(2011) 2011 Brides

For me, actually it was the guy's side (my future MIL) who wants to find the date. However, although my future MIL keeps saying she want to find the date, but she is waiting for TOng Shu. But I dun want to, cuz I will be very busy next year. So we went ahead to choose our own geomacer and let her know the results.

yep, Im considering Novotel.. but their booking is only opened till Mar 2011.. so I'll probably call them next year, somewhere in Jan to check if their open for booking for 2H2011..

I haven't check out Grand Park City Hall yet.. how's the food & layout of the banquet hall?

clint, i will be going for a wedding at grand park in dec.. maybe i let you know after i went? never been there before...

purplebottle, i just gotta know from fiance that there was a miscommunication (again.. this is the 3rd miscommunication) and we will be re-calculating the dates.. this date thing is really getting on my nerve..

thanks cow cow!

Hello all...
Just to let u know how my meeting with my geomacer went... We met Master David Tong in a downtown cafe. He has a printed report with all our suitable dates, ranked according to best, second best etc etc.

He explained to us very patiently how we calculated the suitable dates. Basically from our Bazi, he will look at the elements which is lacking in our Bazi. From there he will pick days that are strong in our Bazi, hence these days will be good days as they will help to compensate for the lack in our Bazi. So these good days may not necessary be good days in the tong shu. He also gave us a guide on the timing for ROM and Fetching the Bride. And after we booked the banquet and confirmed the date, he will then help us calculate Guo Da Li and An Chuang. So it's a very "full" package. V satisfied with his service. He was v helpful and explained to us also what is really just pantang, and what we should try to follow.

Quite worth it!

So have we chosen a date yet? Not really. Cuz we still have housing to look at. At the moment, that is not really settled yet.

Thanks for sharing Kass! I'm not going to get a suitable date calculated because I'm afraid that I can't have my AD/solemnization on the date(s) given.

I've also good news to share with you girls! HTB proposed formally ;) It was a simple proposal but significant because it was on our 10th anniversary.

kass, thanks for sharing!! I just received the news from the geomancer also.. Basically he is reluctant to give us the date since the tong shu is not out yet. So... we gotta wait until after CNY to get the dates..

purplebottle, congratulations!!!!

thanks for the info kass. =) Don't worry, cow cow, just a couple more months to cny, den u can settle ur date soon liao. =)

congratulations purplebottle! wow, you've also been with ur htb super long liao!! It's nice its a special date that he chose to propose on..

My htb also proposed to me in bali on Mon! I was super touched by his proposal efforts ...cried like crazy through e process..haha. I love the ring he chose for me.

cow cow: Thanks!

pinkglove: Thanks! And, our list of similarities continues. Both our htb proposed to us in the past week as well. LOL!

I'm sure you had a romantic getaway. Congrats!!!! And yes, I love my e-ring too ;)

thanks girls =)
It's so hot over here in Bali but we had a fun time taking our own fun 'pre wedding' shots ourselves today, had ourselves dressed up in white pretending to take casual shots.. haha...It's such a beautiful place.

It's been too long since I checked into this forum =( Sounds like everyone has been really busy with their planning!

Pinkglove / Purplebottle: congratulations!

Siy: this is rather late but I'm curious about what your diet plans involve. What do you have to do to follow the regiment on a daily basis? Take one pill, do some exercise and follow a set menu?

Hi BTBs

Anyone interested to go to Perth in April 2010 for pre-wedding photoshoot?

I found a photographer who charges only $1250 for a 2 days photoshoot for his professional fee. This includes makeup but exclude their air tix and accomodation. We can share the cost of the air ticket for the photographer and makeup artist.

Please email me at [email protected] for more details of his works if you are keen.

Hi girls, it's been so quiet here..Anyway, I'm finally going to visit some bridal shops later to look at the gowns.. Will keep you all updated! *Excited*

thanks moss =) I guess you would have settled down totally in your new place?

Pinkglove/purple bottle - glad to hear on your proposal.

Im back from my long vacation and my man needs to propose since we had to ROM. hahaa..

Ive already ROMed

hey girls, I've gotten all my gowns for PS
now gonna start searching for tailor to make htb's suit. Both of us have decided to DIY our entire wedding, not gonna get any BS. kinda look forward to my AD :p

thanks sapphire =) Congratulations to you too! Yup, he has to propose real soon!

that's great clint, that's a huge thing settled.

I visited Allure, SIL, Di Gio, Rico, Graceful image today.. Tried on sooooo many gowns...SIL WG are AWESOME!!! My fiance was stunned by the gowns lo!I tried on 4 WG and I love every single one of them.. haha.. And after visiting one-stop bridal shops we've also decided to DIY our entire wedding too cos they are not much cheaper just for the rental of gowns as compared to those that specialize in gowns only ..

I'm going TWP tmr.. hope their gowns are also very princessy & I'll like them then it'll be a great as it'll be easier on the pockets as compared to SIL..

clint: that's wonderful! i'm sure you'll have a great time with your fiance going around hunting for stuff you need. i don't know how true it is for you girls but shopping for wedding stuff is indeed a very very exciting and fun activity for me. i've heard of some btb being frustrated over wedding preparations but i love it!

pinkglove: yes yes, SIL WGs are fantastic! i think i'm regretting my decision a little now. let us know how your trip to TWP went!
You're going to DIY meaning you're only going to get gowns from these boutiques?

I got my WG from Allure.. thou it was OTR, the designer was opened to my idea of customising it..have asked her to add on more stuff on it.. so it's gonna be like an unique OTR WG

best of all the price is much cheaper than BS, its new & I get to keep it! Will upload the photo once it's ready

I bought all my gowns, which we felt was more practical than renting.. the price difference is to rent is also not very big from buying them.. those OTR gowns for rental are worn quite a few times by other brides too, so its kinda "bo hua" to pay so much and wear an "older" gown.. buying my gowns also gives me more flexibility to use them..

I bought 2nd hand gowns as well, compared to BS gowns.. the 2nd hand ones are considered relatively new, since it has only been worn once/twice by the previous owners.. & most of the time, your guests will never remember what gowns you wore for PS or AD..

purplebottle: I'm enjoying the wedding preparations too! thou my htb say I'm very gan chiong.. to DIY my own wedding preparation will definitely make it very memorable for the 2 of us..

can't wait to see your gown!

I know what you mean about renting an OTR gown. Some of the OTR gowns I saw are pretty old and not in good condition. And yes, people probably cannot remember the gowns. LOL!

But HTB does not like the idea of us DIY-ing because he considers it a hassle to source for so many things. He prefers to get everything at one place.

You're not gan chiong! Your PS is in June so you've reasons to start now

Ya, I went to the one-stop BS, and some only allow pple to bring out some old gowns for outdoor shoot, and it was obviously worn many times and looked sooo old! I was super turned off lo..

Those WG i tried on in SIL were all new & first hand but to me, what matters most is we ourselves like it, doesn't really matter whether it's been worn how many times but must look new la.. and guests remb or not also doesn't matter to me.. most importantly is we love the gowns we will be wearing =)

I agree the WG from Allure's not bad too and the designer's a very nice lady, I tried on a few WG too, 1 was quite nice but maybe it's a little not drama enough and me and fiance were thinking that big gowns will look nice with e background.. but we also wonder cos we see the physical difference but will this be obvious on photos or not.. I do like 1 EG from allure, might consider getting EG from them..

Yup purple bottle, im thinking of getting gowns from these boutiques only.. still in the process of consideration lo.. cos im thinking if im not getting stuff like flowers and car deco from SIL, how much cheaper will it be cos its the gowns that are fantastic..i agree leh, it's fun doing wedding preps but tiring.. today another 3 boutiques for me.. don't regret la, u can MTM ur own gown eventually at TWP so im sure it'll be perfect still!

Ya, Clint, I think u are well on ur preps, not gan chiong =)

Im a BTB in May/Jun 2011. Just wondering, are any of you going for overseas wedding shoots? The taiwan shoots seems quite popular nowadays... was wondering if i should do that or just normal local shoots. Any advise?

hi all, back from the boutiques.. Silverlining has very nice low back gowns! Very different gowns as compared to other BS & their designer Jit is very friendly..

purplebottle, i was served by Alan today at twp, he's nice and i tried on 3 gowns, they're pretty too but the gowns are quite diff from SIL,each have their own style...but I think im leaning more towards SIL cos fiance likes me in their otr tulle gowns.. but we are still considering because of the prices..

Welcome Ariel! I'm also a Jun 2011 btb. I think there are presently 3 btb gg overseas in this thread.. I'm one of them, am gg paris for my PS next june.
I guess its up to u and ur fiance's decision whether to splurge on overseas photo shoots. You can do a whole wedding budget den allocate funds to each area =) Yup, Taiwan shoots are really popular, I've colleagues who took up a local bridal package as well as a taiwan one because it's affordable and something different to have PS in taiwan.

You've been to so many BS within 2 days! I feel that TWP had a younger and more princess-y feel compared to SIL which is more elegant. I like Dang as well but the MTM gown I wanted was too ex.

Yup, I shouldn't regret my choice!

Will you be visiting more BS or making your choice from those you saw?

ya, me and my fiance counted. we visited 8 BS within 2 days.. haha..ya, SIL has more elegant but a little princessy gowns, im more towards a not too much sequins top and a big flowy bottom..Dang's pricing I feel very difficult to gadge cos every single piece like need to top up different prices..but i did like one of their top but the designer said will need to top up $500 which will come up to like $4k+ too..

I'll be visiting Jawn Happy tmr and that's prob our last BS and we'll make a decision based on what we've visited...

pinkglove: love the gown from SIL but they're really expensive & confirm my budget will burst if buy their gowns.. I didn't get a big gown for PS, the train is about 1m (i guess).. coz too troublesome to bring overseas.. probably will compensate by getting a big gown for my AD..

yeap agreeed that as long as both of us love the gown.. I don't mind it new or 2nd hand..

purplebottle: my htb feels that those one-stop BS always try to push sales & will use the tag line "once in a lifetime".. kinda turned off by it..

Just have to be more hardworking & check out more often on this forum, magazines, etc to get more DIY ideas or 2nd hand stuff..

Ariel: Welcome! I'm going to San Francisco for my PS in June next year..

yup, u can still get big gown for ur AD =)

At e boutiques I went to, I can wear e same WG for PS and AD so I hope to spend only on 1 ideal WG.. I was concern over the bulkyness to bring a big gown overseas also but seemed like they can tie e long train up & it looked quite alright. My PG encouraged me to bring big gowns or any gowns I really like over so tat he can play with e gown outlook so I hope to bring my dream gown over .. I shld be bringing only a maximum of 2 gowns over.. how many gowns in all are u bringing over to SF? I think u have a few right?

I like the idea of DIY too.. I have this strong urge to DIY my jiemei's corsages as well as my own bouquet.. haha..hence thinking of removing this component of car deco and flowers deco from my WG packages..

I'm bringing 3 gowns over, 1 WG + 2 EGs.. My concern now is whether to pack them into the luaggage or hand carry them as suggested by the boutique.. If I packed them up, I need to steam iron them before wearing as they would have been crumpled up.. To hand carry will be troublesome too as 1 gown itself is already quite heavy.. Imagine carrying 3 around plus htb's suits as well..

pinkglove, will u be wearing the same gowns for AD? for myself, I guess I will be wearing the same EGs.. will source for a big WG later on..

For myself, I already have a friend who is MUA & hair stylist.. He also have lobang for car/flower decos.. so ultimately the things included inside WG packages are not really applicable to me..

sapphire: congratulations on your ROM! How did it go?

pinkglove: yep I'm all moved in but so busy adjusting and learning new things =) I'm excited too cause i can finally come to SG over Christmas to choose our venue, PG, and maybe BS.

Haven't decided if I will DIY or go with the all-inclusive BS packages yet. It seems convenient but i would like to choose my PG and MUA myself.

morning girls!
That's nice to have 3 varieties! I'll definetly be hand carrying my WG cos I don't think it can fit into my luggage.. but EG I think can pack bah.. will have to borrow iron over there already.. no choice..

Hmm.. I'm intending to wear e same big gown for AD if its possible lo since I plan to bring over one that I really love.. and also if my ballroom's big if not I'll change into something that's not so drama.. one of the boutiques verberly told me that I can change my AD gown without much cost so 1 yr later I'll prob change my mind & get something else too.. haha..

cow cow, go for it if ur fiance wants it too! U know ironically, it's my fiance that tells me, come on, it's once a lifetime, u gotta find ur dream gown and photoshoot, money can always be earned back! haha..I'm really kinda surprised still cos he has always been e realistic type..

cool! It's always very exciting to learn about new things =) U must be looking fwd to coming over to settle ur stuff...

I suspect u might not like some all-inclusive BS.. some have rather bad reviews so do check e forums before gg down to e shops. =) There's a great flexibility when we DIY, I love it. But there's really a lot more work but I guess it'll be worth it when U love every single vendor that's working for u..

pinkglove, your fiance is soooooo gooood! BUAHAHAHHA!! my man wanted to go taiwan initially.. i hope he doesn't change his mind..

But hor I think it's because I've never looked very pretty to him & it's only when I wore e gowns he said I looked e prettiest.. haha.. and he tinks tat there's a great difference in e diff types of gowns I tried in diff BS so he's willing to pay e difference...

oh.. taiwan's nice, can choose the seasons to go and some more good food!

Hi Moss - it was beautiful... garden theme by a lake

Luckily it wasnt really cold that day, so I could stil wear my tube dress... heee..

Hi gals, thx for the advice! You gals make me v tempted to do overseas PS! I'm thinking of having PS around Bali or Phuket area.

Btw, how much does an overseas PS usually cost? Is it better to rent gowns, photographer n makeup artist separately or find some package?

The cost I reckon will depends on the location that you want to have your PS.. there's an upcoming wedding & travel fair at Suntec 1-3 Jan..

I didn't enagage any PG & MUA from Singapore, they are locals there.. bought my gowns instead of renting.. Personally I feel the those standalone PG gives more flexibility in terms of topping up photos, time frame for photoshoot, poses etc.. some PG also have tie-up with MUA..

sapphire, it sounds soo romantic!

Ariel, I tink it really depends on ur location n expectations and whether u wan convenience and also whether u feel comfortable with e PG.. For me I like the PG and he worked with a great MUA hence I got my PG.. Prob u can check out the wedding travel fair that clint mentioned to get a better feel =) I think if u r very particular about photography, den standalone PG usually offer quality photos because they specialize in it, of course this is just in my humble opinion..

I went to my final BS, Jawn Happy today. Great service and passion from e designer..The quality of gowns look gd as well.. I'm tempted to get gowns from there but the prob is I didn't see what I like from OTR, hence if i engage them, it has to be mtm.. But im the sort that is I like to pay for what i see type.. mtm sounds a bit risky for me like what if the WG turns out to be totally different..At SIL, i saw a otr gown which is very near to my ideal but of course it's much more exp... girls, can give me opinions? I'm stuck between jawn and sil..I tink Jawn's very value for $ but just worried over tis uncertainity...