abit salty!!

Hi ocean,
So nice to see u again! How's the process? anything i nee to take note of? share ur experience with me can? he....!

My wedding prep is nearly done, simple wedding so not much things to do. Just finding time to go for PS.

He....! no chance to eat ah? the food bery nice leh, nv mind, can go back for dim sum k. The sharkfin salty ah? Did u mention to vivien to take note of the saltiness? My CNY dinner was nice, not too salty too, cos vivien remembered we dun like salty foods, so it was just nice for us. Are the serving of the dishes slow? cos mayb it's CNY, so the serving is kind of slow for us, other than tat, all was fine.

I'll be going again for dinner with my parents, will try other foods.

Yah lor, Viven said it is abit salty too. She also tasted before.

By the way, your prawns are u getting the freshed boiled one or those crispy prawn? Thinks the crispy prawn, you can have it during the food tasting.
Nice you noe!! Kekee...
But the actual day, i have fresh boiled or rather steamed prawn!! Really very fresh!!

Serving of dish, dun think is slow lah...cos, think they wanna rush to finish as I only can started my dinner at abt 8:45pm

By the way, for yours pics to let pple view, it is better to put on the right side. Eg, you are a guest walking to the entrance. You will see the reception table in front. The Albumn for your guest to view should be on your right as it is very clamp if it is put on the left near the entrance.

Oh, some of my friends commented as a restaurant std, ours is considered very class!!

Hi ocean,
Good news to hear positive cooments on the resturant, class who, he....!

I only tried the salad prawns, which hubby teenage cousins and i dun really fancy, but the other adults like it cos it's something different. I cun remember what kind of prawns i'll be hving, will decide later on tat.

U start so late ah? becos of late comers? i hope i can start earlier, if not will be so hungry and tired, he...! Ok, i'll remember to put my photos on the right side, thanks for reminding me hoh.

Hi Questy, so is your wedding still on 30/10/04?? Congratulation!!

Started late bcos of late comers lor!! Sigh..

But the walk-in was considered quite grand. You see, they will off the light. So the whole restaurant look dark. Then, your emcee present you to your guest. Spotlight will shine on you and hubby. But must remember not to walk too fast, as you need to "follow the spotlight".

For myself, i cant really see anything. But my guests tell me that they can see me clearly lor!! Cos the whole room was dark, and the spot light will only shine on you! Make you obvious!!
Kekee...

Hi Ocean,

understand that u juz had ur wedding @ 88 restaurant, how's their service? Esp Vivian! Is she really that good? Cuz my MIL really lik her alot.

Hi ocean,
ha....! really spotlight on me ah? ok, i'll need to reconsider my choice of gowns liao, must be very grand so wun waste the opportunity of being in spotlight, ha....!

oh, what do u think of the flower ark for the walk-in? are the plastic flowers fake to u? i tot to use fresh flowers to deco, but i simply out of budget. Did u add in any personal deco to the resturant at ur dinner?

Hi Gigi, Vivian was okay lah!! She is the Assist. Mgr there!! Well, if i compared her with the mgr, think she is better.

ur MIL like her alot? Good lor! My mum was very angry with her during the food-tasting... cos she said something very inaupious loh.. Hubby find her noe how to "zhou ren"... but sometimes find her abit sarcatic. The fact is if u dun think too much, u'll find her a nice lady!!

Service wise is quite good. u noe, for some dishes that u wld not be able to eat cos u not around, they will actually pack for u in a container. But of cos, u mus asked ur VIP table to ask them to pack if got more food dun have.

Oh, at least their waitress and waiters r younger than the rest of their grp of restaurant!! hahha..

It really help, u noe. After the wedding, i was so hungry
and I really find the packed food nice though abit cold!
Too bad they did not pack every dish!

<font color="aa00aa">Questy</font>, the walk-in was great with the spotlight on you and surrounding all dark dark!! But remember, dun walk too fast...

It is supposed to b spotlight follow u... but well, technology not tat advance yet, u hv to follow spotlight. I walked too fast along the way, so cannot see me for a while!!
Hahaa...

Actually, for the walkin on flowers, i really dun notice them at all.... Seriously, i tell u, u got no time!! Now, i think back, i cant even remember if there is flower along the walkway...

For me, 30 tables is abit clamp in the main hall. You only feel the clampness when talkin photos!! Walkway alright..

In my opinion, dun bother abt the deco lah if u really dun hv the budget! Cos since the restaurant is quite new, things look bright and fine. Really like Hotel Ballroom, u see!!

hi ocean.. would like to ask if u have talk to a guy manager there name Donny? how is he?
coz i have an appt actually with Vivan but she's on leave tat period so she ask me to talk to him lor..

Hi Ocean, wat inaupious things did Vivian say tat cause ur mother got so angry? Seems tat ur hubby lik vivian more then u n ur mother.My MIL love her smile..We don find vivian sarcatic, in fact, she found her a v pleasant lady.

<font color="0000ff">Gigi</font>, i also dun find her sarcastic, but hubby said she is abit, but u wun noe it lor... Guess that is just his man feel!

But overall, she is quite helpful lah!!
So not to worry!! Oh, dun tell her i said tat!!

<font color="aa00aa">Mei Mei</font>, i dun noe if Donny is the Mgr, but maybe he is the one lah!! The few round that i talked to him, i find him very straight! Since Donny is the mgr, he should have more authority loh...

You know this Danny, after the dinner, it happened that the key to my bridal room was kept with me. Then, Danny came to know abt it and "nicely" took the key back from me saying scared i lost it.

After that when i want the keys, he said "nicely" &amp; "tactfully" to settle the payment first before giving me the keys!! I wasn't thinkin much cos too many thing on my mind.... But i noe i felt funny abt this!!

Just this point you all have to take note. Still, i think as compared to others restaurant, 88 restaurant is quite class as restaurant std and foodwise is not bad!!

Can say value for money!! Kekkee...

Hi ocean,
he...! ok, i'll try to follow the lights, and dun bother abt the deco liao, since it's still so nice by Oct 04. Mine is 28+2, think will stick to 28 max, so the room will not be too cramp.

abt vivien, sometimes she really can chat non-stop, hubby in customer service, so still can handle her talking, not much pblm of her speech.

Hi mei mei,
I not sure if he's Donny, but i heard from vivien tat the male manager can sweet talk the birds to leave the tree ah, he...! My friend also told me tat he's good in handling couples during actual banquet. My friend's hubby managed to escape most liquor for the night using chinese tea, so i also looking forward for his service.

Really, Donny so good meh?
If that guy is Donny, then i dun find him good lah!! Hahahaa....

Questy, bascially, Vivian is quite nice lah! She did her best liao! Just that she really make my mum very very angry with her on my food tasting day!

Oh, remember to keep a copy of ur Menu for memories!!
i din hv chance to look at the Menu on tat nite n forget to keep one copy too...

Hi mei mei, don worry so much lah. No matter whether the guy manager Donny or Vivian, i strongly believed that they wil definately tried their best to meet ur needs.

Hi Questy, so ur hubby also v sarcatic har? I found that we keep praising and protecting Vivian. Dunno wil she fel touched anot and give us more discounts when she knows abt it,he..!

Hi Ocean, mayb ur expectations is too high, to us, we really can't find any fault in Vivian. We can said that compared to most restaurants and hotels, really v hard to find a manager that is so attentive.
I dunno wat had happened on ur foodtasting day, but muz b v bad... U so poor thing... Anyway it's ur mother that was not happy and not ur MIL.
Can keep a copy of the menu for memories?How? Get from who?

Hi ocean,
ha....! she must be crazy on tat day liao, dun mind her k, just enjoy ur married life. The Donny not very good ah? i als not sure, cos tat's what i heard from my friend, he....!

Hi gigi,
he's not sarcatic, but since he's also in guest service industry, vivien should be more alert in talking to him, and may not dare to talk rubbish loh, he...! She no feeling one lah, ha...! i just hoping tat she'll do her job properly on my banquet day, if not, i'll bite off her head! he....!

Hi mei mei,
Guess we r all Oct bride. yea, better book now cos Oct is a pretty hot mth to get married k.

Hi Questy, y suddenly all arrowed Vivian? She also make u angry har?

Hi mei mei, oct'04 or '05? Mine is on Nov'04.

Hi Ocean, forgotten to ask u abt emcee. I'm thinking of asking my buddies to help.Did u use their emcee?

hi gigi
mi on 1st Oct 2004.. hehe already ask them to block the date liao so goin down to pay the deposit lor..

Hi mei mei, all the best to u! Make sure u don dirty the ballroom cuz Questy n i will b using it after u! Haha...

Hi gigi,
not arrow vivien lah, also nv arrow her mah, just to share my experiences abt her with u all hoh. I like her too but hubby find her quite chatty, he...!

Hi mei mei,
U earlier than me and gigi, so remember to share ur experiences with us k, thanks!

<font color="0000ff">gigi</font>, actually, on that day, my FIL was also not so happy abt it. But my mum was most upset by the comments made by Vivian's saying that the vegies tat we wanna changed in another dialect meant "broken".... Vivian kept saying tat and try to persuade us not to change vegies... that triggers my mum anger.

At the end, Vivian said if wanna change also can, but u see, she already said so much thing stressing on "broken", who would in their right frame change the vegies although in teochew, that vegies is called "flying dragon".

Well, guess <font color="aa00aa">Questy</font> and I r not commenting tat Vivian or Donny is no good or very good, but probabaly, just let urself to take note.

Oh yap, <font color="0000ff">gigi</font>, menu get from ur VIP table 1 and table 2 lor on your wedding night!! I forget to keep one and at the end, Helen from HQ mailed it to me!

Actually i want 2 copies, the front and the back to paste on my album. But think they only managed to find one copy...

Hahaa... u all so funny.. Think <font color="ff6000">Mei mei</font> will be stressful trying to keep the floor clean!!

Hi Ocean, wat veggie? Is it spinach? To us cantonese, means 'po cai'(lost wealth). Wat is ' flying dragon'? So wat veggie did u chose in the end? Vivian should b more tackful, cantonese r always v bland. So overall, was ur banquet consider a successful one?

Hi Questy, got a v stunning news fr my hubby's friend, do u know vivian's hubby is actually the boss of yunnan garden restaurant! Wonder y she need to work so hard ???

<font color="119911">Gigi</font>, Yar lor... she is the one who inform my mum can change to spinach. Then when we really wanted to change, she said it is called "po cai" many many times. My mum said, it is other dialect grop, but for Teochew, is called "puay leh"... the flying dragon. But she kept sayin po cai po cai untile my mum very angry and my FIL also not happy!!

I noe Vivian is married, but HB is the boss of yunnun garden?? Wow...
Maybe she enjoy working??

why r we suppose to get our invitation cards? must coem up with name list first rgt?

Hi gigi,
really ah? can be tai tai liao stil enjoy wrking. may it's tough to work in family's business, gain new experience mayb? he...!

Hi ocean,
i hvn decide on the menu yet, but scared my MIL and her sisters will kick a fuss abt it, destructive and not constructive! i also no eyes to see lah. Mayb i'll ask vivien to choose for me, cos we like her choice of dishes during the dinner we had sometime ago. See how lah, still quite luan now.

Hi mei mei,
thanks for keeping the floor clean hoh, he...!

Hi mei mei, thks for keeping the floor clean, u r really sweet!

Hi ocean, stay happy! At least u got good feedbacks from ur friends, rite?

Hi Questy, dunno about vivian's case lei, only noe tat she is the lady boss loh. Really so tough to work in family business meh?

Hi to all,
I just called vivien today to book a table for dinner, and she asked me regarding the thread! She tried to come in but cun seemed to find the thread. My personal view is tat, why dun we dun review the thread, so we can chat freely and not worrying tat they will come see what we've being chatting, no matter good or bad comments. I really hope all can cooperate to keep this thread to ourselves, so we can exchange more views and not worrying of being checked upon hoh. There r lots of cases whr the service provider came into the thread, and brides do get into trouble when they review their personal experiences, things just turned ugly for both parties. I really dun want tat to happen to us cos it's the only way we can communicate and exchange views so comfortably hoh.

What do u all think? share share lah....... thanks!

Hi gigi,
i think should be tough loh, sure will kana some gossip here and there. If u too strict, pple say u play with power, if u too lenient, will get scolding of being open. Not very easy to work with relatives one loh...... it's a true for em when i work in my relative's place.

Hi Questy, i totally agreed w u! Don review anything to Vivian, cuz this is the only way we can communicate w each other.

Aiyo..Really that tough to work in family business har? Really pity Vivian loh, lady boss still needs to work so hard.. Really dunno how her hubby thinks?

hi gals.. happy april fool's day.. hehe
goin down this sat to pay deposit liao.. then i think most probably get 30 tables liao.... how abut u gals??

Hi gigi,
mayb she's working to pass time? my hubby encouraged me to continue working after marriage, one thing is for financial security for ourselves, another is to pass time. If i stay at home, will sure disturb him if i'm bored, he....! Remember how we grumble our bosses, i think she should also kana all those thoo, he....!

Hi mei mei,
I'm hving 28+2, i hope to remain at 28 tables, so will hv more walking space for all. If possible, I will want 2 tables in the VIP room for my cousins to "play" inside, so they can make as much noise as they want, he...!

hi gals.. me juz pay the deposit yesterday..
Donny is quite a nice guy leh.. keep jokin haha
he is the restaurant manager..
me booked 25 tables first then abt aug i'll confirm with them again...

Hi mei mei,
What time did u go to the restaurant? i was hving dinner there at 7-8.30pm, i saw Donny talking to a few pair of couples, r u one of the pair? he....!

Hi mei mei,
I was at the first few table, with 5 pple there, i sat facing the kitchen, wearing a cream colour top with pants. R u sitting at the table beside the VIP room? I knw Donny chatted with a couple for quite long, i was telling my hubby they may be signing packages, he....!

hi questy..
yup bingo i was sitting beside the vip room..
tokin to donny.. payin deposit.. i was wearin an orange polo tee.. hehe..

Hi mei mei,
really ah! too bad we didn't knw each other, if not sure can say hello liao, he...! nv mind, we'll hv chances to meet up next time, he....!

Hi Ladies, how are u all??

With regards to letting them know about the forum, i agreed to with Questy that it is better not to let them noe... Last time, i only tell Vivian that i got this friend of mine getting married of this date, waiting for my comments. Then, at least, they will try to do things nice nice lor!!

Hi Ocean,
i'm fine, just very busy with work, he...! Thks for supporting my suggestions, cos i dun like to let them knw what we've discussed and they can use it against us. I think vivian must hv known we've being communicating, but still cun get in yet (hope she cun come in cos our wedding dates r stated here).

Hi mei mei, u done with ur wedding prep? i preparation stagnent for very long liao, now waiting for my PS and final guest list.

For me, i never told her that there is this forum. Just told her that i got some friens after me who are getting married. Usually, i will tell her they cannot attend mine and vice verse due to the believe that we shld not attend each other wedding 4mths b4 and after our wedding.

U all said wedding preparation stopped for a while. Guess still got some time. How abt ur houses? You all stayin alone or with in-laws?

For me, i am stayin with hubby in my new hse at woodland. Moved in since late Feb after my wedding!!

Hi mei mei,
u doing final guestlist liao? so fast ah? i hvn done any yet, think will do it in May. i hv to postpone my PS cos hubby very busy with work, so PS shld be in july loh... u choose ur gowns liao?

Hi ocean,
Tat's a good idea, he...!

I done with my house since last August, in Jurong West. I'll only stay in after AD, and only come over occasionally for short stay. Should be staying with hubby only, but my PIL got a room in the house, but she also not staying here, yet, he....! If she really come to stay with us, then very headache for me, very very very naggy man, cannot stand her, he....!

hi questy..
yup preparing already..juz need to confirm with them lor.. as for the invitation card dun need to print so early i think coz mayb will be addin few more tables.. me chose my gown liao lor.. hehe