(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

happylilone

Hmmm.. I was generally aug and sep are not gd for marriage.. Aug cos of the hungry ghost festival and I dunno the reason for sep..

Just for info, even if the dates above are good, (my date's in there and there are only 2 weekend dates
) they must not clash with u and fh's and both parents ba zi.. Else oso no good..

gelobeano

hey happylilone! thanks so much for your advice! it's very helpful. hee...hope your wedding prep is going smoothly!

siy> yea, i heard that the dates will depend on your parents and htb's ba zi as well, so it's better to find a shi fu for your wedding date.

happylilone

Gelobeano: no prob! Have fun preparing too! Honestly part of the reason why I'm making my own cards is to keep myself busy till next year.. Hahaha.. I think I got nothing much better to do.. At least there's no lull period in preps..

styleinyou

happylilone/gelobeano>> I use what Master calcuate then i did a comparison myself with those good dates, then i become master myself :p

gelobeano

haiz, now i am starting to get worried, coz my banquet is scheduled to be held on the 11th, but it seems from what you guys said that 11th is not a gd date. we're supposed to wait for the tong shu to be out to finalise on the date, but i am worried that the hotels will be fully booked by den..

happylilone

Gelobeano: dun worry too much ok? Like wad my fh says, "if nothing is done to maintain a marriage, so wad if it's a good wedding date?"

The only reason why we went for the fengshui thing was cos fh is a businessman, pantang and a good date to enhance his business luck..

styleinyou

gelobeano> u can go to various hotels n booked tent. date with them but u got to show u are sincere to sign up. honestly speaking 11/11 are very fully booked...

guess we got many in thise thread which aldy booked up most of the hotels. probably those 11/11 gals can help u out so that u can opt those hotels out...

gelobeano

happylilone & siy> thanks so much for your advices! r your houses coming? i am getting busy with renovation ideas too! major headache!

happylilone

Gelobeano: yar.. House should be coming btw march to June next year.. In punggol though.. Where u gals gonna stay?

Fh has tasked me (as usual) with the design of our new home.. Haha.. He literally takes me as gf cum future wife cum wedding planner cum interior designer cum ..... *sweat* so sourcing for ideas too!

the_moment

gelo > Perhaps u can get your shifu to still calculate a date? I think most of the girls here could get the shifu to manually calculate it instead... If gota wait for the tong shu and it says 1st or 11th or 20th, then I guess choices will be limited.

the_moment

Wondering if you gals have honeymoon plans already?

On my list are Maldives, Europe, Banyan Tree resorts. Wana make a good choice. Hmm..

gelobeano

happylilone> mine is gonna be in punggol too! what's your project name? we could be neightbours! lol...

SSAC> yea, we thought of tt, but parents are adamant in waiting for the tong shu to be out...
tentative plan for honeymoon will be europe, but if reno is gonna exceed budget, we may just go to japan or something...

chloe11

happylilone: wah.....your HTB really leave a lot of things for you to do....then i think once married he's gonna get you be his personal maid already.....hahaha.....

SSAC: i'm thinking of Maldives...but it's pretty ex....guess will just go with it since it's gonna be once in a lifetime trip and Maldives is sinking too....so better go now before it's gone....moreover i'm thinking of going maybe a few days after the wedding so think it's better to go somewhere relaxing rather than hectic like Europe....

gelobeano: guess your parents are really conservative but i belief they want the best for you too....hope you'll get your date soon.....

happylilone

Chloe: yar... He take care of finance while I do the more creative stuff.. Maid lor.. So I told him I'm gonna stop working after 13th nov next year.. Hahaha.. Unless he wans to hire me for 5k a mth as his PA..

chloe11

happylilone: wah....your really lucky.....his money is your money mah....so you'll have more than 5k a month ler....

happylilone

Chloe: hahahha.. Ok la.. Soooo frustrated at work today.. Den he said I can seriously consider opening a floral shop.. But need to gather for experience and ideas.. I think he oso dun like to see me so angry over work or ppl at work...

Our quarrels may be frequent.. But sometimes I wonder wad I will do without him supporting all these while..

styleinyou

happylilone> im be staying in Parc Lumiere (Simei DBSS). Anyway, just my thoughts here if u dont like what u are working as no point as you be dragging to work everyday. Do what u like since ur HTB is supportive towards it. Then u can give us % when we do our floral decorations :p

with ur wedding preparation experiences, u can become wedding planner

happylilone

Chloe: yar.. He's been really supportive...

siy: icic.. It's gonna take sometime to build right? I like my work... It's the ppl tt makes everything difficult I guess.. Hahah.. I wun be opening a florist so soon la.. I prob be an understudy first..
wedding planning wise I think I can only take care of stationery and flowers only.. Not so expert..

happylilone

Leong: u may wan to contact dolly from flowersflowers.. Her webbie is flowersflowers.com.sg.. The contact number's there..

Plus she's my teacher actually.. And I've seen her works and I should say she's v knowledgable abt her flowers.. Budget wise, she's always been cheaper den other florists (I noe tt ever since I took floral lessons and started asking ard for prices).

U can also customise the flowers combi just to suit your budget.. And doesn't charge for design at all. Yup, there u have it.. Or visit her shop at orchard plaza 4th floor.. Do call before u do so though.. Cos sometimes she's out for venue deco..

Hope this help

gelobeano

happylilone> Mine's damai grove too!!! which block are u staying in?
chloe11> ya man, i hope our date will be 'approved'! if not, it's gonna be troublesome having to reschedule everything!

happylilone

Gelobeano: so coincidental! Hahah.. Mine's 612a and looking at progress now, I'm crossing my fingers to get the flat early next year.. Yeah! I noe 1 more neighbour...

rikko

Happylilone: Thanks alot!

Julie C: I have emailed you. I also got a contact called Flowers Legend. Are they good?

happylilone

Leong: mmm.. I think u are asking a florist if other florist is good? Anyways, like I've mentioned, dolly is my teacher.. And I will nv recommend anyone who's not up to standard.. And rest assure I'm not getting commission ok?

dancingpetals

leong> Hv replied you. As happylilone mentioned, we will not comment about other florists. After you have done the comparison, just go with the one that feels right.

happylilone

Gelobeano: think both of us will be packed next year.. With the wedding plus reno works.. When u targeting to move in? Me and fh have decided to settle the house and straight after AD can live in already..

gelobeano

happylilone> same for us! we decided to settle the house first, then hold our wedding dinner and move in straight after..

pinkyangel

I'm a Nov 2011 BTB...
Will be doing ROM and AD separately. Still looking for both venues.

Anyone did their ROM @ Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Care to share your review?

happylilone

Hey Angeline, welcome!! Hotels are so booked up u've got to make decision fast...

Ok.. I haven done my ROM at Crowne Plaza.. But I did research on it.. And FH's bro wanted CP but forgo for the same reason as I did.. *i'm being honest and it's only cos of personal preference*

I guess the huge part of CP is cos it has a v nice poolside for solemnisation. After I (ticked CP off before asking FH) discovered that meals will be served indoors, din wan to go ahead.. Cos wanted a full outdoor event.

Nonetheless, CP has got v v good photo spots! Hahhaaha... I know cos I saw the progress (on drawings) during its construction.. Think that's a redeeming feature.. Anyways, if unlike me, who always wan something outdoorsy, CP shouldn't be too wrong..

Happy planning!

pinkyangel

Hi Happylilone, thanks for sharing ur POV on Crowne Plaza. Will discuss with FH again. i've made appt with CP on coming wednesday. Shall see what good deal they can offer.

As for AD, went to few hotels to take a look, now having headache on where to hold my banquet.

nearbtb

Hi all again,
actually i'm looking for flower balls(real or plastic) to decorate the poolside for my rom but seems not able to find nice and cheap ones like within $5, do u gal have other ideas other then flower balls?
Tot of using balloons but afraid will fly off, cos poolside so is a open space. haiz...

happylilone

Btb: I've seen poolside deco by my teacher.. She put flowers in the pool as well.. I've made flower balls before and I think $5 is not enough to make a real one.. I've seen fake ones in her shop.. Maybe u'll like to ask her?

It's 6737 2926 if u wan to call her.. Hopefully she's in the shop..

nearbtb

Hi happy, thanks i called but it too ex, ur teacher tell me that is $300 onwards.
no budget for that, guess gotta think of something myself.

happylilone

Btb: yar.. The 300 includes the basic venue deco I guess... I was thinking u'll ask more abt the flower balls instead which she alr has..

nearbtb

hahaha yes yes i did but i have not decided which flowers(cos i diff flower, diff price so she dun wan to just give my any pricing)neab to use so i ask abt her whole package.

hippy123

I am also a BTB in Nov 2011. I would like to check for ROM, do you sign up with Bridal Shop or look for Ala-carte? We are doing ROM & Customery separately.... Thanks ladies...

happylilone

Hippy: welcome!! I'm doing rom and AD separately too! Well.. U can ask BS if they can throw in free ROM.. But usually they will only provide gown and makeup.. no flowers.. Not v sure abt suit oso..

My package came with makeup and gown.. I guess u can try asking lor.. I take my rom to gauge how gd my BS is.. At least I noe wad to expect for AD...

Btb: icic... I'll be meeting her today.. I also Need her services for AD next year.. ROM no need cos I may hold it in Orchidville, all flowers provided.. I like the style of her arrangements and seriously speaking, for the price I'll be paying I'll get a lot more from her.. Anyways, I'll keep a lookout for u for the flower balls.. Shall help u ask her how much they go for ok?