(2011/07) July 2011 BTB

hey people, sorry to MIA for so long. heee

anyway during this period i went to many BS. im feeling so sick of BS now. hahaa.
i went to SIL, julia,dang bridal, sophia, di gio, the aisle. i think i still like SIL the best.

btw cocotin, can u email me to [email protected] the wedding present package?

hi cocotintin

received yr mail! thanks!

looks like their package abt the same as other BS in tanjong pagar.

really seems to me like SIL has the best gowns!! hee

so cocotintin

now that u have settled venue, bs, photography and videopgrahy, what else do u need to do for the time being?

btw im intending to do up a wedding book. heee. i think i gotta start very early for that.

Coco: yeah we will be holding ROM in tiger year (Jan '11) & then customary+banquet in Rabbit year (Jul '11)..

u got a new or resale flat? the resale hdb's COV is crazy, so we ended up buying resale EC... u gotten your keys yet? we will be getting ours next mth =D

yeah agree, got to settle the WB, BS, PWS, VG & PG fast man.. but u noe guys usually sooo slack.. my HTB is now napping! *fainted* only managed to get the wedding banquet settled last week.. *phew*
dunno why guys so relax de...

im now trying to shortlist the VG & PG..

wow even Phylline likes SIL, i definitely must go down and take a look! but seems like they are closed today, shall try calling them to make appt tmr... btw, who's your coordinator?

Phylline: wow u making your own wedding book? that sounds so cool! im also thinking of doing that =) perhaps can get stuff from Made With Love (@ Plaza Singapura) or Paper Market (@ Raffles Shopping Ctr). Im also thinking of doing up the Ang Bao Boxes =D

coco: congrats on settling ur gowns! u getting Kenji?

and lighted pixels' photos rocks, super nice! Are u getting Kelvin?

Daphne: yeah.. the COV for resale is sky high, did u pay alot for your EC? your EC is at which area? I got a DBSS and will only be able to get my keys somewhere mid next year. Hope to get it earlier so can make it in time for my AD. Yes, Silhouette is close every Sunday. Do make an appt with them and try out their gowns.

Phylline: i think I'm gonna take a break for now since i have pretty much 'chop' the dates for services that require early booking. Meanwhile, probably do some research on WG designs so i can integrate it into my WG as I am doing a MTM top for my WG and also research on where i wanna do my PS at the end of this year.

Pinkglove: yes, I'm getting Kenji. You are aso under Kenji right? I ended up doing a MTM top. LOL.. will be taking measurements in Aug. When i was there last fri, they had more tulle gowns there compared to 1 mth ago when i went there for my first appt.

I'm getting Alwin. I find him very easy going and flexible though.

yup, me under kenji too. u are under good hands =) Nice! MTM Top! ya, it's impt to find a PG whom's flexible, Alwin's photos look great too!

daphne: actually im referring to another wedding book. heee.. u can find it here http://www.blurb.com/

i thought of making a wedding book and displaying it during our wedding dinner. i think it will be quite thoughtful and sweet as i can pen down our story. but thats a lot of work!! hee.

cocotintin: u doing MTM for yr wedding gown? i kept thinking u are taking OTR. btw SIL will need how many months to do MTM?

Phylline: I am taking OTR but change the top to MTM only. hmm.. I might be doing my PS in Dec, so kenji ask me to go back n take my measurements in Aug but if i decided to make drastic change to the design den meet him in July. So i guess all in all plus all the fittings, they will need abt 3mths+

cocotintin: i see... act i got the same view regarding gowns in SIL as well. cos the one that i like, i like the bottom part, but i told her i woud like to make some changes to the top part, so the gown is OTR but the top part is MTM too.

my PS also most likely to be in dec too. hee

Phylline: have u found a PG for your PS and AD? Actually if you are going to keep most of the design for the top part u can just add on more embellisment to the top so no need to pay additional for MTM. I MTM mine was because the colour of the entire gown was a slight whitish grey which makes it looks old and dirty despite that it is brand new. Also i took the opportunity to add on more details since its gonna be mtm. Which designer attend to u? u went to the stamford branch?

hi i m getting married in 2011 too. But in june. so sorry for butting into the thread even though i m not a july bride. I really like tulle WGs. however, i realised not many BS in singapore carry puffy tulle WGs. I have visited le grand, sil, the wedding present over the weekend. they all carry very nice designs but prices vary widely. I am in a dilemma. R there any other bridal shops that i should visit n can some kind soul advice on ur package?

bebelee: no worries, we welcome all like minded brides in here no matter which mth u will be getting married.

well.. maybe u can consider visiting blush blush as well and maybe divine couture? tink they have tulle gowns too but actually not that I'm bias to Sil but after trying their gowns and seeing their works on advert and even on magzs/blogs (by PG) whereby the gown is frm Sil somehow i feel Sil's gown looks really glam and 1 look u see u know its a sil gown. the material they use does not make it looks cheapskate.

coco: am leaving on thur.. collected my gowns.. kenji has packed all my gowns n shoes etc in my luggage for me but i've yet to pack my actual luggage like normal clothes at all!
.. simply too busy with work.. only 2 days left n i feel so unprepared for my trip.. lolz..

i did MTM EG & my fiance's suit along with my WG so i went down at least 7-8 times for all e different fittings..

bebelee: have u decided if u wan designer boutiques or one stop BS? cos that'll prob guide u to make ur decision as well
i've been to divine as well but they don't have as many tulle gowns as compared to Sil if that's wat u r looking out for and yes, like coco, i totally agree that Sil carries really nice tulle gowns
Maybe you can check out Ted Wu as well? I think his mtm WG n EG is around $4k+ & they r gorgeous

pinkglove: wow.. u brought a luggage down for kenji to pack your gowns and shoes for u? he is so nice. How did all your gowns turn out? better than expected? did u meet up with TG to discuss how u wan your PS make up to be like? did he see you in your gowns?

u must be really bz, hardly see u ard the forum. haha.. 2 more days!! faster pack ur luggage and enjoy. Rem to bring good moisturiser for your face and body. R u wearing your wedding shoe for your PS or u wearing other shoes?

Remember to drink more water and put on hydratng mask these few days.

Hi coco n pinkglove. thanks for the quick reply. I have already taken my prewed photos with bluebay taiwan. so we r looking for an AD package only n the main focus is on the tulle WG. haha. le grand n TWP quoted us 4k+ for mtm package but sil quoted 6k. So htb feels that sil's price is a bit too high. I have tried the gowns from legrand and TWP. I have not tried the gowns at sil though.

bebelee, actually u can consider Sil's OTR gowns coz their OTR gowns r new and their condition is really much much better than those OTR gowns u see at TWP. I have not visited le grand so i cant comment. I have seen TWP OTR gowns and the condition is really not very good and a MTM is a must have at TWP. Just my 2 cents.

coco: yup, can't really breathe properly with all e work going on... Busy busy..I don't even have time to plan e rest of my f&e trip yet..haha..

Yes, he suggested me to bring e luggage for him to do e packing. Thumbs up for his service! I'm totally in love with my gowns! Exceeded my expectations.. hehe.. Kenji was soooo nice to take e initiative to help me arrange for a meet up with TG @Sil to see me in my gowns because he met TG. Had expected my PG to do e job but Kenji did it before them.
TG saw me in both my gowns n asked me wat i liked n told me of his rough ideas.. i just leave everything to him.. so actually i dunno how my hairdo will turn out.. haha..

Actually I've already gotten a pair for my PS but i went shopping last weekend n saw another pair with ribbons n i love them a lot so i bought them too! now I've 2 pairs of white shoes & i dunno which to bring.. haha.. but i dun think i'll wear e shoes i bought this yr for my AD next yr, don't tink e shoes can last sooo long...

Thanks for the tips! Ya, TG also asked me to bring masks along for e PS
Btw, I think it's always good to go down earlier to get ur gowns done up because I had my final fitting just last sat though it's only some minor alterations but I think it'll be better to get it ready at least 2 weeks before so u can relax..

yup.. im gonna lose some weight this couple of mths and go for my measurements in Aug, Kenji say everything will be done by Nov (including all the fittings). Is it very crowded to go down on Sat even with appointment?

Rem to share your pics with me when u return frm ur PS and also share with me ur exp with TG. I'm still contemplating between him and sophia. Heard TG's make up can be too natural sometimes when taken on photos and videos. Do take note on this ya. Did TG advise u what colour u should colour for your hair or if you shld trim or hair or anything?

nope, usually when i make appointment, the fitting rooms are always available for me and most of the times im there, there's only me trying the gowns and at most one other bride usually there to enquire about the package & i always go on sat..

Ya, heard that his make up r very natural, some of my friends said like never wear make up..lol.. but some love his works a lot.. so i guess it's really down to preference.. will share on his experience when im back.. actually since u are very concern, why not pay for a trial and u can then safely decide for urself? he preferred me in my colour and length of hair now so im not doing anything about it.. I also didn't wanna highlight my hair again cos e last time i did tat it took me quite long before my hair regains its shine..

coco: I agree with wat u said. If we do decide on TWP, we will go for the mtm package. I really liked the design of the gown i tried on tat day but it looks a little old. Have booked an appt to try on the gowns at sil. Looking fwd to it. =)

pinkglove: actually i did request TG for trial but he told me that it is not necessary lor. so i guess i will ask around for feedbacks before i decide further if i shld really ask him to do a trial for me.

bebelee: which branch will u be going? did u request for any designer specifically? im sure u will hv a gd time trying out their gowns.

i'll be going to the stamford branch, did not request for a specific designer. i realised that u did not take their AD package? Can I noe how much it costs for just a tulle WG only? I m thinking of having a simple bottom so i think i can easily find it OTR. if i opt for a OTR bottom and mtm the top, there will be lesser damage on htb's pocket right? =D

Sorry abit blur. What you girls mean by bottom and top? Is this referring to wedding gown or evening gown? Isn't it one whole piece?

Cocotin, what is TG? Is Kenji from Sil? Is he a makeup artist?

Pink glove, you mentioned about the natural make up done by a 'he'. Who is this person? Very interested.. ;) From SIL?

hello shanawawa:
we r referring to the WG. It is one whole piece but they can unstitch the top part and the skirt part and separate them. Kenji is a designer from silhouette. TG is the make up artist. =)

Hi bebe,
Thank you for the clarification ;))
Can share with me how much TG is charging? I'm interested in only the actual day make up
It seems every bridal shop is so hush hush about the charges. Hmm!

If it's convenient, can email me at [email protected]

shan: TG is not linked with Sil.. he does tie up with some other bridal shops like Ted Wu though. He charges $1500 for AD make up if im not wrong.

TG charges $1200 for AD make up and $500 for PS.

bebelee: its more worth it to get the package actually as it comes with OTR WG, MTM EG, MTM mens suit, make up and flowers.

Cocotin,

how much is the package you are talking about? The one with OTR WG, MTM EG, MTM mens suit, make up and flowers.

pinkglove: 1.2k is w/o trial. if u wan a 2nd updo and make up its additional $100.
oh.. also if any of ur siblings, mother or mil wants to engage him to do make up on that day, he charge abt $200 per person. Maybe he will give u special since you are doing your PS with him already? hehehe.. oh and gd thing is he dont charge extra for early surcharge, this is a gd news for brides who have to leave hse early on your AD.

shanawawa: the package is abt 4.6k, this package is unless ur choosing the tulle gown. if ur not getting the tulle gown minus $800

coco! i went to SIL last sat & i tried on the the gown featured on her world brides mag (the 1 with big tulle!) and i love it! but the top does not suit my body. im still dreaming of that gown. *confused*
shud i go to stamford house to take a look? do they carry the same range?

daphne: hmm.. not sure which one u have tried, i bought the latest herworld brides but its still lying on my table untouched. haha.. y the top does not suit your body? too long or too short?

U can try stamford house though, they have more elaborated designs there. But recently i went Sil at Amoy St, they have alot more designs there. I ended up signing up at Amoy because I wanted Kenji to design my gown and on the other hand i manage to find a design that i like very much there.

have u gone to TWP? Sil gown is really very princessy and u can really see the extra $ u pay on the workmanship of the gown.

coco: LOL i bought the mag & the 1st time i did was to see all the pages with gowns =P i tried the 1 with ruffles. it jus happened that the gown's (top) cutting does not suit me. it doesnt "wrap" me.. (emailing to you the gown's pix)

Oh.. i went to Amoy St, but i find it has limited gowns on the rack. Are there more in the store? How's your WG design like? u gonna MTM the top? i understand that you only getting the WG from SIL right? What about your EG?

OMG, seems like i nid to visit TWP! thanks wor!

Daphne: Oh!!!! i tried the one with ruffles at Stamford house. Its not bad lah but i dont like. Not what i was looking for. I found the gown i like at Amoy St. Maybe u can make an appt with the stamford house branch, but u will be surprise that the fitting room there is very small. They should have some in the store in Amoy coz the first time when i was there, Kenji took 1-2 pcs out from somewhere (not from the rack, maybe frm behind) to show me. Maybe he thought i might like it.

My design is abit sheer with laces and beads/crystals. I mtm because the colour is not what i was looking for, looks abit greyish and though its new but the colour makes it looks old and dirty so i'm changing the gown to ivory.

I'm getting my EG from vera wang maids series, i just book my gown and i will take 5 mths to arrive in sg.

did u email me? i didnt receive anything frm u leh

Im a July 2011 BTB soon. But actual date is not fixed yet, either 16 or 24, the manager at Regent will confirm with us again.

ROM Date: 26 eb 2011

Banquet Venue: The Regent Hotel

Solemnisation Venue: The Bar @ The Regent
Pre-wedding PS: Romantic Life, Taipei

Local Bridal: Rico A Mona

ROM Photography: Beautiful Days by Elizabeth Goh

Wedding Bands: Love & Co

Video: Alvinadeline Cinematography

Florist: Poppy Flora Studio

Downry by grandmother: Poh Heng

Still havent seen an evening gown at Rico A Mona which I really like, though I find the bridal gowns great. Wonder how should I go about it, yet not having to splurge a bomb on just the evening gown...

Hi Pei Fang, Welcome. My AD is 24 July and banquet will be at Goodwood.

Whats your budget for EG? You did not take up Rico A Mona package? You can consider getting a OTR EG at Avana loft, thought they have quite nice gowns. Starlet dresses is also not bad but I have not gone down to the store to see, I saw some of their designs on the website.

Hi Coco,

yes I took Rico A Mona package, currently the package includes evening gown, but in case I dont want, they can deduct some cost from there and MTM for me. MTM starts from $380.

Budget for EG,hmm..$2-3k? I have heard of Avana Loft, Starlet is a shop? where is it?

Hi Pei Fang,

U can see this website http://www.starletdresses.com/

If you have a budget of abt 2-3k u can consider going to this tailor to MTM a EG.
http://garylau.kangsboutique.com/
His website does not have alot of designs but u can make an appt with him to see more of his designs in his laptop, he can replicate gowns from valentino, chanel etc and he uses very good fabric. His cutting is very good. I tailor my cheongsam with him and he did a great job.

PeiFang,
Actually u can see my CS in the website.He uploaded my CS recently. Mine is the one in gold, u probably cant see the back but the back is actually abit translucent, just the lace alone w/o the lining. My lace is from france and he did extra lining inside so that it will fall nicely on the body w/o seeing our tummy. He is very good in beading details on the CS as well. Most imptly he can cut the cloth well enough to make a fleshy person like me looks slim in a CS. kekeke..

I paid abt 2.4k. I think tan yoong's CS cost more than that.

Hi Pei Fang,

Sorry i cant open the link in office. But there are 2 pics of myself in that website, 1 alone and the other one with 1 girl and my hubby on each of my side.

Well, normally btbs will lose abit of weight and control what they eat b4 their wedding day so they look good in their gowns, even for EG we will have to lose that extra fats on our tummy as well. U can consider coz ur tall enough for a CS. I'm around 1.62m. I think tan yoong will cost abt 3-4K for his CS.

In fact that CS was for my ROM in Jan this year but i will be wearing it again during my AD for my tea ceremony. u can consider doing evening gowns too, he is equally good in his EG and has got many nice designs. If not becoz of my budget,i would have gotten him to do my EG as well.

I am a July 2011 BTB too! AD & ROM on same day. 24th July 2011.

Banquet & Soleminzation Venue: Grand Corpthorne Waterfront
Pre-wedding PS:Vivi Bride, Taipei

** cocotintin, our AD falls on the same day! High 5! heehee! =)

Btw I have not book anything for wedding except for banquet dinner and Pre Wedding PS. I am going Taipei for shoot end of Oct. Any recommendation of good BS in SG?