(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

wen, if not close or dont always work with no need ba.. I will invite about 1 table of my colleauges only.. Cuz alot not close..

Wen, if table space is a problem, people will understand de. Mostly if not working closely with the sips, they won't expect an invitation alao

prisci11a >> You were there on Sunday too? I was there around 3-3.30 thereabouts.

Space is actually not a prob but becoz of some slight unhappiness during work I dun really wish to invite them haa, maybe unhappiness at work cause me to think in this way

w3n >> If you don't want to then don't invite them lor... it's your wedding! If you are going get unhappy seeing them then no point. I am inviting quite a few of my colleagues though cuz we are all very close, esp in my 2nd job with the YOG Organising Committee! Think my colleagues from my 3 jobs make up 4 tables!

Thanks for offering to help me! I will send the picture to you tonight. w3ngal at gmail.com right?

@mich, yup, we are using long shifu! hehe. i bought it at $3 for a pair. we also feel it's not nice to pluck the grass anywhere.

@kass, that's the shop i went. the auntie ok leh, she still chat with my mum and gave us advice, only thing is she dont smile much. haha. ya, her wedding stuff are cheaper..

@prisci11a, i have requested for his sister to do the hairstyling for him. yay! problem solved and money saved! hehe. and he is okay with it, his main concern is he dont want to do it himself. haha.

W3n, that the case dun invite la!! Besides relatives who are compulsory, our other guests are at our own discretion lo;) ur special day no need to entertain Ppl u dyn like

Guys... Have you been to the Chinese Wedding Shop in AMK?? How are the prices there? I saw some really nice angpow there which are different from what the other shops offer... tempted to get them there, but not sure how expensive there are...

http://www.thechineseweddingshop.com.sg/

My mum will prob think I am crazy for hunting down all these shops in Singapore. Thankfully I work in Novena so not too far to AMK...

Kass the amk shop is exp but can buy small items fr them ba... They got another shop at bedok's new shopping center as well. I was there earlier but they couldn't find my inserts at first n was looking by wedding dates
hahaha

I asked about the candle thing, as GDL is following husband side, the candles also follow husband dialect. Hokkien n Teochew candles have legs n Cantonese are full length candles. My mil also say burn about half

prisci11a >> Thanks for sharing.

Who is supposed to hold the red umbrella when we leave the house? I read somewhere that it has to be a hao ming po/good fortune woman, but in some instances I read that the bride's father can do the job....

Kass, either the mei po or else is father nowadays.

One more thing the tea must be served by a married woman or e mei po. This normally arranged by ur mum / mil, unless she not particular, den u can ask a married jm to do for u

Kass, i went to AMK wedding shop b4. The auntie is really friendly n she explains well.

Umbrella nowadays all i see is carry by dad leh..

Wen, i agree with kass.. dont invite people u dont like.. lols

ya seriously i dun really like them when it comes to work lolz....later ppl sure gossip but like what u all say, i happy most important =) shall rearrange my guest list haha....

yah nowadays is dad hold the umbrella...but my dad very funny. he say red umbrella is for ghost lol...he say where got ppl use red de...i think he too suku liao hahaha...

u mean the person holding the tea pot etc (at the side to assist) has to be someone whom is married?

w3n >> Yes, the person who holds the teapot must be married. Last time we got my aunt to help to hold. Think this time, my (married) sister will help me hold the teapot.

oh something new to me cause last time i attend my friend de wedding, her friend help her to hold the teapot de is also not married yet. thanks for advise! but my sisters all not married yet haha...maybe have to ask my auntie to help ba....

W3n, yup... Ask both parents if they have a preference to ask a relative to help... Some Ppl may be very sensitive about this.. Was helping my Fren as jm and the aunties jumped in to take over from another jm

oooo okok thanks for sharing! will remember to ask my mum. but if i remember correctly, she did ask if anyone is helping the teapot etc and i say yes one of my jie mei. then she juz say okie haha i think my mum unsure about such things too =)

yah kass my email is correct, u can send me by friday =)

i also dont know about this, cos i help my htb's sister to hold the teapot last year during her wedding, somemore is his mum ask me to do it de. haha. now that i knew it, i will ask my married JM to hold it for me. hehe.

i went to the AMK wedding shop before too, yup, the auntie super friendly and informative, but we didnt buy anything from her. cos that time still early and after comparing the price with chinatown, dont think will buy from AMK.

i told my mum i wanted to buy the red umbrella then she said i very lao tu. ||-_- haha but i will still get it.

Mich, Ahahah, as long as u like ba
actually I think is not every dialect does this, I think hokkien dun lei, cos my fren's dad use pomelo leaf water to spray around when they went down den throw out water after we left ..

OMG, the AMK shop is really expensive! I just added them to my FB and asked them how much is the purple angpow I was eyeing!

$3.80 for 5 pcs and these ang pows are only 8cm by 8cm!

The APs are really pretty, but I dun think I can get myself to pay so much for angpows!!!!

Just did a quick count, I need a total of approx 51 angpows on the actual day, including a buffer of 10-20 angpows for emergency uses but not including angpows for my parents to "bao" and give us!

So need to buy more angpows!

@kass, 51 ang pows?!?! so many??? i think i better start counting too..

what is the market rate for ang pow to MUA, PG, VG? since we are already paying them for the service, i guess $18 should be enough? will it be too little?

Chloe >> I think should be enough bah, cuz it's really "yi shi" only.

But just wondering, how much are you guys giving your jiemeis/xiongdis? Or are you all just returning their angpows to them???

Hi Chloe & Kass >> I am giving $50 to my JMs, on top of the gatecrash APs (by my hubby). For the XDs, I suggested to my hubby to give $50 as well.

We need to prepare abt 46 APs as well:
- Open car door = 2
- Gatecrash = 4
- XDs + JMs + Receptionists = 13
- Emcees = 2
- Tea Ceremony = 10
- Photographer/Videographer = 2
- Parents = 3
- Bridal Car Driver = 1
- MUA + Assistant (if any) = 2
- Flowergirls = 4
- Hotel staff = 3
- Standby = 10

Btw, how much will u all be giving the emcees? Heard that need to give more to emcees?? =))

Ermmm I intend to give $10 to mua, pg n vg coz yah is just a yishi yishi...sisters n brothers hor I still can't decide...during gate crashing, we need to give red packets to sisters for the games n open door to fetch bride right...

sometimes I see ppl de angbao very big ( few hundreds) to be shared among all the sisters but is this a norm? I will be giving them a Yi shi Yi shi ang bao, money for taking cab to
my hse, dress n accessories all paid by me...then I duno how much to give them for the games open door ang bao...

I just put down $68 for jiemei and $88 for my chief jiemei at the moment. But added together all the angpows, I counted a total of $2000++!! And this is not incl gatecrash angpow as well.

One emcee I am giving $68. Another emcee who is also a xiongdi, I am giving $88.

A lot of money!

Yup, really alot of looi!! =(( But the JMs and XDs wake up early to help us so give too little oso paisey.. my JMs oso need take cab to my place, cos my gatecrash session is at 5.30 am.

At this moment, my rates are:
- Open car door = 2 x $50
- Gatecrash = 4 (Total abt = $200-$300)
- XDs + JMs + Receptionists = 13 x $50 (+ intending to get a small gift for everyone of them.)
- Emcees = 2 x $50 (too little??)
- Tea Ceremony = 10 x $20
- Photographer/Videographer = 2 x $20
- Parents = 3 (2 x $188 + 1 x $288)
- Bridal Car Driver = 1 x $200 (lending car to us)
- MUA + Assistant (if any) = 2 x $20
- Flowergirls = 4 x $50 (+ thank you gift)
- Hotel staff = 3 x $20
- Standby = 10 x $20

U gers think my rates are alright?? Add up total abt $3k liao.

Felix - how come parents got 3 APs? I only have 1 which is when we leave the bride's house, to give to the parents as "Milk Money".

Thanks for reminding me that I need to bao for the bridal car owner as well!

Hi Kass > The 1 x $288 is the milk money for my mum, while we are thinking of giving my inlaws too, so another 2 x 188, u think neccessary? =p Odd no. is becos my side is single parent. =)

Haiz. Even deciding the amount for the APs is a big headache already. =((

my mum says no need to give one for the tea lady and assistant. she has been one for 2 times but did not receive any. i think is up to individual =) i will let my auntie help with the tea ceremony since is mentioned that she has to be someone whom has married.

gate crashing session de red packets (all the money has to be distributed among the sis or is that just for videography effect? then after which, we shi di xia give an amount to the gals?

Hi w3n > oh issit, dun need give the tea lady ah? Hmm, maybe I'll ask my mum on dat and see if she has any preferences..

Yes, the JMs will share the APs they "fought" for durinf the gatecrash. Some couple will give additional APs on top of the gatecrash amt, while others don't. It will really depend on the couple, no hard and fast rules. I think my mum will also give my JMs a token AP for coming to help out, so u may wanna take dat into consideration. ;))

wen, the GC money is to divide between JM. den its up to individual to give another AP to each JM. For me, i will still give the additional one for JM but small amount cuz partly i provide them the dress.

Over the weekend, i have finalised my Emcee script & Schedule. So happy! But schedule will still have changes nearer to date, but at least i have the draft liao.. hehe.. If anyone of u need sample, i dont mind sending u mine.. =)

I juz drop by at 85 Bedok Florist (the one v famous in forum). But not open.

Here's mine... But roughly nia..

AP for Wedding coordinator $8
AP for all Juniors ($8/ea) - don't know how many yet
AP for Gatecrashing (share between 5 JM) ($10, $18, $28, $66, $66) Total: $188
AP for Jie Mei 5 x ($10) - OPTIONAL
AP for Xiong di 5 x ($50)
AP for Tea Auntie $18
AP for PG/ VG 2 x ($8)
AP for MUA x2
AP for boy who open the door x2 ($18) - Is it one at bride's hse another groom's?
AP for Emcee 2 x $58
Standby all will be $8 - but dono how many

I am so lazy to count how many kids in total we have for both sides... lols.. u all are fast!

mich, 85 florist is famous? i didnt know that! my new house is quite near there. u going to buy your hand bouquet there mah?

i had my 1st draft of schedule too, as well as the XD car timing and allocation (fetch my parent, fetch other XD, fetch JM to the dinner etc)..

i'm planning as a whole package AP figure for XD and JM..cos my future MIL will give them AP + gatecrashing AP + our AP. so each XD and JM will get 3 AP, thinking of $100 each. that adds up to $1k since we have 5 XDs and 5 JMs. kind of high! haha, we have provided 50% sponsorship on their outfit that day. maybe reduce to $80 each since budget is quite tight. hmm...

i think for those traditions, it's up to individual whether they believe or not.

eg. to burn the candles fully or half -- some pple say must leave abit, some say can only burn half. i even heard that both candles must be lighted at the same time.

eg. teochew bride must leave the house before daybreak but my geomancer told me it's up to us. modern couples nowadays dun really follow the customs

eg. some say after AC cannot sleep on the bed until after wedding. but some also say that after AC, the couple has to sleep on the bed cos it needs the "ren qi".

so i guess it's up to us whether how much we wana believe and follow.

just my 2cents' worth

btw, i went for my photo selection ytd. saw my bridal pics for the 1st time. i can only say that the MUA and PG did a great job. never see myself so pretty before. hahaah.. but still, everyone commented on my HTB instead, on how handsome he is. but to be frank, he is really dashing.

and I SPENT A BOMB ON MY ALBUM!!! cos my package only gives 28 pics, i will need to top up alot more. the photo consultant keeps persuading me to buy. in the end, i spent alot. sobz...

Felix>> why do we have to bao AP for parents? i thought they will give APs to us when we offer them tea? i haven work out the AP list yet. lucky for this forum, now i know who i need to give.

btw, i was a JM for my gf last yr. we shared the gatecrash AP. but during the dinner, i gave back the money i "earned" during the gatecrash by adding it into my AP for her.

i was also the emcee for her wedding. she gave me a AP after the dinner. was pleasantly surprised cos i din know i can get AP as a emcee.

kitty >> How much did you receive as a emcee??

Ladies, by the way, my mum say I don't need to bao for the jiemeis, cuz she will bao for them! Then like that, guess they only split the gatecrashing money??

Also we not going to have the younger relatives serve tea to us, never done in our extended family, so yeah, don't need to bao for the younger relatives on the bride's side.