(2011) 2011 Brides

Hi Marian!

Thanks for all the links you have provided!=)
Have you decided on your AD yet? hehe

Girls,
u guys know of any webbie that i can view many types of wedding gowns?

i love those sweetheart neckline, chiffon ball gown kinda wedding gown!!

Michelle,
you're most welcome :D
hehehe...yup, my AD is on the 15th of Jan 2011...how about yours?

you can try this website

http://www.kleinfeldbridal.com/

Michelle - You booked the Tudor Ballroom right? THought u mentioned in your first post.
I'm also with GWP, booking the Windsor ballroom.

Both HTB and I fell in love with GWP! Love the colonial and old school feel. A bit like Raffles, but cheaper!
LOL

zhuzhu2 - the additional 3X points is not applicable for POSB Everyday Card, but I think the wedding privileges are available. When I went to Regent, they told me all POSB/DBS cards will have the offer.

pinkglove,
i don't think there is enough time to do that

most of the florists are very busy during this CNY period...

me! hehehe...i thought of DIY-ing my own invitation cards...like buying some pretty papers with different textures, ribbons, lace, and crystals...hehehe...

Thanks Kass. May check out the cards again. Thanks

Michelle: i haven't decide on my date yet.

Clint: i don have the photos for Amara but you can see the virtual video of the ballroom in this website under banquet. not bad seriously and it is not ex but the perks are not that great. I need to extend the hours for dance after the dinner and they charged me more than a table worth. Very disappointed. May ended up with Furama riverfront. Though a lot of bad comments abt it. Really don know where else to have my dinner. I am arranging to meet up with traders. Will see how it goes. Have you shorten your list.

Marian: which part of Aust are you going again? We can meet when you are back.

I thought of DIY my invites.. but don't think I have the time to do.. and fiance might want to use our PS photo to make into a invitation card.. but I will want to at least DIY the envelopes!

zhuzhu: yeap, I read up the Amara thread, food is food but the perks are not very good and also the pricing is steep.. How many tables are you planning to have?

my recee for venues is stagnant now.. coz I realise that I still have alot things not settle for my trip in June! and its less than 4 months to it.. need to finalise my trip details before moving on to banquet venues..

Zhu zhu,

If you looking at the ballroom that is facing both the garden n the pool, my fren told me that there are quite a few pillars leh... But i haven't see myself..

Have you been there yet?

kass & purplebottle>> exactly..its like raffles but cheaper! haha..
windsor ballroom is more grand however i can only take abt 20 tables..if i can confirm more, i would take a windsor too!!

Marian>> i signed a package with yvonne creative so pre wedding photoshoot, actual gowns and suit and flower more or less there..we are going to have another wedding in msia hence gonna be another expenses there.

where is ur venue gonna be? whats pg and vg..hehe
who did u sign with for music band? (pardon with my questions=x)

guys, there is this link that i wana share
http://www.theknot.com/
it has many different interesting flowers and arrangement..worth checking out-=)

Zhuzhu2,
i'll be going back to perth

Michelle,
oh...that's good!
which part of malaysia will you be having your wedding? maybe you can ask your bridal studio if they can allow you to use their gowns for the wedding in malaysia as well...
my dinner will be held at shangri-la...
PG is photographer and VG is videographer...sorry for using the abbreviations...sometimes i'm very lazy to type out everything...hehehe...
we're going to sign with "a little dream"

Marian, that sounds really nice if u managed to DIY ur cards!

Clint: Ya, lots of things to do now.. I haven even settle anything except for deciding on e route of travel for e countries im gg! At least u've settled ur airfare already =)

michelle: I'm also gg to have another simple wedding reception in malaysia after my AD in spore cos my dad has relatives from there =) U bringing in ur gowns for ur wedding in malaysia as well?

Joyle: really! I haven't see their ballroom yet. Been trying to arrange a time with the coordinator and he always say no time cos full schedule for him. So i will only be able to meet up with him next Thurs.

Clint: i am looking at 28-30 tables. I found Furama too packed if i am to include dance floor, thought the mercury room has nice scenary. Amara would be more suitable. But then, the perks are not good and the extra hour charges are too high.. Hence, still sourcing as nothing seems perfect for us yet.

Prisilla: Yup. There is the room, a lot of pillars and they have projector for each rooms and if you are having a shorten march in, it is fine. Personally, i don really like. But my HTB and in laws love it.. Just don understand. Will still look ard.

Marian: you are going to perth!! Your HTB is an australian ar.. So nice. My HTB relatives are in Perth and i even thought of having my church wedding there instead.
I will be going there end of this month too.. Have you consider taking your photoshoot and gown there?
So you signed with A little dream for 3 piece band?

Pinkglove and Michelle: are you girls malaysian? Me too... I am having a dinner reception in Malaysia too.. So many things to arrange man.. Are you guys getting PG and VG for malaysia part? Plus MUA!! I don know how i am going to find these ppl for my kampong man..

zhuzhu: Me Singaporean =) But my dad was formerly a malaysian but he's long time singapore citizen liao.. but I've some relatives in malaysia still so will b gg in to have a simple lunch reception.

I don't think I'll be getting PG & VG for malaysia part since it's just a simple lunch and cos not many tables I think my WG not suitable for the reception also.. so that's a problem.. Am thinking of a simple dress to wear instead..
I didn't tink about MUA till u ask ..haha.. I also dunno how.. If your's a bigger affair in malaysia I guess u will need WG, PG , MUA etc rite? Maybe consider getting a simple bridal package in malaysia to settle ur malaysia part?

By the way girls, it suddenly came across my mind that as im ROMing on my AD before dinner, do I have to wear something different for my ROM? I can't be wearing my WG right?

zhuzhu2,
nope...he's a singaporean...hehehe...
oh...that's nice! there are a lot of pretty cathedrals and churches in perth :D
if i have the extra money for a photoshoot in perth, i will surely do it there as well...hehehe...
will you be going there for your photoshoot?
i haven't signed up with them yet...cause the singer i want cannot confirm if he is available on the wedding day...so once he confirms...then i will sign up with them...

i'm also a half malaysian...hehehe...but i will be holding my dinner reception in taiwan...which part of malaysia are you from? i'm from penang :D

pinkglove: I am also doing my ROM/Holy Matrimony about 1 hour before my dinner.. My church doesn't have its building, hence the wedding ceromany will be before the dinner.. I will be wearing my WG for it as its quite a formal ceromany, not just about signing on the cert..

I personally feel its ok to wear your WG for your ROM, and then can ask the groom to "unveil" the bride.. It will be quite rush to change back to your WG if you're wearing sth else..

For your wedding reception, perhaps you can wear your tea dress? and since it's a simple reception.. why not do your own makeup and just have a simple hair-do..

I'm also half Malaysian too, dad's from KL and grandparents/relatives still live there.. I will not be having any wedding reception there as most of them would be coming to attend the dinner.. They did so during my sister's wedding..

zhuzhu2: Perhaps you can try those hotels that I've short-listed.. I'm also looking between 25-30 tables.. but may increase to 35 if need be.. still looking around for venues..

anyway ladies, do you know of any venues that can hold 25-35 tables? Coz most venues hold max. 30 tables, otherwise min. 35 tables.. hard to find a venue that's min. 30 tables.. Just worry that my guest list may increase and I need to increase the num of tables..

ya, i prob just do make up myself since im gg to keep e reception to only 5 tables in malaysia and it's a good idea to wear tea dress!

Ok, will consider wearing the WG for my rom but as im doing it in the function room in e hotel, e function room's not very big, tat's y i tink if i wear my WG, e long train will make it look a bit exagerrating.. haha..but i agree that it's really a very impt moment when we sign on e paper..and i personally finds it a hassle if i need to get another dress just for this..haha.. maybe I'll just be drama and wear my WG.haha

clint: grand park holds max 32 i tink but the last wedding i went had 28 tables and i personally find it quite squeezy already..u can take a look at carlton hotel? It's min 30 on wkends and can hold up to max 35 tables.

pinkglove: I went GPCH for site visit few weeks ago.. and the couple had 27 tables & I feel its quite squeezy..
ok..will check out Carlton's review.. :P

purplebottle: I'm afraid I can't take pan pac.. coz my AD is during the F1 period, or rather the F1 weekend.. so road closures around marina bay area.. very incovenient for guests and myself..

girls..im a singaporean, my fiance is msian singaporean pr..
and yvonne creative allows me to bring my gowns and suits there=)

i did not like raffles hotel feel too. it seems scattered but some people like it. so different preferance

marian>> shang is beautiful! hope u have a great wedding!

that's nice michelle! Ur gowns are settled for the malaysia part too. All u have to do is to find a MUA there then. Will u be having a big reception there as well?
I'll check with my BS if they will allow me to bring over my WG for e fun of it. but i tink shld b able to bah.. But prob will just wear e EG.. hehe

Ya, agree that different pple have difference preferences always...

clint: ya, there's hardly any space for pple to walk through without the other person shifting in the chairs.

pinkglove: I also just remember that i need a MUA. I think i will have about 30 tables there too. I think maybe VG. will see how.

Marian: I would love to have my shoot in perth too. But a lot of things you need to consider plus Perth packages usually doesn't include WG and now that the currency is so high... a bit hard.
I am from Ipoh..

Clint: What is your list of hotels again?

zhuzhu: oh..since it's like another big wedding banquet u confirm will need a MUA n PG as well, really another expense incurred.. but are u able to bring over ur gowns as well too? maybe u can consider getting a freelance PG based in Perth instead to take extra shots for u since u've already a bridal package providing gowns?

for my case actually since just a few tables can invite them to spore but some of them quite old liao n it's a bit tiring for them, tink it'll be taxing on their pockets to give me angbaos in spore currencies also n it'll most prob still be a loss for me so might so i suggested to my dad tat i'll make e trip in to benefit both sides =)

So zhuzhu u have to still coordinate with the malaysia side, quite tedious hor..

zhuzhu: I've short-listed M-hotel, Grand Park City Hall, Orchard Hotel, Furama RF, Swissotel Merchant Court, Novotel, Concorde Hotel & Goodwood Park.. (my fiance surprised me by saying he is open to GWP idea even thou we are quite tight on budget..hope it goes well :P)

still looking more.. basically need to fit about 25-35 tables and pillarless ballroom for the comfort of my guests..

actually in Ipoh city now, there's alot of bridal shops.. almost 1-2 shops at each corner.. and their designs are quite nice too.. I was gown window shopping in Dec when I was there.. you can consider that option to save the hassle to carrying your gowns back..

Clint - some other hotels u can look at

- Orchard Parade can hold up to 30 tables (got pillar)
- Grand Hyatt can hold up to 38 (got pillar)
- Carlton Hotel can hold up to 35 and they have 2 ballrooms (2nd one opening in May) (no pillars for the new ballroom)
- Swissotel the Stamford Atrium Ballroom can hold up to 32. Can't remember if there are pillars.
- Rasa Sentosa Ballroom - can also hold up to 30+ tables. No pillars.

I quite like Novotel Clarke Quay as well, and it requires a min of 30 tables.

Your AD is 24 Sep, Sat right? Hee, checked on the spreadsheet.

For Saturday, GWP package (up till June 2011) is $1088++. They may be changing the package though, but is likely to be doing a wedding show in April.

There are another two venues which u may look at - Marina Bay Sands and Resorts World. Because they have so many function rooms, u may be able to find something to suit you. Prices are similar to the current high-end five-star hotel prices. I have the package for RWS, do let me know if u are interested in looking at it.

However, transport might be a pain, I took a cab from Harbourfront MRT for a function at Hard Rock Hotel, cost me close to 12 bucks just to get to the venue!

Thanks Kass for all the info!!
yeap, my AD is 24 Sep.. the F1 weekend.. so all the hotels in marina area have to skip..

can send me the RWS package? Thanks so much~

Clint - Have sent to you! I also sent u the Carlton package and the contacts for the rest of the hotels I mentioned.

To all other 2011 BTBs - Enjoy your CNY weekend! For those getting married before CNY next year, enjoy your last CNY as a single girl!

hi dears.... Happy New Year to you all!

Ive settled my hotel.. Im going to meet my coordinator this week to pay for the down payment. We've chose Hilton

Hi Clint.. you must also note that you need to skip Swissotel Merchant Court as you mentioned your wedding date is during F1 week. Alot of roads leading to SWC would be closed for F1.

Those who work in Raffles Place would know....

Congratz Sapphire!

hmm.. Sapphire, I thot only roads leading to Marina Bay would be close.. but Swissotel Merchat Court is at Clark Quay right.. Are you talking abt Swissotel Stamford instead?