(2016) 2016 brides

Always work around your budget! And factor in a extra x amount just in case... From there work and see which venue suits you more.. Deco etc can be diy-ed etc

all 3 are within our budget so far. i'm too lazy to DIY decor haha! neither are my jiemei gonna DIY stuff.. :( so it may be a better idea to choose a hotel instead of event space cos hotels can do everything!

I'm down to 3 venues for now, finally! Any suggestions how should we decide?? o_O

Venue A - can cater to 600 guests (we can still narrow the gues tlist down to just 400+ pax, so this is more of a backup venue while we finalize the guest list)
Venue B - I like the ballroom and decor
Venue C - my fiance likes it for the hotel reputation and price (cheaper than B and C)

In accordance to pricing and my liking.. haha..
A; GBTB
B: St Regis
C: Fullerton

i'm not holding solemnisation on the same day. so it's really just banquet reception :)

If all is within your budget, then you can factor in the following
1) Food standard?
2) Service standards?
3) The perks that the hotel provide?
4) The accessibility for your guests

Read the reviews on the various threads to see if you can collate more on the good/not so good reviews.

I booked MO after comparing it between Crowne and Grand Copthorne. MO has been always my dream hotel, yes the prices are steep. Even my mil got a shock hahaha. So i have to share the banquet cost with htb...because he wanted GC and I just "psycho him" to sign up on the road show.

Yea I know what you mean.. that’s a good decision, and your HTB was understanding to accommodate too.. what you really don’t want is go with GC when it’s not really the one you want, then 10 years down the road when you both quarrel, you start bringing up the past. .haha… that’s what my bro-in law said.. which I thought.. ya quite true… if 10 years down the road I suddenly get very angry with him, at least I can look back at the photos and remember the reason why I fell in love with him and married him.
A; GBTB

i'm not holding solemnisation on the same day. so it's really just banquet reception :)

What is GBTB? St Regis is definitely beautiful but way over our budget. Fullerton is not bad and the budget is pretty manageable too : )

If all is within your budget, then you can factor in the following
1) Food standard?
2) Service standards?
3) The perks that the hotel provide?
4) The accessibility for your guests

Read the reviews on the various threads to see if you can collate more on the good/not so good reviews.

sad to say, these 3 venues have very few reviews online hurhur!
but thank you for the pointers.. :) i think the 4 points above are about the same for all 3 venues. all in the central area with stations/buses nearby as well. gbtb food will be done by a caterer and tentatively we're looking at peach garden catering which should be fine.. just that i can't be sure about the service of the servers/butler, which may be something to reconsider..

how many of you getting a photobooth? They seems quite expensive, average about $800.

thinking if it is really necessary, because the photographer that I am thinking of engaging for AD, provides an instant print option (photos printed immediately from their camera), for an additional cost of course.

And I am also thinking of having mad libs for my wedding, and my wedding venue also provide live band, canapes and cocktails during reception - so I think the guests are well occupied during reception?

sad to say, these 3 venues have very few reviews online hurhur!
but thank you for the pointers.. :) i think the 4 points above are about the same for all 3 venues. all in the central area with stations/buses nearby as well. gbtb food will be done by a caterer and tentatively we're looking at peach garden catering which should be fine.. just that i can't be sure about the service of the servers/butler, which may be something to reconsider..

Fullerton is definitely a safe option! Many people have their wedding there and I haven't heard much complains so far.

And ya, what is GBTB? haha

Fullerton is definitely a safe option! Many people have their wedding there and I haven't heard much complains so far.

And ya, what is GBTB? haha

What is GBTB? St Regis is definitely beautiful but way over our budget. Fullerton is not bad and the budget is pretty manageable too : )

gardens by the bay :) yeah fullerton is much cheaper which is why my fiance is inclined towards it. hahaha! all 3 are within budget, just that if we hold it at fullerton, we can save some $$ from the budget.

my friends are afraid i'll fall down the steps of fullerton ballroom thou! >.<

how many of you getting a photobooth? They seems quite expensive, average about $800.

thinking if it is really necessary, because the photographer that I am thinking of engaging for AD, provides an instant print option (photos printed immediately from their camera), for an additional cost of course.

And I am also thinking of having mad libs for my wedding, and my wedding venue also provide live band, canapes and cocktails during reception - so I think the guests are well occupied during reception?

in my opinion, photobooth is more for the 'youngsters' whereby they can snap loads of photo and just to keep them. But if your AD photographer provided an instant print option, then wouldnt that be like duplicate of a photobooth? Maybe you could compare the prices and see which fits your budget better.

Alternatively, you can always DIY your own photobooth if you dont mind. :)

gardens by the bay :) yeah fullerton is much cheaper which is why my fiance is inclined towards it. hahaha! all 3 are within budget, just that if we hold it at fullerton, we can save some $$ from the budget.

my friends are afraid i'll fall down the steps of fullerton ballroom thou! >.<

haha, I would vote for either St Regis or Fullerton! Sounds more posh than GBTB, hahaha

hey, can you share which photographer u engaged? if he prints photos instantly for the guests, then a photobooth won't be that necessary i guess!

in my opinion, photobooth is more for the 'youngsters' whereby they can snap loads of photo and just to keep them. But if your AD photographer provided an instant print option, then wouldnt that be like duplicate of a photobooth? Maybe you could compare the prices and see which fits your budget better.

Alternatively, you can always DIY your own photobooth if you dont mind. :)

Haha ya, so its either get a photobooth or take up the instant print option... at the moment we are leaning towards the instant print option. Seems 'classier' haha! :P

Can DIY the backdrop and props ourselves lah, but the camera and instant printing how? also DIY ah?

hey, can you share which photographer u engaged? if he prints photos instantly for the guests, then a photobooth won't be that necessary i guess!

Hahaha yeah, so its either or. Okay lah we'll probably take up the instant print option hee hee... BTB always just want affirmations on their choices :P

I haven't confirm yet, but most likely engaging Mojoideas!

Haha ya, so its either get a photobooth or take up the instant print option... at the moment we are leaning towards the instant print option. Seems 'classier' haha! :p

Can DIY the backdrop and props ourselves lah, but the camera and instant printing how? also DIY ah?

haha if the AD photog can provide the instant print option, then you just need to DIY the backdrop & props. together w the instant prints, it alr looks like a photobooth! but then bear in mind you wouldn't want your AD photog covering the banquet night to be occupied with the makeshift booth the whole night.

If you dont mind not having a instant photobooth station. Maybe you can suggest one of your family/friends/yourself to station a camera over at the makeshift booth and one of the brothers to help double up as the photographer there. After the banquet night, you can send them the photo via soft copy or print out for them? Or if you want an instant one, you can get those photo printers? :)

There're many options i guess, just the price that matters. :p I'm quite sure there are other photobooth services offering at much cheaper rates. $800 is a little too steep.

hahaha, that's what the elders at home say also. but actually gbtb venue looks the prettiest! and even more expensive than hotels lor :/ haha. cos everything ala carte.

http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/c...nt/contentpar/image.img.jpg/1435227674406.jpg
I dont suppose GBTB will provide night stay in suite right? Correct me if i'm wrong. :P

Because although the price is the same, bear in mind that you're paying for restaurant food for the other two choices over catered food, and also there's night stay in bridal suite for Fullerton & St Regis too!

Unless you're really keen on Garden theme wedding, then why not since this is once in a lifetime. :) Provided your HTB is okay with it too! haha

If like that, have to prepare to make a huge loss at your banquet, since most people don't think its so expensive and will give a smaller angbao haha

lollll. but i've also inquired with some friends whether gbtb sounds cheaper than hotels, they don't find so leh! it's not so much of the ang baos cos we already budgeted the full cost of the banquet alr. but htb will be inviting some of his business clients, so he really wants a nice place..

Hahaha yeah, so its either or. Okay lah we'll probably take up the instant print option hee hee... BTB always just want affirmations on their choices :p

I haven't confirm yet, but most likely engaging Mojoideas!

haha yeah it's always good to ask around for opinions cos there are so much details in things, we may not have thought of all possibilities / reasonings!

I dont suppose GBTB will provide night stay in suite right? Correct me if i'm wrong. :p

Because although the price is the same, bear in mind that you're paying for restaurant food for the other two choices over catered food, and also there's night stay in bridal suite for Fullerton & St Regis too!

Unless you're really keen on Garden theme wedding, then why not since this is once in a lifetime. :) Provided your HTB is okay with it too! haha

i can't remember the catering packages offhand now.. but i think there is a free stay at one hotel (conrad iirc??) from one of the caterers! info for anyone who might be interested in gbtb :)
n there is also the "bridal suite" / meeting room beside the banquet hall available for tea ceremony and makeup/changing and such.. it's a unique venue.. but food is a concern still even though the caterers shortlisted are quite known for quality food!

A; GBTB

we have measured pros and cons of each venue, but still can't decide on one yet! would appreciate all advice.. :)

I would choose St Regis over Fullerton. Like you mentioned in your later post about the stairs.. people cannot see you walk down the stairs as there are too many pillars.. and by the time you reach the bottom of the stairs and walk towards the stage.. ppl at the other 2 ends of the ballroom can't see you till you walk up the stage..

That's my view cos I attended a wedding there.. and it was so so only.. ppl were also placed next to the screen so those sitting there had problems seeing the video montage..

I would choose St Regis over Fullerton. Like you mentioned in your later post about the stairs.. people cannot see you walk down the stairs as there are too many pillars.. and by the time you reach the bottom of the stairs and walk towards the stage.. ppl at the other 2 ends of the ballroom can't see you till you walk up the stage..

That's my view cos I attended a wedding there.. and it was so so only.. ppl were also placed next to the screen so those sitting there had problems seeing the video montage..

oooh.. thanks for sharing this my dear! the coordinator did inform us that the guests at the sides have to rely on the screen to see our march-in..

Weekend just flew by! In the end we didn't even manage to do much except to google at home for wedding Venue. LOL

Has anyone attended wedding in Conrad hotel? As I know this hotel is pet friendly, I want my precious poodles to be part of our wedding celebrations.

Another one I am looking at is Capella in Sentosa. But is it true the rooms to banquet is very far and thus very troublesome to get around?

So far, have only confirmed my Makeup styling. My MUA Joie recommended photographers she works closely with. Anyone have worked with the photographers? I like more candid and less posey kind of shots.

She listed Crème Photography, Lighted pixels, Ave 8. Any input will be helpful thank you all in advance!

oooh.. thanks for sharing this my dear! the coordinator did inform us that the guests at the sides have to rely on the screen to see our march-in..

Then I guess you have to ensure that the screens really show.. because the one I attended didn't show the walk in.. so i didn't put it under my consideration. =S

I am holding my banquet in March 2016. So far.. Managed to secure venue at one of the restaurants and have booked for pre-wed. Quite unsure of what's next to prepare..

Hi welcome! ^^ so where's the venue you've secured?
Ahh... maybe you can start w JP (if you're having solemnisation outside ROM) and your bridal boutique. (: once done, you can move on to the AD photog and videog.

Hello, anyone knows what are the perks offered by orchard hotel and park royal beach road at the recent wedding fair at vivo? Considering the two cos of the pillar less ballroom but wasn't able to make it to the fair.

Weekend just flew by! In the end we didn't even manage to do much except to google at home for wedding Venue. LOL

Has anyone attended wedding in Conrad hotel? As I know this hotel is pet friendly, I want my precious poodles to be part of our wedding celebrations.

Another one I am looking at is Capella in Sentosa. But is it true the rooms to banquet is very far and thus very troublesome to get around?

So far, have only confirmed my Makeup styling. My MUA Joie recommended photographers she works closely with. Anyone have worked with the photographers? I like more candid and less posey kind of shots.

She listed Crème Photography, Lighted pixels, Ave 8. Any input will be helpful thank you all in advance!

You are right about the part on Capella rooms being far from banquet venue. It's about 3 mins walk from the standard rooms to the main ballroom (non air con walk) and if you are staying int he suites you need a buggy to fetch you because all the suites are located around Capella with greenery and super far from the balroom. You can walk,bout navigating the the greenery in those heels, not a good idea lol. I did an event there. The place is so beautiful... If you are interested you should just go and take a site visit.b

U can look at tiny dot photograph too

You are right about the part on Capella rooms being far from banquet venue. It's about 3 mins walk from the standard rooms to the main ballroom (non air con walk) and if you are staying int he suites you need a buggy to fetch you because all the suites are located around Capella with greenery and super far from the balroom. You can walk,bout navigating the the greenery in those heels, not a good idea lol. I did an event there. The place is so beautiful... If you are interested you should just go and take a site visit.b

thank you!
I have attended a wedding luncheon there but never the rooms. Will check it out

A; GBTB

we have measured pros and cons of each venue, but still can't decide on one yet! would appreciate all advice.. :)
I would prefer either st Regis or Fullerton hotel as you do not need to trouble over the food etc .. It is included in the package ...

I've been reading and following the thread for quite some time now. Decided to drop a message and say hi to all 2016 BTBs here (:

I'm 2016 Nov BTB and have just started looking for my BS. Recently went to the Wedding Fair at VivoCity and found them really pushy! Lol

Hi @Blingcecilia ahh how about some cafes? (: the photographers will usually suggest a few places to you too. If you dwant the norm like barrage, botanical gardens, lallang field, etc, maybe can ask them to suggest. Or choose a place which holds meaning for your fiance and yourself. Like library? Hehe

@maydreamerx Hi! (: yes the sales any fairs can be quite pushy. Did you sign up for any packages yet?

I've been reading and following the thread for quite some time now. Decided to drop a message and say hi to all 2016 BTBs here (:

I'm 2016 Nov BTB and have just started looking for my BS. Recently went to the Wedding Fair at VivoCity and found them really pushy! Lol

Hi @maydreamerx

I miss the Vivocity wedding fair as my htb was out of town ... Im still reading here and there till my htb is back.. so far I like most is still www.unique-weddings.com

did you sign up any package yet?

Punggol waterway? Punggol beach? Gardens by the bay? Hortpark?
I just did mine at punggol ytday. If you want special locations in sg for photoshoot abit hard. I also hv a hard time. The idea we originally thought is quite ok but our photographer says too messy background..so end up switching. Maybe you can do some homework on ideas of what you want and show them to the photographer. Maybe he will hv some suggestions for you.

Hi @Blingcecilia ahh how about some cafes? (: the photographers will usually suggest a few places to you too. If you dwant the norm like barrage, botanical gardens, lallang field, etc, maybe can ask them to suggest. Or choose a place which holds meaning for your fiance and yourself. Like library? Hehe

@maydreamerx Hi! (: yes the sales any fairs can be quite pushy. Did you sign up for any packages yet?

Not yet, went with another couple friend whose wedding is in Nov this year and they got psycho-ed to sign package instead. Lol!

I'm still taking my time to look around. I think gowns choices are very important to me, so I really want to make sure that the BS I choose has the kind of style I want!

Hi @maydreamerx

I miss the Vivocity wedding fair as my htb was out of town ... Im still reading here and there till my htb is back.. so far I like most is still www.unique-weddings.com

did you sign up any package yet?

Hihi! I've heard about unique weddings too. Shall check them out.

I haven't sign any package yet. Still looking around and hopefully will find one I'm comfortable with (:

Think there's another wedding fair by Her World this coming weekend. Can go check it out!

I just did mine at punggol ytday. If you want special locations in sg for photoshoot abit hard. I also hv a hard time. The idea we originally thought is quite ok but our photographer says too messy background..so end up switching. Maybe you can do some homework on ideas of what you want and show them to the photographer. Maybe he will hv some suggestions for you.

I did mine for my pre wed shoot at punggol waterpark, the beach n gardens by the bay. My photographer had suggested to see how it goes on that day and whether there was enough time. Im with yc btw :P

I did mine for my pre wed shoot at punggol waterpark, the beach n gardens by the bay. My photographer had suggested to see how it goes on that day and whether there was enough time. Im with yc btw :p

I'm w YC too
Usually how many mths b4 AD then do photoshoot? Did u choose ur own photographer? Is he good?

I'm w YC too
Usually how many mths b4 AD then do photoshoot? Did u choose ur own photographer? Is he good?

I did my photoshoot in may. My wedding in oct tis yr :x. There is currently 1 photographer wif yc unless in between people join.. heh. Alright ah photographer. Dun worry!

I did mine for my pre wed shoot at punggol waterpark, the beach n gardens by the bay. My photographer had suggested to see how it goes on that day and whether there was enough time. Im with yc btw :p

yay!!another bride with YC.... me too :) and i was really lucky.. i won a MTM gown during their lucky draw.. was just thinking.. if i dont have the MTM, can i have 3 gowns instead? lol! i guess it's much easier than the MTM process, and besides, YC can customise the gowns.. so kinda like MTM right? :P

My plan was a long solemnization gown for the afternoon solemnisation, followed by a white princess ball gown, then evening gown. maybe i should try my luck and see if YC allows :) they have been really accommodating and nice so far! haha.. and

I booked MO after comparing it between Crowne and Grand Copthorne. MO has been always my dream hotel, yes the prices are steep. Even my mil got a shock hahaha. So i have to share the banquet cost with htb...because he wanted GC and I just "psycho him" to sign up on the road show.

Just got married last month at MO. Loved the staff and their personalized service! Food was really awesome as well. All my guests gave positive reviews about the food and many of them said it's the best banquet food they ever had! happy planning babe! :)

I would prefer either st Regis or Fullerton hotel as you do not need to trouble over the food etc .. It is included in the package ...

yeah.. actually not so much of the food becos we've shortlisted a few reputable caterers and they have packages that includes even aisle floral and stage setup etc..
now my fiance wants fullerton and i want st regis, and both of us don't wanna give in >.<