(2011) 2011 Brides

reneetang... thx for the info but havent been to some of these places so duno how to choose... so where did u have ur photoshoot then?

j0yle... yup my photoshoot is nex month... should be in time... heng...

prisci11a> can u share your old package with me if possible

need to do comparison chart first after all the resourcing....
wow seems like my topic gets everyone starts commenting alot :p

rainbow>> all the best and have fun at ur PS next mth! I can't wait for mine.. ha~

Siy>> we gancheong for u althou' u still got time for prep.. think we put u on our timeline!

pinkglove>> hah~ my happy gauge is to justify my spending.. but as long as ppl happy, it's money worth spending. my family loves to talk about who's who's wedding, so fun, so happy, so touching.. hope my wedding will have the same effect on them!

my fiance also always see stars when we talk about spending for the wedding.. but we also do splurge abit more on stuff that we felt it falls in our happy gauge..

Siy: i'm keen for the meetup!

I'm beginning my search for my wedding gown. I'm wondering what is the average price (to rent), either MTM or off the rack, for a average type of dress. I'm not looking at those $250 type that can be bought online (how are those dresses, anybody??), but not looking to pay $2000 to rent a wedding gown for a day either. I just want a simple design, but made with good quality materials.

Help please! Also, can you suggest me some good bridal shops? I'm not lokoing for a package.. I've also gotten a MTM gorgeous cheong sam made by Dang Bridal :D

hmm... so good leh.. seems like a handful of u have a list of songs to choose from.. i dun think i have that...

sigh
gg to hunt for songs le..

any idea which song is suitable for march in, etc.. ?

Hi all btbs,

am still in the midst of thinking whether to hold my AD in nov/dec 2011. but i am having trouble here...

i am deciding between these 2 hotels' ballroom to hold my AD. Which hotel do you think is better & why?

Regent on a friday night: min. 30 tables
Pac Pacific on a friday night: min. 45 tables

What do you guys think of the food & service there?

I would really appreciate all your valuable feedback.

Siy, can i fwd the email to you? easier for me... heee ....that was a singapore bride promo in march... u got his current package? maybe use that to bargain...

i also did a rough table to compare the PGs before i narrow down to the last 2... heeee ..my main cut off first was price den i see what i like from those left that are in my budget .... at the moment, if i go for wedding moments, den i will not have a wedding cake ..

hope i can come to sept meet up...

Hi all, jus to ask, why are member's name & details in red? usually on the left of our posted msg, the user name is blue, why does it turn red?

DL: is ur MTM CS from Dang for keeps? I'm super tempted to make a long CS from Dang too... can i know what's e starting price quoted for a mtm cs by dang? n yes,like what clint has suggested, u can visit allure which's located @ Amoy street. I find e designer cum owner a friendly person & she can make modifications to e gown to suit ur own preferences too.

pinkscrump: the minimum no. of tables are quite different, i assume since they are in ur considerations so u should have no difficulties meeting e min. no for both?... wat abt e max no. they can hold? Can both fit ur max no. comfortably? Pan pac's food's from a restaurant right? I'm not so sure for Regent..

i'm up for e meet up too! But I'll only be free 3rd week of sep onwards.

pinkscrump: I've been to weddings at Regent.. the portion of food is sufficient for all 10 of us.. and taste not too bad.. but I don't like their ballroom which has a few pillars (can't remember how many though).. I was blocked by one pillar and didn't really enjoy much of the wedding.. can't really see the montage etc..

pinkscrump, congrats!
I've been to a wedding at Pan Pac last december on thursday night. It was at the 2nd floor ballroom, around 30 tables. Food was wonderful. The banquet manager service was faultless. He got everything right where they are.

Only hiccup was the dinner started late as some guests couldn't find parking lots. I have a feeling that this is quite common as the carpark is shared between the 3 hotels and certain lots are reserved for valet parking.

pinkscrump>> seems like u r looking at the bigger ballrms for pan pac and regent.. personally think that panpac's grand ballroom is nice (max 68 tables) and a super spacious reception area.. regent's ballrm can take 50tables max..

regent wld be gd if u want somewhere more exclusive cos' it's a hotel with own premises, like what lish says, so carpark wldnt be so much of a problem.

bugz>> most likely u clicked on someone's name to PM the person and ur com enable cookies so they r highlighted in red?

Hey jOyle, thanks for the reply.. but no lehz, din PM the person... thot those pple are block for posting "self ads"...

pinkglove: yup yup, its the min. number of tables for both, whch i think i should be able to hit. The food for Regent is from Summer Palace.

clint: there are 2 pillars in the ballroom, heh, i went to check it out. I know that there's no pillar in PP's ballroom. but Regent gives me a warm vibe leh..which is why i am thinking so much. cos my colleagues told me to think abt high ceiling, no pillars etc...

Lish: yup yup, i also thought abt the carpark too. But the ballroom on the 2nd floor is more narrow le...

j0yle:ahh yes, i know what u mean abt the Grand Ballroom, but its a pity about the carpet.most of my gfs do not like the carpet there le....and Regent has their reception area too, which is outside the ballroom, with alot of sofas, but of cos, everyone can see everyone

pinkscrump>> pan pac dun look so glam/fairytale cos' of the carpet and the lights are not the chandelier type.. u can check out this couple's wedding dance in pan pac ballrm to see if u like that effect.. =) http://unique-colours.com/blog/gin-leong-chaven-wedding/

pinkglove/clint>> i arranged for an appt with Kim on fri! need to draw for her? I just have bits and pieces of what I want in magazines and online photos..

Joyle: no need to draw, u can jus show her wat u wan frm e pics u have & she'll draw out for u ;) u muz b excited abt it! So fun to see e end products. Hehe

Hi ladies.. want to check with you something.

Would you all cater seats for little kids, below 4 years old?

Would you all cater seats for maids?

pinkglove>> yeap.. so tempted to get it done soon! u had a long or knee-length CS?

im so torn btw getting CS or a 2-in-1 dress (for ROM and as tea dress) from Kim.. she's gd at CS, and gd at all other dresses? I may want both!

rachel>> when did u do ur CS with Kim? she sounded super busy when I called her..

pinkscrump>> if u gg for fairytale kind, think Regent's furnishing is more towards glam and grand.. Pan Pac's more modern..

joyle, i did mine back in early july i think. but i told her i need it by sept so maybe she taking her time lo. will call her soon if i still dun get anything.

ya she always very busy.

Hello girls!

Been a while since I came here and you guys have gone really far ahead in your planning! I think I have stopped doing anything wedding related since June because of my work!
So glad that Aug is finally coming to an end and I am getting my life back!

pinkscrump >> Other than food and service also have to consider the accessibility. If a lot of your guests take public transport, Pan Pac might be better... Regent is far from MRT. I like both Pan Pac and Regent and have considered both before as well. Regent has only 1 ballroom so it's more exclusive as compared to Pan Pac.

Sapphire05 >> I cater for primary school kids and above. For below 4 years old, I will cater baby seat for them. Not sure how the hotel will count baby seat as 1 pax or not, will check that out. I will not cater for maids, unless the family requests or RSVP accordingly.

My gown selection is next month! So looking forward, but what do I need to prepare for gown selection?

j0yle: i had a knee length CS.. back then was thinking it'll be more practical to wear next time cos if i make a long CS and cut away e french laces after that, it's going to be a huge waste... But now, I feel long CS are nicer, more elegant.. haha...that's why thinking of making another long CS...was thinking maybe can wear during solemization... I think I'm just trying to find reasons to make another dress..
.. maybe u can discuss ur ideas with Kim and if u can have a 2 in 1, why not? hehe..

sapphire: kids yes, maids unless they specify..

kass: what i did was to tell e designer e kinda 'feel' I want for my WG, followed by the type of cut (A line / mermaid / ballgown etc) then e type of fabric I prefer, e.g. satin / tulle.. After that I'll go into the details of my top n train.. (e.g. embroidary, beadings )
I think the best way is to try on different types of gowns and u will know when it's "THE dress"!

prisci11a> yes pls email me the old package deal....
ladies im getting worried as u all were so well-prepared

seems like there's lots more for me to look into...
anyway, let me know ur preference of meet-up in 3rd wk of Sept so far?
shall we fix a schedule & see how's the response?

pinkglove>> i love long CS with tail too! but yah, short CS more practical.. showed my mum some long CS and she said,"we she me yao nong dao na me chang, bu hui die dao meh?" =X

just afraid that its difficult to get materials actually.. lazy also..

Kass>> u taking OTR or MTM? if OTR, get the person to let u try different styles to see if the cut suit u or not then narrow down to choose ur fave? if MTM, I told my designer what I liked, showed some pics.. then he let me try out similar cut cos' he say on picture and on urself will feel different~ enjoy the gown selection and dun forget to take photos when U want!

Hi ladies..thanks for your response.

I was so upset / angry / unhappy yesterday when a cousin told me she wanted 12 seats for her family (her mum & dad, her own family with kids & her sister's family with kids). All in all.. they have only 6 adults and 2 kids in pri sch, 2 kids at age 4 & 5, and 1 toddler at age 3 next year.

My mum and I have already kind of decided to give them 1 table since they have 6 adults. I will slot in 1 high chair (for toddlers - hotels will not count this as 1 seat), so 4 extra seats & 1 high for the 5 kids to 'free&easy'.

She said she wanted 12.. and I went to count the numbers, realized she is asking for 1 seat for her maid.

Was thinking kids would run away, maid would run after kids. She already have 4 seats to 'free&easy'. Not good enough????

My mum and I already thought we are being generous enough to allocate 1 table for this entire family when they dont even have the full 10 adults. We also know they wont give me back the angbao amount to cover 1 table's cost.

Hi Kasss.. I agree with Pinkglove. Maybe you can tell Euzart what you like, and what you DONT like. Easy for him to select the gowns for you to choose in your next visit?

Hi Siy... 3rd week of Sept is fine with me.

sapphire: I can understand ur anger.. it's like they are not being considerate..I think it's ok to give them 1 table since there's baby chairs.. can u check with ur coordinator if u can have 11 adult chairs in tat table + 1 baby chair then?

sapphire: I think u are really a very practical person! I need such reminders! haha.. logically I know I don't need another CS at all! But my heart's going the other way.. haha.. im trying to convince myself in tat I can use tat $ to make a really nice wedding cake + cupcakes..

hahaha!!pinkglove! u no need 2 CS la!! spend on other stuffs!! honeymoon???? photobooth??? and ya ur wedding cuppies!!

sapphire: sorry to hear that. i think its not necessary to give them 12 seats la. 1 table looks very generous liao. somemore if really 12 seats, i dun think the whole family wans to be separated too. dun think so much about it! most impt remember its ur wedding. u call the shots!

sapphire>> u probbly can give her the 12th chair on the day itself.. i helped out during my BIL's wedding at Traders and they willingly include additional chairs since the portion of food is still the same as no one's gonna change it on the day itself! so u wun "lu gi" by paying double the amt for only 6 adults..

sapphire, wah, your cousin alot of demands, are you close to her? just a suggestion, mb you can very broadly hint to her so that hopefully she will cover the cost of your table....

my bf's relatives already asking how much our tables costs, so i assume they are checking to know how much they should give, cos they also have alot of kids in between them... averaging 2 families a table as well

Sapphire - joyle's suggestion to add chairs on the day itself sounds pretty good. Especially since there are so many kids sharing the table, the food will be sufficient to go around.

Pris - my side also like that. We have the 3 kids per family trend. So 2 families will make 1 table. I also have the impression that when people ask, they are preparing to help cover the table cost.

pris/pinkcoral>> i wanted to have a wedding in m'sia for my mum's side also cos' my uncles have so many children and grandchildren and my cousins told my mum they to invite them *faintz*..

think when giving the invites must be very very clear to indicate how many you inviting.. there are some chinese words something like "He Fu Tong Qing" which means inviting the WHOLE Family.. my aunt once wrote wrongly so need to invite a whole family (whom some the bride and groom did not intend to invite!)...

HI pinkglove.. yeah, use the extra $$ to go for a wedding cupcakes, photobooth. I support these suggestions given by the other girls. hehe..

Yah, I also thought that during the wedding dinner itself, just add in 1 more chair if the extra 4 seats are not enough.

I cannot please everyone and like you all have said, it's my wedding day - so I call the shots. Hehe....

Rachel/j0yle: Kim is really busy! she only handed me my CS the day that I'm flying off.. thankfully it fitted me really well.. cant wait to see how both ur CS will look like :P

pinkglove: use the extra to go for honeymoon!

Sapphire: you can request your co-ordinator to give you a bigger table for those who are bringing kids.. my co-ordinator say those bigger tables can fit in about 11 adults..

clint>> ur CS pic are so gorgeous, really tempted me so much to want to get a CS.. but I think i'll go with my 2-in-1 dress for ROM & AD tea ceremony..

morning everyone!!! Its FRIDAY!!!
have been so busy lately but happy to log in to see all your updates =)
seems like many of you are going for CS =)
nice choice!
i wish i could too but my figure is not suitable... will emphasis my flaws =(

clint>>>you mean tables come in different sizes?
my htb family has many kids was wondering what we should do =(
it would not be nice to ask them not to come as they are relatives...

Hello ladies!! wow... you girls really update fast... my work is bogging me down this few months! am really really rushing everyday...

Siy, i'm fin with 3rd week of September.. are ew meeting up on a weekday?

j0yle: thanks! I believe your 2-in-1 dress will turn out beautiful as well

Xingli: hmm, according to XL she told me that there are 2 sizes of tables.. the normal ones are those that sit 10 people.. but if I wanna sit 11 people (eg to add 1 malay friend)in a table, she is able to arrange a slightly bigger table.. But of course, can't have every table to be big, if not the ballroom will be cramped..

Maybe u can set up a kids corner for them.. give them some drawing boards etc for them to play with..

sapphire, kids, cater for baby chairs... maids... no way!! if you want to bring the maids because of the kids, then dun bring the kids, leave them with the maids at home.... what are maids for if they cannot even care for the kids under close supervision..... zzzzz... anyway, kids that young dun even know wat is happening lor...zzz...

hi gals, found another bakery with mid range budget for wedding cakes : http://www.puterimas.com/designer_home.php
they use a chocolate brownie cake for filling and is not very sweet, so can consider them... for a simple 3 tier cake, price starts about SGD350.00...

clint, i also thought of having a kids corner and serve some finger foods (order old chang kee), but my friends feed back is extra costs and also parents may end up being stuck there ... but m still thinking about it... ahahaha