(2010) 2010 Brides

we both come from huge families. Every CNY, i go to my wife's place for their family gathering, barely got place to stand. And when she came for mine, she nearly fainted too.

I think we both our extended families meet, can gang fight liao.

darrel> Haha! not unusual lah... my mum's side even more ppl than urs, coz my mum got foster parents, & we r closer to her foster parents' side rather than her real own parents' side. lol...

Ladies & Gentleman (lol only gt thomas & darrel ba),

Wanna ask the MK rate hor..
Hw much will you all gif if you attend banquet cum solemnisation Hi Tea in Fullerton.
(I dono should I write 'Hi Tea' on my invitation card, very reluctant to write.. 99.99% tells me not to write. LOL. scare ppl c le bao those $20/$30 rates.. I die of heart attack)

Den hor, hw much will u all gif if u all attend a Cocktail Reception Party for Shangri La at night?

My plan is this:
Morning - gatecrash.
Noon - Fullerton Hi Tea aka mine banquet for relatives liao
Night - Shangri La for friends de cocktail reception party.

A BIG THANK YOU FOR ALL THE PPL the past few months in this thread de..
Recall I last time tink very hard of a significant date to held my solemnisation/wedding? Den I received many ideas such as the day he propose blah blah blah.. But all bo tio weekend. I need weekend ma.. So ends up my htb tot of a damn gd idea (mayb i stupid nv tot of it.) So ya I may change my original anniversary date 10.11.10 to 7.8.10. Dono isit Lunar 7th Month but the hotel coordinator told me that Lunar 7th Month only start 10.8.10..
Any others has any idea info on Lunar 7th Month??

Diane >> thot u booked Meritius Mandarin for your wedding?
Change in your plans le ar? And why separate at Fullerton n Shangrila .. why not both events at same place? easier for u also mah .. if not very tiring n rushed leh to move from one place to another

hi diane

b4 i started all these wedding preparations, i have no idea how much a hi-tea, lunch buffet, chinese dinner will cost. so dun be surprised if ur friends really give u little angbow if they dun know e market rate. also i will assume tt if my friend does her wedding at such high class places, means they dun need my angbows. so i may just give market rate.

ur fullerton high-tea is a buffet right? since it is for relatives, i think they will not give too little since u are all family after all. if i am a cousin of urs, i will give $100. cos it is a buffet and only high-tea.

i dun understand cocktail reception. meaning only finger food? i may even bring a gift cos it seems angmoh style to me so maybe dun need angbows? if really give, then maybe $100 also. again it is high-class, but only cocktail.

for

diane..... your plan like abit funny.... the last part for the party, @ shangrila, if you dun hold a dinner, your wun be able to use the ballroom for party.

if you want a party there, you can only hold it at their lounge area.... something like pub...... for party..... normally wun bao angbao....

think you should hold it at fullerton instead, since you having lunch there, they will provide you free room.......

diane..... your plan like abit funny.... the last part for the party, @ shangrila, if you dun hold a dinner, your wun be able to use the ballroom for party.

if you want a party there, you can only hold it at their lounge area.... something like pub...... for party..... normally wun bao angbao....

think you should hold it at fullerton instead, since you having lunch there, they will provide you free room.......

morning all!!
visha:!!! wad a sad situation!! today supose to go llook ard for BS.. & Guess wat my bf's sis wanna come along!!! IS SO IRRATING & EXTRA!!!!

elsie: hahahha always same as mine... always got family want to come along.. jus like looking for ID, my bf also say his mum want to come along..zzzz

ylng3r: but i dun like his sis loh! so she wanna go is like spoil my mood! Supposingly im very looking forward today but now. i dun look forward to anything with her presence.

quite hard to say out such things right... wait ur husband may think u r very petty. actually i think too many cooks spoil e broth. i will only ask my bf and my sis to go w me. but i feel the ultimately the choice depends on ourselves! we are the bride leh!!

HappyGirl,
Ya fullerton is hi-tea buffet.
Shangri cocktail reception is also finger food. You guess both correctly. Thx.

Visha,
did i mention that I gonna hold in ballroom?
Nope i don tink so. Is their function room. Whatever I mentioned in my plans, I have enquire to the relevant hotels before to make my plan feasible.
Also I am not choosing between this 2 hotels Fullerton or Shangri La, I'll be holdin in this 2 hotels jus that is of different timing..

hey guys, i went to hilton's wedding show today! very good price n perks! but grand ballroom gt 3 huge pillars.... and L shaped march in.i love their vista ballroom most, but onli max 25 tables...Zzz Price for weekends is 918NETT.

Elsie, u are booking Fables @ JB? I'm a Fables bride. =)

went to bring my 2 future brother in laws to the botanical gardens so they know where to bring the parents/grandparents on that day, and to check out the place in the morning. Think my wife is getting kun cheong liao... hee hee

Watched shinjuku incident @ vivo. The movie is surprisingly good... for a jackie chan movie. (Yes, it has a plot !)

diane > i dunno the market rate for all these, so if its high tea, i'd probably give $60 for normal friends, and $80/100 for close ones.

if cocktail, probably bring gifts.

Sound like your AD will be quite packed. sure faint from exhaustion one =P

Ling > i haven't got the auspicious date for the GDL , but from what i see and asked friends, its traditionally about 3-4 weeks before the wedding.

Michelle, i tot 918 nett is a pretty good price for a hotel @ orchard road...

how many weddings will/can be held on the same day? but then, the pillar is a major turn-off =(

hello all~~ juz came back from JB to had my bf's car polish n do his car wheel alignment n rotation before he fly to taiwan tml..

pass by fables today, alot of spore cars parking outside..kekee saw many couples in the studio also..seems like they r quite popular.

Jaq: yup yup. today alot went.

i haben gone to malaysia for 3 years plus le.. the last time was 3 years ago in cameron highlands..JB even longer.. haha

darrel: funny hor? now got so many good movies to watch, sometimes for a long time also nth to watch like last few mths zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

shinjuku, wolverine, F&F 4, Transformers 2, so many...

thomas > clear carbon ?

last time i watched a movie with my wife was .... before i proposed to her. after that, almost all the weekends burned doing planning. :S

anyway she picked shinjuku incident, so i chin chai lorr. its really not bad.

i went to watch shinjuku incident too......... i really do not enjoy the show...... not becos the show is bad.........

there's this fu*king lao ah beng..... sitting beside me..... keep burping and burping like every 3 mins......... and it smell like rotten galic....... and then the china girl before her keep luffing at the burps and touch here touch there..... i was like sitting on only 1/4 of the chair during the whole show to aviod the odour..... during the end of the show i was so mad i pratically turn my body and face the lao beng...... then before they lights on....they run away........

spoil mood

Darrel,
Ya u r rite.. Very pack lo.. The noon fullerton Hi Tea confirm all very close de relative. I tink my mom 1 AP can cover the whole fullerton hi tea expenses liao. Cos i gt tell my htb that everyone there cfm must we know de and can intro to each other like 'Honey, this is uncle XXX, Auntie YYY'.. Cannot like 'Hi hi, welcome welcome' den I ask him 'Who is this?' den he reply 'dono lei, mayb dad/mom's fren or any faraway relatives'. We make it a pt that must know single one that is there.

Woah, I don need gifts sia. Not cheap also lei for Shangri La. Also confirm is very very close frenz de.. Confirm gt lai wang de.. You all like that say le, den i make sure I don write 'Cocktail Reception' liao..

Jaq, hmm.. seemslike fables gettingmore fomous...

darrel, yeap.. e price is ok for me... only grand ballroom gt huge pillars... other 2 ballrooms no pillars at all... but can fit too little tbles... I need about 34 tables....

visha: wah sian man...I feel for u, totally spoilt ur whole movie outing. Some ppl can really be so damn inconsiderate.

deeri: haha u must be jogging now at the time of my this post...I just came back from mine not long ago! Gambete!

Thomas: i start jogging at 9am today.. hehe.. had a short and slow jog for 15-20mins and did 40 situps..(not ur 400 *faintz*)..haha.. tmr my yoga class in my office starts, tues pilates class.. hee..

diane: if your concern is the ang bao money, then also you might look at your guests invited. since you are young, i assume your very close friends should be your age. so from there you should guess roughly how much they can afford to bao your angbao........

and for what i know, for alcohol involved in a hotel, it might not be cheap, for my AD hotel at raffles, they charges $125+++ for free flow of drinks (champagne, wine and drinks) per head.
Shangrila is defintely around the same price and that exclude the venues booking fee.
Added all up, maybe it's the same priceas having a grand dinner.

as a friend attending a wedding, i will bao bigger if it's dinner. =) simply becos it 'look more expensive =)'

diane: if you wanna do it grand and affordable..... i suggest that you book a very luxurious 2-storey resort in sentosa...... those with jazzuzi or pool...... then you can just invite all your friends........ and party till dawn....... alcohol you can buy yourself and this save you tons and tons of money....... deco the whole place yourself....... get catering...... think it's better than you get a function room in hotel, where there's lots of restrictions and time limit.