(2011) 2011 Brides

mine keeps shifting as well. FMIL saw it and thinks that the ring's too big for me. I got my ring finger size measured before so I was thinking it may be because I lost weight

Round solitaire seems the most popular, incl mine. Not surprising since it is such a classic and elegant design.

I have not done much! You guys planned so much already! Hahah, but my and FH kind of know what we want in terms of banquet.

BS, I kind of made up my mind already, just have not gone down to book yet.

Just wondering, did anyone of u go for a marriage preparation course?

pinkglove>> my AD: 05/03/2011. ROM: 11/02/2011.
will be at novotel, ROM venue still deciding.. any gd ideas? need to split cos' got many colleagues, and dun wanna pay so much for halal table. kinda weird cos normally ppl ROM for close family & frens.

Kass>> i haven't gone for any marriage prep course, but cousin's wife pass me some brochures, hope these info helps!

<u>Websites</u> to check out courses:
1) a Life Ltd: www.alife.org.sg
2) Care Community Services Society: www.carecom.org.sg
3) Care Corner Counselling: www.carecorner.org.sg
4) Covenant Family Service Centre: www.covenantfsc.mws.org.sg
5) Eagles Mediation &amp; Counselling: www.emcc.org.sg
6) Family Life Society: www.familylife.sg
7) Fei Yue: www.fycs.org

(and the list goes on!!)

to summarise what most of them have in the courses:-
- In-law relationship
- Communication
- Roles &amp; Expectations
- Financial Management
- Sexual Intimacy
- Family of Origin

FAQ
Duration: 8-16hrs, 1-4 sessions
Cost: Between $130 - $350
Types: Grp / Individual
Location: Different centres provide for different areas in S'pore, particular links above may cater to a specific neighbourhood.

as I will be doing a church wedding, my church has already prepared a pre-marriage seminar and counselling sessions for us..

joyle: I'm considering to have my banquet at Novotel as well.. How's their food &amp; service? didn't go to the wedding show as they are not open for booking on my AD.

Seems like there are lots of new updates...I will help to update it &amp; send u gals the file. For those who yet to send me their email, either leave it here or PM me.

Anyway, just to update that I went for my fren wedding in Hilton yesterday.
Room view is nice as its on 24th storey, suite is also superb nice.
However, the service is slow &amp; not too good. Food wise is ok. I will upload some pics in my FB so that u gals can take a look

Oh, reminds me of the feedback im supposed to give from e Grand Park dinner i went.. Food wise generally gd except for maybe 1-2 dishes..but they serve the food too fast, food was served almost every 10mins, n the waitress left glasses of unserved wines on e table instead of pouring when requested and some guest said tat it greatly affected e taste of the wine as it has been oxidised. They were also not very active in asking guests if they wan any wine or beer &amp; many had to keep requesting for it..

The ballroom's pillarless and have moderately high ceiling, march in a bit short but u have the whole level to yourself.

Siy, u know how to use google spreadsheet? Cos if can upload there den we can go there and update ourselves, make ur job easier.. im still trying to figure it out though..maybe if anyone else know, can teach us how to do it..

Kass > it's this excel file that Siy has kindly helped to collate the info of 2011 btb but since e last update i tink there've been more btb so she's gonna update it =)

Hiya girls!

I'm another 2011 bride. We've not decided on our date yet but we are thinking of Dec 2011.

So far we've been to 4 wedding shows but no preference..

We went OH for wedding show too! Wonder if I saw pinkglove. hehe

purplebottle: i can imagine the work stress ... With a new yr ahead, i doubt the work stress'll decrease leh.. haha..

welcome amy ;) haha, we probably crossed shoulders with each other on tat day bah..hehe..

clint>> not too sure bt NCQ food actually, didn't go for the wedding show cos' was working. Htb went 2 book himself. but frm the forum, comments are ok. im attracted to the ballroom.. lol

thanks Marian, thanks. I just went in to see and managed to edit. just need to go and do necessary amendments thats all. no need to "save"or whatsoever.

I changed to Four Season already... hahaha

Thanks marian! It's so convenient for us now! I've also arranged e sequence accordingly to our AD.
btw, babypie &amp; Marian, who's ur designer at Sil?

pinkglove, mine is Rebecca...

Marian, you have finally decided to take up Sil... Thumbs up!!! When you are planning to go chose your gown?

Hello baby pie

hehehe...yup! we're both Sil brides! :D
cause Minda was really very nice and accepting of what i wanted for my gowns. i'm going to keep my gowns...so i wanted something special...

i met with Minda beginning of this month for my wedding gown design...
i'll be meeting her on 5th or 6th January to design my evening gown...

How about you? When are you going to choose and design your gowns?

purplebottle: Not yet.. still can't make up our mind.. hehe... but we'll drop by SIL one more time n my fiance says if we find a gown we wan then we'll sign up =)

thanks all for the update spreadsheet (but no access to it in office

but still guess it saves my time alot updating...

i been away for few days &amp; seems like SIL is a hot favourite here man. anyway, i yet to step in SIL as I'm afraid of getting confused of my brain cells. Actually, I still need to look for EG.

But seems like its still far away hence had stop my preparation somehow or another. Only thing I did was to slim down first to make myself feel good &amp; look good :p

Pinkglove> I'm facing the same problem as u...from my slimming i think my fingers got slimmer which I did not forecast this will happen. Our couple ring which we intend to treat as our wedding band seems to be so loose these days. Not sure if its due to the cold weather or not. When we are choosing it, I purposely choose slight comfort loose fitting instead of fitting. Now, its getting loose
Can I slim on problem areas except finger??

Siy, u shld still drop by SIL cos now dun go bridal boutiques see look, after wedding no chance liao.. hehe..
eh, i tink it's purplebottle whose fingers have slimmed down.. haha.. not me leh ;p i only hope that my fingers will slim down.. haha..n now im getting used to e ring sliding slightly.. anyway, can u go and resize ur ring?

marian! u r fast! i was thinking to go back to SIL to do all that after CNY! actually i had a dream. i dreamt that i bought home my gown! but i dun think its possible... only managed to keep EG..

pinkglove> not to advertise for SIL, but im sure u will find something u like that! hehe...

Ya, Marian, very fast!

haha baby pie, i've this feeling too..hehe.. Hope to settle my gowns real soon... only 5 mths left to my photoshoot..time running out liao.. still got EG somemore!!

Hello ladies, I'm back from my trip! Thanks marian for the google spreadsheet..

SIL really has nice gowns.. don't think I will sign on with them.. decided to go without a BS.. got an EG from them thou.. love it

btw I just did my engagement PS with my htb today.. decided to do the PS to rehearse for my actual PS on June.. tiring but fun! enjoyed ourselves today.. awaiting for the photos to be ready.. heh

wow...it must have been a really lovely dream!

hehehe...yup...i have to settle my wedding stuff fast as i won't be in singapore from march to september 2010...

Hello purplebottle

While searching for 36frames in this forum, i noticed that you mentioned that you were taking 36frames in one of the threads...could I ask which photographer/videographer are you going to use? I'm considering them because they offer both photography and videography...

Ladies, do you have any recommendations for a studio that offer both photography and videography?

ooops pinkglove> sorry got the wrong info...
anyway, my is the B-Zero Bvlgari ring so not possible to re-size.

guess i will go down to SIL the next time when i go down to bluebay for our 2nd discussion...

clint, it sounds fun eh! u got a PG to do the shots?

Hi Marian, no wonder u need to do them fast... btw, i know coffee&amp;tea, moo media do both PG and VG..u can check them out..

oh ya, it's both at stamford building.. so Siy, when u gg over for ur taiwan shots?

yeap, I got a PG to do the shots.. you can just got to any photography forum and look for photographers looking to build up portfolios.. I just wanted to know what is it like to do an outdoor PS, so the quality didn't really matter at this moment.. But I'm still quite satisfied with the PG I've engaged..

pinkglove: yes, I'm sure you'll find a gown you love at SIL!

marian: yup, i'm taking 36frames. going to get Lawrence as our photographer. as for videographer, i think it should be eileen, not very sure about that yet

there's also Chris Ling and 39East which offer both PG and VG

Hihi 2011 BTBs,

Just became a July 2011 bride, have been looking at hotels but feeling overwhelmed on how to choose...

Any tips on how you made your choices and any special reccomendations?

Hello prisci11a

Congratulations and a big warm welcome! :D

I guess the first thing you have to consider is the size of your wedding - how many tables do you require?
Then the next to consider is what kind of ambience you're looking for, what kind of ballroom...pillarless? chandeliers?
Another thing to consider would probably be the menu and reviews on the food that have been served at previous weddings held there.

I would recommend Shangri-la cause Melanie is awesome! I think a good and reliable wedding coordinator is really important. Plus, she gives out a lot of perks

I would also recommend Four Seasons. Regina is really good and nice!

I've only looked at 2 hotels before I decided...so I haven't met other coordinators...

I hope that helps...all the best in finding the venue of your dreams!!

welcome pris =) Marian has given all the key criterions to consider for hotels.. so good luck for ur search!.. another few things u can note is e type of march in u want and also their bridal suite...

clint, did u do a full day of photoshoot? It's very tiring that time when we tried to take some photos at bali, 3 hrs only i'm very tired already.. To think that initially I thought must have max. no. of hours to be worth it.. haha.. now I think i can at most have 5 hrs a day to still look radiant.. haha..anyway, it's gd tat u are trained in it liao.. hehe.. so the PG did the shots foc isit to build up his portfolio? It's a great experience!

purplebottle &amp; marian, u guys gg to have full day VG or just the morning? I'm presently thinking of having a half day one for gatecrashing only...unless I've something special planned for the night...

pinkglove,
i think i'll be having full day VG...
i won't be having any gatecrashing though...my day will start at 3pm for hair &amp; makeup at the hotel and will end at around 11pm after the dinner...

my fiance wants a video of the wedding so that we can watch our wedding in the years to come...that's what we hope to do...hehehe...
he was motivated when one of our friends told us that her parents still watch their wedding video until today...which i thought was really sweet

pinkglove: I'll be having VG for the whole day as well. I didn't want a VG initially but after viewing some AD videos at 36frames, I was sold! HTB knew that so he said we better have a VG or I'll regret it ;)

btw, have all of you booked your hotel? I still can't make up my mind! I think my choices are quite limited since I only have about 25-30 tables.

purplebottle >> You should look at the ballrooms that hold to up of max 30-32 tables, which will usually have a min 25.

Some hotels which I can think of offhand is Orchard Parade (great chinese restaurant), M Hotel, Orchard Hotel Ballroom 3, Atrium Ballroom at Raffles City Convention Centre (Swissotel and Fairmont), Marina Mandarin (the smaller ballroom), The Sentosa Resort and Spa Grand Salon, Grand Hyatt (if I recall correctly).

What's ur budget?

priscl11a, welcome!

Just to add on to what the rest have mentioned. Of course, u have to look at ur budget. Your budget will of course put some hotels within or out of reach, esp the super high end ones such as Capella which cost around $170 per head.

Additionally, some hotels do offer theme weddings and the theme of your wedding, if u have something in mind already, will also affect (or limit) the venues u can consider...

But of course, dun be too fixed on what u want... go with an open mind.

ok.. cos i've not personally seen any AD videos, only the morning gatecrashing videos so far.. shall see some AD videos before I make any decisions then..it's so sweet Marian! to be still able to relieve the moments years later on..so tempting.. lol