(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Thank w3n for helping me buy the papercut!!

Today I went to cake tasting at my cake vendor today. Pat the chef is so friendly and so willing to accommodate my request for a different flavor. She also came up with different ideas for the cake deco. Right now she is having a promo - $6 for her cherry Michelle butter cakes. Those who have not booked their GDL cakes can consider her.
Google for Pat's Pastry.

i just checked Pat's Pastry. Its at Telok Blangah, near my place.. heehee. but the promo for $6 is onli for Mar. Is it applicable for May too?

Piggy >> The butter cake is 16cm, which is the standard size as those in Bangawan Solo. Not sure what size is Kyo's cakes.

w3n >> Pat's Pastry don't do traditional. THey have the modern kind like butter cakes, fruit tarts small cakes etc.

I not sure whether it is applicable in May, since the offer is valid in March for the shop's anniversary. You might want to call and check if you can pay now for collection in May to qualify for the offer??

Chloe: Im sorry, dunno y suddenly received 50 plus emails all at a go! In my gmail...then all from dunno where de... Got spa got Hdb etc.... got a shock too....how sia?

Been quiet recently...

I wanna ask u all ah.. I it good to do facial a week before ad? I've heard of don't do facial too near ur date cuz the fce too clean, make up cannot stay. Another one is do facial face clean clean le make up easy to apply.. How ah? Maybe can ask my MUA during the trail? I haven go for trail sia!! Lol

Michelle, i tink better dun do facial before AD, in case face got breakout. U can oso ask yur MUA during the trial..

gals, i hav just bought 4 cases of Pierre Jean Merlot from Crystal Wines at $16 per bottle. heehee. I have tasted the wine, taste okie to me as i m not a wine connoisseur.

w3n, no worries, just inform u here in case u didnt realize. i think u can change ur email password and maybe do a scan on ur pc..

mich, my consultant told me to avoid facial too near to my wedding date, cos scare of sudden outbreak, *touch wood*, so the best is do it 10 days before ur AD.

we have been really busy these few days, my htb went to tailor made his suit, then we have finally confirmed our VG, and i have also decided on my AD gowns. phew~

we had a small discussion with the Xiongdis and Jiemeis on the schedule, duties etc...now, i;m doing up the AD schedule. we just went to buy pig trotters can for our GDL this coming friday, will need to paste the 'xi' stickers onto all the items later...

oh ya, just to share, i have checked with bottles and bottles, they have consignment basis for the wines, minimum purchase is $400, and 30% can be on consignment basis. u all can check it out if interested.

Thanks Chloe
I changed passwrd le hopefully it helps...computer wise always protected thus I was shocked haa...

Ermmm nothing much done for me this week...next week go food tasting n try gowns...

The GDL food items like the dry logans, lily bulb, red beans etc u all go market buy it seperate or if anyone knows JB that coupe de marriage got sell in a set? To save the trouble my mil say juz buy a set...cox that shop got sell AC de set...

w3n, yup coupe got sell in a set, i got my AC set there. easier. hehe.

btw, do we need to hold hand bouquet for our 1st March in? If yes, then we need to have 2 hand bouquet for AD? cos 1 is in the morning and use for bouquet toss? sorry ah, i'm quite confuse by this hehe.

Piggy, is there a minimum no of bottles to get from crystal wines? I'm looking for pierre jean wine too. As I'm only getting 2 cases max, the price offered to me by another dealer is $21.50.

Just collected the wedding invites, bought the pjs for hair combing, selected the prewedding photos. busy busy. gonna collect my keys fr hdb this tues, finally!

chloe, the shop sell same set for GDL also? coz my mum say the set that the shop sell for AC, the beans all these very little, my mum needs to return about half back to groom, so she suggest go market buy better.

i dont think march in got hand bouquet. cause i remember my friend de gown was very long and she say carry the gown already headache when march in le (forget about mentioning the bouquet) hee so i rem is dun need de....

will u all throw the flower bouqet to sisters? i feel like keeping the flower as a memory hee...

Chloe >> Most couples will only have 1 hand bouquet, one bouquet can last from day to night, as long as you put the ends in water whenever you are not using. But usually in the evening, you won't need your hand bouquet.

I won't be doing the bouquet toss as well.

eneriyeo >> Min purchase is 48 bottles at Crystal Wines, iirc. I bought my wines at Golden Hung Ho Marketing in Toh Guan. Although we intend to just go and look see, the salesperson was so friendly so we bought from him straightaway. Took 3 cases, 1 case on consignment. http://www.onestopliquor.com/

eneriyeo >> Congrats on your key collection! We will be collecting ours in 2 weeks time on 6 April.

Btw, ladies, where did you get your PJs?? I don't wanna get the old school PJs. Wanna get something more modern looking.

Chloe, no need hold Ur bouquet. Cuz u will have no hands! My fren told me one hand u hold Ur hubby another u hold Ur gown, den u will be so clumsy looking if u were to hold bouquet? Lol. Unless Ur gown is very light.

For bouquet actually use more on day ba.. Night don't really need.. I will toss my bouquet during the OD shoot on ad.

Chloe, only a bouquet is needed. U will still use the same for night. Unless u wan something diff. Or like wad Wen say she wants to keep the "actual bouquet" den maybe she don't throw that, but buy another bouquet for tossing? Lol.. Up to individual ba but almost all only one bouquet. I will be getting the bouquet from my BS, but also buying another cuz they can only give roses and I don't really like so I'm buying another one.

I am going for my food tasting this THURSDAY! Yeapie.. Also did some discussion with jiemei yesterday.. Also have passed them the day dress. Hehe.

Wen, CDM got sell the dry food for AC in set. Juz need to keep in fridge den during Ur AC day take out n display nice nice can le.

Kass, my HtB yesterday told me that his mum ask me when wanna buy SDJ den arrange a date go see. Fmil even brought some brochures home to show my HtB. Den fmil was saying can go soo kee see. But soo kee like don't have gold one leh.. (cuz she knows I support that brand). Haha! I suggested HtB go CHinatown see, cuz some of u recommended shops there.. He say honest, can trust anot.. Later buy 24k they give Dono how many k. -.-

Oo thanks all for the explanations! Cos my JMs all requested me to toss my bouquet haha, they r eager to receive it, I will be tossing it during my outdoor Ps on AD as well.

I saw some brides with DIY hand bouquet when they do the first march in, so was thinking if I want to have that..but like what u all said, might not be so practical since 1 hand need to hold htb n the other need to carry the gown. Haha.

Btw, w3n, yup coupe AC set is like what Mich said, packed nicely but only small quantity, Yi Shi Yi Shi type. Mayb that's y ur mum wanna to buy extra from market...cos GDL set don't have the dried food.

Kass, I have not got my PJs as well. Was thinking of those silk type set or hello kitty one haha cos it's my fav. My mum said must wear pants cos will be facing the ti gong for hair combing so cannot wear dress type..my htb also havent got his PJs... Any recommendations?

chloe, so thats the reason of wearing 2 piece pajamas!! hahaha.. i was thinking how come cannot wear dress type.. lols.. my mummy also dono..

Chole, no i haven. Mummy say if she see any ok one den buy for me, anyway i dont have habit to wear pj.

BTW, I have bought my Xiong Di's bow tie. At suntec the pushcart upstairs (same as bugis one) bought at 5 for $50.

Reposting... =D

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)@ Sheraton Towers
happy 2 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Purplemoon85 15 May 2011(Sun) Sheraton Towers Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
kittywendwend - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Pan Pacific S'pore
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
ysl77 - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

oh, most prob our XDs will be renting their costume from costume shop, $50 full set for 3 days rental. they are discussing the type of costumes to wear though, they are full of crazy ideas! haha. let me know if u all are interested.

yes, they have. we rent our D&D costume from them for our organising committee last yr too.

u can call them or go to their shop to see, it's at Lavendar street.
Masquerade: 294A & 294B Lavender Street

Another costume shop is No. 1 costume shop, also somewhere near to Masquerade.
Number 1 costume: No. 7 Jalan Lembah Kallang

i would recommend u to go Masquerade cos it's tidier and staff are more helpful, although number 1 is the so-called largest costume shop in SG. my personal experience la. =)

Chloe, hmm i tot of rent hat n those black specs.. hmm.. make them have the geek/nerd look.

Btw, wad have u all done lately? Just to keep track on my path correct anot.. haha..

I'm waiting for Thursday's food tasting and I haven buy bedsheets & couple slippers. Any ideal where to get nice home slippers? =p

Michelle >> On Cheong and Poh Heng, I am sure can trust, cuz they are very well known established brands lah... no way should they be putting their reputation on the line. My MIL even brought her mum's chain to let them weigh and tell her the price and she thought it was lower grade gold, but the staff them told her it was a better grade gold instead. So they didn't try to cheat her. :P

Past 2 weeks, HTB and I attended wedding dinners at GWP where we would be holding our own as well, Picked up a lot of tips. I am picking my themes this week! Will have food tasting next week!

last night, we have started to write the guest names on the wedding invites, about 80% done, for relatives side, my dad already wrote the invites, so it's done. after this friday GDL, my parents will distribute the invites to my relatives together with the cakes...my fmil will distribute to JB's relatives.

we have not buy bedsheets for AC as well. will meet up with our hotel coor 2 weeks later, to select our wedding favours and theme.

Both sides parents are laid back about the wedding... all have not written the invites yet... although my GDL is this Wednesday... :P

For me I have written for 80% of my friends... for groom's side, I'm also writing (cuz HTB's handwriting not as nice. :P)... but will only write when addresses more or less confirmed.

kass, ur GDL is earlier than me, hehe. i thought i'm the earliest one.

ur GDL items all ready liao?

for me, my htb wrote all the invites, cos my handwriting too small, scare ppl cannot see. haha.

Chloe... both sides parents are laid back and they just want to keep it simple. The essential stuff like wine, oranges, cake have been prepared. For the rest, 有就有,没有就没有...

Kass, haha i also got den do forgot to buy or no need, den dont need to borther.

Chloe, I decided on my second march in. First mark haven decided yet. Also I know wad song i wan for my first dish le.. lol..

Hi eneriyeo> Min purchase is 48 bottles, $16 each. If u dun mind collecting yourself, i tink you still can order thru me but collect yourself, as if i m adding extra orders to my current order.

Its 2 more mths to my AD!!

mich, can share? hee. so u will be getting original CDs for that? or u choose from ur hotel song list?

piggy, guess all of us here r getting more excited!! for me, it's less than 2 months!! *omg*

Ermmm will u all be using poppers when entering the ballroom?

First dish song...oh my I totally lost....
How many songs we need to prepare?
First mach in, 2nd march in, first dish, childhood montage and anything else?

w3n, i was thinking about poppers too, but not sure if my hotel allows, if not, then just rose petals will do.

hmm..for the songs, i think that's all from what u have listed? i'm also not very sure. hehe, i was thinking to play some love songs of ours as a background music during the whole wedding dinner.

Piggy, what i'm looking at is Pierre Jean Colomard Chardonnay. Not Merlot. If I order different from your's, I don't think the price is $16 right.

Yes, I also wanna check on the songs. how do we arrange the songs in order for it to play at the right timing? Somemore I'm planning to dance in for the 2nd march in. Dun think we can dance for a full song.

Sigh, I'm still looking for JP.. hopefully can get 1 soon.

wow, i see that a lot of couples are having wedding on the 22nd May, and i'll be the 7th! Can i check with all the 22nd May btbs at which stage of your planning at you at now? Feel that i'm a bit slow :P

Chloe, I am not using Hotel's songs for march in at all.. Cuz all like so boring love songs.. lol.. Anyway, Because i have purchased license from my VG den also checked already, it does covered all e music during the entire banquet, so I will use something more "new/hip"

But first dish, i will use theirs.. Cuz got one I like.. so cute also.. which is "under the sea" from the disney one. lol

wen, still got champgane pouring song.

cake-cutting also need music, right? hehe.

mich, i also find love songs very boring, so we are finding for more uncommon songs. hehe.

That's right Kass

Check with u girls, r u all gettin 2 nubras, one for day and one for night or wearing the same piece throughout the day? I'm worried it will not b sticky n last thru the day, or won't dry in time if I wash the same piece..

Ya talking about nubra, do u all think when we take it off n place it back at night, is it enough time for it to dry? Coz before dinner i m sure we will bath at the hotel...

hihi... haven't been on the forum as i was quite busy with work. btw my mum finally helped me to ask her wine supplier. each bottle costs $14. i'm trying to contact the supplier myself to ask for more details, such as the brand of the wine, any further disc if buy in bulk, can be on consignment etc. Will share with you girls more when i have the info.

have not been doing much for the wedding. both my parents and PIL are super laid back. HTB and myself have to do everything. cos it's the first marriage to both the families, all of us duno anything so HTB and i have to do all the work ourselves. my parents dun even know how much they want for pin jin. alamak.

my house reno is in the 3rd week of reno. me very excited. can't wait to see the end result. just went shopping for lightings and accessories over the weekend. bought all my lightning at $1700+. haven't confirm my accessories yet. anybody know if it's a good bargin if i'm paying $3700+ for 2 toilet bowls, 2 toilent basin, 1 kitchen sink, 2 toilet taps, 1 kitchen tap, 1 rain shower, 1 shower head, 1 water heater, 1 stove and 1 hood?