(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Hello ladies!

Dee here, new to this thread! I'm a 21st May bride, and very much overwhelmed by the nitty gritties to be settled for the wedding. Just did up my ang pow checklist using the list from Kass. It's great! Still have loads to catch up on rest of the posts, will share whenever I can ;) Xx

Hi dee, I am also a 2105 bride ;). Mine is a lunch ;))

Hi kitty >> I oso dun know really need bao for my inlaws or not? I heard some pple did and some pple dun.. If really dun need, then I will omit that, discuss with my Hubby again. ;p

For the JMs, my mum and inlaws will be giving them APs as well, but we are still giving Loh.. ;)

Kitty, ya, I also heard that the candel must light at e same time. But hard to coordinate.

Chole, yes I will be buyin my bouquet frm them although my bs do give me.

I also nv hear must give parents ap. I Tot only mother milk money? I only know must give grandparents.

Kass, I think some ppl got diff method when comes to ap? For my case, I give GC ap and the additional den mother n mil will give jm n xd for yi si.

I always Tot both side got open door boy leh! Lol..We are not going to have younger generation to serve us tea also. Save time n save some ap. Cuz if kids serve u tea u gonna give them additional ap. (cuz u will give them 1 when u see them in the hse le)

Yes both side need to have boy to open car door...my mum also told me that I dun need bao for sisters etc coz she will...and yah candle muz be lit at the same time if I rem correctly....

Eh.. Think I remain wad I wan ba.. Get 2 boys to open door each side. Lol.. So many different concept.. I will try to light the candles same time.. If cannot Bo Bian. And follow my mother burnt all don't leave any.

Wow, the maths of angpows..... I think my side got a whole bunch of kids coming....Zzzzz I think I need to start planning my ap budget Liao....

Kass, thank u, I will call them to check

Michelle >> I think you all just coordinate by timing on when to light the candles??? Roughly can already bah... Otherwise just coordinate through phone.

Will double check again on opening door at groom's house. Never realised will need to get a boy to do it as well.

Orh, the candle thing, I heard was that u need to light about the same time not exactly..... If light the day before needs to be done after 11 or 1130 pm... Cos Chinese count as the start of new day not midnight

For me, we will give each other a call before we light the candle, so that we can coordinate and light around the same time.

Since both me n my htb are the youngest in our family, we dont intend to ask younger cousin to serve us tea as well. so, no need to prepare AP for them.

btw, i have brought forward my GDL date to 1st April (original date is 7 May) cos both side parents feel that we can do it anytime from now, since 7 May is kind of rush, just 1 wk before my AD. so, this weekend, we are going to Coupe de Marriage to get the GDL stuff...excited!

Chloe >> Remember to do some research at Tiao Xiang before hand, things like the sewing box, I found it is cheaper in Tiao Xiang than Coupe de Marriage, cuz I want to get the traditional kind, made of grass.

Yesterday I went back to Tiao Xiang again and the same auntie complete change of behaviour! She is v friendly and tell me which items are better to get. I guess that's because I told her I went to all the shops and found her shop the cheapest in Singapore!

Btw, for those living in the east, there is also one more wedding shop you can check out. Golden Happiness - http://www.goldenhappiness.com.sg/

Piggy >> You can read back to late last week's posts, quite a few of us had discussions on JB wedding shops, including directions. There is also a blog post on the comparison of the various JB wedding shops.

I posted the Tiao Xiang address 2 days ago (took a photo of the namecard). It's a wedding shop at Chinatown Food Centre, prob cheaper than the better known Amanda Dreamweaver and Fa Yuen.

I have not checked out the prices at the wedding shops in the west yet though.

Kass, The name card u posted is tiao xiang ah.. maybe i can go check it out.. hmm.. So many shops!! But confirm i go to one of the shop in CT. Just that dono which one cheaper, more informative n service gd!

So u all dont support amanda dreamweaver? And where is this Fa Yuen... *blurrr**

thanks mich, i already went to Tiao xiang to check out the price with my mum last fri. so far, their price is one of the cheapest in SG. kk, will compare with Coupe.

@piggy, i'm going this sat too. maybe will bump into u if u are planning to visit coupe. =p

wah.. u all really source everywhere leh.. lol..

since u say tiao xiang cheapest so far.. maybe for me, no need to find le ba.. hehe..

i haven started planning for GDL yet. i dun tink i wana buy alot of stuff. both my family and in-laws duno anything abt traditions, so i guess i dun have to follow strictly. maybe i will just get a few essential items.

w3n >> Do you now when the aunties quote the price for the candles, do they quote by per pair, or every 2 pairs. Cuz we need to buy 2 pairs - 1 pair of dragon, 1 pair of pheonix, so when they tell me $8.80 or $9.80, is it per pair, or per set of both dragon & pheonix?

Anyone knows??

kass for the candle i also dunno but i rem my mum ask the shop in JB, she quote us per pair price. this friday i going chinatown to check out the candles. will update you.

as for AP box, i think it depends on ur parents. whether your mum wants to combine the red packets together. if dont want then make it two. so that both side can count the ang bao respectively. if the banquet is paid by the couple and groom side gives cash (counting by the number of tables) to bride side, then can combine =)

Kass, some got 2 ap box some got 1. Cuz some they use 1 box for groom another bride.

Or some from frens, another relative this kind.

To me, i think if you dont have alot of tables you can use 1 it's enough. And normally for relatives they will pass the ap to parents, u need to tell parents to put in the box. Unless the ap is parents keep one lor..

@kass, if the auntie quoted u $8-$9, means it's by per pair.

cos 1 set is around $16-$18 (which means 2 pairs of long feng candle)...

Wen, wad time u KO? So early ah.. Didn't went to any wedding shop!
I saw Ur wedding stuff photo. U bought so many things le. I've got none! And my SDJ also haven buy sia! Zzz maybe I sun go down. Haha I haven buy bedsheet n luaggage.

Michelle oh yah I end work early on friday...coz the Amanda shop good as in they pack everything for us properly le, like a one stop shop...however price is slightly steeper I think...the auntie is knowledgeable n friendly

Oh SDJ ah I dun think we r getting it ba....
But my mum has bought some jewellery as jia zhuang for me le....

Gold is very ex now

kass most likely I m going jb on sun...if not my brother will go help me collect the inserts (i will ask him to help u find the sticker even if I m not going)

w3n - Okay thanks!
My mum did not buy new jewellery for me cuz gold v expensive, but she said she will pass some of her jewellery to me and get me a watch instead. I'm happy with the alternative cuz I need watches!

ya lor, gold is so expensive now! i dont know if i should get white gold instead...

my mum will bring me to buy my jia zhuang next month..

ya lor, that's what my mum said too.

u all intend to buy from those jewellery shop like tianpo, poh heng, or neighbourhood shop?

I bought mine from a jewellery shop in bedok...u all can go bedok central or yishun central see see...there is a few jewelley shops there
I personally did not find anything I
like in shops like po heng...

Chole, i am getting yellow gold. 1 thing is more valuable another is white gold doesn't sound gd in mandrian.

Last night have discussed with mummy, after Qing Ming (17 Apr) den buy GDL stuff..

Hey all bride to be, received an email from my PG.. They are organising this charity photoshoot event tml. If can go down with your htb, can do something to help Japan, at the same time see and observe how the PG is and whether can work together

Dear Friends of Hendra R. Photography,

As pictures of the earthquake in Japan and the aftermath of the Tsunami keep flashing on our media , both Shi Lei and I are saddened by the loss and destruction. The images of families torn apart, of separation from loved ones, many never to be seen again forced us to reflect on our relations with our loved ones. As we struggle to come to terms with the several acts of Mother Nature around ...us, let us take it as a reminder to celebrate our fortune for having our loved ones close to us.

This Saturday, we will be stationed at the Japanese Garden for a special photo shoot session to raise funds for our friends in Japan. Bring your loved ones and families down for a half-an-hour shoot. We will do our best to capture the special moments between you and your loved ones.

We promise our best to at least return 5 beautifully enhanced images for your selection within a week. Each picture will be priced at $20 each and we urge you to donate generously. All proceeds collected from the sales of images will be fully donated to the Singapore Red Cross' efforts to help Japan in our efforts to bring warmth to mankind.

Share this post with your friends so that we can get as many people to support this cause. The half-an-hourly time slots starts from 8am, all the way till 1830

0800 -
0830 -
0900 -
0930 -
1000 -
1030 -
1100 -
1130 -
1200 -
1230 -
1300 -
1330 -
1400 -
1430 -
1500 -
1530 -
1600 -
1630 -
1700 -
1730 -
1800 -

We hope to see you there!

In Celebration of Love, the tenacity of Japanese and the Show of Solidarity among mankind,
Hendra & Shi Lei

~ Photos are Forever ~
This is the link
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Hendra-R-Photography/160759713963908

my mum bought for me at people's park complex opp tianpo.. my mil bought from on cheong. i m hakka and my bf is hokkien. we just bought for formality sake instead of dialects. haha.
I m just getting inserts from T-dragon, $100 for 200 pcs.

Chloe >> My MIL bought my SDJ from On Cheong, cuz she knows ppl there. Designs are quite old-style but okay lah... It goes with my red tea dress and I don't see myself wearing it much, more for investment value.

For Poh Heng, Tianpo, all these brand names, better to go to their main branches or to People's Park to see, cuz there will be more yellow gold for selection in People's Park than in the town centres.