(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

hi all, i have a qns to ask. do you think its better to get jie mei who knows each other? i will be having 6 jie meis, but they are from 3 different 'gangs'. not sure itf there will be any problem co-ordinating?

Hi ladies, I'm new too! My AD is on 15-Oct ;)

I'm trying to source for cheap & good tailor shop to do MTM chongsum for my mum & MIL. Any recommendation?

Hi everyone i just have my wedding last sunday and i have some outstanding wines to let go. I am happy to let go 12 bottles of corner stone 2009 merlot. I buy at 16.90 per bottle and will sell only at 11. i can do free delivery also, if interested pls drop me an email [email protected]

Post Wedding Sales:
1) La Cabane De Vignes Bordeaux Red Wine
Product of France
- 10 bottles
- $18.99 per bottle

2) Hardy Shiraz
- 1 bottle
- $16.99 per bottle

3) Hardy Melot
- 1 bottle
- $16.99 per bottle

4) Prosecco Veneto Itarian Champagne
- 9 bottles
- $11.99 per bottle

If you buy all, further discount is available.

Interested, please kindly email to [email protected].

Lslyn: Congrates! 1 thing down for you.. You have any specific contact that u'll be using to print you wedding cards already?

Anyone chosing your own si dian jing? I am having a hard time deciding on the budget to work on.. If too ex, feel very pai seh.. Will it be funny to have a mixture of white gold and yellow gold for the si dian jing?

1731596.jpg
@SGD80 include delivery from Dressing Channel . Am so glad . Just to share their link with all brides to be http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.126533597426655.33063.126420407437974&l=415b438e89

Hey Charlotte; nope I dont, but I gonna try the JB City SQ tat BTBs are mentioned in another thread. But with the news abt the jamming causeway, I'm having second thoughts now and thinking of finding a local printer

Sun xuan; its very pretty!

Charlotte, my mil say will bring me to poh heng to choose my si dian jin. suppose to go yesterday which is sun. But got somethin on last min. So postphone to next sun. I worried about gold price, thinking that should go early to avoid the increasing price. But she say nvm. So see how lo. Try not to go beyond 3k ba. actually i prefer si dian zhuan. But mil prefer yellow gold. So i anything lo...

i have leftover ampoules from Germany to sell. selling @ $10 each:

5 x Beauty Lifting (for bridal makeup to stay longer)

2 x hydraulic Acid (for moisture)

1 x whitening (lighten pigments)

@Charlotte : just settled my SDJ last weekend.. I m having a mixture of white gold and yellow gold for SDJ.. it depend on the older folks if they are ok or not.. lucky my htb's side are ok.. like min (bibao) said, if possible go early to purchase bah.. the gold price are increasing.. last weekend already hit $68.00/g..

@lslyn: i would say abt 2.5-3.5k for now since the gold price is quite high currently.. it all go by the weight and design of the SDJ u picked..

@min: we went to a few shops to compare prices and their designs.. usually for yellow gold.. the designs are quite "lao kuan" i guess.. yup, ended up at Poh Heng.. Cos their designs are much modern..

Lslyn: Oh.. I was thinking of printing at JB City Square Mall too.. It was okay when I went there a few months back leh.. Not that jam.. Guess have to go at the right timing..

I heard from a friend that she saw a set of Si dian jing cost $3750.. But not sure from where.. For me I intend to buy seperately..

Min: I went to Poh Heng to take a look too.. Agree that the design there is more modern too.. Saw the yellow gold Hello Kitty earring quite cute.. Lol.. But yellow gold no GSS promotion one leh.. Sad..

PP: Thanks at least I found someone who is having a mixture.. I even have a silly thought of getting a purple gold! But may not get it in the end cos like no value.. =P

My MIL is very open, she leave it to me.. But I feel pai seh if its too ex.. Just that my side more particular.. Oh dear, think better get the si dian jing before the gold price increase further..

@Charlotte; how the pricing over there? Did u eventually print over there? TIA

@SunXuan; I dun drive, is it easy to get to Jusco Tebrau via public transport? TIA

Lslyn: I visited in Apr and checked it out.. The quote I got for 5'x7' coloured photo print for 220 cards is RM331. 220 matching envelopes is RM66.

IMO.. Really can save alot if printing there.. Just a bit troublesome..

@Charlotte;
Hey thanks for sharing the estimate quote...hmmm...as I looking at ard 100pcs...that means it will cost me approx RM160 ~ S$80...Locally is ard S$120...gotta seriously consider liao.

Btw where did u ended up printing in S'pore?

Hey everyone,

Im new here & Im aso a Oct11 BTB!

My ROM cum AD - 29 Oct 11.

I need u gals' kind advice as my PS (4 Jul)'s coming soon!

1) I heard fm some frds tat i ned 2 pairs of wedding shoes. Is tat necessary? I got 1 pair last wkend(~3inches) but its not platform, juz normal bling bling heels.

2) Necessary to do any manicure/pedicure before PS? How abt nailart/crystal etc? Coz sum frds telling me no ned to do so much as it cant be seen clearly in the PS, unless we take closeup pics..

3) Any other useful tips to take note before the PS?

Thanks alot in advance! ^.^

@Jachan
1) I bought 2 pairs of 4"inch shoe (open-toes) for my WG & EG - for AD. I bought them for PS but it was barely seen. Fortunately I wore a pair of sneakers for my Outdoor-PS.

2) Due to last minute OT (the day before PS), I wasnt able to make it to the manicure store, so I ended using glossy (transparent) nail polish instead. Anyway the photographer did not really zoom onto my fingers or toes (haha!)

3) Remember to apply mask and not to drink water before sleep.

Lslyn: I have not printed the cards yet.. Still working on the design.. Intend to print in end July or early Aug.. So still have sometime to decide..

Wow.. guess I'll bring along a pair of sandals or platform shoe for the photoshoot.. I'm not very used to wearing very high heels..

My photoshoot is on 1 Jul.. Dont think I have time to go for manicure too.. Got to work till quite late the night before too.. Gosh.. I'm just afraid that the photographer will take the wedding band that we will be bringing then will focus on the fingers..

Jachan: Congrates! Have you thought of your photoshoot locations yet?

Hi Ladies!

I'm new here. My AD is on 15/10. Everything seems relax now, but I'm not sure if I'm on track. Can anyone advise me when to start asking the guests if they are coming to the dinner? And anyone can share what are the must to follow during Guo Da Li for a very tradition cantonese custom?

Jachan: I just did my PS last month, I think its important to remain light and fun on that day. Talk to the photographer what's your concerns, likes and dislike.

Hi Ladies!!

Reading through the thread, I just realised there's so many BTB on the same date as me, 30 Oct! :-D Fairly new to the forum...

Jachan: I had my PS end April... did mani & pedi the day before PS... simple french for my mani.. but what I really liked about it is I tried "Gelish" and its super lasting! If you don't have the time to do it just before your PS, you can try "Gelish" a few days, even a week before PS and it'll still look great on PS day... my PS was entirely outdoors, so very easy to scratch on the nails.. am glad I had "Gelish" on...

Also, for shoes, if you are doing outdoor shoot, you should probably bring older pair of shoes that's quite comfortable... likelihood of dirtying the shoes r very high so u probably would not want to wear new shoes to outdoor shoot.. most of the time, I was wearing slippers underneath my gown! lol...

Good luck with your PS! :-)

Joyce: thanks for sharing ur experience.. Maybe I can give 'gelish' a try.. Is it available at all medi pedi shop?

Going for my trial make up this sun.. Anything that I should take note? Did anyone take any sun rise shots? The htb have a crazy idea of taking sunrise shots which means need to wake up super duper early!

Btw, have u gals had the Xiang qing session yet? When should we have it?

Tks to all of u gals for sharing with me so much info! Reali much appreciated & i dun feel so stress now..

@ Lslyn : Tks for ur great useful tips!
I will b sure to rem to bring along a pair of sandals for easy comfort. Did u went for any facial before the photoshoot or juz apply mask will do?

@ Charlotte : We hvnt finalised our PS locations yet.. Hv discussed wif e PG coz my FH tinking of those nature artist type of shoots.. So i'll leave this to him.. i rem they say sumting like bottleneck park/reservoir etc.. We even tot of gg to turf club for the horse but e PG say gota pay turf club ~ $500, so gota scrap this idea..
i aso hvnt had xiang qing yet.. No idea wn to do it? maybe 1-2 mths before our AD? Wow, u gg to take sun rise shots? Reali gota wake super duper early, but i believed its gg to be so pretty & romantic!

@ Theresa : Tks for ur tips too! I tink the PG is gg to hv a hard time, coz im not photogenic & i reali hate taking pics coz most of e time, it turns out ugly.. So hopefuly e pics'll turn out well? sighz..

@ Joyce : Tks so much! i heard abt gelish too! Is it expensive to do it? any recommended nail salons?

Actualy, i was aso tinking of bringing an extra black/brown high heels since i dun hv anymore spare wedding shoes & i tink i dun wan spend the $ to buy 1 more pair.. wat do u all tink?

Hey gals, i ned ur advice again for the following. Coz i duno if im being too sensitive or wat? I got a sms reply fm my x-boss after i invite her to my wedding lunch (she had before hand even ask me my wedding venue,so i duno y she has to reply me like this) & the sms goes like this :

X-boss : "Lunch???!!! Aiyo.. My son has lessons on every sat whereby im his driver leh.. U update me & we confirm later then.. Aiyo.."

Me : "Yup, mine's wedding lunch cos me dun wan e hassle & tireness of a dinner. Oh if u cant attend, its ok la.. No wori.. Tks anyway.. =)"

X-boss : "Aiyo, another lazy bride in this era!! U leme noe when date draws nearer later then... I'll try to go!"

Den mins later another sms fm her :

X-boss : "Not buffet then count me out... Dun wish to take up a space then last min cant go paiseh.. Happy preparation, bride to be"

By now, im reali kinda upset & honestly speaking, veri pissed.. Coz if u dun wan to attend, juz say so, dun ned to pass so many comments.. so my reply to her is :

Me : "Aiyo!! U mean u duno its e in ting now to hv wedding lunch?? U muz keep urself up to date lei, if not, pp'll noe how outdated u reali r! OMG!!! i duno ur era's buffet style!! Now current trend seldom do buffet anymore lei! Aiyo, its ok la. I remove ur name fm e guest list aldy! Happy fetching ur son too anyway!"

X-boss : "I still like wedding sit down dinner... U all lazy brides lah.. My era when did lunch is buffet western style lor... Afternoon hot leh... K lor... Remove my name?"

Urghz.. is she tinking my hotel lets the guests sit outside e road eating & sweating ah?? But im not too sure if im juz being too sensitive..

@ Charlotte: Yup, m not too sure in future purple gold got value or not.. so i just go with the norm.. SDJ is combi of 4 different types of jewellery, 2 pairs of earrings are not advisble.. as the jewellery will be place in a box to "show" ppl.. it will not look that da fang on ur HTB end..
The usual SDJ 4 pcs will be necklace, braclet, ring & earrings. Pendant is not part of SDJ unless u wan to replace it with any of the 4 usual pcs..

@ Jachan: to ans ur qn.
1) "I heard fm some frds tat i ned 2 pairs of wedding shoes. Is tat necessary? I got 1 pair last wkend(~3inches) but its not platform, juz normal bling bling heels."
>> I only brought a pair of heels & flats for PS.. Cos i wan my outdoor to be very casual.. thus, i wear flats.. actually, i think 2 pairs of heels is not really require for PS la.. ur gowns will be covering them mostly of the time.. unless u have the intention to take pic on ur heels purposely..

2) "Necessary to do any manicure/pedicure before PS? How abt nailart/crystal etc? Coz sum frds telling me no ned to do so much as it cant be seen clearly in the PS, unless we take closeup pics.."
> It depend on individual.. for me, i have fren who told me the exact same thi ur fren told u.. and i totally agreed with them.. so, i only have a simple french manicure.. which look simple and just nice(under my own opinion)..

3) "Any other useful tips to take note before the PS?"
> do masks often before PS.. drink more water, but the nite before PS is not advisble.. have a early beauty rest the nite before! =D

Jachan: i would be piss off if i were you... Sometimes through sms can cause misunderstanding cause you can't tell the person's emotions through sms

pp: Just curious, when do we show the si dian jing? During tea ceremony?

Jachan: I feel that she is being sarcastic.. I will feel the same way if I were you too..

Not sure if we're really going to take the sunrise shots.. Dont even know if the BS will do that.. Will check with them this sunday..

Sorry, I think it should be ti qing instead of xiang qing.. I'm a bit blur liao.. =X

charlotte: i think most mani places should have... i live in bishan so just went to a nearby nail salon...

jachan: u need to pay additional on top of the normal mani price.. n since i did french, they charged me additional for the design as well.. so actually, paid quite a bit for the nails but since just 1 time, n it last for so long, think its still quite worth it...

charlotte: for my PS, we did ask if BS can do sunrise but we were obviously rejected since it'll be super early for everyone... lol... but we figured sunrise and sunset colours are very similar, so we just make sure they capture some sunset moments... in fact, i think for sunset, you'll prob get more orangey colours..

btw ladies, does anyone have any comments on Dr. Kwoh Chee Keong for JP?

charlote - SDL normally during the GDL the guy will bring over to your house...on weddg day u can wear it

SG normally dun do sunrise.. But they can super imppse the sun set for u... otherwise u choose sunset...

Jachan: The Gelish mani is just wonderful, I did it before my PS, there's no chipping of paint or scratches even when I did housework. A bit ex, I spent about 70plus for it but worth the price. You can keep it for 3 weeks as the therapist said. I only bought a pair of heels for PS. Only put it on when photoshoot so that I do not look short beside my HTB. No worries, all brides are naturally beautiful. I try to upload a pic of the gelish nail for you.
1735755.jpg

@JaChan,

We were lucky to "catch" sunset which wasnt in our PS-itinerary. In fact, it was the photographer who was so excited abt it...haha!

Oh no! Just realised that I need to find a "ROM" gown as I'm having my solemnisation on AD.

Any BTBs also having their solemnisation on AD? Are you wearing your AD-WG for solemnisation? Cos I'm kinda lazy and contemplating should I wear my it for my solemnisation (since its before the banquet)

TIA

Lslyn: no different gowns for me.. solemnisation is the wedding day for me so wearing the wedding gown.. we'll start the dinner reception after the ceremony so will only change just once into something easier to walk around in during dinner.. keeping things simple..

hi girls, may i check for those who will be holding your wedding at one degree 15. did you girls managed to get the corkage charges waived?

hey Oct 2011 BTBs, jus wondering if you had chosen your PS pics? how much did you gals spend on on PS plus original package?

For BTBs who's having / had your solemnisation on your AD, did you ask your MUA to stay back for additional hairdo for 1st & 2nd march-in?

I'm contemplating is it necessary, or should I just save the $$$. Btw, if you did ask them to stay back, how much were you charged?

TIA

Hey Joyce; Mayb I should consider wearing my AD-WG for solemnisation too, since e rom gowns dun look flattering for me.

Ee: I got about 42 extra photos, with front layout, and internal layout design(throw in free), extra 20 pcs of soft copy. It make out about $71per photo.

Does anyone know of a cheap printing shop help to print out design? Thinking of doing a postcard for the guests.