(2011) 2011 Brides

Pinkglove> wow that is really so cool for both of u

just curious, both of u been together since secondary? KPO a bit :p

thankx clint =)

yup Siy =), been tgt since sec 3, 15yrs old.. lol.. omg.. 15 yrs old sounds sooo far away from me now..haha..

Clint & Pinkglove> after getting to know you both seems like its can really work to get married with ur 1st love since secondary. I got many frens that they broke off like 10+ yrs so dont really believe in this initially...must have 2nd thoughts now i guess

cool clint, u and him also tgt very long! we share similarities..hehe

Ya, I've also have frens who were tgt for many yrs like 8-10yrs & broke off but also have known 2 of my frens who are getting married next yr after being tgt for 10yrs..=)
I guess it's never easy to b in long rs esp in e growing yrs when we witness each other's changes.. it involves lots of giving in and accepting changes..

Clint & others> Finally, I got to Lawry's yesterday since its his Birthday

There's special promotion for B'day. 50% off 2nd set ordered. Plus free photo-taking & they sing song plus serve a dessert with candles.

(Btw, they will not check on his NRIC to verify his BOD :p)

Main course includes: Salad, Steak, Mashed, Special Pastry. We added additional corn as side & its taste fantanstic but this side cost $7.50. Love the Lawry's Pepper also.

Overall experience is great due to the service & ambience also.

clint: lol, I got so mad with him when he said that. Maybe the guys don't see the urgency because they feel there aren't that many items to settle and we've got quite a lot of time.

sounds good Siy =) They must have felt that we have integrity and will not lie about bdays.

purplebottle & clint, my htb initially also felt e same way but i told him there's many other btb who'r preparing earlier lo n it's always gd to b early den late..haha..so purplebottle, i guess it's just a guy's thing to be relaxed about such things..
but we still dunno if its gd to confirm our hotels soon cos am afraid tat e promotions will b even better next yr when there's more competition from more hotels..we personally like orchard hotel n it's ready for booking for first half of 2011.

Siy: yeap, even thou we were only celebrating our anniversary.. They threw in free photo & cake (as seen in my fb) too!

my AD will be Sep2011, so he doesn't feel that there's a need to rush lor.. But I'm a person who likes to plan ahead in case got last min changes etc..

haiyah..GUYS!

I think I prefer to confirm my hotel earlier so I get the date I want ;) Is your AD first half of 2011 as well? The hotels we've shortlisted are not opened for booking yet.

Agree with you Clint! Guys just think we're being too anxious and everything but I want to ensure everything's in place.

Morn girls! Yup, purplebottle, my AD will be in June 2011 =) Which month is yours?

Suddenly I'm very nervous thinking if I were to confirm my venue so fast also.. haha..Like not ready to commit..

Mine's also June 2011 ;)

Wahahaha, maybe it's the pre-marriage jitters. You'll get more excited when the day draws nearer. Btw, there's a wedding show at OH. Perhaps you can get more perks if you sign up during the show?

great! same month =)
Yup, knew about the show liao, that's why feeling nervous cos gotta sign up real soon if I wan the perks.. haha..Like not a lot of time lidat.. maybe I'll set that as part of my travel itinerary to have an in-depth discussion when I go on holiday with my htb this dec. haha..

yeah, great! We can check with each other on things we may miss out, hee!

You're also going overseas for your PS next June right? That's enviable! HTB said we have to save for the wedding so no holidays for us

yup, yeah we will be on similar pace. U got ur exact date liao also?

Yup, going overseas for PS next June. This dec we'll just be going to Bali for a short getaway cos me and my htb love travelling and needed a break from spore so we'll just save when we're in spore..hehe..

Don't worry, u can look forward to your honeymoon too! We're all saving for our big day =)

Hey girls,
just want to consult all your opnions on an issue that I'm facing.. How to avoid letting my colleagues know I'm getting married?

I do not wish to invite my current colleagues, or rather just my direct working partner.. I wouldn't mind inviting the rest.. but it will be very weird to invite the rest who are not working directly with me and not invite the direct working partner.. To avoid awkward situations, I'd rather not invite any colleagues..

The reason for taking up my current job as it gives me flexibility for my part-time studies.. Will quit this job as soon as my studies are completed

I have a much closer relationship with my ex-colleagues.. If not for my studies, I wouldn't wanna resign from my previous job..

pinkglove: did you change your AD? Cz I remember you said your AD was somewhere in Nov..

Pushing away all my holiday plans for year end and hope to save enough for my PS & pre-honeymoon in June next year..

Hi clint, U are right, if u do not want to invite a particular one then it'll be quite awkward esp if he/she works directly with u & u invite e rest.. Probably you don't need to mention that u are having a banquet but even if u talk abt it or someone else knows, just say it's gg to be a cosy affair with just family and close friends bah..

Yup, clint, i changed my AD to June liao cos my flat seems to be buildin quite fast and my mum's those traditional type,must get married den can shift into the new house type so my htb suggested shifting it forward to June cos he hopes to be able to move in asap once our house's ready.

Actually I also very stress that im going for holidays this dec when we need to spend a lot of $ in the coming months but since already decided liao, I trying to psycho myself to not think about it.. I even told my htb that to FULLY utilise our trip, we can have a pre-pre photo shot self taken by ourselves in bali..haha..he says im crazy cos ownself take photos how to be nice.. haha

I won't be mentioning about my wedding, thou some know that I'm getting married.. But I refuse to disclose my AD to them.. just say everything is still under preparation.. haa.. so evil right

no la, not evil, some pple prefer to have cosy weddings mah, they'll prob think that u are more of a private person and I think they will respect that =)

nope, I haven't got my AD but I know I'll want to hold it in June 2011.

I've also shifted my AD from Nov 2011 to June 2011! Our house will also most probably be ready in June 2011 ;)

Clint> For me I am a straight-forward person. If I do not intend to have some many tables & I would liked to invite those close ones, then i will just send invitation to those & when passing around, I will tell the others that due to tables limitation, regret that i will not be able to invite all. They be glad as they do not want to give u "hong bao" also. but of course if its just like 3 of them u invite, can do it discretely, when done let them know ur restrictions. I guess most won't mind since they can save their pocket also :p

personal judgement here, however everyone handles things differently

haha.. so qiao.. even the house preparations will be similar liao =) yours also dbss rite..

anyway clint, I won't be inviting all my colleagues also if not too many liao and I see no point in inviting those that im not familiar with, will invite only my department and those I liase with or are close to.. I intend to give out the invitations privately and will also let those that I invite know that I'm not inviting everyone.. like what Siy says,I think most won't mind cos they can save a red bomb.. hehe

I just got back from Taiwan!
Seems like the thread have been rather slow...

How are u gals doing? We're gonna meet the geomacer this Friday and then can finalise on AD date!

It's good to finally going to get something finalised.

I've not touched wedding planning for 2 to 3 weeks already.

Hey Kass! Enjoyed youself in taiwan?

Yes, it's good to settled the AD because everything kind of revolves around the date right?

You can get back on your wedding plan now that you're back ;)

Hi kass, How's your taiwan trip? I miss taiwan's food...haha
It's really good to settle the AD date so that we can really book the hotel when we've decided!

welcome back

when do u girls think its a good time to book hotel? I've confirmed my AD liao.. but htb thinks its too early to start looking around for venues -_-||

I didn't want to come back and I miss the food! Especially the Ah Chung Mian Xian!

Clint >> I think u should start sourcing, start recce-ing the hotels u are intersted, esp if ur date is a hot date. Some hotels like Shang, Holiday Inn are already open for 2011 bookings. Some hotels though, such as Marriott, doesn't open for booking so early. Do yo have any hotels in mind?

Hmmm.. Im looking at places that cater around 30-35 tables... Shortlisted M hotel, Novotel, Furama Riverfront & Peony Jade restaurant.. I'm open to other options have suits my table requirements.. still looking around.. my date is 24 Sep.. considered hot date anot?

I dunno leh. Tong Shu not out yet.

Peony Jade Clarke Quay I am quite sure cannot do 35 tables though. Not sure whether the Keppel Club location can or not.

Hey Clint, I think you should start looking around for hotels so you have an idea of what you like. I'm getting HTB to look around with me as well.

How about Grand Copthorne? Meritus Mandarin?

hey gals! haiz.. had been busy with work and is currently stopping all wedding preparations because i hasn't get my date yet.. BUAHAHAHA!! Was quite frustrated with my in-laws already coz i waited 2+ near to 3 months and i my AD is still "calculating"..

purplebottle, i thought MM need at least 50 tables to use the ballroom? the other room is too small for 30 tables.. think max is 22 tables.. GC minimum is 40 tables for wkend...

cow cow, maybe you can let them know nicely that you need the date to plan the rest of your stuff? But I know how it is trying to rush your in-laws. They may not feel happy if you rush them right? Don't worry, there's still time ;)

Oops, I missed out Clint's number of tables required. LOL!

There's also Conrad (360 for weekend), Intercontinental (35 for Sat), Oriental (35), Sheraton towers (360), Swissotel MC (35), The Regent (35). These are for 2010 so perhaps, there may be changes for 2011.

cow cow >>> Mine is the opposite! My future MIL is so enthusiastic in getting the dates for us. And even though we have engaged a geomacer (Master David Tong - from this forum), she still kept on telling us other geomacers which are good, and not just once or twice.

Actually for the dates, FH and I are actually not v particular. FH even suggested doing in 7th Month cuz the banquets are damn cheap! Hahaha. Even if I am not pantang, I am not that easy too! So of course I reject! But we just want to keep (his) parents happy since they are more particular. My mum, not so much, as long as the date is good.

thanks for your suggestions.. Some are abit over our budget.. but thanks aniway

Actually both me & htb are Christians.. so we don't really need to "calculate" the dates.. AD is 1 day after our anniversary date as my church only conducts wedding on Sat..

I just complained to him that we need to start sourcing for venues.. and he finally say ok.. but only start once we settle our PS & holiday next Jun.. will recce come Dec/Jan

Clint -- I did notice ur budget based on the hotels/restaurants u shortlisted. Just wondering, have u considered Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre (former Park View), Concorde, Amara as well?

kass/clint>> about peony jade keppel.. went to see the place. restaurant can hold about 28 tables max, with some blocked by partition. the function rm by the club is sort of like a badminton hall, no carpet. Co-ordinator promised that the wedding set up will off set the minuses, but still not attractive enuff.

moreover, the car park to the function rm is rather far. and lift stops at 2nd flr, function rm is on 3rd. unless u don't mind all these factors...

clint, you can try grand park city hall.. per table price is not more than 1k per table or Novotel as well.

purplebottle, my in-laws are the ones who hurried us to get married and they are the ones who think that 2011 is way too long to wait.. they are the ones who insisted on using their expensive geomancer who charge $388 juz to calculate the dates.. and now their geomancer is making not only fiance family wait but also my parents wait.. actually my mum is abit excited to know what date provided coz i am the last daughter to get married but she don't dare to say coz she don't want to pressure my fiance.. I proposed to change geomancer since that man is charging such expensive rate and making us wait for so long.

Kass, i actually wanted to do it on my 4th year anniversary but think it will land us on the 7th month also.. hehe..

is it true that guy side family must go find someone to calculate the date? can the couple look for people to calculate ourselves then let both side parents know? cause my mum told me that i should let guy's side parents to go set the date.

cow cow: that's nice! I think my parents are opposite of yours. They can't bear for me to get married.

w3n: i don't think it's the guy's family who must get the auspicious date. In fact, my FMIL told me that it's up to my parents if they want to get the date. Perhaps, your mother prefers it that way?