(2011) 2011 Brides

Welcome Prisci11a =)

Marian >> I am curious since i am an overseas bride... if you design your gowns with SIL now, when will you do your fitting? I wonder if i design with them now (while i'm in town for the winter holidays), if i can do a final fitting really late next year, like in Sept or Oct, so that i only have to make one trip to Singapore.

Pinkglove >> did i miss the post where you uploaded pics of OH? I am also considering the venue but haven't visited yet. It'd be great to see your images if they are available =)

pinkglove,
i have sent you a private message containing two AD videos

moss389,
i'll be doing my first fitting in october, second fitting in november or december and the final fitting just before my wedding at the beginning of january...
i think the final fitting have to be done closer to your wedding date to make sure that everything is perfect for your gowns...maybe you could make one trip to singapore in december...
when you meet your designer at Sil, you could tell her your schedule and i think he/she will be able to advise you...

kass: thanks! we've actually shortlisted a few hotels but haven't decided
our budget is probably lower than 1300.
i read that you're interested in Pan Pac? Have you decided yet?

pinkglove: you can also visit the 36frames website, blog and fb page to view some sample videos

purplebottle >> Pan Pac has not been v prompt in replying, so I'm not v happy with their service. Still shopping around. I have a few hotels in mind. Just wanna look at all these first before deciding. We're looking at 30-40 tbls.

What hotels are u looking at? Budget is 1300 Nett? or 1300++?

oh yes, i read your post in the Pan Pac thread. Pan Pac is one of my shortlisted hotels as well. I made an appointment to see Linda last month and her assistant was pretty prompt. Would you like to give her a call? She was very very busy though and we had to look at the ballrooms on our own because she was busy but she managed to go through the 2010 package with us and told us what are the freebies she can throw in for us without us asking, heh!

Other hotels I'm looking at are Marina Mandarin, Four Seasons and Goodwood Park. How about you?

Budget should be 1300 nett

Pinkglove >> Thanks so much! Your blog was really helpful =) Do you know if Ballroom 1&2 look similar to the one you're taking (Ballroom 3)? Oh, and did you see the different themes at the wedding show on the 19th? I guess they will probably change by the time your AD comes around though...

Actually Ballroom 1,2 and 3 is one big ballroom, just that on the wedding day, they will partition it into 2. Ballroom 1&2 for minimum 40 tables and ballroom 3 for min 25 tables. On the wedding show , they didn't show the diff wedding themes. I only saw it on photos, but ya, u are right, they change the least popular theme every yr into another one so by the time it's 2011, the themes will be different. But so far their themes frankly speaking wasn't very impressive i feel. It's quite simple but for me I'm not that particular about the wedding themes so it's ok.

Btw some pple will be concern if it's just a wall partition will others be able to hear e wedding in e next ballroom, so far feedback has been positive and they didn't know there's another wedding once they're seated.

purplebottle >> have u visited Goodwood Park? The reviews seems quite decent, except for the small bridal suite.

I'm considering InterCon, Regent, GWP, Grand Hyatt, Pan Pac and possibly RCCC.

My budget also the same as yours. At first we wanted 1000++, but we decided to put a bit more into it, since we dun really like the 4 stars, and the 5-stars seems more ex than tt.

moss389 >> Just wondering, while u're overseas, who is coordinating the banquet etc for you??

pinkglove, your blog is really useful.. Thanks for it!

For my PS, my package with the PG was only 2 hours.. from 9 to 11 am.. but we overshot and shoot till like 230pm!! the PG was very nice and didnt charge us extra.. we only paid for the agreed 2 hours package price.. saw your blog and those photos you took in Bali are very nice! *envious*

u're welcome clint, im glad to be of help. so sorry that I showed the novotel photos so late..
I'll tell my fiance about ur praises about the photos though and he'll sure be very happy. haha..thanks =)
Share with us ur photos too when u've received them if u dun mind too =)

pinkglove: i love your bali shots, especially the 2nd photograph

kass: i've visited the ballrooms but haven't discussed with the coordinator yet. i like the privacy of the tudor ballroom but it's too small for me so i've got to take the bigger ballroom if i'm holding my wedding there. Have you been down to see the wedding coordinator?

Have you seen Mandarin Oriental? I attended a wedding there recently and I must say I like their food! I think the food offered is better than the rest of the hotel. Unfortunately, I can't meet the minimum tables required. Btw, what's RCCC?

Hmmm, Pan Pac and GWP are not 5stars?

kass >> we didn't hire a coordinator, and are trying to do it with some help from my fiance's family + friends. We're here now for the holidays and will be visiting quite a few hotels, PGs, etc. Then, once we make up our mind we will get our family to put the deposit down and sign on our behalf.

pinkglove >> yes your Bali pics are great! My fav is definitely the last one with the sunset. Classic. Oh, and i scoped out your blog for info about other venues, such as NCQ and SMC (thanks!). SMC in particular looked pretty good...

Marian >> ooh was your TW photoshoot fun? I like the series of pictures where you guys are both lying on the floor =)

moss, i like SMC too but it's a pity I can't meet the minimum req for the tables if not I'ld have consider it =) Glad that I'm able to provide u with some help =)

We share the same taste with the favourite sunset photo =) I'm going to boost my fiance's ego by telling him u said it's classic. haha..Anyway, I've some photos of Mandarin Oriental which has really nice ballrooms, if u wanna take a look, I'll dig them out and post them for u to see.

thanks purplebottle, e 2nd photo we re take so many times..haha..

Marian, i think the one with u lying on the piano is very cool! And ur red gown looks great!

purplebottle >> Not that GWP and Pan Pac is not 5-star. In fact they are the cheaper 5-star. But we didn't like any of the 4-stars and didn't want to limit ourselves to just the cheaper 5-star, so bo pian, spend more lor, since we have an idea of what we want, or or preferred hotels.

RCCC - Raffles City Convention Centre, so it's Swissotel or Fairmont, if u are looking at the hotels.

I think MO is out of my budget... It will def burst the 1300 nett budget. I am looking at those hotels which were offering 1000++ in their 2010 packages.

I am kind of interested in the former Park Hotel @ Orchard too, after it opens in mid-2010!

Marian, Pinkglove & Kass,

thank you for your pointers... so far what we were guessing is about max of 30 tables..

And as for budget, about $1k per table since current market rate for ang pows about $100.00.. and i dun want to end up having to make up too much for the difference..

Need to look at hotels as this is what both parents are expecting...

Venue of my dreams was botanical gardens - Au Jardin.. small intimate wedding...

Pinkglove,

OH looks very attractive from your blog, you got a good deal there!! I was expecting that the price would be above $1k budget...

pinkglove,
i just went to see your blog and i was so touched by your proposal...that was so super duper sweet!! :D
and your bali photos are very pretty
i love the sunset picture...look very romantic...

thank you!
the piano is a fake one...hehehe...made of wood... :P

Pris, ya, we wanted to keep our budget to within $1k as well so was very glad to have the rebate because the price was more than $1k before e rebate. =)

thanks marian for the compliments =)
Oh, I couldn't tell from the pics! haha, it's still damn cool to have a piano among the greeneries! I was wondering how to transport such heavy stuff.. haha..

pinkglove,
you're welcome

hehehe...yup...when i first saw other brides' photos with a grand piano, i wanted to take those kind of photos too...but i wondered how to transport the grand piano to the photoshoot location...must definitely need some huge truck...hehehe...

prisci11a >> it's too bad you cannot have the small intimate wedding you wanted. Is your ROM on the same day and could you make that smaller, and choose to have the 30-table big wedding for AD?

pinkglove >> I think Mandarin Oriental is just too expensive =( But if you have pics for Marriott, Concorde, Conrad, or InterContinental that'd be awesome! We're looking at around 40 tables and haven't firmly set a budget, but maybe under $1300nett like kass. I will try to visit these places very soon and post pics myself if no one else has them.

marian, your photos are pretty! Like the night shots you had

htb is very interested in GPCH now.. and he takes every chance when we are around city hall to go into the hitel.. but we've yet to gone into the grand ballrm to have a look.. reviews on the forum is not bad too..

marian: great photos! you look very sweet in them ;)

kass: I think MO increased their prices significantly. I really like the food there though but pity we can't meet the minimum table requirement.

hi moss, i don't have the photo of the hotels u've mentioned but my fren has concorde one i tink..I'll see if I can get from her and prob post it up then, will let u know =)
clint, i tink GPCH is value for $ and it's pillarless too, how many tables are u looking at? I think it can hold a max of 32 tables but the last time i was there, there were 28 tables but it was already a bit squeezy liao..

moss389 >> Are u looking at weekday or weekend?? If it's a weekday, MO will still fit into the same budget.

I went to Marriott during the last wedding show. It's v contemporary looking. The problem with Marriott though is that 2011 bookings only open around June 2010. So you cannot secure your bookings earlier.

I also went to InterCon recently. InterCon on the other hand has a grander feel, with chandeliers and mirrors.

I dun have photos though, except in my memories. I really suggest u go down to look. I like both venues v much!

Hi kass >> we're looking at a weekend so yeah, MO is too $$$. We called Marriott this morning and they offered to let us 'tentatively book' our date (9 Jan 2011). I also got the 2011 package but prices are valid only for Q1. Have you settled a date for your AD?

I should also report that both Conrad/Swissotel Merchant Court are already taken for my AD, so BTBs with early 2011 dates might have to make up their minds soon to avoid disappointment...

Oh... yours is in 1Q... then u must book fast!

Other places with a ballroom for 40 tables and ard 1300nett will include Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Grand Hyatt, Regent, Meritus Mandarin, Marina Mandarin, Pan Pacific.

moss389,

yes, planning to ROM & dinner on the same day....
my parents are divorced, so we planning for ROM & tea ceremony lunch and den dinner. So hopefully we can do it all at one hotel.

Marian,

your photos look so good like you took them on a poster background. n both of you look like such a poster couple, so sweet

Kass >> do you know what the min/max capacity for the Grand Hyatt is on a weekend (Sunday dinner)? We are comfortable with a minimum of 40 but probably won't have more than 45 tables.

I think another BTB from singaporebrides has already booked the Pan Pacific's larger ballroom for my AD. Not sure if i want the smaller one...

Hi gals! My first post in this forum
I'm a 2011 BTB and still have not made any concrete preparations/budget planning, and only just started looking at hotels..

I would like my solemnization to be done before the wedding dinner (with a gap of ~30min), the dinner will be small, 10-12 tables MAX.. would prefer it to be done in a hotel as it'll be more convenient with the suite around.

Am considering Shangri-La (the smaller function rooms) and Straits Room @ Fullerton (though I heard food not as good as Shang).

Anyone else having a small wedding dinner? Any recommendations?

Thanks all

@ clint: congratulations! the photos look gorgeous!

hi Marian, read that u'll be going down to see 2ofus this wed..I'm also considering their AD PG.. Though I would love to take up MooMedia's AD PG since I've taken their VG but it's a bit steep to take their VG n PG tgt.. Keep us updated k =) Are u going to confirm ur PG & VG soon?

Clint, very sweet photos =)

Welcome cherrylight!

cherrylight >> Welcome!!!

If u are going for a small wedding, I frankly would choose the smaller hotels! More intimate and more personal!

You might want to consider Raffles Hotel!
I would love to have my wedding there is they have a bigger ballroom...

Also there are a lot of nice restaurants like My Humble House.

Hi Clint, thanks for the pictures. Very nice

Has anyone signed up with Grand Park City Hall & Novotel Clarke Quay? I emailed them but I didnt get any response.

BTW, Ive got several quotations for 2011 from the a few hotels. Let me know if you want to take a look