(2011) 2011 Brides

opps.. after typing tat previous msg, i decided to c e video i took n count..

counted and omg.. i tink only 27 or 28 tables.. got cheated man.. i will show e video to my hub n ask him count.. LOL

clint >> One stop BS earns the most money from PS, so the moment u tell them u want only gowns, they will change attitude, cuz their main revenue stream is cut off. I was very lucky not to have met service like yours. I only went to one one-stop BS and even though I told them I dun want PS, they were still very nice, let me try on all the gowns etc. Very friendly. You can consider them... Sattine. Look for Francis.

Alternatively, can consider Allure Charix at Amoy Street. They sell their gowns off the rack.

How much did u pay for your Silouette gown??

Thanks ladies! I will go down to those recommended BS and have a look..

Yeap, I was really annoyed with their attitude.. a bit of money better than no money earned at all right.. humph!

Kass: I paid around $400 for it.. super good deal..

I'm considering M Hotel too.. was invited to attend a D&D at Banquet Suite.. but the set up was only 16 tables..

I love the fact its pillarless, so every1 can have a clear view of the stage..

The makeup room is also very cosy.. well equipped with TV, sofa, ensuite toilet, dressing table & a huge full length mirror!

M hotel actually has 2 pillars but if you dont put any tables near e pillars, then it's okay.. wldnt get block.. n e layout of the banquet suite is square/rectanglar which is what I like.. den everyone can see e stage... ya.. clint, the makeup room is veri cosy and nice.. and e bridal suite.. omg.. so nice..

hi draaaloon, if we don't put tables near the pillars then do u koe roughly how many tables can we put? I also like the layout very much but hasn't got the chance to see the suite yet.. I must go and take a look!

tat time when we went during e show, e person say it's full with 32 tables.. so if minus 2 tables den okay.. BUT.. joyle said onli can hav 21 tables and it's quite filled up.. so i went to count e video i took.. onli like 27/28 haha.. i will ask my hub to count again..

kass: Mine was with Maybank isavvy..interest rate is quite good..

I went to M hotel for a wedding at the Banquet suite last week, I think it is a bit too squeezy actually and seated at the back, though just in front of the stage, we couldn't see the march in at all til the couple reaches the stage area. Food was quite ok, and the ballroom is very cozy..

kass: mine is OCBC Monthly savings account (MSA123) think they recently adjusted the interest to 1% per annum for 24 mths savings compared to the 1.somthing% when i signed up.

faith: my colleague paid 2k+ for the gowns.. it comes with his wife's "jie meis" dresses and their parents outfit (father and mother).. Think it comes with flowers and car deco as well.. Its the same as a normal package without photography..

clint >>> One thing to look out for... Make sure u ask for rental cost for PS and dry cleaning costs. One Stop BS will charge u for taking out their gowns for PS if your PS is not under the same BS.

Sattine Charge $150 for dry cleaning, no rental charge.
MBR Charge $500 for rental only, not inc dry cleaning, if I hear correctly from the Salesperson

Ladies, thanks for the recs on joint accounts. Will go and research more...
Keep the suggestions coming!

clint > from what La belle shared with me that time, they said they will not charge for rental and dry cleaning but u have to let them know first that u are bringing it overseas cos they don't allow all gowns to be brought overseas, some are indoor gowns. Hence, this is the part which I don't really like. I want to have the option of bringing my ideal gown overseas but i also understand their constraints in keeping thec condition of the gown.

pinkglove, La Belle told me taht if we really really wanna bring our selected gown for overseas shoot they will allow but its advisable to do it an indoor one..

Kass: actually I'm considering to buy the gowns, coz it gives me more flexibility.. I'm going overseas for PS & those one stop BS only willing to rent out 3 days.. and when I mention I wanna bring it out for PS, they immediately say no.. coz for PS, they have standard gowns that they used, not those used on AD. So far, only 1 BS I went willing to rent out the gown as long as 2 weeks, but the price is quite ex lar

Do u mean that Sattine rents their gown FOC? coz u mentioned that there's no rental charge?

Thanks for recommendations!

oh.. cos they told me usually for overseas PS, pple dirty the gowns easily and if it's dirtied in the end then the matter's difficult to resolve cos who'll pay for the damages.. so they advise us to just bring the outdoor gowns overseas which gives me limited choices..but the lady was alright with me bringing the gowns out for 2weeks+.

I'm thinking of buying the gowns too cos even if the gown's very delicate, it's ok for me to dirty it.

Clint >>> that's my understanding, cuz I was enquiring an AD package. It's a full package just no photography. But I dunno the rental is for how long and whether it is for outdoor gowns only. Sattine also have what is known as outdoor gowns, or as I call it, gowns for trashing at beaches, in the water etc.

Just wondering, why dun you guys sign an alacarte package and bring your own gown (whether MTM or OTR) overseas?

I think there is more flexibility with alacarte boutiques than those along Tanjong Pagar.

Oh, it’s bcoz these one-stop BS happen to set up booths at where I attended e wedding shows, hence I just check it out since I’ve not have the time to find my gowns yet and these BS generally tend to b cheaper even if I don’t take up their Pre wedding shots. some also allow to change the pre wedding shots to actual day shots.. but I haven decide whether I wanna engage an exp PG yet..

Have u guys decided which PG u will engage for AD or whether to get a VG?

pinkglove, i had signed my AD PG and VG with Moo Media... the package which i take back all photos and quite a lot of stuffs.. they are charging me $300 more on PG for my solemnization which is of a different day. the number of hours used for solemnization will be deducted from AD.. so if i use up more than 10 hours, i will pave to pay $100 per hr for the "OT"...

i think $100/hr for the "OT"'s very reasonable.. their photos are very good also I feel. Cos some good PG charge at least $200+ and above for any extra hours..

I haven't decided which PG to engage yet. Got to view their albums before deciding. As for VG, I initially didn't want one but HTB said that I'll regret not having a video for the AD and said it's better we go ahead with it.

pinkglove, ya.. i think its quite reasonable.. i did not get the one with the concept video coz my fiance dont wanna act... so i got the package exactly the same as the concept MV package juz that its without the MV..

Really like their photos and videos alot! Fiance dont understand why i need to get such expensive PG and VG but compromised coz its a once in a life time thing.. BUAHAHAHAHA!!

Actually its also after comparing their photos with a much cheaper but not so professional photos that i managed to convince him that Moo is worth their price. If i get a non-pro to do my AD or solemnization, why dont i take my own phots right? BUAHAHAHA!!

pinkglove, you engaged Moo as well? Now i am waiting for the confirmation on my AD so i can "book" Andrew to help me take the photos.. my solemnization will be done by Hazel since Andrew was "taken"..

Nope, have not booked them yet but I’ll definitely visit them to discuss more cos me n htb are very interested in their products. For AD photos, im not as particular but I tink a good express video highlight makes a GREAT diff. They are quite ex, and we r lookin at the one with concept mtv as well so it’s gg to cost another bomb but I believe we pay for quality and there'r def reasons why some companies can charge more den others =)

yep..usually I just pop by those one stop BS during roadshows.. haven't really step into the actual shops yet..

I'm also thinking of getting a AD package without photography.. But I have friends who can do makeup/hair for me.. and those cars available for AD are usually not my choice of cars.. so its just back to gowns only..

pinkglove: which PS did u inquiry about the outdoor gowns?

im considering Moomedia too! I saw those concept MTV they made.. think its so interesting.. can show these concept MTVs on banquet instead..

cowcow: how much did you pay for your package?

morning gals!

clint: My package is almost 5k+.. before discount is almost 6k... the concept MV package is slightly more than 6k before discount.. Ilike that as well but fiance refused to act so theres nothing i can do..

purplebottle: the price range for Moo's package is from 3.5K - 6K... it depends on what you require from them.. can go and have a chat with Andrew to find out more about them..

yup, can visit them for more details cos they shld b able to make suitable adjustments and let us know the price but the price range is def. there bah.

But me and my htb also tgt very long le & our story a bit similar to 1 of the videos they’ve done for a couple who’ve been long tgt den if do concept mtv, we r afraid it’ll b similar…

pinkglove, Andrew said it is for the whole of Ox year... hahahaha!! so don't worry.. should have a few months more.. not sure if they had revised their price because when i went there last month, Andrew told me that they will be having a price revision in Nov..

Oh dear.. I think he could have increased e prices already cos I tink the price for e one w concept mtv is ard $7+k liao_ Argh..
Omg.. I was hoping to shortlist a few finalised banquet venues den book when they are open before I do this.. now seemed like I better go settle my VG first..haha.. I tink my pockets workin very hard.. just settle preweddin shots 3 mths ago den have to re shock my pockets liao..

pinkglove, wow! that's the latest price list?! if i am going to tell my fiance about this i think he will thank me for being KS.. haha!

ya... actually i already felt the pain just by paying for the deposits.. my friemds around me who had gotten hitched or getting hitch are saying the real pain will come when we have to pay full.. T_T

Ya! Argh! U can boast to ur fiancé about making the right choice liao le lo. hehe

I’ve only made half the pre wedding shots deposit & changed some currencies and feel pain liao.. more expenses to come in next yr when I go for my trip..

My htb has to constantly remind me to keep within our budget, he’s the more rational one but im the more dreamy type.. haha

pinkglove, i think eventually when we move on for the wedding we will become rational as well.. my situation was like yours as well.. fiance was more rational while i am dreamy.. so when we started paying the money i became more rational..

haha! recently i even suggested taking PS in SG instead of Bali... fiance was quite shocked though.. by the way, when is your AD?

Oh, u’ve confirmed ur PS for bali already isit? I'm gg there for holiday this dec, can help u take photos if u want. haha.. Wah.. ur fiancé confirm shock. u sure u don't wan take in bali? it's such a beautiful place...Hehe..

Actually me certain aspects also slowly a bit more rational cos initially I told him when he wanna buy my proposal ring that it would b nice to have certain specs etc den as I slowly wanted more of other things I told him actually the ring no need too ex liao.. hehe

My AD shld b in june, what about yours?

pinkglove, ya.. i am thinking since universal studio will be up by 2011, maybe i will go there and take pictures.. actually the places i had shortlisted in SG are quite memorable to both of us.. so maybe will take in SG..

Bali is certainly nice to have but i heart pain for his wallet.. BUAHAHAHAH!! Fiance dare not agree to take PS in SG yet coz he scared i will change my mind and is gonna KIV this PS thingy.. haha! In fact he wanted to go TW for PS.. he like it there..

My AD is not decided yet.. stillw aiting for teh geomancer to get back to us.. Its been more than 2 months le and i am getting impatient.. Cannot voice out coz the geomancer is fiance's family trusted man.. and fiance sister wont be happy if i get involve in the dates..

Taiwan is nice too and its very affordable, the pain won’t b as much .. hehe.. my colleague took 1 PS in spore n another in Taiwan after he found out tat it’s so affordable.
I agree tat we shld take photos in places which’re memorable to e couple so tat it’s more meaningful ..

Oh, so u totally have no clue or say towards which part of e yr u wanna have ur AD ah.. tat’s really a bit fustrating… the geomancer gave me a few dates to choose from e mth I wanna have n im gg to decide based on the availability of my chosen venue.

i can only have a say in my AD secretly.. and fiance will take my decision as his... coz the other time when i announced one of the chosen AD (never approach geomancer at all) FSIL is not very happy.. said very loudly that AD should be deicided by the guy's side and not me.. so LL lor.. One good thing is fiance will convey my unhappiness as his to his family lor..

Oh.. they’re so traditional ah… no wonder u r in a difficult position but good tat at least ur fiancé will convey the msg across to his family.. my htb’s family totally left it to us, they say don’t even need to count dates but my mum wants it so we just do it..

haha! pinkglove.. you are so lucky... ya.. my fiance family is a traditional one.. i was brought up in the kinda family whereby my sisters and me will openly express our love to our parents while fiance don't.. my parents and me don't even wanted banquet lor but fiance need.. BUAHAHAH!!

haiz.. i having outbreak for a few months already.. sad lor.. been seeing doctor and its recovering very slow... hope that by next year the blemish will clear.. hehe... you having solemnization with AD?

pinkglove: I know what you mean about feeling the pinch! We've paid deposit for my e-ring and BS only and I'm already feeling it. I can't imagine 2011 when we've got to pay the rest of the amount plus reno for the flat!

i tink diff families have diff probs, they are also very particular in other areas.. so i guess there's no perfect stories yet.. hehe

don't worry, pimples take long time to heal but u have lots of time. just apply the medication religiously lo..

Yup, I'm lazy to have it on 2 separate days.. just wanna settle it all in 1. hehe.. what about u? when's ur rom?

haha, purplebottle, i think when 2011 reaches.. we will start complaining about our house reno and furniture fees liao..

i dunno how much my ring cost yet but im soooo looking fwd to see the proposal ring but i tell my htb not to propose to me so fast leh cos i told him im lookin fwd to his proposal but once he propose den i've nothing to look fwd to liao.. haha..

pinkglove, my solemnization will be on 10.10.10.. next year.. hehehe... waiting for fiance to propose as well.. He said he wanna throw in a surprise one .. so duno when he will do it..

that's a very nice date =)

Ya, my htb also says he will give me a surprise! everything will be a surprise, including the proposal ring, im feel that my fingers are sooo bare now.. haha..

so exciting to wait for the proposal! we must share with each other when The Proposal arrive..

pinkglove: Oh yes, definitely! I'm looking forward to see my e-ring too because i've only seen the diamond. Haven't seen the actual ring ;P You're so cute! Asking him not to propose to you so soon, hahaha!

I know this may seem a little strange but he hasn't proposed as well although I've seen the diamond, lol! So I'm waiting for the day to come as well ;)

cow cow: That's such a memorable date for solemnization. You'll have another day to look forward to because your AD's on a separate day ;)